Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites in part, “…and determining a third transmission power based on increasing the first transmission power by the offset associated,…”
Claim 3 renders unclear the association between the first transmission power and the corresponding offset. Please re-write the claim to clarify the association between the first transmission power and the corresponding offset. Claim 3 will be interpreted as the offset associated with transmitting the second RACH preamble.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim.
Claim 1
Ko teaches,
A method comprising:
processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel (RACH) preamble to a base station,
the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model (SIM) of a device;…
(See Ko page 18 paragraph 3, The electronic device 101 may store the PRACH transmission power and/or path loss for the first cell as one of information on the first cell during the operation of the first SIM 111.)
(See Ko page 9 paragraph 2, The (or connected) first cell 350 (or the base station) may be accessed 321 .)
Shows a first cell may be a base station
…the second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device,
the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and…
(See Ko page 19 paragraph 1, ...the electronic device 101 may determine the PRACH transmission power determined in association with the first SIM 111 as the PRACH transmission power associated with the second SIM 112.)
…based on a path loss estimate associated with the second SIM; and…
(See Ko page 19 paragraph 1, The electronic device 101 may determine the smaller value of the sum of the SRS target power and the loaded path loss identified in association with the second SIM 112 and the maximum UE power as the SRS transmission power.)
Shows the SRS transmission power based on a path loss estimate associated with the second SIM
However, Ko fails to explicitly teach,
…determining whether to use a second transmission power for transmitting a second RACH preamble or using an initial transmission power,…
…the initial transmission power…
…determining to use the second transmission power for transmitting the second RACH preamble to the base station based on processing the information.
Nevertheless, Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…determining whether to use a second transmission power for transmitting a second RACH preamble or using an initial transmission power,…
(See Kim paragraph 0014, ...the wireless device transmits a random access preamble with a ramped transmission power instead of an initial transmission power upon terminating a RACH-less handover so that the radio link failure can be prevented, data latency can be reduced (i.e., almost 0 ms delay in performing handover can be achieved), and more successful handover can be performed.)
Shows the determining to use a ramped transmission power or second transmission power for transmitting a random access preamble or second RACH preamble instead of an initial transmission power
…the initial transmission power…
(See Kim paragraph 0010, ...transmitting a random access preamble with a ramped transmission power, wherein the ramped transmission power is higher than an initial transmission power of the random access preamble.)
Shows an initial transmission power
…determining to use the second transmission power for transmitting the second RACH preamble to the base station based on processing the information.
(See Kim paragraph 0196, ...transmitting random access preamble to the target cell based on an updated transmission power, instead of initial transmission power for the random access preamble transmission, after terminating skipping of the random access procedure.)
Shows utilizing the updated transmission power or second transmission to transmit the random access preamble transmission or second RACH preamble
(See Kim paragraph 0199, the updated transmission power for random access preamble transmission may be determined by time for skipping of the random access procedure. Namely, the updated transmission power may be set by the UE based on a calculation of how many random access attempts could be tried during the time for skipping of the random access procedure.)
Shows the determination to utilize the update transmission power based on calculating the number of random access attempts or processing information
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with the method of determining whether to use a second transmission power for transmitting a second RACH preamble or using an initial transmission power, using an initial transmission power, and determining to use the second transmission power for transmitting the second RACH preamble to the base station based on processing the information as disclosed by Kim to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required by the UE to transmit RACH preambles).
Claim 5
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 5. However, Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: transmitting the second RACH preamble based on the second transmission power.
(See Kim paragraph 0196, ...transmitting random access preamble to the target cell based on an updated transmission power, instead of initial transmission power for the random access preamble transmission, after terminating skipping of the random access procedure.)
Shows utilizing the updated transmission power or second transmission to transmit the random access preamble transmission or second RACH preamble
The motivation to combine Ko and Kim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 2, 4, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Lee et al. (US 20080268893 A1) or Lee.
Claim 2
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 2. However, Lee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the second transmission power comprises: determining an offset associated with transmitting the second RACH preamble; and
(See Lee paragraph 0055, ...when it is determined that the average RACH access delay is smaller than the target RACH access delay at time T1, the radio communication device decreases the initial RACH transmission power offset of its own cell by a predetermined step PDEL from the current value.)
Shows determining an initial RACH transmission power offset for a second RACH preamble
reducing the first transmission power by the offset to determine the second transmission power.
