Detailed Action
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment submitted on August 26, 2026.
Claims 16, 28-42 are pending in the application.
Claims 17-27 have been canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The certified copies of the priority documents “10-2023-0130793” and “10-2024-0109152” have been retrieved on February 20, 2026. The certified copies are not in the English language. Applicant is required to file English translations of the certified copies.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
If the certified copy is not in the English language and there is no translation, the examiner may reject the unpatentable claims and at the same time require an English translation (the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) that is submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate) for the purpose of determining the applicant’s right to rely on the foreign filing date. See MPEP § 216.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-27 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Methenni et al. US Patent Publication No. 2026/0040131.
The amendments to claim 16 has overcome the rejection. Therefore, the prior rejection has been withdrawn, and new grounds of rejection are made in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 29-31, 33-35, 37-39, 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Methenni et al. US Patent Publication No. 2026/0040131 (“Methenni”) in view of Hong US Patent Publication No. 2025/0392550 (“Hong”) and Lovsen et al. US Patent Publication No. 2015/0245240 (“Lovsen”).
Regarding claim 16, Methenni teaches a method performed by a policy control function (PCF) in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from an application function (AF), individual quality of service (QoS) requirements and packet filters corresponding to multiplexed media flows (para. [0154] AF may include additional packet filter information (e.g., to help identify the different multiplexed flows). para. [0157] AF may include (e.g., for each multiplexed traffic) a QoS reference or QoS parameter(s). para. [0165] PCF may receive the AF request);
determining policy and charging control (PCC) rules after receiving the individual QoS requirements and the packet filters (para. [0173] PCF may use the received information from the request to generate PCC rules. para. [0178] PCC rule(s) may include QoS parameter(s) corresponding to the traffic identified by the service data flow information and the additional packet filter information.); and
transmitting, to a session management function (SMF), the PCC rules (para. [0187] PCF may send the PCC rules to the SMF),
wherein the multiplexed media flows are differentiated based on the packet filters (para. [0154] AF may include additional packet filter information (e.g., to help identify the different multiplexed flows)), and
wherein each of the PCC rules corresponds to each of the multiplexed media flows and includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow (para. [0178] PCC rule(s) may include QoS parameter(s) corresponding to the traffic identified by the service data flow information and the additional packet filter information. para. [0117],[0176],[178] additional packet filter included in the PCC rule. para. [0199] SMF may use the PCC rules to determine forwarding action rules (i.e., FARs) for the (e.g., each) packet rule for the traffic flow(s) of interest.).
Methenni discloses filtering using stream ID of RTP packets (see para. [0134],[0154]). Methenni does not expressly teach wherein at least one of the packet filters includes a real-time transport protocol (RTP) payload type (PT).
Methenni discloses PCC rule(s) includes packet filter(s) of a corresponding media flow (see para. [0117],[0176]). Methenni does not expressly teach wherein each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow.
Hong teaches at least one of packet filters includes a real-time transport protocol (RTP) payload type (PT) (para. [0143] discern PDU-Set using one or more pieces of information included in an arbitrary header (e.g., payload/RTP/SRTP/RTCP/TCP/UDP/IP header). RTP extension header may include information about the type of payload data (e.g., an RTP payload network application layer unit type field). packet filter information (e.g., PDU-Set description information …) for discerning the PDU-Set may be transferred to a corresponding entity/node (e.g., PCF/SMF/PFDF/UDM)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Hong’s disclosure such that the packet filter of Methenni further includes a RTP PT. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been desirable to further discern certain types of packets for distinct processing such as by applying QoS rule/parameter (e.g., see para. [0154[).
Lovsen teaches PCC rules, wherein each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow (para. [0049] each PCC rule is associated with one or more service data flow (SDF) filters). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Lovsen’s disclosure such that each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Methenni discloses PCC rule(s) includes packet filter(s) (see para. [0117],[0176]), which suggests a capability to associate packet filter with each rule. Additionally, Lovsen would have allowed dynamic control per flow basis and classification of traffic by flow.
