DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Use of the word “also” in the latter part of claim 9 is in conflict with the “and/or” conjunction, and lacks clarity when the “or” case is considered. The examiner has therefore disregarded the word “also”.
Claim 11 recites “the cart body is detachably arranged on the functional module”. Since every other instance of detachable arrangement of the cart body and the functional module is recited in reverse order, the examiner has understood the excerpt as “the functional module is detachably arranged on the cart body”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stromquist et al. (US 4,671,582 A), hereinafter "Stromquist", and further in view of Li (WO 2021/051215 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stromquist discloses a coupler (plug-in hinge-pin and connector assembly, figs. 2-8, col. 2, lines 32-49) with upper (plug assembly 30) and lower (connector 90) couplings. Stromquist introduces the hinge-pin and connector assembly for appliances that require “bringing electrical power into the door” (col. 1, lines 12-13), but Stromquist does not specifically recite a dining cart. Li teaches a dining cart (foldable self-service dinning cart, figs. 1-2, p. 1, lines 36-47) with a modular matching function, wherein the dining cart comprises a cart body (table frame 2 and supporting feet 3, fig. 1, p. 3, lines 38-40) and a functional module (cooking module 1, fig. 1, p. 3, lines 56-58), the functional module being detachably arranged on the cart body (“detachable cooking module 1 is installed on the countertop frame 2”, p. 3, line 55).
Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the hinge-pin and connector assembly from Stromquist with the dining cart disclosed by Li. The motivation would have been to incorporate “integrally the function of an electrical connection … thereby eliminating any need for a separate, external service loop” (Stromquist, col. 2, lines 7-10). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result and provide a dining cart wherein the upper coupling (Stromquist, plug assembly 30, fig. 14) is arranged on the functional module (Li, cooking module 1, fig. 1), the lower coupling (Stromquist, connector 90, fig. 14) is correspondingly arranged on the cart body (Li, table frame 2, fig. 1), the upper coupling is provided with pins (Stromquist, male contact pin members 52, fig. 14) and a first limiting structure (Stromquist, tongue 46 and insulator body 32, fig. 14) arranged around the periphery of the pins, the lower coupling is provided with jacks (Stromquist, sockets 96, fig. 6) for insertion of the pins and a second limiting structure (Stromquist, upper groove 94 and connector face 92, fig. 14) adapted to the first limiting structure (Stromquist: “upper groove 94 to receive the tongue 46”, cols. 6-7, lines 68-1), and during coupling, the pins of the upper coupling are inserted into the jacks of the lower coupling (Stromquist fig. 14 shows pin members 52 aligned for insertion into sockets 96) and the first limiting structure is clamped in the second limiting structure to form locking to restrict the upper coupling from moving (Stromquist, “alignment and sliding engagement” of plug assembly 30 with connector 90 by way of upper groove 94 and tongue 46, cols. 6-7, lines 66-3).
Regarding claim 2, the combination further teaches the coupler according to claim 1, wherein a width of one end of the first limiting structure close to the functional module is greater than a width of an opposite end thereof (Stromquist describes “front plug face, with a tapered entry thereat” in col. 10, lines 14-25; furthermore Stromquist fig. 14 shows plug assembly 30 is wider at its rear-facing edge labeled 67 than its front-facing edge labeled 46), a width of one end of the second limiting structure close to the cart body is less than a width of an opposite end thereof (matching structure of connector 90 based on “tapered entry” as recited by Stromquist above; furthermore Stromquist fig. 14 shows width of connector 90 at its front face 92 less than its width at flange 100), and the first limiting structure is inserted into the second limiting structure to form locking to restrict the upper coupling from moving (Stromquist “alignment and sliding engagement” of plug assembly 30 with connector 90 as covered in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination further teaches the coupler according to claim 2, wherein the first limiting structure is a hollow protrusion (hollow space formed by protruding members tongue 46 and insulator body 32 as shown in Stromquist fig. 14), the pins are arranged in a hollow position of the hollow protrusion (pin members 52 arranged in insulator body 32 as shown in Stromquist fig. 14), the second limiting structure is a groove (upper groove 94 and groove formed at connector face 92 as shown in Stromquist fig. 14), and the hollow protrusion is embedded in the groove to restrict the upper coupling from moving (Stromquist “alignment and sliding engagement” of plug assembly 30 with connector 90 as covered in claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination further teaches the coupler according to claim 3, wherein a cross section of the hollow protrusion is a rectangle (rectangular cross section of plug assembly 30 comprising tongue 46 and insulator body 32 evident from Stromquist figs. 8 and 14), a cross section of the groove is a rectangle (rectangular cross section of connector 90 comprising upper groove 94 and connector face 92 best shown in Stromquist fig. 6) adapted to the hollow protrusion, and the hollow protrusion is inserted into the groove to stop each other (Stromquist “alignment and sliding engagement” of plug assembly 30 with connector 90 as covered in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination further teaches the coupler according to claim 1, wherein the upper coupling is rotationally arranged on the functional module through a rotating part (Stromquist: “bearing sleeve 62 which contains the hinge-pin part 36 of insulator body 32 within it in a fit which permits the sleeve 62 to rotate”, col. 5, lines 49-51, figs. 5, 8, and 14).
