DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5-8, 11, 15, and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 8-10 and similar limitations in claims 11, 18, and 20, it is recommended to change “the computing device configured for collecting measurement data from the plurality of sensors, storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data” to “the computing device configured to collect measurement data from the plurality of sensors, store said measurement data, and transmit said measurement data”
Claim 5, line 3, “the motor” should read “the electronic motor”
Claim 6, line 3, “the motor” should read “the electronic motor”
Claim 7, line 3, “the motor” should read “the electronic motor”
Claim 8, lines 3-4, “the motor” should read “the electronic motor”
Claim 15, line 3, “the motor” should read “the electronic motor”
Claim 19, line 3, “the motor” should read “the electronic motor”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, recites the limitation “an electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint, an electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity, and an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint”. It is unclear whether the electric motor recited for each application is the same electric motor or different/separate electric motors (i.e. a first motor, second motor, or third motor). This uncertainty renders the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as “a first electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint, a second electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity, and a third electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint”.
Claim 1, further recites the limitation, “a plurality of sensors embedded in the device, including at least a sensor for measuring force, a sensor for measuring position, and a sensor for measuring an angle”. It is unclear whether the plurality of sensors recited for each application is the same sensor (i.e. an angular position sensor measures both angle and position) or different ones (a force sensor, a position sensor, and an angle sensor). For purposes of examination, the plurality of sensors are being interpreted as different sensors.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the user’s joint" and “the user’s lower extremity” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “the user’s joint” will be interpreted as “a user’s joint” and “the user’s lower extremity” will be interpreted as “the lower limb extremity”.
Claims 2-10 are also rejected due to being dependent off of claim 1.
Claim 11, recites the limitation “an electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity, and an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint”. It is unclear whether the electric motor recited for each application is the same electric motor or different/separate electric motors (i.e. a first motor and second motor). This uncertainty renders the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as “a first electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity, and an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint”.
Claim 11, further recites the limitation, “a plurality of sensors embedded in the device, including at least a sensor for measuring force, a sensor for measuring position, and a sensor for measuring an angle”. It is unclear whether the plurality of sensors recited for each application is the same sensor (i.e. an angular position sensor measures both angle and position) or different ones (a force sensor, a position sensor, and an angle sensor). For purposes of examination, the plurality of sensors are being interpreted as different sensors.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the user’s joint" and “the user’s lower extremity” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “the user’s joint” will be interpreted as “a user’s joint” and “the user’s lower extremity” will be interpreted as “the lower limb extremity”.
Claims 12-17 are also rejected due to being dependent off of claim 11.
Claim 18, recites the limitation “an electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint and an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint”. It is unclear whether the electric motor recited for each application is the same electric motor or different/separate electric motors (i.e. a first motor and second motor). This uncertainty renders the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as “a first electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint and a second electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint”.
For purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as “a first electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint, a second electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity, and a third electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint”.
Claim 18, further recites the limitation, “a plurality of sensors embedded in the device, including at least a sensor for measuring force, a sensor for measuring position, and a sensor for measuring an angle”. It is unclear whether the plurality of sensors recited for each application is the same sensor (i.e. an angular position sensor measures both angle and position) or different ones (a force sensor, a position sensor, and an angle sensor). For purposes of examination, the plurality of sensors are being interpreted as different sensors.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the user’s joint" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “the user’s joint” will be interpreted as “a user’s joint”.
Claims 19 is also rejected due to being dependent off of claim 18.
Claim 20, recites the limitation “an electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint, and an electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity”. It is unclear whether the electric motor recited for each application is the same electric motor or different/separate electric motors (i.e. a first motor, second motor, or third motor). This uncertainty renders the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as “a first electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint, and a second electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity”.
Claim 20, further recites the limitation, “a plurality of sensors embedded in the device, including at least a sensor for measuring force, a sensor for measuring position, and a sensor for measuring an angle”. It is unclear whether the plurality of sensors recited for each application is the same sensor (i.e. an angular position sensor measures both angle and position) or different ones (a force sensor, a position sensor, and an angle sensor). For purposes of examination, the plurality of sensors are being interpreted as different sensors.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the user’s joint" and “the user’s lower extremity” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “the user’s joint” will be interpreted as “a user’s joint” and “the user’s lower extremity” will be interpreted as “the lower limb extremity”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “a user attached to the assembly”. The limitation is, therefore, directed towards claiming a user being attached to an assembly and as such is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. It is recommended to amend the limitation in such a way that the assembly is configured to attached rather than the user. For example, “the device comprises a seat configured to seat a user and the assembly configured to secure the lower limb extremity of the user”.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites “a user attached to the assembly”. The limitation is, therefore, directed towards claiming a user being attached to an assembly and as such is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. It is recommended to amend the limitation in such a way that the assembly is configured to attached rather than the user. For example, “the device comprises a seat configured to seat a user and the assembly configured to secure the lower limb extremity of the user”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 11, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren (US 20120165158) in view of Lerner (US 20210291355) and further in view of Roberts (US 20250134458).
Regarding claim 1, Ren discloses
a multi-function joint rehabilitation and exercise apparatus (figs. 1a-7b; a wearable and convertible device which can be worn in different training postures, such as lying, sitting, standing and walking, to receive passive/assistive exercise and has multiple modes for operating function; [0019] and [0026]), comprising:
a) a device comprising an assembly for accommodating a lower limb extremity such that said lower limb extremity rests securely within said assembly (figs. 4-5c and 7b; wearable and convertible device comprises a wearable ankle device where the user’s lower limb is secured using securing component 140; [0060]-[0061] and [0069]), and an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint (figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 1, motor driving portion/motor 101 can output high driving torque in passive stretching, which is enough to fight against hypertonia (high muscle tone or stiffness of joints) and conduct safe effective joint stretching; [0002], [0021], [0071]-[0075]; and training device can be used for different training functions to train ankle joint, and knee joint by setting up different kinds of limb retainer; [0069]);
b) a plurality of sensors embedded in the device, including at least a sensor for measuring force (figs. 1a-4; a force/torque sensor 106, which is setup between the connection rod 105 and the second retainer 109 in the movement portion; [0053] and [0060]), and a sensor for measuring an angle (figs. 1a-4; a position sensor 119, which can detect the change of angular position of the impaired limb by detecting the change of angular position of the movement portion; [0052] and [0060]); and
c) a computing device comprising at least a processor (fig. 1b; control unit 180 with resistance compensating unit 183, assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184, active assistive/speed adjusting unit 190; [0071]-[0075]), the computing device configured for collecting measurement data from the plurality of sensors (fig. 1b; detection units 181, 185, and 191 detects changes in angular position and torques from position sensor 119 and force/torque sensor 106; [0052], [0053], and [0071]-[0075]), transmitting said measurement data during use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 1b, 4, 7b; control unit 180 is connected to the communication unit. The control signals and data are transmitted to said displayer in a wired or wireless way; [0075]).