Regarding claim 31, Methenni teaches a method performed by a session management function (SMF) in a communication system, the method comprising:
Receiving, from a policy control function (PCF), policy and charging control (PCC) rules for multiplexed media flows (para. [0187] PCF may send the PCC rules to the SMF),
wherein the multiplexed media flows are differentiated based on the packet filters (para. [0154] AF may include additional packet filter information (e.g., to help identify the different multiplexed flows)),
wherein each of the PCC rules corresponds to each of the multiplexed media flows and
wherein the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow (para. [0154] AF may include additional packet filter information (e.g., to help identify the different multiplexed flows). para. [0157] AF may include (e.g., for each multiplexed traffic) a QoS reference or QoS parameter(s). para. [0165] [0165] At 3, the PCF may receive the AF request. para. [0178] PCC rule(s) may include QoS parameter(s) corresponding to the traffic identified by the service data flow information and the additional packet filter information.); and
transmitting, to a user plane function (UPF), the packet filter of the corresponding media flow among the multiplexed media flows (para. [0115] additional packet filter may be used to differentiate a media flow. SMF may include the additional packet filter and legacy packet filter in the N4 rules that are sent to the UPF. para. [0188] SMF may use the received PCC rules to generate N4 rules for the UPF,. para. [0223] SMF may send the N4 rules to the UPF).
Methenni discloses filtering using stream ID of RTP packets (see para. [0134],[0154]). Methenni does not expressly teach wherein at least one of the packet filters includes a real-time transport protocol (RTP) payload type (PT).
Methenni discloses PCC rule(s) includes packet filter(s) of a corresponding media flow (see para. [0117],[0176]). Methenni does not expressly teach wherein each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow.
Hong teaches at least one of packet filters includes a real-time transport protocol (RTP) payload type (PT) (para. [0143] discern PDU-Set using one or more pieces of information included in an arbitrary header (e.g., payload/RTP/SRTP/RTCP/TCP/UDP/IP header). RTP extension header may include information about the type of payload data (e.g., an RTP payload network application layer unit type field). packet filter information (e.g., PDU-Set description information …) for discerning the PDU-Set may be transferred to a corresponding entity/node (e.g., PCF/SMF/PFDF/UDM)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Hong’s disclosure such that the packet filter of Methenni further includes a RTP PT. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been desirable to further discern certain types of packets for distinct processing such as by applying QoS rule/parameter (e.g., see para. [0154[).
Lovsen teaches PCC rules, wherein each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow (para. [0049] each PCC rule is associated with one or more service data flow (SDF) filters). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Lovsen’s disclosure such that each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Methenni discloses PCC rule(s) includes packet filter(s) (see para. [0117],[0176]), which suggests a capability to associate packet filter with each rule. Additionally, Lovsen would have allowed dynamic control per flow basis and classification of traffic by flow.
Regarding claim 35, Methenni teaches a network entity corresponding to policy control function (PCF) in a communication system, the network entity comprising:
at least one transceiver; at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver and configured to:
receive, from an application function (AF), individual quality of service (QoS) requirements and packet filters corresponding to multiplexed media flows (para. [0154] AF may include additional packet filter information (e.g., to help identify the different multiplexed flows). para. [0157] AF may include (e.g., for each multiplexed traffic) a QoS reference or QoS parameter(s). para. [0165] [0165] At 3, the PCF may receive the AF request),
determine policy and charging control (PCC) rules after receiving the individual QoS requirements and the packet filters (para. [0173] PCF may use the received information from the request to generate PCC rules. para. [0178] PCC rule(s) may include QoS parameter(s) corresponding to the traffic identified by the service data flow information and the additional packet filter information.), and
transmit, to a session management function (SMF), the PCC rules, wherein the multiplexed media flows are differentiated based on the packet filters (para. [0187] PCF may send the PCC rules to the SMF), and
wherein the multiplexed media flows are differentiated based on the packet filters (para. [0154] AF may include additional packet filter information (e.g., to help identify the different multiplexed flows)), and
wherein each of the PCC rules corresponds to each of the multiplexed media flows,
wherein the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow (para. [0178] PCC rule(s) may include QoS parameter(s) corresponding to the traffic identified by the service data flow information and the additional packet filter information. para. [0117],[0176],[178] additional packet filter included in the PCC rule. para. [0199] SMF may use the PCC rules to determine forwarding action rules (i.e., FARs) for the (e.g., each) packet rule for the traffic flow(s) of interest.).
