DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto et al. (US 2010/0110270) in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0039719) in view of Lee (US 2016/0255252).
Regarding claim 1, Sekimoto discloses a lens driving apparatus comprising:
a lens holding member ([0054] discloses: 8, lens holder) configured to hold a lens body ([0054] discloses: 7, lens barrel);
a base member ([0052] discloses: 15, base) having an opening ([0057] discloses: 16, aperture) penetrating in a vertical direction thereof ([0057] discloses: 16, aperture, so formed in the central part of 15 base, to secure a light path; therefore considered penetrating in a vertical direction, the optical axis direction), the opening being at a position corresponding to the lens body (Examiner notes that 16, aperture, secures a light path through the lens body, considered being at a position corresponding to the lens body);
an actuator ([0048] discloses: 2, lens drive device; [0051] discloses: VCM type) configured to move the lens holding member relative to the base member ([0051] discloses: lens drive device, moves up and down the image pickup lenses; [0052] discloses: 8, lens holder, is movable part and 15, base is fixed part; therefore the lens holding member moves relative to the base member); and
a foreign matter capturing member ([0063] discloses: 18, dust-trapping agent) having adhesiveness ([0063] discloses: 18, dust-trapping agent is adhesive).
Sekimoto fails to disclose an apparatus with a supporting member configured to support the base member, wherein the supporting member includes a base part disposed beneath the base member, and a tubular part protruding upward from an inner edge of the base part and disposed inside the opening, and a foreign matter capturing member having adhesiveness is disposed at a rim of the tubular part. Sekimoto and Park are related because both disclose camera modules.
Park teaches an apparatus with a supporting member ([0018] teaches: 130, metal yoke) configured to support the base member ([0033] teaches: 140, bobbin), and
wherein the supporting member includes a base part ([0019] teaches: 131, horizontal plate) disposed beneath the base member (Figure 2 depicts: 131, horizontal plate, disposed beneath 140, bobbin; considered the base member), and a tubular part (Figure 2 depicts: 140, bobbin with a tubular part, the circle in the middle) protruding upward from an inner edge of the base part and disposed inside the opening (Figure 2 depicts: the circle in the middle of 140, bobbin, protruding upward from an inner edge of 131, horizontal plate; Examiner notes that Fig. 2 is an expanded view and once assembled the tubular part would protrude from the inner edge of 131, horizontal plate, lining up with the hole in the middle of 131, horizontal plate). Sekimoto and Lee are related because both disclose camera modules.
Lee teaches an apparatus with a foreign matter capturing member is disposed at a rim of the tubular part (in at least abstract teaches: dust trap, formed on ribs on periphery of filter member mounted at the base, See Figure 3, 130, dust trap, disposed at a rim of tubular part; Examiner notes that a square tube is considered tubular).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sekimoto in view of Park and Lee and provide an apparatus with a supporting member configured to support the base member, wherein the supporting member includes a base part disposed beneath the base member, and a tubular part protruding upward from an inner edge of the base part and disposed inside the opening, and a foreign matter capturing member having adhesiveness is disposed at a rim of the tubular part. Doing so would allow for protection of the optical passage under desired designed constraints, thereby improving the overall functionality and performance of the optical system.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Sekimoto discloses the lens driving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the foreign matter capturing member is disposed also at an inner surface and an outer surface of the tubular part adjacent to the rim of the tubular part (Lee: Figure 2 depicts: 130, dust trap epoxy, from inner surface, where the hole is located, to outer surface, where it meets the raised edge of 20, base; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 1, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Sekimoto discloses the camera module comprising:
the lens driving apparatus of claim 1;
the lens body ([0054] discloses: 7, lens barrel); and
an imaging sensor facing the lens body ([0048] discloses: 4, sensor section of 3, image pickup section; [0050] discloses: light is guided from optical section toward 4, sensor section of 3, image pickup section by the image pickup lenses of 7, lens barrel; therefore the image sensor is considered to be facing the lens body).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto et al. (US 2010/0110270) in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0039719) in view of Lee (US 2016/0255252), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Izawa et al. (US 8,495,815).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Sekimoto discloses the lens driving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the supporting member (Park: 130, metal yoke) is composed of a case member formed of one or more plates (Park: [0018] teaches: 135, vertical plate), and has a gap between an inner surface of the base member (Park: 140, bobbin) facing the opening and an outer surface of the tubular part (Figure 1 depicts: gap between 135, vertical plate and 140, bobbin, with hole in center, see Figure 2; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 1, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Sekimoto fails to disclose an apparatus wherein the plates are metal. Sekimoto and Izawa are related because both disclose an electrical apparatus.