(See Lee paragraph 0021, each base station eNB raises a RACH transmission power offset as shown in FIG. 4 so that the initial RACH transmission power will be increased step by step.)
Shows a linear relationship between the RACH transmission power offset and the initial RACH transmission power
(See Lee paragraph 0055, ...when it is determined that the average RACH access delay is smaller than the target RACH access delay at time T1, the radio communication device decreases the initial RACH transmission power offset of its own cell by a predetermined step PDEL from the current value.)
Shows decreasing the initial RACH transmission power offset
If the initial RACH transmission power decreases, then the RACH transmission power decreases for the second transmission power of the second RACH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with the method of determining an offset associated with transmitting the second RACH preamble and reducing the first transmission power by the offset to determine the second transmission power as disclosed by Lee to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of data transmitted by the UE to establish a connection with a base station).
Claim 4
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 4. However, Lee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining that the first transmission power is a maximum transmission power for transmitting the first RACH preamble,
(See Lee paragraph 0019, ...the initial RACH transmission power is reciprocally increased between neighboring cells, which causes a chain reaction, resulting in the initial RACH transmission power P.sub.init being ultimately set at a maximum value in every cell.)
Shows the initial RACH transmission power for the first RACH preamble set to the maximum transmission power
wherein the second transmission power is set to be equal to the first transmission power based on determining that the first transmission power is the maximum transmission power for transmitting the first RACH preamble.
(See Lee paragraph 0014, However, when a RACH signal does not arrive at the base station eNB due to an increase in the level of interference or due to the occurrence of fading, the mobile station UE receives no RACH response even after a predetermined period of time has passed. Therefore, the mobile station UE increases its RACH transmission power by a predetermined step P.sub.del at each time as shown in FIG. 2B until the mobile station UE receives a RACH response.)
Shows the UE increasing the RACH transmission power by predetermined step until receiving a response from the base station
(See Lee paragraph 0019, ...the initial RACH transmission power is reciprocally increased between neighboring cells, which causes a chain reaction, resulting in the initial RACH transmission power P.sub.init being ultimately set at a maximum value in every cell.)
If the initial transmission power consists of the maximum transmission power and the first RACH preamble consists of the maximum transmission power, then the second RACH preamble transmission power consists of the maximum transmission power
The motivation to combine Ko, Kim, and Lee in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 17
Ko teaches
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which,
(See Ko page 22 paragraph 5, The device-readable storage medium may be provided in the form of a non-transitory storage medium.)
Shows the storage medium as non-transitory storage medium
when executed by one or more processors, cause processing circuitry to:
(See Ko page 22 paragraph 5, ...the processor (eg, the processor 120 ) of the device (eg, the electronic device 101 ) may call at least one of one or more instructions stored from a storage medium and execute it.)
Shows the processor executing instructions stored in the non-transitory storage medium
process information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel (RACH) preamble to a base station,
the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model (SIM) of a device;
(See Ko page 18 paragraph 3, The electronic device 101 may store the PRACH transmission power and/or path loss for the first cell as one of information on the first cell during the operation of the first SIM 111.)
(See Ko page 9 paragraph 2, The (or connected) first cell 350 (or the base station) may be accessed 321 .)
Shows a first cell may be a base station
…the second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM; and…
(See Ko page 19 paragraph 1, ...the electronic device 101 may determine the PRACH transmission power determined in association with the first SIM 111 as the PRACH transmission power associated with the second SIM 112.)
However, Ko fails to explicitly teach,
…determine to transmit a second RACH preamble to the base station,…
…determine to use a second transmission power for transmitting the second RACH preamble, the second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device,…
Nevertheless, Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…determine to transmit a second RACH preamble to the base station,…
(See Kim paragraph 0014, ...the wireless device transmits a random access preamble with a ramped transmission power instead of an initial transmission power upon terminating a RACH-less handover so that the radio link failure can be prevented, data latency can be reduced (i.e., almost 0 ms delay in performing handover can be achieved), and more successful handover can be performed.)
Shows the determining to use a ramped transmission power or second transmission power for transmitting a random access preamble or second RACH preamble instead of an initial transmission power
…determine to use a second transmission power for transmitting the second RACH preamble, the second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device,…
(See Kim paragraph 0196, ...transmitting random access preamble to the target cell based on an updated transmission power, instead of initial transmission power for the random access preamble transmission, after terminating skipping of the random access procedure.)
