Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 11, lines 15, “both sides of the fixed part roof structure” has no antecedent basis in the claims. Additionally, it is not clear how a single fixed part joint can connect both sides of the fixed part roof structure.
In claim 11, lines 17, “both sides of the fixed part floor structure” has no antecedent basis in the claims. Additionally, it is not clear how a single fixed part joint can connect both sides of the fixed part floor structure.
Similarly, in claim 11, line 18, “both sides of the fixed part roof structure” has no antecedent basis in the claims. Additionally, it is not clear how a single fixed part joint can connect both sides of the variable part roof structure.
In claim 11, lines 21, “both sides of the fixed part floor structure” has no antecedent basis in the claims. Additionally, it is not clear how a single fixed part joint can connect both sides of the fixed part floor structure.
For purposes of expediting examination, claim 11 will be interpreted as follows:
--a fixed part joint connecting respective sides of the fixed part roof structure with a respective upper part of the fixed part side structure and connecting a respective lower part of the fixed part side structure with respective sides of the fixed part floor structure; and a variable part joint connecting respective sides of the variable part roof structure and a respective upper part of the variable part side structure and connecting a respective lower part of the variable part side structure with respective sides of the variable part floor structure.--
Claim 20 has a similar problem and will be interpreted in a similar manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale et al. (US 2013/0241236) in view of Honlinger et al. (US 2006/0005695).
With respect to claim 1, Vitale et al. disclose a joint structure of a vehicle body except that they are silent on the inclusion of a flange apparatus and a sealing member connected to the flange apparatus. Vitale et al. disclose a joint structure of a vehicle body, the joint structure comprising:
a front body module 412 fixed to a front portion 447 of an under body 445 (as shown in Fig. 19 of Vitale et al.);
a rear body module 414 detachably mounted at a rear portion 449 of the under body 445 and a rear portion 48 of the front body module 412 (as shown in Fig. 19 of Vitale et al.).
Honlinger et al. teach a similar joint structure including a flange apparatus 4.1/5.1 extending in an inward direction of the vehicle body from the rear portion of a front body module 1 (as shown in Fig. 4 of Honlinger et al.) and a front portion of a rear body module 2 (as shown in Fig. 3 of Honlinger et al.); and
a sealing member 6.2 connected to the flange apparatus 4.1/5.1 (Honlinger et al., paragraph [0031; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Honlinger et al. with the joint structure disclosed by Vitale et al. for the advantage of providing a seal between modules of the vehicle in order to prevent moisture and other elements from entering the vehicle.
With respect to claim 2, Honlinger et al. disclose that the flange apparatus comprises:
a roof flange disposed on each of a fixed part roof structure of the front body module and a variable part roof structure of the rear body module, as shown below in the images taken from Figs. 3-4 of Honlinger et al.:
[AltContent: textbox (floor flange of variable part floor structure (not shown))][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (roof flange of fixed part roof structure)][AltContent: textbox (side flange of variable part side structure)][AltContent: textbox (roof flange of variable part roof structure)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (side flange of fixed part side structure)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (floor flange of fixed part floor structure)]
a side flange disposed on each of a fixed part side structure of the front body module and a variable part side structure of the rear body module (as indicated above); and
a floor flange disposed on each of a fixed part floor structure of the front body module and a variable part floor structure of the rear body module (as indicated above, note, while the side flange of the variable part side structure is not explicitly shown, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize that a flange portion would be on the rear body module to match the sealing member on the floor flange of the fixed part floor structure).
With respect to claim 3, Honlinger et al. teach that the fixed part roof structure and the variable part roof structure are connected along a front-to-back direction of the vehicle body through roof fastening members (9.1/9.1’, Honlinger et al, paragraph [0033]);
the fixed part side structure and the variable part side structure are connected along the front-to-back direction of the vehicle body through side fastening members (9.2/9.2’, Honlinger et al, paragraph [0033]); and
the fixed part floor structure and the variable part floor structure are connected along the front-to-back direction of the vehicle body through floor fastening members (9.4/9.4’, Honlinger et al, paragraph [0033]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale et al. (US 2013/0241236) in view of Honlinger et al. (US 2006/0005695), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (CN 216768670).
With respect to claim 4, Vitale et al. in view of Honlinger et al. disclose the claimed joint structure except that they are silent on the details of the sealing member. However, Jiang et al. teach a sealing member for a flange including a double sealing weather strip 1, in the combination, would be connected to the roof flange, the side flange, and the floor flange inside of the vehicle body, the double sealing weather strip 1 comprising a plurality of sealing ribs 403 (as shown in Fig. 2 of Jiang et al.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Jiang et al. with the joint structure disclosed by Vitale et al. in view of Honlinger et al. for the advantage of the convex contact structure which can compensate for the problem of sealing failure caused by processing error or deformation of the connecting parts (Jiang et al., abstract).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale et al. (US 2013/0241236) in view of Honlinger et al. (US 2006/0005695) and Jiang et al. (CN 216768670).