Izawa, analogous to the problem of electromagnetic shielding, teaches an apparatus wherein the plates are metal (Col. 1 lines 20-40 teach: case member, includes a conductive metal thin plate).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sekimoto in view of Izawa and provide an apparatus wherein the plates are metal. Doing so would allow for an electromagnetic shield around electronic components while maintaining suitable proportions for portable electronic devices.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Sekimoto discloses the lens driving apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the supporting member is composed of a case member formed of one or more plates (Park: [0018] teaches: 135, vertical plate),
wherein the case member has an outer peripheral wall (Park: Figure 2 depicts: outside walls of 135, vertical plates, considered the outer peripheral wall) positioned at an outer position relative to the base member (Park: Figure 1 depicts: 135, vertical plates positioned outside relative to 140, bobbin), and is included in a housing (Park: Figure 2 depicts: 120, housing)
Sekimoto fails to disclose an apparatus with a case member is formed of more or more metal plates and included in a housing together with a cover member formed of one or more metal plates, and wherein the case member and the cover member are electrically connected to each other. Sekimoto and Izawa are related because both disclose an electrical apparatus.
Izawa, analogous to the problem of electromagnetic shielding, teaches an apparatus with a case member (Col. 2 lines 20-25 teach: a case member) formed of more or more metal plates (Col. 1 lines 20-40 teach: case member, includes a conductive metal thin plate) and included in a housing (Col. 2 lines 20 teaches: electromagnetic shielding, considered the housing) together with a cover member (Col. 2 lines 20-25 teach: cover member) formed of one or more metal plates (Col. 9 lines 60-63 teach: cover member including a metal thin plate), and
wherein the case member and the cover member are electrically connected to each other (Col. 1 lines 20-40 teach: conductive case member integrated with frame member and cover member including a conductive metal thin plate; Examiner notes that the parts are electrically connected through the conductive metal thin plates).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sekimoto in view of Izawa and provide an apparatus with a case member is formed of more or more metal plates and included in a housing together with a cover member formed of one or more metal plates, and wherein the case member and the cover member are electrically connected to each other. Doing so would allow for an electromagnetic shield around electronic components while maintaining suitable proportions for portable electronic devices.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto et al. (US 2010/0110270) in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0039719) in view of Lee (US 2016/0255252), as applied to claim 1 above, in view Kashima et al. (US 2016/0062110).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Sekimoto discloses the lens driving apparatus according to claim 1.
Sekimoto fails to disclose an apparatus wherein the foreign matter capturing member is provided continuously along an entire circumference of the tubular part. Sekimoto and Kashima are related because both disclose camera modules.
Kashima teaches an apparatus wherein the foreign matter capturing member is provided continuously along an entire circumference of the tubular part (in at least abstract teaches: a ring shape of elastic material mounted in module where the adhesive surface is applied and exposed, to avoid the effects of dust on imaging).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sekimoto in view of Kashima and provide an apparatus wherein the foreign matter capturing member is provided continuously along an entire circumference of the tubular part. Doing so would allow for protection of the optical passage under desired designed constraints, thereby improving the overall functionality and performance of the optical system.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto et al. (US 2010/0110270) in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0039719) in view of Lee (US 2016/0255252) in view of Shah et al. (US 12,200,332).