Shows utilizing the updated transmission power or second transmission to transmit the random access preamble transmission or second RACH preamble
(See Kim paragraph 0199, the updated transmission power for random access preamble transmission may be determined by time for skipping of the random access procedure. Namely, the updated transmission power may be set by the UE based on a calculation of how many random access attempts could be tried during the time for skipping of the random access procedure.)
Shows the determination to utilize the update transmission power based on calculating the number of random access attempts or processing information
The motivation to combine Ko and Kim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Ko fails to explicitly teach,
…the second transmission power less than or equal to the first transmission power.
Nevertheless, Lee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the second transmission power less than or equal to the first transmission power.
(See Lee paragraph 0021, each base station eNB raises a RACH transmission power offset as shown in FIG. 4 so that the initial RACH transmission power will be increased step by step.)
Shows a linear relationship between the RACH transmission power offset and the initial RACH transmission power
(See Lee paragraph 0055, ...when it is determined that the average RACH access delay is smaller than the target RACH access delay at time T1, the radio communication device decreases the initial RACH transmission power offset of its own cell by a predetermined step PDEL from the current value.)
Shows decreasing the initial RACH transmission power offset
The motivation to combine Ko, Kim, and Lee in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 18
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 18. However, Lee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, wherein the sequence of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause processing circuitry to:
determine whether the first transmission power is a maximum transmission power; and
(See Lee paragraph 0056, ...the initial RACH transmission power offset has been increased nearly to the maximum initial RACH transmission power offset,...)
Shows the initial RACH transmission power offset fails to be at maximum transmission power offset
determine whether to use an offset based on whether the first transmission power is the maximum transmission power.
(See Lee paragraph 0056, ...the initial RACH transmission power offset has been increased nearly to the maximum initial RACH transmission power offset, the radio communication device can increase the initial RACH transmission power offset only to the same level as the maximum initial RACH transmission power offset. That is, the initial RACH power cannot be set higher than this level.)
Shows an increase of the initial transmission power offset since the initial transmission power offset fails to be at the maximum transmission power offset
Shows the initial RACH power fails to be set higher than the maximum initial transmission power offset
The motivation to combine Ko, Kim, and Lee in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 20
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 20. However, Lee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 18,
wherein the first transmission power is the maximum transmission power, and
wherein the sequence of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors,
further cause the processing circuitry to:
determine the second transmission power to be equal to the maximum transmission power based on the first transmission power being the maximum transmission power.
(See Lee paragraph 0019, a phenomenon called "party effect" is caused, in which the cause and effect repeat between neighboring cells, whereby the initial RACH transmission power is increased more and more. Accordingly, once interference occurs, the initial RACH transmission power is reciprocally increased between neighboring cells, which causes a chain reaction, resulting in the initial RACH transmission power P.sub.init being ultimately set at a maximum value in every cell.)
Shows the initial transmission power increased to maximum transmission power
Shows subsequent initial transmission power or second transmission power set equal to previous transmission power or first transmission power
Shows second transmission power set equal to first transmission power or maximum transmission power due to interference and increasing initial transmission power from previous RACH transmissions
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Abotabl et al. (US 20220417864 A1) or Abotabl in further view of Guo et al. (US 20210266982 A1) or Guo.
Claim 3
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. However, Abotabl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting the second RACH preamble to a base station to join a network;…
(See Abotabl paragraph 0046, The RACH occasions are specific time and frequency resources in which a UE 106 transmits a RACH preamble to begin the random-access procedure. The RACH occasions may be unique to a specific SSB so that by receiving a RACH preamble in the corresponding RACH occasion, a base station 108 may identify which of its beams corresponds to the specific SSB/RACH occasion. The base station 108 may then respond to the RACH preamble with a random-access response (message 2).)
Shows the UE transmitting a RACH preamble to a base station to start the RACH procedure and join a network
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with transmitting the second RACH preamble to a base station to join a network as disclosed by Abotabl to increase the user functionality of the system (i.e. to increase the number of connections of the UE to other UEs and base stations).
Guo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…determining that the second RACH preamble was unsuccessful;
determining an offset associated with transmitting the second RACH preamble; and
(See Guo paragraph 0146, the UE increases the Tx power for the preamble transmission by the step size Δ.sub.P.)
Shows the offset of delta P for increasing the transmission power
determining a third transmission power based on increasing the first transmission power by the offset associated, the third transmission power associated with a third RACH preamble.