Methenni discloses filtering using stream ID of RTP packets (see para. [0134],[0154]). Methenni does not expressly teach wherein at least one of the packet filters includes a real-time transport protocol (RTP) payload type (PT).
Methenni discloses PCC rule(s) includes packet filter(s) of a corresponding media flow (see para. [0117],[0176]). Methenni does not expressly teach wherein each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow.
Hong teaches at least one of packet filters includes a real-time transport protocol (RTP) payload type (PT) (para. [0143] discern PDU-Set using one or more pieces of information included in an arbitrary header (e.g., payload/RTP/SRTP/RTCP/TCP/UDP/IP header). RTP extension header may include information about the type of payload data (e.g., an RTP payload network application layer unit type field). packet filter information (e.g., PDU-Set description information …) for discerning the PDU-Set may be transferred to a corresponding entity/node (e.g., PCF/SMF/PFDF/UDM)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Hong’s disclosure such that the packet filter of Methenni further includes a RTP PT. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been desirable to further discern certain types of packets for distinct processing such as by applying QoS rule/parameter (e.g., see para. [0154[).
Lovsen teaches PCC rules, wherein each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow (para. [0049] each PCC rule is associated with one or more service data flow (SDF) filters). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Lovsen’s disclosure such that each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Methenni discloses PCC rule(s) includes packet filter(s) (see para. [0117],[0176]), which suggests a capability to associate packet filter with each rule. Additionally, Lovsen would have allowed dynamic control per flow basis and classification of traffic by flow.
Regarding claim 39, Methenni teaches a network entity corresponding to session management function (SMF) in a communication system, the network entity comprising:
at least one transceiver; at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver and configured to:
receive, from a policy control function (PCF), policy and charging control (PCC) rules for multiplexed media flows (para. [0187] PCF may send the PCC rules to the SMF),
wherein the multiplexed media flows are differentiated based on the packet filters, and wherein each of the PCC rules corresponds to each of the multiplexed media flows, and wherein the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow (para. [0154] AF may include additional packet filter information (e.g., to help identify the different multiplexed flows). para. [0157] AF may include (e.g., for each multiplexed traffic) a QoS reference or QoS parameter(s). para. [0173] PCF may use the received information from the request to generate PCC rules. para. [0178] PCC rule(s) may include QoS parameter(s) corresponding to the traffic identified by the service data flow information and the additional packet filter information); and
transmit, to a user plane function (UPF), the packet filter of the corresponding media flow among the multiplexed media flows (para. [0115] additional packet filter may be used to differentiate a media flow. SMF may include the additional packet filter and legacy packet filter in the N4 rules that are sent to the UPF. para. [0188] SMF may use the received PCC rules to generate N4 rules for the UPF,. para. [0223] SMF may send the N4 rules to the UPF).
Methenni discloses filtering using stream ID of RTP packets (see para. [0134],[0154]). Methenni does not expressly teach wherein at least one of the packet filters includes a real-time transport protocol (RTP) payload type (PT).
Methenni discloses PCC rule(s) includes packet filter(s) of a corresponding media flow (see para. [0117],[0176]). Methenni does not expressly teach wherein each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow.