Regarding claim 7, Sekimoto discloses the a method of manufacturing a lens driving apparatus which includes:
a lens holding member ([0054] discloses: 8, lens holder) configured to hold a lens body ([0054] discloses: 7, lens barrel);
a base member ([0052] discloses: 15, base) having an opening ([0057] discloses: 16, aperture) penetrating in a vertical direction thereof ([0057] discloses: 16, aperture, so formed in the central part of 15 base, to secure a light path; therefore considered penetrating in a vertical direction, the optical axis direction), the opening being at a position corresponding to the lens body (Examiner notes that 16, aperture, secures a light path through the lens body, considered being at a position corresponding to the lens body);
an actuator ([0048] discloses: 2, lens drive device; [0051] discloses: VCM type) configured to move the lens holding member relative to the base member ([0051] discloses: lens drive device, moves up and down the image pickup lenses; [0052] discloses: 8, lens holder, is movable part and 15, base is fixed part; therefore the lens holding member moves relative to the base member); and
a foreign matter capturing member ([0063] discloses: 18, dust-trapping agent) having adhesiveness ([0063] discloses: 18, dust-trapping agent is adhesive).
Sekimoto fails to disclose a method wherein a supporting member configured to support the base member, wherein the supporting member includes a base part disposed beneath the base member, and a tubular part protruding upward from an inner edge of the base part and disposed inside the opening, the method comprising: applying a foreign matter capturing material, which is a synthetic resin material having fluidity, to a rim of the tubular part; and curing the foreign matter capturing material to form a foreign matter capturing member. Sekimoto and Park are related because both disclose camera modules.
Park teaches a method with a supporting member ([0018] teaches: 130, metal yoke) configured to support the base member ([0033] teaches: 140, bobbin), and
wherein the supporting member includes a base part ([0019] teaches: 131, horizontal plate) disposed beneath the base member (Figure 2 depicts: 131, horizontal plate, disposed beneath 140, bobbin; considered the base member), and a tubular part (Figure 2 depicts: 140, bobbin with a tubular part, the circle in the middle) protruding upward from an inner edge of the base part and disposed inside the opening (Figure 2 depicts: the circle in the middle of 140, bobbin, protruding upward from an inner edge of 131, horizontal plate; Examiner notes that Fig. 2 is an expanded view and once assembled the tubular part would protrude from the inner edge of 131, horizontal plate, lining up with the hole in the middle of 131, horizontal plate). Sekimoto and Shah are related because both disclose camera modules.
Shah teaches a method of applying a foreign matter capturing material, which is a synthetic resin material having fluidity (Col. 3 lines 43-47 teach: sticky resin with low viscosity); and
curing the foreign matter capturing material to form a foreign matter capturing member (Col. 8 lines 10-12 teach: curing of agent to form sticky dust trap). Sekimoto and Lee are related because both disclose camera modules.
Lee teaches a method with a foreign matter capturing member is disposed at a rim of the tubular part (in at least abstract teaches: dust trap, formed on ribs on periphery of filter member mounted at the base, See Figure 3, 130, dust trap, disposed at a rim of tubular part; Examiner notes that a square tube is considered tubular).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sekimoto in view of Park, Shaw and Lee and provide a method wherein a supporting member configured to support the base member, wherein the supporting member includes a base part disposed beneath the base member, and a tubular part protruding upward from an inner edge of the base part and disposed inside the opening, the method comprising: applying a foreign matter capturing material, which is a synthetic resin material having fluidity, to a rim of the tubular part; and curing the foreign matter capturing material to form a foreign matter capturing member. Doing so would allow for protection of the optical passage under desired designed constraints, thereby improving the overall functionality and performance of the optical system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto et al. (US 2010/0110270) in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0039719) in view of Lee (US 2016/0255252) in view of Shah et al. (US 12,200,332), as applied to claim7 above, in view of Sesti et al. (US 11,199,758).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Sekimoto discloses the method according to claim 7.