While Ren does disclose the motor driving portion 101 being capable of applying torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) and applying torque that is in the same direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that an assistive force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184 ; [0023], [0056], [0071]-[0075]), it does not explicitly disclose an additional electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint and a second additional electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity. Further, Ren does not disclose an additional sensor for measuring position and a computing device comprising a memory, storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data during and after use of the apparatus by the user.
Lerner discloses an analogous ankle exoskeleton for rehabilitation [0043] with one or more sensors 74 providing adjustments and information such as orientation of the user’s gait and force applied by the user/device ([0061]-[0062] and [0068], and claim 1) and
an electric motor (fig. 6; one or more actuators 30 may generate force through a rotary electric motor, linear electric motor; [0047]; see fig. 6; includes four actuators/motors 30 including motor 30 of upper hinged assembly 16a; [0064]-[0065]) for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint (figs. 2-6; may provide resistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as upper hinged assembly 16a) in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque); [0043], [0051], [0059], and [0063]-[0065]), an electric motor (fig. 6; one or more actuators 30 may generate force through a rotary electric motor, linear electric motor; [0047]; see fig. 6; includes four actuators/motors 30 including motor 30 of lower hinged assembly 16b; [0064]-[0065]) for moving the user’s lower extremity (figs. 5-6; actuator/motor 30 may provide assistance during some modes of operation in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque) such as providing assistive torque to move the user’s toes downwards or upwards; [0043], [0051], [0059],[0063]-[0065], and [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable and convertible device of Ren with the additional actuators/motors assemblies of Lerner to provide further motors for assistance mode of operation and resistance mode of operation, therefore, improving mobility or posture of the user’s lower extremities and increasing muscle recruitment during a function task (e.g. walking) (Lerner: [0043]).
The modified device of Ren does not explicitly disclose an additional sensor for measuring position and a computing device comprising a memory, storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data during and after use of the apparatus by the user.
Roberts discloses an analogous powered orthosis device that may be configured to provide resistive torque, assistive torque, or a combination thereof to the anatomical joint (figs. 1-8, [0018]) using electronics such as one or more actuators 230, a communication module 220, [0025]); and
a sensor for measuring position (figs. 1-8; sensors 210 may comprise brace pose sensors that sense a pose of the mechanical brace 130 including its orientation and/or position such as one or more inertial measurement units (IMUs) or other orientation and/or position sensors located on each side of the anatomical joint of the use; [0026] and [0046]) and a sensor for measuring angle (fig. 2; angle sensor 214 for detecting the joint angle [0027] and
a computing device comprising a memory (fig. 2; assistive medical system 101 and electronics 120 with controller 280 which may be implemented as a processor and a storage device; [0014], [0025], and [0040]), storing said measurement data (fig. 2; The controller 280 may furthermore include storage for storing various data described herein such as acquired sensor data and predefined poses; [0040]) and transmitting said measurement data (figs. 1 and 2; communication module 220 includes a wireless transceiver to transmit and receive data from the controller 280 to the client device 140, the clinician device 170, and/or the cloud infrastructure 160; [0041]) after use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 1; where the client device 140 includes a telehealth application which enable the patient to access various data, analytics, or controls relating to operation, and enables communication of rehabilitation plan based on monitored performance; [0014-[0016] and devices 140, 170 operate in conjunction with cloud infrastructure 160 to communicate information and perform various advanced analytics algorithms based on data obtained from the client device 140 relating to operation of the powered orthosis device 150; [0024] data transferred for analytics after rehabilitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable ankle device of Ren with the sensors of Roberts to further obtain orientation and position data for correct alignment, therefore, helping to guide the user through various exercises, poses, and motions (Robert: [0030]-[0031]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the wearable ankle device of Ren with the assistive medical system devices, controller, and communication module of Roberts to store various data, perform analytics algorithms associated with the user, and communicate rehabilitation plans based on monitored performance; therefore, aiding the user’s rehabilitation (Roberts: [0014]-[0016], [0024], and [0040]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Ren further discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller) of claim 1,
wherein the sensor for measuring an angle comprises a rotary encoder (Roberts: fig. 2; the angle sensor 214 is a rotary encoder and detects the joint angle; [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Ren further discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller; Lerner: additional motors for applying resistance/assistance mode of operation to hinged assemblies of the device) of claim 1,
wherein the computing device is further configured for reading the measurement data as feedback during use of the apparatus (Ren: control portion 180 can control the torque applied to the movement portion based on the detected change in angular position and the control portion 180 can adjust the rotation speed and the range of motion according to the signal detected by the force/torque sensor 106 by controlling the electrical current in the motor driving portion; [0053], [0071]-[0075]; Roberts: controller 280 uses obtained sensor data to detect alignment, provide feedback to enable the user to correct the alignment, and controls the actuators 230 to cause the brace 130 to provide resistive and/or assistive torque to the relevant joint; [0030], [0031], [0034], and [0045]) and adjusting force applied by the motor (Ren: figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 4, assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184 of the control unit 180 can apply a torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) ) for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint (Lerner: figs. 2-6; motors 30 (of upper hinged assemblies 16a) may provide resistance/assistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as upper hinged assembly 16a) in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque); [0043], [0051], [0059], and [0063]-[0065]; where actuation of motors 30 are based on acquired data from one or more sensors 72; [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Ren further discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller; Lerner: additional motors for applying resistance/assistance mode of operation to hinged assemblies of the device) of claim 1,
wherein the computing device is further configured for reading the measurement data as feedback during use of the apparatus (Ren: control portion 180 can control the torque applied to the movement portion based on the detected change in angular position and the control portion 180 can adjust the rotation speed and the range of motion according to the signal detected by the force/torque sensor 106 by controlling the electrical current in the motor driving portion; [0053], [0071]-[0075]; Roberts: controller 280 uses obtained sensor data to detect alignment, provide feedback to enable the user to correct the alignment, and controls the actuators 230 to cause the brace 130 to provide resistive and/or assistive torque to the relevant joint; [0030], [0031], [0034], and [0045]) and adjusting force applied by the motor (Ren: figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 3, assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184 can apply a torque that is in the same direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that an assistive force can be applied to the moving limb; [0023], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) for moving the user’s lower extremity (Lerner: figs. 5-6; motors 30 (of lower hinged assembly 16b) may provide assistance/resistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as lower hinged assembly 16b) during some modes of operation in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque), [0043], [0051], [0059],[0063]-[0065]; for example by providing assistive torque to move the user’s toes downwards or upwards, [0072]; where actuation of motors 30 are based on acquired data from one or more sensors 72; [0061]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Ren further discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller; Lerner: additional motors for applying resistance/assistance mode of operation to hinged assemblies of the device) of claim 1,
