DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 of the remarks under “rejection (2)” stating, “the Office Action alleges that the claimed vertical arrangement would have been obvious without reason, instead alleging that the Applicant's disclosure does not provide any particular advantage, is used for any particular purpose or solves a stated problem.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, because the Office Action provides a reason on page 7, line 131 which is to save radial space as disclosed by the prior art of Kokubu on page 6, paragraph 0006.
Applicant argues on pages 8-10 of the remarks that, “the fact that the rotor unit (36) is not fastened, using a fastener, to other components including the pipe (32) within the casing (22) is not disclosed, nor even suggested, in Kokubu; there is no description that would serve as motivation or reason; and it is by no means a well-known or commonly used technique. Therefore, the present invention of independent claim 1 is not anticipated or obvious based on (A) Kokubu's hydraulic machine. Accordingly, it is considered that the present invention of independent claim 1 has novelty and non-obviousness over Kokubu.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, because the amended claim 1 now recites “the rotor unit being supported at a predetermined position relative to the pipe when the rotor unit is attached to the casing, and not being fastened to another component, including the pipe, in the inside of the casing with a fastener.” Figure 16 of Kokubu clearly shows the rotor unit (8) being supported at a predetermined position relative to the pipe (205) when the rotor unit is attached to the casing (202) and not being fastened to another component, including the pipe, in the inside of the casing with a fastener. Therefore, the prior art of Kokubu teaches the amended claim limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kokubu (WO 2013/051113 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kokubu discloses a water wheel comprising:
a casing (202 of Figure 16) configured to carry a fluid flow (W of Figure 16) through an inside thereof;
a pipe (205 of Figure 16) extending in the inside of the casing;
a rotor unit (8 of Figure 16) having a shaft (4 of Figure 16) configured to be inserted in the inside of the casing, the shaft being directed toward the pipe, and the rotor unit being detachably attached to the casing from outside (Page 6, para. 0006); and
the rotor unit being supported at a predetermined position relative to the pipe when the rotor unit is attached to the casing (see Figure 16), and
not being fastened to another component, including the pipe, in the inside of the casing with a fastener (see Figure 16).
Regarding claim 2, Kokubu discloses wherein the rotor unit (8 of Figure 16) includes a runner (7 of Figure 16) fixed to a portion of the shaft (4 of Figure 16) located in the inside of the casing (202 of Figure 16).
Regarding claim 3, Kokubu discloses wherein the rotor unit (8 of Figure 16) further includes a runner cover (204 of Figure 16) located on an outer periphery of the runner (7 of Figure 16).
Regarding claim 4, Kokubu discloses wherein the rotor unit (8 of Figure 16) further includes a guide vane (17 of Figure 16) disposed opposite to the pipe (205 of Figure 16) with respect to the runner cover (204 of Figure 16), and the guide vane is configured to guide the fluid in the casing (202 of Figure 16) to the runner.
Regarding claims 5, 11, Kokubu discloses wherein the runner cover (204 of Figure 16) supports the rotor unit (8 of Figure 16) at the predetermined position relative to the pipe (205 of Figure 16) when the rotor unit is attached to the casing (202 of Figure 16).
Regarding claims 6, 12, Kokubu discloses wherein
the runner cover (204 of Figure 16) and the pipe (205 of Figure 16) are butted together and fitted to each other (See Figure 16), and
a sealing member (see annotated Figure 12 below) is provided at a portion where the runner cover and the pipe are fitted to each other, and the sealing member is interposed between the runner cover and the pipe.
Kokubu – Figure 12
Regarding claims 7, 13-19, Kokubu discloses wherein the rotor unit (8 of Figure 16) includes a combination of a plurality of components including the shaft (4 of Figure 16), and
the rotor unit is configured such that one or some of the plurality of components are attachable and detachable to and from the rotor unit without detaching any other of the plurality of components (page 6, para. 0006, other components including the runner and runner cover are located inside the casing, the rotor unit is located outside the casing and can be easily replaced when needed).
Regarding claim 9, Kokubu discloses a hydraulic power generation (8 of Figure 16) device including the water wheel of claim 1, the hydraulic power generation device further comprising:
a generator (8 of Figure 16) configured to be driven by the water wheel (as defined by claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Kokubu discloses a hydraulic power generation system including the hydraulic power generation device (8 of Figure 16) of claim 9, the hydraulic power generation system further comprising:
a flow path through which fluid flows (W of Figure 16),
the hydraulic power generation device being employed in the flow path (see Figure 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubu (WO 2013/051113 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 20, Kokubu discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the rotor unit (8 of Figure 16) is attached to an upper portion of the casing (202 of Figure 16) with the shaft (4 of Figure 16) extending in a vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the rotor unit of Kokubu attached to an upper portion of the casing with the shaft extending in a vertical direction to save radial space and to easily replace the generator when the generator is resized, broken, or the like [Kokubu: Page 6, para. 0006]. At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to attach the rotor unit vertically instead of horizontally. Applicant has not disclosed that attaching the rotor unit vertically provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the rotor unit being attached horizontally because the Applicant’s specification at paragraph 0114 discloses the rotor unit may be horizontally mounted such that the water wheel and the generator are arranged in a horizontal direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kokubu to obtain the invention as specified in claims 8 and 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charles Reid Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834