Sekimoto fails to disclose a method further comprising combining the base member and the supporting member, after the curing. Sekimoto and Sesti are related because both disclose camera assemblies.
Sesti teaches a method further comprising combining the base member and the supporting member, after the curing (Col. 4 lines 45-50 teach: adhesive is fully cured then additional components may be added to the camera assembly).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sekimoto in view of Sesti and provide a method further comprising combining the base member and the supporting member, after the curing. Doing so would allow for stabilizing the cured material and preventing disturbances of the aligned cured/component during assembly.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto et al. (US 2010/0110270) in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0039719) in view of Lee (US 2016/0255252) in view of Shah et al. (US 12,200,332), as applied to claim7 above, in view of Walter et al. (US 4,394,408).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Sekimoto discloses the method according to claim 7.
Sekimoto fails to disclose a method wherein the applying is performed by bringing the rim of the tubular part of the support member positioned upside down into contact with the foreign matter capturing material stored in a container. Sekimoto and Walter are related because both disclose a method for applying material on the rim of an apparatus.
Walter teaches a method wherein the applying is performed by bringing the rim of the tubular part of the support member positioned upside down into contact with the foreign matter capturing material stored in a container (Col. 4 lines 55-65 teach: an adhesive dip tank for immersing a section of the edge of a can into the adhesive; Examiner notes that he adhesive is analogous to the foreign matter capturing material and the can is analogous to the tubular part of the support member, as functionally this is just a standard dip tank disposal know to one of ordinary skill in the art).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sekimoto in view of Walter and provide a method wherein the applying is performed by bringing the rim of the tubular part of the support member positioned upside down into contact with the foreign matter capturing material stored in a container. Doing so would allow for allow for a simple way to add viscous adhesive/resin on the rim surface while reducing complexity and excess application of the process, thereby improving manufacturing ease of the optical system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto et al. (US 2010/0110270) in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0039719) in view of Lee (US 2016/0255252) in view of Shah et al. (US 12,200,332) in view of Walter et al. (US 4,394,408), as applied to claim 9 above, in view of Miyakawa (US 2010/0238540).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Sekimoto discloses the method according to claim 9.
Sekimoto fails to disclose a method wherein the curing is performed by irradiating the rim with ultraviolet light while the support member is positioned upside down. Sekimoto and Miyakawa are related because both optical system.
Miyakawa teaches a method wherein the curing is performed by irradiating the rim with ultraviolet light while the support member is positioned upside down ([0134] teaches: material was turned upside down and the ultraviolet light was applied to cure the resin).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sekimoto in view of Miyakawa and provide a method wherein the curing is performed by irradiating the rim with ultraviolet light while the support member is positioned upside down. Doing so would allow for stabilization of the applied resin and reduce disturbance or unintended flow before curing.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sekimoto et al. (US 2010/0110270) in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0039719) in view of Lee (US 2016/0255252) in view of Shah et al. (US 12,200,332), as applied to claim7 above, in view of Ohnishi (US 2014/0220254).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Sekimoto discloses the method according to claim 7.
Sekimoto fails to disclose a method wherein the applying is performed by a transfer process. Sekimoto and Ohnishi are related because both disclose resin curing methods.
Ohnishi teaches a method wherein the applying is performed by a transfer process (in at least abstract teaches: applying curable resin containing ink onto transfer sheet, heating and then transferring to a printing target; Examiner notes that this is a transfer process).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sekimoto in view of Ohnishi and provide a method wherein the applying is performed by a transfer process. Doing so would allow for better accuracy of curing and reducing excess material, thereby improving the overall easy of the manufacturing process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al. (US 2023/0176318) discloses a lens driving device but fails to disclose a foreign matter capturing material, Park et al. (US 2021/0181455) discloses a lens driving device with a foreign matter capturing material but fails to disclose the correct components of the lens system and Jo (US 2014/0161994) discloses a foreign matter capturing material but fails to disclose a camera module structure.
John Sipes
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872