wherein the computing device is further configured for reading the measurement data as feedback during use of the apparatus (Ren: control portion 180 can control the torque applied to the movement portion based on the detected change in angular position and the control portion 180 can adjust the rotation speed and the range of motion according to the signal detected by the force/torque sensor 106 by controlling the electrical current in the motor driving portion; [0053], [0071]-[0075]; Roberts: controller 280 uses obtained sensor data to detect alignment, provide feedback to enable the user to correct the alignment, and controls the actuators 230 to cause the brace 130 to provide resistive and/or assistive torque to the relevant joint; [0030], [0031], [0034], and [0045]) and adjusting force applied by the motor for applying force to the user’s joint (Ren: figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 1, motor driving portion/motor 101 can output high driving torque in passive stretching, which is enough to fight against hypertonia (high muscle tone or stiffness of joints) and conduct safe effective joint stretching; [0002], [0021], [0071]-[0075]; and training device can be used for different training functions to train ankle joint, and knee joint by setting up different kinds of limb retainer; [0069]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Ren further discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller; Lerner: additional motors for applying resistance/assistance mode of operation to hinged assemblies of the device) of claim 1,
wherein the computing device is further configured for reading the measurement data as feedback during use of the apparatus (Ren: control portion 180 can control the torque applied to the movement portion based on the detected change in angular position and the control portion 180 can adjust the rotation speed and the range of motion according to the signal detected by the force/torque sensor 106 by controlling the electrical current in the motor driving portion; [0053], [0071]-[0075]; Roberts: controller 280 uses obtained sensor data to detect alignment, provide feedback to enable the user to correct the alignment, and controls the actuators 230 to cause the brace 130 to provide resistive and/or assistive torque to the relevant joint; [0030], [0031], [0034], and [0045]) and adjusting force applied by the motor (Ren: figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 4, assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184 can apply a torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint (Lerner: figs. 2-6; motors 30 (of upper hinged assemblies 16a) may provide resistance/assistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as upper hinged assembly 16a) in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque); [0043], [0051], [0059], and [0063]-[0065]; where actuation of motors 30 are based on acquired data from one or more sensors 72; [0061]), the motor for moving the user’s lower extremity (Lerner: figs. 5-6; motors 30 (of lower hinged assembly 16b) may provide assistance/resistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as lower hinged assembly 16b) during some modes of operation in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque), [0043], [0051], [0059],[0063]-[0065]; for example by providing assistive torque to move the user’s toes downwards or upwards, [0072]; where actuation of motors 30 are based on acquired data from one or more sensors 72; [0061]), and the motor for applying force to the user’s joint (Ren: figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 1, motor driving portion/motor 101 can output high driving torque in passive stretching, which is enough to fight against hypertonia (high muscle tone or stiffness of joints) and conduct safe effective joint stretching; [0002], [0021], [0071]-[0075]; and training device can be used for different training functions to train ankle joint, and knee joint by setting up different kinds of limb retainer; [0069]; where actuation of motors 30 are based on acquired data from one or more sensors 72; [0061]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Ren further discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller) of claim 1,
wherein the computing device further comprises a radio frequency transmitter for transmitting said measurement data wirelessly (Roberts: figs. 1 and 2; communication module 220 includes a wireless transceiver to transmit and receive data includes 802.11, 4G, 5G, code division multiple access (CDMA), BLUETOOTH®, or other wireless communication protocols; [0041]; BLUETOOTH® is a radio frequency transmitter) during (Ren: sensor data is communicated with control unit 180 to adjust motor during use; [0018]-[0019] and [0071]-[0075]; Roberts: acquired sensor data and predefined poses may be compared during use to achieve proper alignment; [0039]-[0041]) and after use of the apparatus by the user (Roberts: fig. 1; where the client device 140 includes a telehealth application which enable the patient to access various data, analytics, or controls relating to operation, and enables communication of rehabilitation plan based on monitored performance; [0014-[0016] and devices 140, 170 operate in conjunction with cloud infrastructure 160 to communicate information and perform various advanced analytics algorithms based on data obtained from the client device 140 relating to operation of the powered orthosis device 150; [0024] data transferred for analytics after rehabilitation).
Regarding claim 11, Ren discloses
a multi-function joint rehabilitation and exercise apparatus (figs. 1a-7b; a wearable and convertible device which can be worn in different training postures, such as lying, sitting, standing and walking, to receive passive/assistive exercise and has multiple modes for operating function; [0019] and [0026]), comprising:
a) a device comprising an assembly for accommodating a lower limb extremity such that said lower limb extremity rests securely within said assembly (figs. 4-5c and 7b; wearable and convertible device comprises a wearable ankle device where the user’s lower limb is secured using securing component 140; [0060]-[0061] and [0069]), an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint (figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 1, motor driving portion/motor 101 can output high driving torque in passive stretching, which is enough to fight against hypertonia (high muscle tone or stiffness of joints) and conduct safe effective joint stretching; [0002], [0021], [0071]-[0075]; and training device can be used for different training functions to train ankle joint, and knee joint by setting up different kinds of limb retainer; [0069]);
b) a plurality of sensors embedded in the device, including at least a sensor for measuring force (figs. 1a-4; a force/torque sensor 106, which is setup between the connection rod 105 and the second retainer 109 in the movement portion; [0053] and [0060]), , and a sensor for measuring an angle (figs. 1a-4; a position sensor 119, which can detect the change of angular position of the impaired limb by detecting the change of angular position of the movement portion; [0052] and [0060]); and
c) a computing device comprising at least a processor (fig. 1b; control unit 180 with resistance compensating unit 183, assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184, active assistive/speed adjusting unit 190; [0071]-[0075]), the computing device configured for collecting measurement data from the plurality of sensors (fig. 1b; detection units 181, 185, and 191 detects changes in angular position and torques from position sensor 119 and force/torque sensor 106; [0052], [0053], and [0071]-[0075]), transmitting said measurement data during use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 1b, 4, 7b; control unit 180 is connected to the communication unit. The control signals and data are transmitted to said displayer in a wired or wireless way; [0075]).
