CTNF 18/896,357 CTNF 88332 DETAILED ACTION 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Mantri et al. (US 20230225586 A1, 2023-07-20) (hereinafter “Mantri”) . Regarding claims 1-5, 14-16, and 19-20 , Mantri teaches a medical device comprising: a handle comprising a housing that includes a grip and an actuator, the handle further comprising: an imaging module (e.g., comprising 21, Fig. 2E) comprising a printed circuit board (e.g., [0095]); and a laser module comprising a first laser source configured to couple to a first laser fiber and a second laser source configured to couple to a second laser fiber, wherein the laser module and the imaging module are contained within the housing, or wherein the imaging module, the laser module, or both the imaging module and the laser module are selectively attachable to and detachable from the housing (e.g., [0082], [0101], [0131]; Figs. 1, 2E and associated text) (as recited in claim 1 ); further comprising a shaft extending from the handle to a distal tip, the distal tip comprising an imaging device and a light source each operably coupled to the imaging module (e.g., Figs. 1, 2E and associated text) (as recited in claim 2 ); further comprising the first laser fiber and the second laser fiber, wherein the first laser fiber is coupled to the first laser source and the second laser fiber is coupled to the second laser source, and wherein each of the first laser fiber and the second laser fiber extends distally through the shaft to the distal tip (e.g., [0082], [0101], [0131]) (as recited in claim 3 ); wherein the handle includes a port and the shaft includes a lumen in fluid communication with the port, the lumen terminating at a distalmost face of the distal tip (e.g., [0079] and Fig. 2B) (as recited in claim 4 ); wherein the laser module and the imaging module are contained within the housing, and the laser module further comprises a first coupler at least partially surrounding the first laser source and a second coupler at least partially surrounding the second laser source (e.g., Fig. 2B and associated text) (as recited in claim 5 ); a medical device comprising: a handle comprising: a housing including a grip (e.g., Fig. 2E), a port (e.g., [0068]), and an actuator (e.g., [0100], [0111], [0215]); an imaging module (e.g., 21) coupled to, and selectively detachable from, the housing; and a laser module coupled to, and selectively detachable from, the housing, the laser module comprising a first laser source and a second laser source (e.g., Fig. 16); and a shaft extending from the handle to a distal tip, the shaft defining a lumen in fluid communication with the port; wherein the actuator is configured to control movement of the shaft (as recited in claim 14 ); wherein the distal tip of the shaft includes an imaging device and a light source each operably coupled to the imaging module, and wherein the lumen terminates at the distal tip (as recited in claim 15 ); wherein the first laser source is coupled to a first laser fiber and the second laser source is coupled to a second laser fiber, each of the first laser fiber and the second laser fiber extending through the shaft to respective openings of the distal tip (as recited in claim 16 ); a medical device comprising: a handle comprising: a housing including a grip (e.g., Fig. 2E) and an actuator (e.g., [0100], [0111], [0215]); an imaging module (e.g., 21) coupled to, and selectively detachable from, the housing; and a laser module coupled to, and selectively detachable from, the housing, the laser module comprising a first laser source and a second laser source, and a shaft extending from the handle to a distal tip that includes an imaging device and a light source (e.g., Fig. 16); wherein the imaging device and the light source are operably coupled to the imaging module; and wherein the actuator is configured to control movement of the shaft (e.g., [0100], [0111], [0215]) (as recited in claim 19 ); wherein the first laser source is coupled to a first laser fiber and the second laser source is coupled to a second laser fiber, each of the first laser fiber and the second laser fiber extending through the shaft to the distal tip (as recited in claim 20 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantri in view of Scharf et al. (US 20160151639 A1, 2016-06-02) (hereinafter “Scharf”) . Regarding claims 6-13 and 17-18 , Mantri teaches a medical device, except comprising user-adjustable wavelengths. However, Mantri teaches use of different wavelengths for different purposes. See, e.g., [0160], [0167]. Mantri also teaches use of different input devices. See, e.g., [0090]. Scharf teaches the benefits of using and combining different wavelengths for different therapeutic applications. See, e.g., [0148]-[0150], [0201], [0217], [0221], [0223], [0260]-[0262]. [0297]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Scharf with the invention taught by Mantri such that the invention further comprises wherein the handle includes a user element selectable by a user to control a first wavelength of the first laser source and a second wavelength of the second laser source (as recited in claim 6 ); wherein the user element comprises a knob, switch, or button configured to select the first wavelength and the second wavelength, wherein the second wavelength is different from the first wavelength (as recited in claim 7 ); wherein the first wavelength is red light, green light, or blue light (as recited in claim 8 ); wherein both the imaging module and the laser module are coupled to, and detachable from, the housing (as recited in claim 9 ); wherein the imaging module and the laser module are contained within a single unit that is selectively attachable to and detachable from the housing (as recited in claim 10 ); wherein the single unit is coupled to, and detachable from, a portion of the housing distal to the grip (as recited in claim 11 ); wherein the single unit forms an angle of 90 degrees or less relative to a longitudinal axis of the housing when the single unit is attached to the housing (as recited in claim 12 ); wherein the imaging module and the laser module are contained within separate units, each unit being coupled to, and detachable from, the housing independent of the other unit (as recited in claim 13 ); wherein the imaging module and the laser module are contained within separate units, each unit being independently detachable from the housing (as recited in claim 17 ); wherein the imaging module and the laser module are contained within a single unit coupled to, and detachable from, the housing (as recited in claim 18 ) in order to enhance the versatility and modularity of the invention so that it is better suited for the requirements of particular treatments. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SCOTT T LUAN whose telephone number is (571)270-1860. The examiner can normally be reached on 9am-5pm, M-F (generally). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gary Jackson, can be reached on 571-272-4697. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Scott Luan /SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/896,357 Page 2 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/896,357 Page 3 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/896,357 Page 4 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/896,357 Page 5 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/896,357 Page 6 Art Unit: 3792