DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 13-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 20240259977 A1), hereinafter Yu.
For Claim 1,
Yu teaches a method of a base station, comprising: receiving a link signal from a satellite ([ at least 0323] and [FIG. 3] terrestrial base station receives SSB from satellite);
obtaining a first reference time of the satellite from the link signal ([at least 0321-0323] SSB received from the satellite is used to determine start/end moment of a second transmission frame (from a satellite) based on a timing advance (TA). The use of a TA to adjust the start/end time of the transmission frame implies that the reference time of the satellite was received in the SSB.);
configuring a second reference time of the base station based on the first reference time ([at least 0321-0323] SSB received from the satellite is used to determine start/end moment of a first transmission frame (from a base station) based on a timing advance. The use of a TA to adjust the start/end time of the transmission frame implies that the reference time of the base station was configured in order to transmit the frame.); and
transmitting a downlink signal to a terminal based on the second reference time ([FIG. 2] and [at least 0351-0352] base station sends TA to the terminal),
wherein the satellite belongs to a non-terrestrial network and the base station belongs to a terrestrial network ([FIG. 1] base station is a terrestrial base station and the satellite is in orbit, meaning it is non-terrestrial).
For claim 2, Yu teaches claim 1.
Yu further teaches wherein the link signal includes a first synchronization signal/broadcast block (SSB) ([at least 0310] base station receives SSB from satellite), and
the obtaining of the first reference time of the satellite from the link signal comprises: obtaining a synchronization signal from the first SSB of the link signal ([at least 0310] SSB from the satellite includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH)); and
obtaining the first reference time of the satellite from the synchronization signal ([at least 0321-0323] SSB received from the satellite contains a PSS and PBCH which are used for synchronization and to determine start/end moment of a second transmission frame (from a satellite) based on a timing advance (TA). The PBCH is used to adjust the start/end time of the transmission frame, implying that the reference time of the satellite was received in the SSB.).
For claim 4, Yu teaches claim 1.
Yu further teaches wherein the transmitting of the downlink signal to the terminal based on the second reference time comprises: determining a timing of the downlink signal based on the second reference time ([at least 0303] and [FIG. 2] start/end time of first transmission frame from base station to terminal is adjusted based on SSB received from satellite. The SSB from the satellite is used to determine the reference time of the base station); and
transmitting the downlink signal to the terminal based on the timing ([at least 0305] first transmission can be downlink transmission between base station and terminal device).
For claim 5, Yu teaches claim 4.
Yu further teaches wherein in the determining of the timing of the downlink signal based on the second reference time, the base station sets a timing for a frame and OFDM symbol of the downlink signal (at least [0303], [FIG. 2], [Table 2], and [0406] start/end time of first transmission frame from base station to terminal is adjusted based on SSB received from satellite. The SSB from the satellite is used to determine the reference time of the base station. OFDM may be used for transmission, meaning adjusting the timing of the first transmission frame would also include adjusting the timing of an OFDM symbol for the downlink signal.).
For claim 6, Yu teaches claim 1.
Yu further teaches wherein the link signal includes a first SSB ([at least 0310] base station receives SSB from satellite),
the downlink signal includes a second SSB, and the second SSB is transmitted after the first SSB ([at least 0353] a second SSB of the base station is used in a next synchronization periodicity so that the terminal may receive data from the base station. This takes place after the satellite transmits an SSB to the base station.).
For claims [13], [14], and [16], they are rejected on the same basis as claims [1], [2], and [4], respectively, with the additional limitation of a processor ([0643] processor configured to execute instructions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, in view of Celebi et al. (US 20150109969 A1), hereinafter Celebi.
For claim 3, Yu teaches claim 1.
Yu does not explicitly teach, however Celebi teaches wherein a frequency band in which the satellite transmits the link signal is same as a frequency band in which the base station transmits the downlink signal ([at least 0028] uplink and downlink signals are transmitted in the same frequency band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Yu for transmitting uplink and downlink signals with the method of Celebi for transmitting uplink and downlink signals in the same frequency band to reduce the resources required for communication.
For claim 7, Yu teaches claim 1.
Yu further teaches wherein the link signal includes a first SSB ([at least 0310] base station receives SSB from satellite),
the downlink signal includes a second SSB([at least 0353] a second SSB of the base station is used in a next synchronization periodicity so that the terminal may receive data from the base station).
Yu does not explicitly teach, however Celebi teaches the second SSB is transmitted in a same frequency resource as the first SSB ([at least 0028] uplink and downlink signals are transmitted in the same frequency band, considered a frequency resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Yu for transmitting uplink and downlink signals with the method of Celebi for transmitting uplink and downlink signals in the same frequency band to reduce the resources required for communication.