While Ren does disclose the motor driving portion 101 being capable of applying torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) and applying torque that is in the same direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that an assistive force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184 ; [0023], [0056], [0071]-[0075]), it does not explicitly disclose an additional electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity. Further, Ren does not disclose an additional sensor for measuring position and a computing device comprising a memory, storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data during and after use of the apparatus by the user.
Lerner discloses an analogous ankle exoskeleton for rehabilitation [0043] with one or more sensors 74 providing adjustments and information such as orientation of the user’s gait and force applied by the user/device ([0061]-[0062] and [0068], and claim 1) and
an electric motor (fig. 6; one or more actuators 30 may generate force through a rotary electric motor, linear electric motor; [0047]; see fig. 6; includes four actuators/motors 30 including motors 30 of upper hinged assembly 16a; [0064]-[0065]) for moving the user’s lower extremity (figs. 5-6; actuator/motors 30 may provide assistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as lower hinged assembly 16b) during some modes of operation in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque) such as providing assistive torque to move the user’s toes downwards or upwards; [0043], [0051], [0059],[0063]-[0065], and [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable and convertible device of Ren with the additional actuators/motors assemblies of Lerner to provide further motors for assistance mode of operation, therefore, improving mobility or posture of the user’s lower extremities (Lerner: [0043]).
The modified device of Ren does not explicitly disclose a sensor for measuring position and a computing device comprising a memory, storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data during and after use of the apparatus by the user.
Roberts discloses an analogous powered orthosis device that may be configured to provide resistive torque, assistive torque, or a combination thereof to the anatomical joint (figs. 1-8, [0018]) using electronics such as one or more actuators 230, a communication module 220, [0025]); and
a sensor for measuring position (figs. 1-8; sensors 210 may comprise brace pose sensors that sense a pose of the mechanical brace 130 including its orientation and/or position such as one or more inertial measurement units (IMUs) or other orientation and/or position sensors located on each side of the anatomical joint of the use; [0026] and [0046]) and a sensor for measuring angle (fig. 2; angle sensor 214 for detecting the joint angle [0027] and
a computing device comprising a memory (fig. 2; assistive medical system 101 and electronics 120 with controller 280 which may be implemented as a processor and a storage device; [0014], [0025], and [0040]), storing said measurement data (fig. 2; The controller 280 may furthermore include storage for storing various data described herein such as acquired sensor data and predefined poses; [0040]) and transmitting said measurement data (figs. 1 and 2; communication module 220 includes a wireless transceiver to transmit and receive data from the controller 280 to the client device 140, the clinician device 170, and/or the cloud infrastructure 160; [0041]) after use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 1; where the client device 140 includes a telehealth application which enable the patient to access various data, analytics, or controls relating to operation, and enables communication of rehabilitation plan based on monitored performance; [0014-[0016] and devices 140, 170 operate in conjunction with cloud infrastructure 160 to communicate information and perform various advanced analytics algorithms based on data obtained from the client device 140 relating to operation of the powered orthosis device 150; [0024] data transferred for analytics after rehabilitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable ankle device of Ren with the sensors of Roberts to further obtain orientation and position data for correct alignment, therefore, helping to guide the user through various exercises, poses, and motions (Robert: [0030]-[0031]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the wearable ankle device of Ren with the assistive medical system devices, controller, and communication module of Roberts to store various data, perform analytics algorithms associated with the user, and communicate rehabilitation plans based on monitored performance; therefore, aiding the user’s rehabilitation (Roberts: [0014]-[0016], [0024], and [0040]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 14, the modified device of Ren further discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller) of claim 11,
wherein the sensor for measuring an angle comprises a rotary encoder (Roberts: fig. 2; the angle sensor 214 is a rotary encoder and detects the joint angle; [0027]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified device of Ren further discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller; Lerner: additional motors for applying resistance/assistance mode of operation to hinged assemblies of the device) of claim 11,
wherein the computing device is further configured for reading the measurement data as feedback during use of the apparatus (Ren: control portion 180 can control the torque applied to the movement portion based on the detected change in angular position and the control portion 180 can adjust the rotation speed and the range of motion according to the signal detected by the force/torque sensor 106 by controlling the electrical current in the motor driving portion; [0053], [0071]-[0075]; Roberts: controller 280 uses obtained sensor data to detect alignment, provide feedback to enable the user to correct the alignment, and controls the actuators 230 to cause the brace 130 to provide resistive and/or assistive torque to the relevant joint; [0030], [0031], [0034], and [0045]) and adjusting force applied by the motor for applying force to the user’s joint (Ren: figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 1, motor driving portion/motor 101 can output high driving torque in passive stretching, which is enough to fight against hypertonia (high muscle tone or stiffness of joints) and conduct safe effective joint stretching; [0002], [0021], [0071]-[0075]; and training device can be used for different training functions to train ankle joint, and knee joint by setting up different kinds of limb retainer; [0069]), and adjusting force applied by the motor (Ren: figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 4, assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184 can apply a torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) for moving the user’s lower extremity (Lerner: figs. 5-6; motors 30 (of lower hinged assembly 16b) may provide assistance/resistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as lower hinged assembly 16b) during some modes of operation in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque), [0043], [0051], [0059],[0063]-[0065]; for example by providing assistive torque to move the user’s toes downwards or upwards, [0072]; where actuation of motors 30 are based on acquired data from one or more sensors 72; [0061]).
Regarding claim 16, the modified device of Ren further discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller) of claim 11,
wherein the computing device further comprises a radio frequency transmitter for transmitting said measurement data wirelessly (Roberts: figs. 1 and 2; communication module 220 includes a wireless transceiver to transmit and receive data includes 802.11, 4G, 5G, code division multiple access (CDMA), BLUETOOTH®, or other wireless communication protocols; [0041]; BLUETOOTH® is a radio frequency transmitter) during (Ren: sensor data is communicated with control unit 180 to adjust motor during use; [0018]-[0019] and [0071]-[0075]; Roberts: acquired sensor data and predefined poses may be compared during use to achieve proper alignment; [0039]-[0041]) and after use of the apparatus by the user (Roberts: fig. 1; where the client device 140 includes a telehealth application which enable the patient to access various data, analytics, or controls relating to operation, and enables communication of rehabilitation plan based on monitored performance; [0014-[0016] and devices 140, 170 operate in conjunction with cloud infrastructure 160 to communicate information and perform various advanced analytics algorithms based on data obtained from the client device 140 relating to operation of the powered orthosis device 150; [0024] data transferred for analytics after rehabilitation).