With respect to claim 16, Vitale et al. disclose the claimed vehicle body except that they are silent on the inclusion of a flange apparatus and whether the weather strip connected to the roof flange, the side flange and the floor flange inside of the vehicle body is a double sealing weather strip comprising a plurality of sealing ribs. Vitale et al. disclose a vehicle comprising:
a front body module 412 fixed to a front portion 447 of an under body 445 (as shown in Fig. 19 of Vitale et al.);
a vehicle body comprising an under body 445, a front body module 412 fixed to a front portion 447 of the under body 445, and a rear body module 412 detachably mounted at a rear portion 449 of the under body 445 and a rear portion 48of the front body module 412 (as shown in Fig. 19 of Vitale et al.).
Honlinger et al. teach a similar joint structure including a flange apparatus 4.1/5.1 extending in an inward direction of the vehicle body from the rear portion of a front body module 1 (as shown in Fig. 4 of Honlinger et al.) and a front portion of a rear body module 2 (as shown in Fig. 3 of Honlinger et al.), wherein the flange apparatus 4.1/5.1 comprises:
a roof flange disposed on each of a fixed part roof structure of the front body module and a variable part roof structure of the rear body module, as shown below in the images taken from Figs. 3-4 of Honlinger et al.:
[AltContent: textbox (floor flange of variable part floor structure (not shown))][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (side flange of variable part side structure)][AltContent: textbox (roof flange of variable part roof structure)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (roof flange of fixed part roof structure)]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (side flange of fixed part side structure)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (floor flange of fixed part floor structure)]
a side flange disposed on each of a fixed part side structure of the front body module and a variable part side structure of the rear body module (as indicated above); and
a floor flange disposed on each of a fixed part floor structure of the front body module and a variable part floor structure of the rear body module (as indicated above, note, while the side flange of the variable part side structure is not explicitly shown, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize that a flange portion would be on the rear body module to match the sealing member on the floor flange of the fixed part floor structure).
a weather strip 6.2 connected to the flange apparatus 4.1/5.1 (Honlinger et al., paragraph [0031; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Honlinger et al. with the vehicle disclosed by Vitale et al. for the advantage of providing a seal between modules of the vehicle in order to prevent moisture and other elements from entering the vehicle.
Jiang et al. teach a weather strip for a flange including a double sealing weather strip 1. In the combination, the double sealing weather strip 1 would be connected to the roof flange, the side flange, and the floor flange inside of the vehicle body. Additionally, the double sealing weather strip 1 comprising a plurality of sealing ribs 403 (as shown in Fig. 2 of Jiang et al.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Jiang et al. with the vehicle disclosed by Vitale et al. in view of Honlinger et al. for the advantage of the convex contact structure which can compensate for the problem of sealing failure caused by processing error or deformation of the connecting parts (Jiang et al., abstract).
With respect to claim 17, Honlinger et al. teach that the fixed part roof structure and the variable part roof structure are connected along a front-to-back direction of the vehicle body through roof fastening members (9.1/9.1’, Honlinger et al., paragraph [0033]);
the fixed part side structure and the variable part side structure are connected along the front-to-back direction of the vehicle body through side fastening members (9.2/9.2’, Honlinger et al., paragraph [0033]); and
the fixed part floor structure and the variable part floor structure are connected along the front-to-back direction of the vehicle body through floor fastening members (9.4/9.4’, Honlinger et al., paragraph [0033]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-15 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5-6 have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the roof flange being disposed on a fixed part roof rail assembly of the fixed part roof structure and on a variable part roof rail assembly of the variable part roof structure.
Claims 7-8 have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the side flange being disposed on a fixed part pillar inner member assembly of the fixed part side structure and on a variable part pillar inner member assembly of the variable part side structure.
Claims 9-10 have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the floor flange being disposed on a fixed part cross member assembly of the fixed part floor structure and on a variable part cross member assembly of the variable part floor structure.
Claims 11-15 have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the fixed part joint connecting respective sides of the fixed part roof structure with a respective upper part of the fixed part side structure and connecting a respective lower part of the fixed part side structure with respective sides of the fixed part floor structure; and a variable part joint connecting respective sides of the variable part roof structure and a respective upper part of the variable part side structure and connecting a respective lower part of the variable part side structure with respective sides of the variable part floor structure (see above 112(b) rejection for the interpretation of claim 11).
Claims 18-19 have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the roof flange being disposed on a fixed part roof rail assembly of the fixed part roof structure and on a variable part roof rail assembly of the variable part roof structure.
Claim 20 has been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the fixed part joint connecting respective sides of the fixed part roof structure with a respective upper part of the fixed part side structure and connecting a respective lower part of the fixed part side structure with respective sides of the fixed part floor structure; and a variable part joint connecting respective sides of the variable part roof structure and a respective upper part of the variable part side structure and connecting a respective lower part of the variable part side structure with respective sides of the variable part floor structure (see above 112(b) rejection for the interpretation of claim 20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reiners et al. is cited to show another example of a sealing member between an inner flange of a detachable body part and the inward flange of a rear body module. Zhang et al. and Bonfilio et al. are cited to show other examples of a vehicle with a front body module fixed to a front portion of an under body and a rear body module detachably mounted at a rear portion of the under body and a rear portion of the front body module.
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Daniel J Colilla/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612