Claim Objections
1. Claims 3, 11, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 uses the term “said embossing roller” in line 3. While it is unambiguous that this term refers to the “first embossing roller” of claim 1, for consistency among claims, claim 3 should be amended to read “said first embossing roller”.
Claim 11 uses the term “the embossing roller” in lines 1-2. While it is unambiguous that this term refers to the “first embossing roller” of claim 1, for consistency among claims, claim 11 should be amended to read “the first embossing roller”.
Claim 12 uses the term “the embossing roller” in lines 1-2. While it is unambiguous that this term refers to the “first embossing roller” of claim 1, for consistency among claims, claim 12 should be amended to read “the first embossing roller”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
“Application means” is recited 3 times in claim 1 lines 11-13 is to be interpreted as a “kiss roll” or equivalents as understood in [0075]-[0078] of Applicant’s Specification.
3. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“joining and piercing unit” in claim 1 line 7. “Joining and piercing” are functional limitations, “unit” is a generic placeholder, and the claims do not give sufficient structure to perform the claimed function. Structure is found in [0072] as an ultrasound joiner or alternatively a thermal or mechanical joiner, and will be interpreted as such and equivalents. This 112(f) interpretation does not apply to claim 10, where it is specified that the joining and piercing unit is an ultrasonic device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 lines 1-2 has the phrase “multilayer absorbent element for organic fluid apt to be incorporated into a sanitary article”. The word “apt” makes this phrase unclear whether this statement is an intended use of a produced good or a property of the produced good. This in turn makes it unclear whether this statement should be incorporated as a limiting claim limitation as a property of a produced good may affect the applicability of prior art, while an intended use may not. Such differences in scope may change the applicability of prior art during examination. Please amend the preamble to clarify whether this statement is an intended use or a property of the product.
Regarding claim 5, Claim 5 recites the limitation "said protruding elements of said second roller" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5 depends on claim 1, however the “protruding elements” of the second roller are established in claim 4, and therefore in claim 5 lacks antecedent basis. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret claim 5 as being dependent on claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 recites the limitation "said cavities of the pierced roller" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no “pierced roller” in the claims, nor that the “pierced roller” has “cavities”.
Regarding claim 12, Claim 12 recites the limitation "said cavities of the pierced roller" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no “pierced roller” in the claims, nor that the “pierced roller” has “cavities”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV et al. (CN 105729898; PDF translation included with Office Action; hereafter LV) in view of Paldey et al. (US 2012/0234475; hereafter Paldey).
Regarding claim 1, LV teaches of a manufacturing apparatus of a multilayer absorbent element such as a sanitary article (pg. 2 lines 7-20) shown in Figure 10 as comprising a first embossing roller (first embossing roller- 43) configured to be engaged by a first layer of sheet material (first material- 2; pg. 8 lines 11-16), the first embossing roller bearing a plurality of first protruding elements (third projection; noted as engaging with concave hole 421, which as seen in Figure 3 there is a plurality of these holes; pg. 7 lines 3-5; Figure 10 also shows a plurality of projections on the first embossing roller- 43). Lv’s apparatus further comprises a second roller (bottom roller- 42) configured for being engaged by the first layer of sheet material (first material- 2) and a second layer of sheet material (second material- 3) which overlaps the first layer of material (pg. 8 lines 24-30), as well as a joining and piercing unit (ultrasonic wave generator- 7) configured to make a plurality of through holes on the first and/or on the second layer at selected zones thereof and to join the first layer of sheet material and the second layer of sheet material along the perimeter of each through hole of said plurality (pg. 10 lines 22-29; noted as sealing by heat at convex patterns 422, which are the through holes of the dual material layer; also noted as a stitching mechanism in claim 9).
LV does not teach of an application means of a hydrophilic agent, but does teach that the material layers are hydrophilic (pg. 3 line 17), which establishes compatibility with hydrophilic materials for the apparatus. Paldey teaches an application means (first and second printing rolls- 144 and 156; shown in Figure 9) that is configured to apply a hydrophilic agent (absorbent particulate material) at the walls of through holes (“valleys”) of a first and second material (substrates 64 and 72; [0100]-[0101]). The application means work in conjunction with support rolls 140 and 152 ([0096]), that in the context of LV would be the second roller. Paldey teaches that the advantage of such a technique is that it produces a comfortable article that does not comprise performance ([0109]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to include the application means of Paldey in the apparatus of LV for the advantage of being able to produce a comfortable article that does not comprise performance.