(See Guo paragraph 0148, ...the UE can be configured to first use Tx power ramping and then RACH chunk selection in case of preamble retransmission. In one method, in case of preamble retransmission, the UE increases the Tx power for preamble 1.sup.st transmission, 2.sup.nd retransmission until n-th retransmission. If the preamble n-th retransmission still failed, the UE is configured to switch to another RACH chunk and use this new RACH chunk for the n+1-th retransmission until 2n-th retransmission, during which the UE is configured to increase the Tx power with Δ.sub.P for every new retransmission.)
Shows multiple re-transmissions of RACH being unsuccessful
Shows the offset of delta P for increasing the transmission power for subsequent transmissions of the RACH preamble
Shows the third transmission power for transmitting a third RACH preamble based on increasing the first transmission power by two steps of delta P
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with the method of determining the second RACH preamble was unsuccessful, determining an offset associated with transmitting the second RACH preamble, and determining a third transmission power, associated with a third RACH preamble, based on increasing the first transmission power by the offset associated with the second RACH preamble as disclosed by Guo to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the probability of base station receiving the RACH preamble from the UE).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Sun et al. (WO 2024139380 A1) or Sun in further view of Chen et al. (US 20200196245 A1) or Chen.
Claim 6
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 6. However, Sun, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining a path loss estimate based on a downlink reference signal from a base station;
(See Sun page 9 paragraph 1, The terminal device can calculate the path loss value (Path Loss, PL) of the downlink reference signal sent by the base station to the terminal device based on P .sub.r,crs and P .sub.t,crs , that is, PL = P .sub.t,crs -P .sub.r,crs .)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with the method of determining a path loss estimate based on a downlink reference signal from a base station as disclosed by Sun to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of calculating the initial transmission power for the RACH preamble).
Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…comparing the path loss estimate to a threshold path loss estimate; and
(See Chen paragraph 0074, ...comparing the calculated reference signal received power of the mobile station with the common reference threshold (i.e., the average reference signal received power);)
Shows comparing the calculated reference signal received power or the estimated path loss with the common reference threshold or the threshold path loss estimate
(See Chen paragraph 0073, The common reference threshold in S510 shown in FIG. 5 may be a threshold associated with the path loss. )
Shows the common reference threshold associated with path loss
determining an offset based on comparing the path loss estimate to the threshold path loss estimate,
(See Chen paragraph 0072, ...selecting, based on the common reference threshold and the path loss of the mobile station, the transmission power offset set from at least two candidate transmission power offset sets each of which includes at least two transmission power offset values, as the power control pattern(S520);)
wherein the second transmission power is based on the offset.
(See Chen paragraph 0072, selecting one transmission power offset from the selected transmission power offset set as the reference power control parameter, and determining the actual transmission power of the mobile station based on the reference power parameter (S530).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with the method of comparing a path loss estimate toa threshold path loss estimate and determining an offset based on comparing the path loss estimated to the threshold path loss estimate with the second transmission power based on the offset as disclosed by Chen to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of wasted RACH preamble transmissions by the UE to the base station).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Kumar (US 20230354279 A1).
Claim 7
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. However, Kumar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first SIM is associated with a same operator as the second SIM.
(See Kumar paragraph 0027, ...the UE may include two SIMs, a first SIM for a first subscription and a second SIM for a second subscription. In some instances, the first and second subscriptions may be provided by the same operator.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with a first SIM associated with the same operator as a second SIM as disclosed by Kumar to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of overhead required to transmit data from two different SIMs by the UE).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Lee et al. (US 20080268893 A1) or Lee in further view of Popescu et al. (WO 2017118486 A1) or Popescu.
Claim 8
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. However, Lee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining whether a frequency band used to transmit the first RACH preamble is a same frequency band as to be used to transmit the second RACH preamble; and…
(See Lee paragraph 0011, ...when a mobile station UE is performing RACH transmission to its serving cell at maximum transmission power, the possibility cannot be ignored that this RACH transmission will interfere with UL-SCH transmission or RACH transmission performed in a neighboring cell.)
Shows the same frequency band utilized in two different cells and causing interference between transmission of a first RACH preamble and a second RACH preamble
The motivation to combine Ko, Kim, and Lee in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Popescu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…determining an offset based on whether a frequency band used to transmit the first RACH preamble is a same frequency band as to be used to transmit the second RACH preamble, wherein the second transmission power is based on the offset.
