DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 9/3/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of app. no. 18/896299 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded. Therefore, the previous double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
A patent may be obtained for “any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof.” 35 U.S.C. §101. The Supreme Court has held that this provision contains an important implicit exception: laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are not patentable. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354 (2014); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972) (“Phenomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.”). Notwithstanding that a law of nature or an abstract idea, by itself, is not patentable, the application of these concepts may be deserving of patent protection. Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1293–94 (2012). In Mayo, the Court stated that “to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent eligible application of such a law, one must do more than simply state the law of nature while adding the words ‘apply it.’” Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294 (citation omitted).
In Alice, the Supreme Court reaffirmed the framework set forth previously in Mayo “for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas from those that claim patent-eligible applications of these concepts.” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355. The first step in the analysis is to “determine whether the claims at issue are directed to one of those patent-ineligible concepts.” Id. If the claims are directed to a patent-ineligible concept, then the second step in the analysis is to consider the elements of the claims “individually and ‘as an ordered combination”’ to determine whether there are additional elements that “‘transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.” Id. (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1298, 1297). In other words, the second step is to “search for an ‘inventive concept’‒ i.e., an element or combination of elements that is ‘sufficient to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent upon the [ineligible concept] itself.’” Id. (brackets in original) (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294). The prohibition against patenting an abstract idea “cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the formula to a particular technological environment or adding insignificant post-solution activity.” Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 610–11 (2010) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). The Court in Alice noted that “‘[s]imply appending conventional steps, specified at a high level of generality,’ was not ‘enough’ [in Mayo] to supply an ‘inventive concept.’” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2357 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1300, 1297, 1294).
Examiners must perform a Two-Part Analysis for Judicial Exceptions. In Step 1, it must be determined whether the claims fall into one of the four statutory categories of invention. The claims are directed an apparatus, a method, and a computer readable medium, which fall into the four statutory categories. However, claims that fall within one of the four subject matter categories may nevertheless be ineligible if they encompass laws of nature, physical phenomena, or abstract ideas. See Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 309 (1980).
In Step 2A, it must be determined whether the claimed invention is ‘directed to’ a judicially recognized exception. According to the specification, the invention relates “to the field of gaming, particularly electronic table games.” Spec. ¶ 2. Representative claim 1 recites the following (with emphasis):
1. A live roulette gaming system, comprising:
a roulette gaming table comprising a first roulette wheel and a second roulette wheel; and
at least one computing device comprising a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions, which when executed by the processor, causes the at least one computing device to:
accept, during a first betting window, a first bet from an interactive gaming interface, wherein the bet is for a first gaming event to be played on a first roulette wheel at the roulette gaming table;
at a dealer console at the roulette gaming table, begin the first gaming event by initiating a wheel spin of the first roulette wheel;
during the wheel spin of the first roulette wheel, open a second betting window for a second gaming event associated with the second roulette wheel at the roulette table;
accept, during the second betting window, a second bet from the interactive gaming interface; close the second betting window when the wheel spin of the first roulette wheel ends; and
after a result of the first gaming event is confirmed at the dealer console, initiate a wheel spin of the second roulette wheel to begin the second gaming event.
The underlined portions of representative claim 1 generally encompass the abstract idea, with similar features in independent claims 8 and 18. It is clear that the inventive concept here is a set of rules for one or more games, which may provide one or more awards to a player. Dependent claims 2-7 and 9-17 further define the abstract idea by introducing various rules to the game (e.g., locating player stations in a casino, providing betting layouts, displaying time left for betting, resolving bets for gaming events, etc.) and/or relate to implementing the game (discussed further below). The abstract idea may be viewed, for example, as:
a method of exchanging financial obligations (e.g., an award-providing game, which is effectively a method of exchanging and resolving financial obligations based on probabilities created during the game) as discussed in Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, In re Smith (Fed. Cir. 2016), and In re Marco Guldenaar Holding B.V. (Fed. Cir. 2018),
a fundamental economic practice (e.g., rules for conducting a game) as discussed in In re Smith, and In re Marco Guldenaar Holding B.V.,
a method of managing a game similar to that of managing a game of bingo in Planet Bingo, LLC v. VKGS LLC (Fed. Cir. 2014);
a set of game rules similar to increasing or decreasing the risk-to-reward ratio, or more broadly the difficulty, of a multiplayer game based upon previous aggregate results, as discussed in Bot M8 LLC v. Sony Corp. of America (Fed. Cir. 2021); and/or
a method of organizing human activities (e.g., allowing a human player to play an award-providing game according to rules of the game method) as discussed in Bilski v. Kappos and Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank.
