DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the species of SEQ ID NO:4, 12, 24, 32 and 39 in the reply filed on 08/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the groups of List 1 and List 2 are all orthologous TF0132 genes and encoded proteins. This is found persuasive and as such the species election requirement is withdrawn. Similarly, although the promoters of List 3 are structurally diverse, Examiner finds Applicant’s arguments persuasive and the species election requirement with regard to List 3 is also withdrawn.
Status of the Claims
Claims 28-41 are pending.
Claims 28-41 are examined herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29, 40 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant claims a coding sequence encoding a TF0132 gene, operably linked to a promoter, wherein the promoter is pEC1, pEL1.1, pEA1, pEA2, pECO2, pEA3, pEA4, pECO1, or a promoter that has the same, or essentially the same, capability of initiating transcription of a coding sequence when operably linked to the coding sequence.
Applicant describes the promoters pEC1, pEL1.1, pEA1, pEA2, pECO2, pEA3, pEA4, pECO1 by virtue of sequence identifiers.
Applicant does not adequately describe the genus of promoters that has the same, or essentially the same, capability of initiating transcription of a coding sequence relative to the described promoters. Each of the promoters has a specific expression pattern and the genus encompasses any nucleic acid sequence that would produce an equivalent expression pattern. Koo, Hyunjin, et al. "Identification and application of promoters and terminators for plant synthetic biology." Molecules and Cells (2025): 100273 teaches that while promoter identification and synthetic promoter design has advanced considerably, much work remains in identifying those structures that cause specific expression patterns in plants. The instant disclosure fails to remedy the dearth of description of the structure-function relationship between promoter sequences and expression patterns in the prior art.
As such, Applicant cannot be deemed to have been in possession of the claimed genus of promoters at the time of filing.
Claims 28-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 28 and 41 recite in relevant part “the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 24, 85, 87, 89, 91, 115, 117, 119, 121, 123, or 125, or an ortholog thereof, or (ii) a nucleotide sequence encoding a polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4, 84, 86, 88, 90, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, or an ortholog thereof”. The metes and bounds of the claims are unclear because the claim encompasses “orthologs” of TF0132 genes and polypeptides. TF0132 is an alphanumeric designation applied to a subset of WRKY transcription factors. “TF0132” is not a term widely recognized in the art, never appearing the non-patent literature. As such, it is unclear what “orthologs” of TF0132 encompass.
The Specification provides as follows: “By “ortholog” or “orthologous polypeptide” is meant a polypeptide expressed by evolutionarily related genes that have a similar nucleic acid sequence, where the polypeptide has similar functional properties. Orthologous genes are structurally related genes, from different species, derived by a speciation event from an ancestral gene.”
It is unclear what the functions of TF0132-like genes/polypeptides must be to be considered “orthologs”. It is unclear if the growth phenotypes described in the Specification are part of the normal function of the genes. As such, the scope of “orthologs” is undefined and unclear.
Dependent claims are rejected as a function of their inherency.
Claim 40 recites in relevant part: “A method of making the genetically modified plant of claim 28, the method comprising: a) providing a suitable part of a plant; b) providing a heterologous nucleic acid construct comprising a promoter operably linked to a coding sequence encoding a TF0132 gene”. However, Claim 28 recites in relevant part that “a TF0132 gene, comprising: (i) a nucleotide sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 24, 85, 87, 89, 91, 115, 117, 119, 121, 123 or 125, or an ortholog thereof; or (ii) a nucleotide sequence encoding a polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 4, 84, 86, 88, 90, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, or an ortholog thereof”.
It is unclear if Claim 40 includes all of the limitations of Claim 28, as Claim 40 recites “a TF0132 gene”. The claim should recite “the TF0132 gene” if the intent is to require the limitations of Claim 28. Otherwise, Claim 40 would draw a rejection under 35 USC 112(d) for failure to further limit the claim from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28 and 30-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzberg (US 20110016550 A1).
Applicant claims as follows:
28. (New) A genetically modified plant comprising a heterologous nucleic acid construct comprising a promoter operably linked to a coding sequence encoding a TF0132 gene, comprising: (i) a nucleotide sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 24, 85, 87, 89, 91, 115, 117, 119, 121, 123 or 125, or an ortholog thereof; or (ii) a nucleotide sequence encoding a polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 4, 84, 86, 88, 90, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, or an ortholog thereof, wherein the promoter is selected from the group consisting of: a promoter preferentially or specifically expressed in phloem tissue of the plant, a promoter preferentially or specifically expressed in meristematic tissue of the plant, a promoter preferentially or specifically expressed in xylem tissue of the plant, and a promoter preferentially or specifically expressed in root tissue of the plant.