Regarding claim 18, Ren discloses
a multi-function joint rehabilitation and exercise apparatus (figs. 1a-7b; a wearable and convertible device which can be worn in different training postures, such as lying, sitting, standing and walking, to receive passive/assistive exercise and has multiple modes for operating function; [0019] and [0026]), comprising:
a) a device comprising an assembly for accommodating a lower limb extremity such that said lower limb extremity rests securely within said assembly (figs. 4-5c and 7b; wearable and convertible device comprises a wearable ankle device where the user’s lower limb is secured using securing component 140; [0060]-[0061] and [0069]), an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint (figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 1, motor driving portion/motor 101 can output high driving torque in passive stretching, which is enough to fight against hypertonia (high muscle tone or stiffness of joints) and conduct safe effective joint stretching; [0002], [0021], [0071]-[0075]; and training device can be used for different training functions to train ankle joint, and knee joint by setting up different kinds of limb retainer; [0069]);
b) a plurality of sensors embedded in the device, including at least a sensor for measuring force (figs. 1a-4; a force/torque sensor 106, which is setup between the connection rod 105 and the second retainer 109 in the movement portion; [0053] and [0060]), and a sensor for measuring an angle (figs. 1a-4; a position sensor 119, which can detect the change of angular position of the impaired limb by detecting the change of angular position of the movement portion; [0052] and [0060]); and
c) a computing device comprising at least a processor (fig. 1b; control unit 180 with resistance compensating unit 183, assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184, active assistive/speed adjusting unit 190; [0071]-[0075]), the computing device configured for collecting measurement data from the plurality of sensors (fig. 1b; detection units 181, 185, and 191 detects changes in angular position and torques from position sensor 119 and force/torque sensor 106; [0052], [0053], and [0071]-[0075]), transmitting said measurement data during use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 1b, 4, 7b; control unit 180 is connected to the communication unit. The control signals and data are transmitted to said displayer in a wired or wireless way; [0075]).
While Ren does disclose the motor driving portion 101 being capable of applying torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) and applying torque that is in the same direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that an assistive force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184; [0023], [0056], [0071]-[0075]), it does not explicitly disclose an additional electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint. Further, Ren does not disclose an additional sensor for measuring position and a computing device comprising a memory, storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data during and after use of the apparatus by the user.
Lerner discloses an analogous ankle exoskeleton for rehabilitation [0043] with one or more sensors 74 providing adjustments and information such as orientation of the user’s gait and force applied by the user/device ([0061]-[0062] and [0068], and claim 1) and
an electric motor (fig. 6; one or more actuators 30 may generate force through a rotary electric motor, linear electric motor; [0047]; see fig. 6; includes four actuators/motors 30 including motor 30 of upper hinged assembly 16a; [0064]-[0065]) for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint (figs. 2-6; may provide resistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as upper hinged assembly 16a) in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque); [0043], [0051], [0059], and [0063]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable and convertible device of Ren with the additional actuators/motors assemblies of Lerner to provide further motors for resistance mode of operation, therefore, improving mobility or posture of the user’s lower extremities and increasing muscle recruitment during a function task (e.g. walking) (Lerner: [0043]).
The modified device of Ren does not explicitly disclose a sensor for measuring position and a computing device comprising a memory, storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data during and after use of the apparatus by the user.
Roberts discloses an analogous powered orthosis device that may be configured to provide resistive torque, assistive torque, or a combination thereof to the anatomical joint (figs. 1-8, [0018]) using electronics such as one or more actuators 230, a communication module 220, [0025]); and
a sensor for measuring position (figs. 1-8; sensors 210 may comprise brace pose sensors that sense a pose of the mechanical brace 130 including its orientation and/or position such as one or more inertial measurement units (IMUs) or other orientation and/or position sensors located on each side of the anatomical joint of the use; [0026] and [0046]) and a sensor for measuring angle (fig. 2; angle sensor 214 for detecting the joint angle [0027] and
a computing device comprising a memory (fig. 2; assistive medical system 101 and electronics 120 with controller 280 which may be implemented as a processor and a storage device; [0014], [0025], and [0040]), storing said measurement data (fig. 2; The controller 280 may furthermore include storage for storing various data described herein such as acquired sensor data and predefined poses; [0040]) and transmitting said measurement data (figs. 1 and 2; communication module 220 includes a wireless transceiver to transmit and receive data from the controller 280 to the client device 140, the clinician device 170, and/or the cloud infrastructure 160; [0041]) after use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 1; where the client device 140 includes a telehealth application which enable the patient to access various data, analytics, or controls relating to operation, and enables communication of rehabilitation plan based on monitored performance; [0014-[0016] and devices 140, 170 operate in conjunction with cloud infrastructure 160 to communicate information and perform various advanced analytics algorithms based on data obtained from the client device 140 relating to operation of the powered orthosis device 150; [0024] data transferred for analytics after rehabilitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable ankle device of Ren with the sensors of Roberts to further obtain orientation and position data for correct alignment, therefore, helping to guide the user through various exercises, poses, and motions (Robert: [0030]-[0031]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the wearable ankle device of Ren with the assistive medical system devices, controller, and communication module of Roberts to store various data, perform analytics algorithms associated with the user, and communicate rehabilitation plans based on monitored performance; therefore, aiding the user’s rehabilitation (Roberts: [0014]-[0016], [0024], and [0040]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 19, the modified device of Ren further discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller; Lerner: additional motors for applying resistance/assistance mode of operation to hinged assemblies of the device) of claim 18,
wherein the computing device is further configured for reading the measurement data as feedback during use of the apparatus (Ren: control portion 180 can control the torque applied to the movement portion based on the detected change in angular position and the control portion 180 can adjust the rotation speed and the range of motion according to the signal detected by the force/torque sensor 106 by controlling the electrical current in the motor driving portion; [0053], [0071]-[0075]; Roberts: controller 280 uses obtained sensor data to detect alignment, provide feedback to enable the user to correct the alignment, and controls the actuators 230 to cause the brace 130 to provide resistive and/or assistive torque to the relevant joint; [0030], [0031], [0034], and [0045]) and adjusting force applied by the motor (Ren: figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 4, assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184 can apply a torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint (Lerner: figs. 2-6; motors 30 (of upper hinged assemblies 16a) may provide resistance/assistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as upper hinged assembly 16a) in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque); [0043], [0051], [0059], and [0063]-[0065]; where actuation of motors 30 are based on acquired data from one or more sensors 72; [0061]), and the motor for applying force to the user’s joint (Ren: figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 1, motor driving portion/motor 101 can output high driving torque in passive stretching, which is enough to fight against hypertonia (high muscle tone or stiffness of joints) and conduct safe effective joint stretching; [0002], [0021], [0071]-[0075]; and training device can be used for different training functions to train ankle joint, and knee joint by setting up different kinds of limb retainer; [0069]).