The claimed abstract idea reproduced above is effectively a method of exchanging and resolving financial obligations between one or more players and an operator of the gaming machine based on probabilities created during the game (see Smith, In re Marco Guldenaar Holding B.V., and Alice). Based on the reasoning in Smith, and In re Marco Guldenaar Holding B.V., the recited steps of conducting a game in the instant claims relate to the “fundamental economic practice” of rules for conducting a game. The abstract idea is also similar to that of Planet Bingo, in which a method of managing a bingo game was found to be an abstract idea. Though the instant claims are not limited to bingo games, they encompass the management of similar games. The abstract idea is also comparable to the game rules presented on gaming machines in Bot M8 LLC v. Sony Corp. of America, in which a reward probability could be increased or decreased based on aggregating previous game outcomes placed on the gaming machines. The Bot M8 decision also found that such abstract idea is “more broadly the difficulty[] of a multiplayer game.” Finally, the claims allow a player to win an award, which is a financial transaction based on the rules of the game (e.g., as determined by a random number generator). Such transactions are akin to the sort of organizing of human activities, i.e., risk hedging, discussed in Bilski (and shadow accounts in Alice).
Under prong 1, the above analysis demonstrates that the claimed invention encompasses an abstract idea in the form of mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity. Under prong 2, the instant claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they merely provide instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, add only extra solution activity to the abstract idea, and/or generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. While certain physical elements (i.e., elements that are not an abstract idea such as a computer, an input device, a display device, wheels, etc.) are present in the claims, such features do not effect an improvement in any technology or technical field and are recited in generic (i.e., not particular) ways. Similarly, the abstract idea does not improve the functioning of these physical elements. The claims do not (1) improve the functioning of a computer or other technology, (2) are not applied with any particular machine (only generic gaming components), (3) do not effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state, and (4) are not applied in any meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (e.g., a casino or similar environment), such that the claim, as a whole, is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(a)–(c), (e)–(h). Therefore, the claims are directed to the judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2B requires that if the claim encompasses a judicially recognized exception, it must be determined whether the claimed invention recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims encompass the following additional element(s) or combination of elements in the claim(s) other than the abstract idea per se: a gaming table having a first and second roulette wheel, a computing device having a processor and memory to carry out the abstract idea, a display device, and one or more player stations within a particular environment such as an arena, and a live video feed of the roulette wheel(s). Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
The claimed additional features are generic, conventional, and well-known in the art of wager gaming and/or are devices that represent extra-solution activity. For instance, the specification describes the player interface as a player station or other device such as a tablet, laptop, or mobile computing device. Spec. ¶ 44. This illustrates that the computer devices for players need only be generic and conventional components. Similarly, the computer components for the game outcomes are described in generic and functional terms: “the techniques may be distributed between the computing device(s) and the controller(s)…Figure 9 illustrates an exemplary block diagram of a computing system that includes hardware modules, software module, and a combination thereof and that can be implemented as the computing device and/or as the server.” Spec. ¶ 72. This provides additional indications that the computer components recited by the claims may be well-understood, routine, and conventional computer components. It is noted that the claimed “arena” represents an environment in which the abstract idea is applied, which does not impart any particularity to the claimed abstract idea.