Hong teaches at least one of packet filters includes a real-time transport protocol (RTP) payload type (PT) (para. [0143] discern PDU-Set using one or more pieces of information included in an arbitrary header (e.g., payload/RTP/SRTP/RTCP/TCP/UDP/IP header). RTP extension header may include information about the type of payload data (e.g., an RTP payload network application layer unit type field). packet filter information (e.g., PDU-Set description information …) for discerning the PDU-Set may be transferred to a corresponding entity/node (e.g., PCF/SMF/PFDF/UDM)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Hong’s disclosure such that the packet filter of Methenni further includes a RTP PT. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been desirable to further discern certain types of packets for distinct processing such as by applying QoS rule/parameter (e.g., see para. [0154[).
Lovsen teaches PCC rules, wherein each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow (para. [0049] each PCC rule is associated with one or more service data flow (SDF) filters). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Lovsen’s disclosure such that each of the PCC rules includes a packet filter of a corresponding media flow. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Methenni discloses PCC rule(s) includes packet filter(s) (see para. [0117],[0176]), which suggests a capability to associate packet filter with each rule. Additionally, Lovsen would have allowed dynamic control per flow basis and classification of traffic by flow.
Regarding claim 29, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the method of claim 16, wherein each of the individual QoS requirements corresponds to each of the multiplexed media flows (Methenni: para. [0167] first set of QoS parameters may be related to a flow (e.g., each individual flow, for example, an RTP stream) that is multiplexed. para. [0178] PCC rule(s) may include the authorized 5QI or QoS parameters for a (e.g., each) service data flow. para. [0180] PCC rule may include the 5QI value or QoS parameters for the multiplexed traffic flow. para. [0182] if the resources for the differentiated traffic flows were established or reserved (e.g., different QoS parameters).
Regarding claim 30, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the method of claim 16, wherein the multiplexed media flows correspond to a same service data flow (Methenni: para. [0154] [0154] if the traffic is multiplexed (e.g., multiple traffic flows are multiplexed into the same service data flow described by the provided IP 5-tuple)).
Regarding claim 33, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the method of claim 31, wherein the packet filters are transmitted in a packet detection rule (PDR) (Methenni: para. [0194] PDR may include the packet filter information in the packet detection information field).
Regarding claim 34, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the method of claim 31, wherein the multiplexed media flows correspond to a same service data flow (Methenni: para. [0154] [0154] If the traffic is multiplexed (e.g., multiple traffic flows are multiplexed into the same service data flow described by the provided IP 5-tuple)).
Regarding claim 37, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the network entity of claim 35, wherein each of the individual QoS requirements corresponds to each of the multiplexed media flows (Methenni: para. [0167] first set of QoS parameters may be related to a flow (e.g., each individual flow, for example, an RTP stream) that is multiplexed. para. [0178] PCC rule(s) may include the authorized 5QI or QoS parameters for a (e.g., each) service data flow. para. [0180] PCC rule may include the 5QI value or QoS parameters for the multiplexed traffic flow. para. [0182] if the resources for the differentiated traffic flows were established or reserved (e.g., different QoS parameters).
Regarding claim 38, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the network entity of claim 35, wherein the multiplexed media flows correspond to a same service data flow (Methenni: para. [0154] [0154] if the traffic is multiplexed (e.g., multiple traffic flows are multiplexed into the same service data flow described by the provided IP 5-tuple)).
Regarding claim 41 Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the network entity of claim 39, wherein each of the individual QoS requirements corresponds to each of the multiplexed media flows (Methenni: para. [0167] first set of QoS parameters may be related to a flow (e.g., each individual flow, for example, an RTP stream) that is multiplexed. para. [0178] PCC rule(s) may include the authorized 5QI or QoS parameters for a (e.g., each) service data flow. para. [0180] PCC rule may include the 5QI value or QoS parameters for the multiplexed traffic flow. para. [0182] if the resources for the differentiated traffic flows were established or reserved (e.g., different QoS parameters).
Regarding claim 42, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the network entity of claim 39, wherein the multiplexed media flows correspond to a same service data flow (Methenni: para. [0154] [0154] if the traffic is multiplexed (e.g., multiple traffic flows are multiplexed into the same service data flow described by the provided IP 5-tuple)).
