DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to Applicant’s Reply filed on 6/25/2026. Claims 9, 14 and 16-20 are canceled, Claims 21-27 are newly added, Claims 1-8, 10-13, 15 and 21-27 are pending. THIS ACTION HAS BEEN MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 7,614,593 to McClure et al. (McClure).
Regarding Claim 21: McClure discloses a clamp for a cable comprising: a first clamp portion (See Annotated Fig. A) having a first cable groove (See Annotated Fig. A) for receiving the cable; a second clamp portion (See Annotated Fig. A) having a second cable groove (See Annotated Fig. A) cooperating with the first cable groove to receive the cable; and a keeper clamp portion (See Annotated Fig. A) being moveable relative to the first and the second clamp portions to provide sequential clamping of the cable, wherein the keeper clamp portion is moveable between an open keeper position (See Figure 2) and a closed keeper position (See Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 22: McClure discloses a clamp of claim 21, wherein the keeper clamp portion (See Annotated Fig. A) is pivotally connected (See Annotated Fig. A) at least one of the first (See Annotated Fig. A) or second clamp portions.
Regarding Claim 23: McClure discloses a clamp of claim 22, wherein the keeper clamp portion (See Annotated Fig. A) pivots independent (See Annotated Fig. A) of the first clamp portion or second clamp portion.
Regarding Claim 25: McClure discloses a clamp of claim 21, wherein at least one of the first or second clamp (See Annotated Fig. A) portions has a keeper window (See Annotated Fig. A) sized to receive the keeper clamp portion.
Regarding Claim 26: McClure discloses a clamp of claim 21, further comprising at least one keeper fastener (See Annotated Fig. A) extending through the keeper clamp portion (See Annotated Fig. A) to hold the keeper clamp portion in the first clamped position.
Regarding Claim 27: McClure discloses a clamp of claim 21, further comprising a pair of inserts (See Annotated Fig. A) positioned between the first and second clamp portions (See Annotated Fig. A) for cushioning the cable and dampening vibrations.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see Reply filed 6/25/2026, with respect to Claims 1-3, 11, 12 and 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection is withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8, 10-13 and 15 are allowed.
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
None of the cited prior art, considered alone or in combination, discloses or teaches, in addition to the limitations of Claim 21, a third cable groove to hold the cable when the keep clamp portion is closed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERET C. MCNICHOLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ERET C MCNICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632