Regarding claim 6, the combination further teaches the coupler according to claim 1, wherein the lower coupling further comprises a fixing seat (Stromquist, flange 100, figs. 6 and 14, col. 7, lines 8-10), a conductive assembly (assembly comprising connector sleeves 98 and electrical conductors 50, cols. 6-7, lines 66-37) and a blocking part (Stromquist, connector face 92, figs. 6 and 14), wherein the second limiting structure is arranged on the fixing seat; the blocking part is arranged on the fixing seat and is located in the second limiting structure; (arrangement of upper groove 94 and connector face 92 with respect to flange 100 as shown in Stromquist fig. 14) and the conductive assembly comprises a conductive plate (Stromquist, electrical conductors 50, fig. 8, col. 5, lines 19-22) and a plurality of tubular conductors (Stromquist, connector sleeves 98, fig. 6, col. 7, lines 3-8), the conductive plate being embedded in one side of the blocking part facing the pins, and the plurality of tubular conductors being all arranged on the conductive plate and located in the blocking part; and the jacks are arranged in the conductive plate, and each jack is communicated with one corresponding tubular conductor (arrangement of conductors 50, connector face 92, sockets 96, and connector sleeves 98 as shown in Stromquist figs. 6 and 8).
Regarding claim 7, the combination further teaches the coupler according to claim 6, wherein three pins are arranged, three jacks are correspondingly arranged, three tubular conductors are correspondingly arranged, and each pin is inserted into one corresponding jack to be electrically connected with one corresponding tubular conductor (Stromquist: “In the two preferred embodiments illustrated in the figures, three conductors have been shown for purposes of illustration”, col. 8, lines 45-47; arrangement of three connector sleeves 98, three pin members 52, and three sockets 96 as shown in figs. 6, 8, and 14).
Regarding claim 9, the combination further teaches the coupler according to claim 1, wherein the lower coupling further comprises waterproof silica gel sheets arranged in the jacks; and/or the lower coupling is provided with second fixing holes (Stromquist, fastener slots 102 provided on connector 90, fig. 6, col. 7, lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches a functional module (Li, cooking module 1, fig. 1), configured on a dining cart (Li, foldable self-service dinning cart, figs. 1-2), wherein the dining cart comprises a cart body (Li, table frame 2 and supporting feet 3, fig. 1), the functional module and an upper coupling (Stromquist, plug assembly 30, fig. 14), and wherein the upper coupling is arranged on the functional module (Li, cooking module 1, fig. 1), the upper coupling is provided with pins (Stromquist, male contact pin members 52, fig. 14) and a first limiting structure (Stromquist, tongue 46 and insulator body 32, fig. 14) arranged around the periphery of the pins, and the functional module is detachably arranged on the cart body through the pins and the first limiting structure (Lin, “detachable cooking module 1 is installed on the countertop frame 2”, p. 3, line 55).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches a cart body (Li, table frame 2 and supporting feet 3, fig. 1), configured on a dining cart (Li, foldable self-service dinning cart, figs. 1-2), wherein the dining cart comprises the cart body, a functional module (Li, cooking module 1, fig. 1) and a lower coupling (Stromquist, connector 90, fig. 14), and wherein the lower coupling is arranged on the cart body (Li, table frame 2, fig. 1), the lower coupling is provided with jacks (Stromquist, sockets 96, fig. 6) and a second limiting structure (Stromquist, upper groove 94 and connector face 92, fig. 14), and the functional module is detachably arranged on the cart body through the jacks and the second limiting structure (Lin, “detachable cooking module 1 is installed on the countertop frame 2”, p. 3, line 55).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches a dining cart (Li, foldable self-service dinning cart, figs. 1-2) with a modular matching function, comprising a cart body (Li, table frame 2 and supporting feet 3, fig. 1), a functional module (Li, cooking module 1, fig. 1) and a coupler (Stromquist, plug-in hinge-pin and connector assembly, figs. 2-8), wherein the functional module is detachably arranged on the cart body (Lin, “detachable cooking module 1 is installed on the countertop frame 2”, p. 3, line 55); and the coupler comprises an upper coupling (Stromquist, plug assembly 30, fig. 14) and a lower coupling (Stromquist, connector 90, fig. 14), and wherein the upper coupling is arranged on the functional module (Li, cooking module 1, fig. 1), the lower coupling is correspondingly arranged on the cart body (Li, table frame 2, fig. 1), the upper coupling is provided with pins (Stromquist, male contact pin members 52, fig. 14) and a first limiting structure (Stromquist, tongue 46 and insulator body 32, fig. 14) arranged around the periphery of the pins, the lower coupling is provided with jacks (Stromquist, sockets 96, fig. 6) for insertion of the pins and a second limiting structure (Stromquist, upper groove 94 and