Regarding claim 20, Ren discloses
a multi-function joint rehabilitation and exercise apparatus (figs. 1a-7b; a wearable and convertible device which can be worn in different training postures, such as lying, sitting, standing and walking, to receive passive/assistive exercise and has multiple modes for operating function; [0019] and [0026]), comprising:
a) a device comprising an assembly for accommodating a lower limb extremity such that said lower limb extremity rests securely within said assembly (figs. 4-5c and 7b; wearable and convertible device comprises a wearable ankle device where the user’s lower limb is secured using securing component 140; [0060]-[0061] and [0069]), an electric motor (figs. 1a-7b; a motor driving portion secured at the securing portion and is driven by electrical current; [0018]-[0019]) for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint (figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 4, motor driving portion/motor 101 and assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184 can apply a torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]),
b) a plurality of sensors embedded in the device, including at least a sensor for measuring force (figs. 1a-4; a force/torque sensor 106, which is setup between the connection rod 105 and the second retainer 109 in the movement portion; [0053] and [0060]), and a sensor for measuring an angle (figs. 1a-4; a position sensor 119, which can detect the change of angular position of the impaired limb by detecting the change of angular position of the movement portion; [0052] and [0060]); and
c) a computing device comprising at least a processor (fig. 1b; control unit 180 with resistance compensating unit 183, assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184, active assistive/speed adjusting unit 190; [0071]-[0075]), the computing device configured for collecting measurement data from the plurality of sensors (fig. 1b; detection units 181, 185, and 191 detects changes in angular position and torques from position sensor 119 and force/torque sensor 106; [0052], [0053], and [0071]-[0075]), transmitting said measurement data during use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 1b, 4, 7b; control unit 180 is connected to the communication unit. The control signals and data are transmitted to said displayer in a wired or wireless way; [0075]).
While Ren does disclose the motor driving portion 101 being capable of applying torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) and applying torque that is in the same direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that an assistive force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184; [0023], [0056], [0071]-[0075]), it does not explicitly disclose an additional electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity. Further, Ren does not disclose an additional sensor for measuring position and a computing device comprising a memory, storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data during and after use of the apparatus by the user.
Lerner discloses an analogous ankle exoskeleton for rehabilitation [0043] with one or more sensors 74 providing adjustments and information such as orientation of the user’s gait and force applied by the user/device ([0061]-[0062] and [0068], and claim 1) and
an electric motor (fig. 6; one or more actuators 30 may generate force through a rotary electric motor, linear electric motor; [0047]; see fig. 6; includes four actuators/motors 30 including motor 30 of lower hinged assembly 16b; [0064]-[0065]) for moving the user’s lower extremity (figs. 5-6; actuator/motor 30 may provide assistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as lower hinged assembly 16b) during some modes of operation in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque) such as providing assistive torque to move the user’s toes downwards or upwards; [0043], [0051], [0059],[0063]-[0065], and [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable and convertible device of Ren with the additional actuators/motors assemblies of Lerner to provide further motors for assistance mode of operation, therefore, improving mobility or posture of the user’s lower extremities (Lerner: [0043]).
The modified device of Ren does not explicitly disclose a sensor for measuring position and a computing device comprising a memory, storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data during and after use of the apparatus by the user.
Roberts discloses an analogous powered orthosis device that may be configured to provide resistive torque, assistive torque, or a combination thereof to the anatomical joint (figs. 1-8, [0018]) using electronics such as one or more actuators 230, a communication module 220, [0025]); and
a sensor for measuring position (figs. 1-8; sensors 210 may comprise brace pose sensors that sense a pose of the mechanical brace 130 including its orientation and/or position such as one or more inertial measurement units (IMUs) or other orientation and/or position sensors located on each side of the anatomical joint of the use; [0026] and [0046]) and a sensor for measuring angle (fig. 2; angle sensor 214 for detecting the joint angle [0027] and
a computing device comprising a memory (fig. 2; assistive medical system 101 and electronics 120 with controller 280 which may be implemented as a processor and a storage device; [0014], [0025], and [0040]), storing said measurement data (fig. 2; The controller 280 may furthermore include storage for storing various data described herein such as acquired sensor data and predefined poses; [0040]) and transmitting said measurement data (figs. 1 and 2; communication module 220 includes a wireless transceiver to transmit and receive data from the controller 280 to the client device 140, the clinician device 170, and/or the cloud infrastructure 160; [0041]) after use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 1; where the client device 140 includes a telehealth application which enable the patient to access various data, analytics, or controls relating to operation, and enables communication of rehabilitation plan based on monitored performance; [0014-[0016] and devices 140, 170 operate in conjunction with cloud infrastructure 160 to communicate information and perform various advanced analytics algorithms based on data obtained from the client device 140 relating to operation of the powered orthosis device 150; [0024] data transferred for analytics after rehabilitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable ankle device of Ren with the sensors of Roberts to further obtain orientation and position data for correct alignment, therefore, helping to guide the user through various exercises, poses, and motions (Robert: [0030]-[0031]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the wearable ankle device of Ren with the assistive medical system devices, controller, and communication module of Roberts to store various data, perform analytics algorithms associated with the user, and communicate rehabilitation plans based on monitored performance; therefore, aiding the user’s rehabilitation (Roberts: [0014]-[0016], [0024], and [0040]-[0041]).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren (US 20120165158) in view of Lerner (US 20210291355) and further in view of Roberts (US 20250134458) and Sarkisan (US 12048668).
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of Ren discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller) of claim 1,
The modified device of Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor for measuring force comprises a load cell.
Sarkisan discloses a lower limb exoskeleton that can provide assistive or resistive torques at the user’s knee joint (col. 11, lines 18-20) and
wherein the sensor for measuring force comprises a load cell (a 6-axis load cell may be integrated into the exoskeleton shank section and the force and torque recordings from the 6-axis load cell may be synchronized with the exoskeleton controller using a digital signal; col. 9, lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the force and torque sensor of Ren with the 6-axis load cell of Sarkisan to yield the predictable result of being able to accurately measure the physical interaction between the user and the robot as necessary and use the force and torque recording to synchronize with the exoskeleton controller using a digital signal (Sarkisan: col. 9, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of Ren discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller) of claim 11,
The modified device of Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor for measuring force comprises a load cell.