30. (New) The genetically modified plant of claim 28, wherein the promoter preferentially or specifically expressed in meristematic tissue of the plant is preferentially or specifically expressed in at least one of cambium, vascular meristematic tissue, and shoot meristem tissue of the plant.
31. (New) The genetically modified plant of claim 30, wherein the promoter is not significantly expressed in at least one of mature xylem, stem phloem, whole leaves, whole roots, and bark of the plant.
32. (New) The genetically modified plant of claim 28, wherein the TF0132 gene is from Eucalyptus grandis,Zea Mays, Populus trichocarpa, or Arabidopsis thaliana.
33. (New) The genetically modified plant of claim 28, comprising a modified trait as compared to a wild-type plant of the same species, wherein the modified trait is plant yield, plant height, plant width, stem volume, stem dry weight, bark dry weight, wood density, leaf dry weight, average internode length, or number of internodes.
34. (New) The genetically modified plant of claim 33, wherein the modified trait is increased as compared to a wild-type plant of the same species when the plants are grown under identical field conditions for a period of at least one year.
35. (New) The genetically modified plant of claim 28, wherein the plant is a woody plant.
36. (New) The genetically modified plant of claim 28, wherein the plant is a hardwood plant.
37. (New) The genetically modified plant of claim 28, wherein the plant is of the genus Eucalyptus or Populus.
38. (New) The genetically modified plant of claim 28, wherein the plant is a crop plant.
Hertzberg teaches the transformation of hybrid (Populus tremula x P. tremuloides) aspen (a hardwood tree) with 35S CaMV expression constructs, at least one of which comprised a nucleic acid sequence of Hertzberg SEQ ID NO:7, which encodes Hertzberg SEQ ID NO:20 (Table B, ¶ 211-213). Hertzberg teaches that the resultant hybrid aspen trees exhibited significantly higher total height and growth rate compared to controls. (¶ 0259). Hertzberg SEQ ID NO:7, which encodes Hertzberg SEQ ID NO:20 is identified as a TF0132 gene from Populus trichocarpa and as such reasonably reads on an ortholog of a TF0132 in the instant claims. (Table B).
Hertzberg does not teach that the TF0132 gene is expressed from a promoter that is selected from the group consisting of: a promoter preferentially or specifically expressed in phloem tissue of the plant, a promoter preferentially or specifically expressed in meristematic tissue of the plant, a promoter preferentially or specifically expressed in xylem tissue of the plant, and a promoter preferentially or specifically expressed in root tissue of the plant as a single embodiment, and as such, no 102 rejection is made.
However, the combined teachings of Hertzberg render the claims obvious.
Hertzberg further teaches that particularly relevant tissue specific promoters to be used with the invention include promoter sequences specifically expressed or active in the xylem forming tissue in a plant. Examples of such promoters are the Lmp1, Lmx2, Lmx3, Lmx4 and Lmx5 promoters. (¶ 0078).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use a promoter such as Lmp1, Lmx2, Lmx3, Lmx4 and Lmx5, which direct expression in xylem forming tissues with the TF0132 gene also taught by Hertzberg. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hetzberg teaches that such promoters are of particular relevance to the invention. One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the use of known promoters in expression systems is routine and conventional in the art.
Hertzberg does not teach that the TF0132 gene is expressed in a crop plant as a single embodiment, and as such, no 102 rejection is made.
However, the combined teachings of Hertzberg render the claims obvious.
Hertzberg further teaches that plants that can be used with the invention include crop plants. (¶ 0123).
It would have been prima facie obvious to express the TF0132 gene in a crop plant. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hetzberg explicitly teaches that the invention can be used with crop plants. One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the use expression constructs in crops is routine and conventional in the art.
As such, the claimed inventions are obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Claims 29, 39-41 are deemed to be free of the prior art. The closest prior art is Hertzberg (US 20110016550 A1), the teachings of which are set forth previously herein. The prior art does not disclose, teach or otherwise render obvious the combination of TF0132 WRKY genes and the listed promoters.
/CHARLES LOGSDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662