Claims 28, 32, 36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Methenni in view of Hong, Lovsen, Nix US Patent Publication No. 2013/0170417 (“Nix”), and Singh et al. US Patent Publication No. 2020/0329128 (“Singh”).
Regarding claim 28, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the method of claim 16, wherein the at least one of the packet filters further includes a media identification (MID) (Methenni: para. [0076] media streams and media flows may be used interchangeably. para. [0116] additional packet filter may be used to differentiate a media flow. para. [0138] additional packet filter may include a stream ID type and a PDU set importance field type). Methenni does not teach wherein the at least one of the packet filters further includes a synchronization source (SSRC); wherein the RTP PT is associated with a media type, a sampling rate and a codec type; and wherein the media type indicates at least one of audio or video.
Nix teaches a packet filter further includes a synchronization source (para. [0325] filter packets from a CN 108 according to… (ii) a codec and/or media format for media transmitted by CN 108 in MS 4 401, (iii) a timestamp within media transmitted by CN 108, (iv) a synchronization source identifier within media transmitted by CN 108, and/or…). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Nix’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been desirable to provide the capability to filter packets based on additional parameters (para. [0325]).
Singh teaches RTP PT associated with a media type, a sampling rate, and a codec type; and wherein the media type indicates at least one of audio or video (para. [0078] SDP session description can contain one or more media stream descriptions with information such as an IP address and port, a type of media stream (e.g., audio or video), media formats (e.g., codecs). para. [0081] RTP profile such as AVP can specify these details: for example, by specifying a mapping of specific audio and video codecs and sampling rates for these codecs to RTP payload types and clock rates). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Singh’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for benefits of providing information to determine support for the media and for configuring to receive media (para. [0078],[0081]).
Regarding claim 32, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the method of claim 31, wherein the at least one of the packet filters further includes a media identification (MID) (Methenni: para. [0076] media streams and media flows may be used interchangeably. para. [0116] additional packet filter may be used to differentiate a media flow. para. [0138] additional packet filter may include a stream ID type and a PDU set importance field type). Methenni does not teach wherein the at least one of the packet filters further includes a synchronization source (SSRC); wherein the RTP PT is associated with a media type, a sampling rate and a codec type; and wherein the media type indicates at least one of audio or video.
Nix teaches a packet filter further includes a synchronization source (para. [0325] filter packets from a CN 108 according to… (ii) a codec and/or media format for media transmitted by CN 108 in MS 4 401, (iii) a timestamp within media transmitted by CN 108, (iv) a synchronization source identifier within media transmitted by CN 108, and/or…). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Nix’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been desirable to provide the capability to filter packets based on additional parameters (para. [0325]).
Singh teaches RTP PT associated with a media type, a sampling rate, and a codec type; and wherein the media type indicates at least one of audio or video (para. [0078] SDP session description can contain one or more media stream descriptions with information such as an IP address and port, a type of media stream (e.g., audio or video), media formats (e.g., codecs). para. [0081] RTP profile such as AVP can specify these details: for example, by specifying a mapping of specific audio and video codecs and sampling rates for these codecs to RTP payload types and clock rates). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Singh’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for benefits of providing information to determine support for the media and for configuring to receive media (para. [0078],[0081]).
Regarding claim 36, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the network entity of claim 35, wherein the at least one of the packet filters further includes a media identification (MID) (Methenni: para. [0076] media streams and media flows may be used interchangeably. para. [0116] additional packet filter may be used to differentiate a media flow. para. [0138] additional packet filter may include a stream ID type and a PDU set importance field type). Methenni does not teach wherein the at least one of the packet filters further includes a synchronization source (SSRC); wherein the RTP PT is associated with a media type, a sampling rate and a codec type; and wherein the media type indicates at least one of audio or video.