(See Popescu pages 1-2 paragraph last and first paragraph ...the ZC sequences allow multiple LTE UEs to share a frequency band and simultaneously transmit random access channel (RACH) signals without the RACH signals interfering each other.)
Shows the ZC sequences allow multiple RACH signals to be simultaneously transmitted without interference
(See Popescu pages 1-2 paragraph last and first paragraph The RACH signals may be differentiated from each other by constructing the RACH signals using different ZC root sequences and/or applying different cyclic shifts to common ZC root sequences.)
Shows determining a cyclic shift or offset between multiple RACH signals on the same frequency band
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with the method of determining an offset based on the frequency band utilized to transmit the first RACH preamble being the same frequency band to transmit the second RACH preamble with a second transmission power based on the offset as disclosed by Popescu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of interference between transmissions occurring on the same frequency).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Serravalle et al. (US 20210029702 A1) or Serravalle in further view of Kumar (US 20230354279 A1).
Claim 9
Ko teaches,
An apparatus comprising: processing circuitry configured to:
process information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel (RACH) preamble to a base station...
(See Ko page 18 paragraph 3, The electronic device 101 may store the PRACH transmission power and/or path loss for the first cell as one of information on the first cell during the operation of the first SIM 111.)
(See Ko page 9 paragraph 2, The (or connected) first cell 350 (or the base station) may be accessed 321 .)
Shows a first cell may be a base station
…the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model (SIM), and…
(See Ko page 18 paragraph 3, The electronic device 101 may store the PRACH transmission power and/or path loss for the first cell as one of information on the first cell during the operation of the first SIM 111.)
…the second RACH associated with a second SIM,
the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and…
(See Ko page 19 paragraph 1, ...the electronic device 101 may determine the PRACH transmission power determined in association with the first SIM 111 as the PRACH transmission power associated with the second SIM 112.)
…memory coupled to the processing circuitry, the memory configured to store transmission power information.
(See Ko pages 9-10 first and last paragraphs, The protocol stacks 301 and 303 may store information about a cell (eg, at least one of cell identification information, frequency information, system information, PRACH transmission power, or path loss of PRACH) in a shared memory, and may be shared.)
Shows memory storing PRACH transmission power
(See Ko page 9 last paragraph, ...a shared memory shared by the RRC layer of the first protocol stack 301 and the RRC layer of the second protocol stack 303 may be included (or defined) in the electronic device 101 .)
Shows shared memory in the electronic device for the first and second protocol stacks
(See Ko page 7 paragraph 1, ...the first communication processor 212 and the second communication processor 214 may exchange control information and packet data information using a shared memory with the processor 120 (eg, an application processor))
Shows the shared memory with a processor
However, Ko fails to explicitly teach,
…determine a second transmission power for transmitting a second RACH preamble to the base station,…
Nevertheless, Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…determine a second transmission power for transmitting a second RACH preamble to the base station,…
(See Kim paragraph 0014, ...the wireless device transmits a random access preamble with a ramped transmission power instead of an initial transmission power upon terminating a RACH-less handover so that the radio link failure can be prevented, data latency can be reduced (i.e., almost 0 ms delay in performing handover can be achieved), and more successful handover can be performed.)
Shows the determining to use a ramped transmission power or second transmission power for transmitting a random access preamble or second RACH preamble instead of an initial transmission power
The motivation to combine Ko and Kim in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Ko fails to explicitly teach,
...shared by a first operator and a second operator,…
Nevertheless, Serravalle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
...shared by a first operator and a second operator,…
(See Serravalle paragraph 0039, ...the method comprising adjusting handover parameters used to control handover independently for each network operator sharing the base station,...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with a base station shared by a first and second operator as disclosed by Serravalle to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of network infrastructure required to transmit RACH preambles).
However, Ko fails to explicitly teach,
…the first SIM associated with the first operator and the second SIM associated with the second operator; and…
Nevertheless, Kumar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the first SIM associated with the first operator and the second SIM associated with the second operator; and…
(See Kumar paragraph 0058, the SIM A 210a may store or maintain information for accessing a network of the first operator based on the first subscription 212a, and the SIM B 210b may store information for accessing a network of the second operator based on the second subscription 212b.)
The motivation to combine Ko and Kumar in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 10
Ko teaches,
…wherein… …is based on a path loss estimate associated with the second SIM.