Regarding claim 2, as seen in Figure 10 of LV, the first and second rollers are coupled in rotation
Regarding claim 3, LV teaches that the second roller has a plurality of cavities each suitable for receiving a respective first protruding element of the first embossing roller (pg. 7 lines 1-3; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, LV teaches that the second roller bears a plurality of second protruding elements (convex patterns- 422) that are configured to cooperate with said joining and piercing unit to make the through holes (pg. 10 lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 5, as seen in Figure 3, LV gives a suggested configuration where some of the protruding elements of the second roller have a cylindrical profile, but not all. However, MPEP 2114.04.IV.B teaches that a change in shape is “a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would [find] obvious absent persuasive evidence that [a] particular configuration … was significant” In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). No evidence is presented that such a particular configuration is significant, and therefore each second protruding element having a cylindrical profile is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention as a matter of choice.
Regarding claim 6, LV does not teach the dimensions of the second protruding elements, however MPEP 2144.04.IV.A teaches- “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). There appears no difference in performance between LV and the currently claimed device. As such, this additional claim limitation does not differentiate over the prior art of LV. Further, such dimensions (width of 0.5 mm) are suggested by Paldey for grid placement of their hydrophilic material ([0074]-[0076]), which gives evidence that LV would be capable of performing in the same manner as the claimed invention with such dimensions.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, similarly to the rejection of claim 5, each second protruding element of the second roller having a tapered profile (relevant to claim 7) or more specifically a conical or frusto-conical profile (relevant to claim 8) is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention as a matter of choice as per MPEP 2114.04.IV.B.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 6.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1, the joining and piercing device of LV comprises an ultrasonic device (ultrasonic wave generator- 7).
Regarding claim 11, LV teaches that the first protruding elements are of similar shape to fourth protrusions- 441 (pg. 8 line 38- pg. 9 line 6); which as seen in Figure 7 are substantially cylindrical.
Regarding claim 12, in a similar fashion to the rejection of claims 6 and 9, the relative dimensions of the first protruding elements of the first embossing roller do not differentiate the claimed apparatus over the prior art of LV. Also similarly, Paldey also suggests the usability of the the dimension of 2 mm ([0076]).
Double Patenting
8. Claims 1-3, and 11-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,987,257 (hereafter ‘257). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1, ‘257 teaches a manufacturing apparatus of a multilayer absorbent element for organic fluids apt to be incorporated into a sanitary article (claim 22; col. 9 lines 38-39) comprising a first embossing roller bearing a plurality of first protruding elements and configured to be engaged by a first layer of sheet (laminate) material (claim 22; col. 9 lines 62-64) a second roller (suction roller) configured for being engaged by the first layer of sheet material and a second layer of sheet material which overlaps the first layer of material (claim 22; col 10 lines 25-31) a joining and piercing unit (second embossing roller with protrusions; claim 22; col. 9 lines 65-67) unit configured to make a plurality of through holes on the first and/or on the second layer at selected zones thereof and to join the first layer of sheet material and the second layer of sheet material along the perimeter of each through hole of said plurality (claim 22; col. 9 lines 52-55), and an application means of a hydrophilic agent (super-absorbent material) on the second roller that applies the hydrophilic agent on the walls of the through holes of said plurality onto said first layer (claim 22; col. 10 lines 19-24).
Regarding claim 2, ‘257 teaches that the first and second rollers are coupled in rotation (claim 22; col. 10 lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, ‘257 teaches that the second roller has a plurality of cavities, wherein each cavity of the plurality is suitable for receiving a respective first protruding element of said first embossing roller (claim 2; col. 10 lines 3-5).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the shape (Claim 11) and size (Claim 12) of the protruding elements would be rendered obvious by the principals taught in MPEP 2144.04.IV subsections A- “Changes in Size/Proportion” and B- “Changes in Shape”, and thus do not differentiate over the claims of ’257 and thus are still subject to Double Patenting Rejections.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745