Nix teaches a packet filter further includes a synchronization source (para. [0325] filter packets from a CN 108 according to… (ii) a codec and/or media format for media transmitted by CN 108 in MS 4 401, (iii) a timestamp within media transmitted by CN 108, (iv) a synchronization source identifier within media transmitted by CN 108, and/or…). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Nix’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been desirable to provide the capability to filter packets based on additional parameters (para. [0325]).
Singh teaches RTP PT associated with a media type, a sampling rate, and a codec type; and wherein the media type indicates at least one of audio or video (para. [0078] SDP session description can contain one or more media stream descriptions with information such as an IP address and port, a type of media stream (e.g., audio or video), media formats (e.g., codecs). para. [0081] RTP profile such as AVP can specify these details: for example, by specifying a mapping of specific audio and video codecs and sampling rates for these codecs to RTP payload types and clock rates). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Singh’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for benefits of providing information to determine support for the media and for configuring to receive media (para. [0078],[0081]).
Regarding claim 40, Methenni in view of Hong and Lovsen teach the network entity of claim 39, wherein the at least one of the packet filters further includes a media identification (MID) (Methenni: para. [0076] media streams and media flows may be used interchangeably. para. [0116] additional packet filter may be used to differentiate a media flow. para. [0138] additional packet filter may include a stream ID type and a PDU set importance field type). Methenni does not teach wherein the at least one of the packet filters further includes a synchronization source (SSRC); wherein the RTP PT is associated with a media type, a sampling rate and a codec type; and wherein the media type indicates at least one of audio or video.
Nix teaches a packet filter further includes a synchronization source (para. [0325] filter packets from a CN 108 according to… (ii) a codec and/or media format for media transmitted by CN 108 in MS 4 401, (iii) a timestamp within media transmitted by CN 108, (iv) a synchronization source identifier within media transmitted by CN 108, and/or…). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Nix’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been desirable to provide the capability to filter packets based on additional parameters (para. [0325]).
Singh teaches RTP PT associated with a media type, a sampling rate, and a codec type; and wherein the media type indicates at least one of audio or video (para. [0078] SDP session description can contain one or more media stream descriptions with information such as an IP address and port, a type of media stream (e.g., audio or video), media formats (e.g., codecs). para. [0081] RTP profile such as AVP can specify these details: for example, by specifying a mapping of specific audio and video codecs and sampling rates for these codecs to RTP payload types and clock rates). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Methenni with Singh’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for benefits of providing information to determine support for the media and for configuring to receive media (para. [0078],[0081]).
Examiner’s Note
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Tan et al. US Patent Publication No. 2004/0215810 (para. [0150] payload filter 104d discriminates, from the ether frames including RTP packets or RTCP packets, discrimination is carried out by comparing the payload type ("PT" in the figures) included in the RTP packets with the payload type of the data flows
Hong US Patent Publication No. 2025/0212289 (para. [0232] (For IP PDU session type), the packet filter set should support a packet filter based on at least any combination below. para. [0239] Traffic-type (payload data type): voice, video. para. [0244] Protocol information (Protocol ID of the protocol above IP/TCP/UDP/Next header type, e.g., RTP, RTCP).
Guo et al. US Patent Publication No. 2016/0191382 (para. [0107] P-GW receives one or more PCC rules from the PCRF, and each PCC rule includes a data packet filter)
Sahai et al. US Patent No. 8,605,655 (col. 15, lines 1-5. each of PCC rules 90A-90D includes one or more of SDF filters 92A-92F to identify the respective session data flows for downlink packets 98 and map the session data flows)
Bayar et al. US Patent No. 9,838,904 (col. 11, lines 23-26. Local QoS policy 64 specifies one or more pre-defined PCC rules that each includes one or more filters enabling detection of a service data flow and may further provide parameters for policy control and/or charging control)
Cho et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0224742 teaches RTP PT associated with a media type, a sampling rate, and a codec type; and wherein the media type indicates at least one of audio or video (para. [0179] payload type 1010 may include values mapped according to a video codec type. timestamp may have a predetermined interval for each RTP packet with reference to a sampling interval determined according to the payload type 101)
Conclusion
/JOSHUA JOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445