(See Ko page 19 paragraph 1, The electronic device 101 may determine the smaller value of the sum of the SRS target power and the loaded path loss identified in association with the second SIM 112 and the maximum UE power as the SRS transmission power.)
Shows the SRS transmission power based on a path loss estimate associated with the second SIM
However, Ko fails to explicitly teach,
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
determine whether to use the second transmission power for transmitting the second RACH preamble or using an initial transmission power, and…
…the initial transmission power…
Nevertheless, Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
determine whether to use the second transmission power for transmitting the second RACH preamble or using an initial transmission power, and…
(See Kim paragraph 0014, ...the wireless device transmits a random access preamble with a ramped transmission power instead of an initial transmission power upon terminating a RACH-less handover so that the radio link failure can be prevented, data latency can be reduced (i.e., almost 0 ms delay in performing handover can be achieved), and more successful handover can be performed.)
Shows the determining to use a ramped transmission power or second transmission power for transmitting a random access preamble or second RACH preamble instead of an initial transmission power
…the initial transmission power…
(See Kim paragraph 0010, ...transmitting a random access preamble with a ramped transmission power, wherein the ramped transmission power is higher than an initial transmission power of the random access preamble.)
Shows an initial transmission power
The motivation to combine Ko, Kim, Serravalle, and Kumar in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Claim 11
Ko teaches,
...associated with the second SIM.
(See Ko page 19 paragraph 1, ...the electronic device 101 may determine the PRACH transmission power determined in association with the first SIM 111 as the PRACH transmission power associated with the second SIM 112.)
Shows the second transmission power associated with the second SIM
However, Ko fails to explicitly teach,
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the second transmission power is greater than an initial RACH preamble transmission power...
Nevertheless, Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the second transmission power is greater than an initial RACH preamble transmission power...
(See Kim paragraph 0010, ...transmitting a random access preamble with a ramped transmission power, wherein the ramped transmission power is higher than an initial transmission power of the random access preamble.)
Shows the ramped transmission power higher than the initial transmission power of the random access preamble
The motivation to combine Ko, Kim, Serravalle, and Kumar in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Serravalle et al. (US 20210029702 A1) or Serravalle in further view of Kumar (US 20230354279 A1) in further view of Hu et al. (US 20230354156 A1) or Hu in further view of Lou et al. (US 20170019908 A1) or Lou.
Claim 12
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 12. However, Hu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
process a system information block (SIB) transmitted by the base station; and
(See Hu paragraph 0069, ...the process 600 may include decoding a system information block, type one (SIB1) message received from a base station.)
determine that the base station is shared by the first operator and the second operator based on processing the SIB,…
(See Hu paragraph 0069, ...the user equipment (UE) (e.g., using the antenna 252, DEMOD/MOD 254, MIMO detector 256, receive processor 258, controller/processor 280, and/or memory 282) can decode the SIB1 message. The SIB1 message may correspond to a cell of the base station. The cell is shared by the network operators that have the first and second PLMN IDs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with the processing a system information block or SIB transmitted by a base station and determine a first and second operator share the base station by processing the SIB as disclosed by Hu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required by the base station to process data transmitted by the UE).
Lou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein determining the second transmission power is based on determining that the base station is shared by the first operator and the second operator.
(See Lou paragraph 0046, It should also be appreciated that what kind of measurement is needed is determined based on the lease contract between a master operator, i.e., operator A, and a sharing operator, i.e., operator B and/or operator C. The lease contract specifies an amount or ratio of resources that can be used by a sharing operator in a shared network, for example, the RAN 102. If the contract specifies, for example, operator B can only share 20% of total active connections, then the measurement should at least contain connection status. For another example, if the contract specifies operator B can only share 20% of downlink transmission power, then the measurement should at least contain downlink transmission power.)
Shows determining transmission power for operator B based on operator A and operator B sharing RAN 102
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with determining a second transmission power by determining the first and second operator share the base station as disclosed by Lou to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of money required by the two operators to process RACH preambles by the base station).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Serravalle et al. (US 20210029702 A1) or Serravalle in further view of Kumar (US 20230354279 A1) in further view of Agiwal et al. (US 20200052768 A1) or Agiwal.
Claim 13
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 13. However, Agiwal, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein processing the SIB transmitted by the base station comprises: determining whether a public land mobile network (PLMN)-identityInfoList indicates more than one PLMN.