Sarkisan discloses a lower limb exoskeleton that can provide assistive or resistive torques at the user’s knee joint (col. 11, lines 18-20) and
wherein the sensor for measuring force comprises a load cell (a 6-axis load cell may be integrated into the exoskeleton shank section and the force and torque recordings from the 6-axis load cell may be synchronized with the exoskeleton controller using a digital signal; col. 9, lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the force and torque sensor of Ren with the 6-axis load cell of Sarkisan to yield the predictable result of being able to accurately measure the physical interaction between the user and the robot as necessary and use the force and torque recording to synchronize with the exoskeleton controller using a digital signal (Sarkisan: col. 9, lines 1-10).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren (US 20120165158) in view of Lerner (US 20210291355) and further in view of Roberts (US 20250134458) and Wang (CN 107648016) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Wang).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Ren discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller) of claim 1,
The modified device of Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor for measuring position comprises a displacement sensor.
Wang discloses a lower limb rehabilitation treatment device
wherein the sensor for measuring position comprises a displacement sensor (figs. 1-3; displacement sensors used to measure position; [0015] and [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the position sensor of the modified device of Ren with the displacement sensors of Wang to yield the predictable result of providing positional feedback by measuring the spatial X, Y, and Z coordinates of the lower leg with small, lightweight, and accurate sensors (Wang: [0015]).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Ren discloses
the apparatus (Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller) of claim 11,
The modified device of Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor for measuring position comprises a displacement sensor.
Wang discloses a lower limb rehabilitation treatment device
wherein the sensor for measuring position comprises a displacement sensor (figs. 1-3; displacement sensors used to measure position; [0015] and [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the position sensor of the modified device of Ren with the displacement sensors of Wang to yield the predictable result of providing positional feedback by measuring the spatial X, Y, and Z coordinates of the lower leg with small, lightweight, and accurate sensors (Wang: [0015]).
Claims 1, 10, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marti (US 20150352394) in view of Ren (US 20120165158) and further in view of Lerner (US 20210291355).
Regarding claim 1, Marti discloses
a multi-function joint rehabilitation and exercise apparatus (figs. 1-12; range of motion improving device 100 for rehabilitating the user’s leg and provide various exercise modes to a patient; [0055] and [0063]), comprising:
a) a device comprising an assembly for accommodating a lower limb extremity such that said lower limb extremity rests securely within said assembly (fig. 2; frame 102 of the improving device 100 comprises the first link member 104 is configured for being secured to an upper leg of a patient, the second link member 106 is configured for being secured to a lower leg of the patient, and further include leg securing mechanism 128, 130 to support and secure the upper and lower leg 124, 126; [0055]-[0056]), an actuator for moving the user’s lower extremity (figs. 1-4 and 6-10; one or more actuators 108 may be configured in various ways to actuate and rotate the first link member 104 and the second link member 106; [0057]);
b) a plurality of sensors embedded in the device, including at least a sensor for measuring force (figs. 1-12; force sensors may be included in the actuators, upper leg securing mechanism, or the lower leg securing mechanism; [0058]), and a sensor for measuring an angle (figs. 1-12; angle sensors may be included in the actuators, upper leg securing mechanism, or the lower leg securing mechanism; [0058]); and
c) a computing device comprising at least a processor and a memory (fig. 2; controller module/computing system 110 includes a processor, memory, storage machine, a communications subsystem, and display subsystem; [0061]-[0062] and [0072]), the computing device configured for collecting measurement data from the plurality of sensors (various sensors provides the controller module and subsequently the controller with information such as force data and information relating to angle; [0058] and [0061]-[0062]), storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data during and after use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 2; controller module may may upload/record or send usage report data (such as angle and force data) to a server via a computer network for further processing; [0062] and [0070]-[0073]).
Marti does not disclose an electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint, an electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity, and an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint; a sensor for measuring position; and the computing device configured for transmitting said measurement data during use of the apparatus by the user.
Ren discloses an analogous wearable and convertible device for the lower limb to receive stretching, resistive, and assistive exercise using multiple modes for operating function (figs. 4-5c, and 7b; [0019] and [0026]) with
an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint (figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 1, motor driving portion/motor 101 can output high driving torque in passive stretching, which is enough to fight against hypertonia (high muscle tone or stiffness of joints) and conduct safe effective joint stretching; [0002], [0021], [0071]-[0075]; and training device can be used for different training functions to train ankle joint, and knee joint by setting up different kinds of limb retainer; [0069]);
the computing device configured for collecting measurement data from the plurality of sensors (fig. 1b; detection units 181, 185, and 191 detects changes in angular position and torques from position sensor 119 and force/torque sensor 106; [0052], [0053], and [0071]-[0075]), transmitting said measurement data during use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 1b, 4, 7b; control unit 180 is connected to the communication unit. The control signals and data are transmitted to said displayer in a wired or wireless way; [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuators of Marti with the motor, control unit, and modes of Ren to provide assistive, resistive, and stretching training/exercise by adjusting the motor based on detected changes of angular position and force/torque, thereby, conducting safe and effective joint stretching and active assistive guidance functions (Ren: [0002], [0018], [0019], [0021]-[0026] and [0071]-[0075]).
While Ren does disclose the motor driving portion 101 being capable of applying torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) and applying torque that is in the same direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that an assistive force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184; [0023], [0056], [0071]-[0075]), it does not explicitly disclose an additional electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint and a second additional electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity; and an additional sensor for measuring position.
Lerner discloses an analogous ankle exoskeleton for rehabilitation [0043] with one or more sensors 74 providing adjustments and information such as orientation of the user’s gait and force applied by the user/device ([0061]-[0062] and [0068], and claim 1) and
an electric motor (fig. 6; one or more actuators 30 may generate force through a rotary electric motor, linear electric motor; [0047]; see fig. 6; includes four actuators/motors 30 including motor 30 of upper hinged assembly 16a; [0064]-[0065]) for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint (figs. 2-6; may provide resistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as upper hinged assembly 16a) in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque); [0043], [0051], [0059], and [0063]-[0065]), an electric motor (fig. 6; one or more actuators 30 may generate force through a rotary electric motor, linear electric motor; [0047]; see fig. 6; includes four actuators/motors 30 including motor 30 of lower hinged assembly 16b; [0064]-[0065]) for moving the user’s lower extremity (figs. 5-6; actuator/motor 30 may provide assistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as lower hinged assembly 16b) during some modes of operation in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque) such as providing assistive torque to move the user’s toes downwards or upwards; [0043], [0051], [0059],[0063]-[0065], and [0072]); and
a sensor for measuring position (see fig. 6; one or more sensors 72 may measure data such as posture position or joint position; [0061] and may be inertial measurement units (IMUs) to determine position, and orientations; [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable and convertible device of Ren with the additional actuators/motors assemblies and one or more sensors of Lerner to provide further motors for assistance mode of operation and resistance mode of operation, therefore, improving mobility or posture of the user’s lower extremities and increasing muscle recruitment during a function task (e.g. walking) and actuate based on acquired data such as posture, position, and orientation of the segments of the exoskeleton or biological limb and provide (Lerner: [0043], [0061], [0068]).