For claim 15, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 3.
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, in view of Pedersen et al. (US 10383013 B2), hereinafter Pedersen.
For claim 8,
Yu teaches a method of a network synchronization device, comprising: selecting an anchor base station from among a plurality of base stations belonging to a terrestrial network within a coverage of a satellite ([FIG. 1] multiple base stations under the coverage of a satellite. It is well known in the art that any of these base stations could be selected as an anchor or source base station for relaying information, handover, etc.);
configuring a first reference time of the anchor base station ([at least 0321-0323] SSB received from the satellite is used to determine start/end moment of a first transmission frame (from a base station) based on a timing advance. The use of a TA to adjust the start/end time of the transmission frame implies that the reference time of the base station was configured in order to transmit the frame.).
Yu does not explicitly teach, however Pedersen teaches calculating a first delay time between the satellite and the anchor base station ([FIG. 12 # 1220] a first propagation delay is determined between the source base station and UE. It is well known in the art that a propagation delay can be determined between any number of different devices, to include a satellite and source (anchor) base station);
calculating a second delay time between the satellite and a target base station ([FIG. 12 # 1230] a second propagation delay is determined between the target base station and a UE. It is well known in the art that a propagation delay can be determined between any number of different devices, to include a satellite and target base station); and
configuring a second reference time of the target base station from the first reference time using the first delay time and the second delay time ([FIG. 12 # 1240] a second TA is determined for the target base station using the time difference value between the first propagation delay and the second propagation delay.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Yu for selecting a source base station and configuring a first reference time of the source base station with the method of Pedersen for calculating a first and second delay time and configuring a second reference time of the target base station to facilitate communication between the satellite and the target base station through the use of a more accurate reference time based on the calculated delays.
For claim 9, Yu and Pedersen teach claim 8.
Pedersen further teaches wherein the calculating of the first delay time between the satellite and the anchor base station comprises: calculating a first distance between the satellite and the anchor base station based on a location of the satellite and a location of the anchor base station; and calculating the first delay time based on the first distance ([FIG. 12 # 1220] a first propagation delay is determined between the source base station and UE. Propagation delay is calculated using the location of two devices and the distance between those two locations. It is well known in the art that a propagation delay can be determined between any number of different devices, to include a satellite and source (anchor) base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Yu for selecting a source base station and configuring a first reference time of the source base station with the method of Pedersen for calculating a first delay time based on the distance between the location of the satellite and the base station to facilitate communication between the satellite and the target base station through the use of a more accurate reference time based on the calculated delays.
For claim 10, Yu and Pedersen teach claim 8.
Pedersen further teaches wherein the calculating of the second delay time between the satellite and the target base station comprises: calculating a second distance between the satellite and the target base station based on a location of the satellite and a location of the target base station; and calculating the second delay time based on the second distance ([FIG. 12 # 1230] a second propagation delay is determined between the target base station and a UE. Propagation delay is calculated using the location of two devices and the distance between those two locations. It is well known in the art that a propagation delay can be determined between any number of different devices, to include a satellite and target base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Yu for selecting a source base station and configuring a first reference time of the source base station with the method of Pedersen for calculating a first delay time based on the distance between the location of the satellite and the base station to facilitate communication between the satellite and the target base station through the use of a more accurate reference time based on the calculated delays.
For claim 11, Yu and Pedersen teach claim 8.
Pedersen further teaches wherein the configuring of the second reference time of the target base station from the first reference time using the first delay time and the second delay time comprises: calculating a delay time difference between the first delay time and the second delay time ([FIG. 12 # 1230] a time difference between the first propagation delay and the second propagation delay); and
configuring the second reference time by reflecting the delay time difference in the first reference time (at least [FIG. 12 # 1240] a second TA value (reference time) is determined using the delay time difference and the first reference time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Yu for selecting a source base station and configuring a first reference time of the source base station with the method of Pedersen for calculating a first and second delay time and configuring a second reference time of the target base station using a delay time difference between the two propagation delays and the first reference time to facilitate communication between the satellite and the target base station through the use of a more accurate reference time based on the calculated delays.
For claim 12, Yu and Pedersen teach claim 8.
Pedersen further teaches configuring a third reference time of the satellite by reflecting the first delay time in the first reference time (at least [FIG. 12 # 1240] a second TA value (reference time) is determined using the first delay time and the first reference time. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that several reference times could be configured using any combination of the first delay, second delay, delay difference, and first reference time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Yu for selecting a source base station and configuring a first reference time of the source base station with the method of Pedersen for calculating a first and second delay time and configuring a third reference time of the satellite using a first delay time and the first reference time to facilitate communication between the satellite and the base stations through the use of a more accurate reference time based on the calculated delays.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN T. RANEW/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465