(See Agiwal paragraph 0018, The system information block 1 (SIB1) acquired from camped/serving cell includes public land mobile network (PLMN) identity information list PLMN-IdentifyInfoList comprised of multiple PLMNs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with determining a SIB transmitted by a base station comprising a public land mobile network or PLMN-identityInfoList indicating several PLMNs as disclosed by Agiwal to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of time required by the UE to calculate several operators utilizing a single base station).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Serravalle et al. (US 20210029702 A1) or Serravalle in further view of Kumar (US 20230354279 A1) in further view of Sun et al. (WO 2024139380 A1) or Sun in further view of Chen et al. (US 20200196245 A1) or Chen.
Claim 14
Ko teaches,
…the path loss estimate associated with the second SIM;…
(See Ko page 19 paragraph 1, The electronic device 101 may determine the smaller value of the sum of the SRS target power and the loaded path loss identified in association with the second SIM 112 and the maximum UE power as the SRS transmission power.)
Shows the SRS transmission power based on a path loss estimate associated with the second SIM
However, Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 6. Nevertheless, Sun and Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teach limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine Ko, Kim, Serravalle, Kumar, Sun, and Chen in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Serravalle et al. (US 20210029702 A1) or Serravalle in further view of Kumar (US 20230354279 A1) in further view Lee et al. (US 20080268893 A1) or Lee.
Claim 15
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15. However, Lee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches, limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Ko, Kim, Serravalle, Kumar and Lee in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 9.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Serravalle et al. (US 20210029702 A1) or Serravalle in further view of Kumar (US 20230354279 A1) in further view of Yang et al. (US 20220022251 A1) or Yang.
Claim 16
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 16. However, Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the apparatus uses a two-step RACH procedure, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the second transmission power based on a P_MsgA_Actual message.
(See Yang paragraph 0374, The RACH transmission power control parameter (the 4-step RACH transmission power control parameter or the 2-step RACH transmission power control parameter) is used to indicate a power ramping step value when the terminal device retransmits the msgA on the 2-step RACH or the MSG1 on the 4-step RACH. )
Shows determining the retransmission of msgA power or second transmission power of a 2-step RACH by adding a power ramping step value to the previous transmission power of msgA
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with the determining a second transmission power based on a P_MsgA_Actual message with a two-step RACH procedure as disclosed by Yang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of data required by the UE to establish a connection with a base station).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR 20220105314 A) or Ko in view of Kim et al. (US 20200236719 A1) or Kim in further view of Lee et al. (US 20080268893 A1) or Lee in further view of Lee et al. (US 20080268893 A1) or Lee Decrease.
Claim 19
Ko fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 19. However, Lee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 18,
wherein the first transmission power is not the maximum transmission power, and
(See Lee paragraph 0096, When the current initial RACH transmission power offset (InitRachP0) is smaller than the maximum initial RACH transmission power offset (MaxInitRachP0) (Step S303: Yes),...)
wherein the sequence of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause processing circuitry to:
determine an offset associated with transmitting the second RACH preamble based on the first transmission power not being the maximum transmission power; and…
(See Lee paragraph 0096, ...the RACH transmission power control section 104 further determines whether or not the initial RACH transmission power offset (InitRachP0) will exceed the maximum initial RACH transmission power offset (MaxInitRachP0)...)
The motivation to combine Ko, Kim, and Lee in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Lee Decrease, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…determine the second transmission power based on reducing the first transmission power by the offset.
(See Lee Decrease paragraph 0095, then the RACH transmission power control section 104 decreases the initial RACH transmission power offset (InitRachP0) of its own cell by a predetermined step PDEL.sub.D from the current level (Step S302). )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of processing information indicating a first transmission power used to transmit a first random access channel or RACH preamble to a base station with the first RACH preamble associated with a first subscriber identity model or SIM of a device, a second RACH preamble associated with a second SIM of the device, the second transmission power based on the first transmission power, and a transmission power based on a path loss estimated associated with the second SIM as disclosed by Ko with determining a second transmission power based on reducing the first transmission power by an offset as disclosed by Lee Decrease to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of time required by the UE to transmit RACH preambles).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gopala Krishnan et al. (US 20160174187 A1) or Gopala Krishnan teaches a multi subscriber identity module or SIM device transmitting random access control channel or RACH on the first SIM and a tune-away period associated with the second SIM.
Chakraborty (US 20190215783 A1) teaches staggering the timing of transmission of RACH preambles on a multi-SIM device.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414