connector face 92, fig. 14) adapted to the first limiting structure, and during coupling, the pins of the upper coupling are inserted into the jacks of the lower coupling (Stromquist fig. 14 shows pin members 52 aligned for insertion into sockets 96), and the first limiting structure is clamped in the second limiting structure to form locking to restrict the upper coupling from moving (Stromquist “alignment and sliding engagement” of plug assembly 30 with connector 90 as covered in claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination further teaches the dining cart according to claim 12, wherein a width of one end of the first limiting structure close to the functional module is greater than a width of an opposite end thereof (Stromquist describes “front plug face, with a tapered entry thereat” in col. 10, lines 14-25; furthermore Stromquist fig. 14 shows plug assembly 30 is wider at its rear-facing edge labeled 67 than its front-facing edge labeled 46), a width of one end of the second limiting structure close to the cart body is less than a width of an opposite end thereof (matching structure of connector 90 based on “tapered entry” as recited by Stromquist above; furthermore Stromquist fig. 14 shows width of connector 90 at its front face 92 less than its width at flange 100), and the first limiting structure is inserted into the second limiting structure to form locking to restrict the upper coupling from moving (Stromquist “alignment and sliding engagement” of plug assembly 30 with connector 90 as covered in claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination further teaches the dining cart according to claim 13, wherein the first limiting structure is a hollow protrusion (hollow space formed by protruding members tongue 46 and insulator body 32 as shown in Stromquist fig. 14), the pins are arranged in a hollow position of the hollow protrusion (pin members 52 arranged in insulator body 32 as shown in Stromquist fig. 14), the second limiting structure is a groove (upper groove 94 and groove formed at connector face 92 as shown in Stromquist fig. 14), and the hollow protrusion is embedded in the groove to restrict the upper coupling from moving (Stromquist “alignment and sliding engagement” of plug assembly 30 with connector 90 as covered in claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination further teaches the dining cart according to claim 14, wherein a cross section of the hollow protrusion is a rectangle (rectangular cross section of plug assembly 30 comprising tongue 46 and insulator body 32 evident from Stromquist figs. 8 and 14), a cross section of the groove is a rectangle (rectangular cross section of connector 90 comprising upper groove 94 and connector face 92 best shown in Stromquist fig. 6) adapted to the hollow protrusion, and the hollow protrusion is inserted into the groove to stop each other (Stromquist “alignment and sliding engagement” of plug assembly 30 with connector 90 as covered in claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination further teaches the dining cart according to claim 12, wherein the upper coupling is rotationally arranged on the functional module through a rotating part (Stromquist: “bearing sleeve 62 which contains the hinge-pin part 36 of insulator body 32 within it in a fit which permits the sleeve 62 to rotate”, col. 5, lines 49-51, figs. 5, 8, and 14).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stromquist and Li, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nicol (US 5,862,029 A).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the coupler according to claim 1, but does not recite notches in upper and lower covers forming a hole for the power cord. Nicol teaches a plug (immersion detecting circuit interrupter 30 in the form of a plug, figs. 1-2, cols. 2-3, lines 54-14) wherein the housing (numeral 32, figs. 1-2) comprises an upper cover (upper housing portion 34, fig. 3) with a first notch (cutout 212, fig. 3), a lower cover (lower housing portion 36, fig. 4) with a second notch (cutout 228, fig. 4), and a power cord (multi-conductor cable 58, figs. 1-2), and wherein the upper cover covers the lower cover, the first notch and the second notch form a threading hole, one end of the power cord passes through the threading hole (arrangement shown in figs. 1 and 2, and described in col. 3, lines 7-10). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the plug housing cutouts from Nicol with the plug assembly disclosed by Stromquist. The motivation would have been to prevent damage to connections by securing a “split ring strain relief 56, as is well known in the art” within the cutouts (Nicol, col. 3, lines 7-10, fig. 2). The combination would predictably achieve the desired result and provide an upper coupling wherein one end of the power cord passes through the threading hole to be electrically connected with the pins, and the other end of the power cord is electrically connected with an external power supply device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional art of record relates to dining carts and electric connectors having features relevant to the claimed invention.
/MOHAMMAD OMID NEYZARI/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613