Regarding claim 10, Marti further discloses
the apparatus (Marti: range of motion improving device; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller) of claim 1,
wherein the device comprises a seat for a user attached to the assembly (figs. 1-4; a seat 150 may be attached to the frame 102 such that the seat 150; [0059], see fig. 2, user is seated in seat 150).
Regarding claim 11, Marti discloses
a multi-function joint rehabilitation and exercise apparatus (figs. 1-12; range of motion improving device 100 for rehabilitating the user’s leg and provide various exercise modes to a patient; [0055] and [0063]), comprising:
a) a device comprising an assembly for accommodating a lower limb extremity such that said lower limb extremity rests securely within said assembly (fig. 2; frame 102 of the improving device 100 comprises the first link member 104 is configured for being secured to an upper leg of a patient, the second link member 106 is configured for being secured to a lower leg of the patient, and further include leg securing mechanism 128, 130 to support and secure the upper and lower leg 124, 126; [0055]-[0056]), an actuator for moving the user’s lower extremity (figs. 1-4 and 6-10; one or more actuators 108 may be configured in various ways to actuate and rotate the first link member 104 and the second link member 106; [0057]);
b) a plurality of sensors embedded in the device, including at least a sensor for measuring force (figs. 1-12; force sensors may be included in the actuators, upper leg securing mechanism, or the lower leg securing mechanism; [0058]), and a sensor for measuring an angle (figs. 1-12; angle sensors may be included in the actuators, upper leg securing mechanism, or the lower leg securing mechanism; [0058]); and
c) a computing device comprising at least a processor and a memory (fig. 2; controller module/computing system 110 includes a processor, memory, storage machine, a communications subsystem, and display subsystem; [0061]-[0062] and [0072]), the computing device configured for collecting measurement data from the plurality of sensors (various sensors provides the controller module and subsequently the controller with information such as force data and information relating to angle; [0058] and [0061]-[0062]), storing said measurement data and transmitting said measurement data during and after use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 2; controller module may may upload/record or send usage report data (such as angle and force data) to a server via a computer network for further processing; [0062] and [0070]-[0073]).
Marti does not disclose an electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint, an electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity, and an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint; a sensor for measuring position; and the computing device configured for transmitting said measurement data during use of the apparatus by the user.
Ren discloses an analogous wearable and convertible device for the lower limb to receive stretching, resistive, and assistive exercise using multiple modes for operating function (figs. 4-5c, and 7b; [0019] and [0026]) with
an electric motor for applying force to the user’s joint (figs. 1b, 4-5c, and 7b; in mode 1, motor driving portion/motor 101 can output high driving torque in passive stretching, which is enough to fight against hypertonia (high muscle tone or stiffness of joints) and conduct safe effective joint stretching; [0002], [0021], [0071]-[0075]; and training device can be used for different training functions to train ankle joint, and knee joint by setting up different kinds of limb retainer; [0069]);
the computing device configured for collecting measurement data from the plurality of sensors (fig. 1b; detection units 181, 185, and 191 detects changes in angular position and torques from position sensor 119 and force/torque sensor 106; [0052], [0053], and [0071]-[0075]), transmitting said measurement data during use of the apparatus by the user (fig. 1b, 4, 7b; control unit 180 is connected to the communication unit. The control signals and data are transmitted to said displayer in a wired or wireless way; [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuators of Marti with the motor, control unit, and modes of Ren to provide assistive, resistive, and stretching training/exercise by adjusting the motor based on detected changes of angular position and force/torque, thereby, conducting safe and effective joint stretching and active assistive guidance functions (Ren: [0002], [0018], [0019], [0021]-[0026] and [0071]-[0075]).
While Ren does disclose the motor driving portion 101 being capable of applying torque that is in the opposite direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that resistance force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184; [0024], [0056], [0071]-[0075]) and applying torque that is in the same direction with the movement direction of the limb to the movement portion so that an assistive force can be applied to the moving limb (assisting/resistance force adjusting unit 184; [0023], [0056], [0071]-[0075]), it does not explicitly disclose an additional electric motor for applying force against lower limb extremity movement about the user’s joint and a second additional electric motor for moving the user’s lower extremity; and an additional sensor for measuring position.
Lerner discloses an analogous ankle exoskeleton for rehabilitation [0043] with one or more sensors 74 providing adjustments and information such as orientation of the user’s gait and force applied by the user/device ([0061]-[0062] and [0068], and claim 1) and
an electric motor (fig. 6; one or more actuators 30 may generate force through a rotary electric motor, linear electric motor; [0047]; see fig. 6; includes four actuators/motors 30 including motor 30 of lower hinged assembly 16b; [0064]-[0065]) for moving the user’s lower extremity (figs. 5-6; actuator/motor 30 may provide assistance to various hinged assemblies of the exoskeleton (such as lower hinged assembly 16b) during some modes of operation in the form of linear force and/or rotational force (i.e. torque) such as providing assistive torque to move the user’s toes downwards or upwards; [0043], [0051], [0059],[0063]-[0065], and [0072]); and
a sensor for measuring position (see fig. 6; one or more sensors 72 may measure data such as posture position or joint position; [0061] and may be inertial measurement units (IMUs) to determine position, and orientations; [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable and convertible device of Ren with the additional actuators/motors assemblies and one or more sensors of Lerner to provide further motors for assistance mode of operation and resistance mode of operation, therefore, improving mobility or posture of the user’s lower extremities and increasing muscle recruitment during a function task (e.g. walking) and actuate based on acquired data such as posture, position, and orientation of the segments of the exoskeleton or biological limb and provide (Lerner: [0043], [0061], [0068]).
Regarding claim 17, Marti further discloses
the apparatus (Marti: range of motion improving device; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Ren: wearable and convertible device for lower limb; Roberts: position/orientation sensors assistive medical system with controller) of claim 11,
wherein the device comprises a seat for a user attached to the assembly (figs. 1-4; a seat 150 may be attached to the frame 102 such that the seat 150; [0059], see fig. 2, user is seated in seat 150).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roh (US 20210162263) – discloses a walking assist device for providing exercise, assistance, and resistance modes to a user with reduced muscle strength or joint problems; uses an electric motors and sensors
/S.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785