The claims additionally recite providing a live video display of the outcomes of roulette wheels. The specification explains that this may be done using video cameras and displaying the results using picture-in-picture (PIP) format. Spec. ¶¶ 32-34. The Examiner notes that live video feeds using cameras and display formats providing PIP have been known in the art of video production for consumer grade electronics at least as early as the 1990s, with professional grade electronics able to provide such features as early as the 1970s. See “Picture-in-picture,” Wikipedia. Furthermore, the inventive concept of wagering on multiple roulette wheels is not materially affected by such cameras or display formats, which indicates that these features are extra-solution activities.
In light of these factual findings, the additional claim features are well-understood, routine, and conventional and/or constitute extra-solution activities.
Several other references have been cited in this or a parent application to demonstrate features that are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art. Each of these references is incorporated herein by reference to demonstrate the state of the art.
Taking the claimed elements individually yields no difference from taking them in combination because each element simply performs its respective function as discussed above. The claims do not purport to improve the functioning of a computer itself, nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Instead, the additional features merely amount to an instruction to apply the abstract idea using generic, functional, and conventional components well-known in the art. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. 208 (2014).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0092037 to Snow et al. (hereinafter Snow).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 9, and 18, Snow teaches a live roulette gaming system, and method and computer readable medium therefor, comprising:
a roulette gaming table comprising a first roulette wheel and a second roulette wheel (e.g., Fig. 3); and
at least one computing device comprising a processor and a memory (e.g., Fig. 20), the memory comprising instructions, which when executed by the processor, causes the at least one computing device to:
accept, during a first betting window, a first bet from an interactive gaming interface, wherein the bet is for a first gaming event to be played on a first roulette wheel at the roulette gaming table (e.g., ¶¶ 44-46, 50, and 52);
at a dealer console at the roulette gaming table, begin the first gaming event by initiating a wheel spin of the first roulette wheel (e.g., ¶¶ 44-46, 50, and 52);
[…] open a second betting window for a second gaming event associated with the second roulette wheel at the roulette table (e.g., betting on a second or subsequent roulette wheel 304; see at least ¶ 55-59);
accept, during the second betting window, a second bet from the interactive gaming interface (e.g., betting on a second or subsequent roulette wheel 304; see at least ¶ 55-59);
close the second betting window (e.g., no more bets accepted for the second or subsequent roulette wheel) […]; and
after a result of the first gaming event is confirmed at the dealer console, initiate a wheel spin of the second roulette wheel to begin the second gaming event (e.g., The second of the multiple (e.g., three) roulette wheels 304 may be operated, after or concurrently with the first of the roulette wheels 304 in ¶ 206).
Snow teaches the invention substantially as described above and makes clear that the multiple bets placed on the multiple roulette wheels may be operated sequentially or concurrently (e.g., ¶ 206). However, Snow does not explicitly teach the overlapping time periods of the claimed invention in which the second betting window is opened ‘during the wheel spin of the first roulette wheel’ and the second betting window is closed ‘when the wheel spin of the first roulette wheel ends.’ The claimed overlapping time period is essentially a mixture of sequential and concurrent game play because the game rounds only partially overlap. Snow does not expressly teach this partial overlap. Regardless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to modify the teachings of Snow to provide overlapping time periods of the claimed invention in which the second betting window is opened ‘during the wheel spin of the first roulette wheel’ and the second betting window is closed ‘when the wheel spin of the first roulette wheel ends’ in order to provide players with sufficient time to decide whether to make a second wager while also keeping a faster pace of game outcomes that benefits the gaming establishment with greater profits.
Regarding claim 2, Snow teaches or suggests one or more player stations arranged around the roulette gaming table, wherein each of the player stations comprise a display providing the interactive gaming interface (e.g., ¶ 53 and Figs. 2 and 17).
Regarding claim 3, Snow teaches or suggests wherein the one or more player stations are located in an arena on a casino floor, wherein the arena comprises an interior area and a perimeter, and the one or more player stations face the roulette gaming table (e.g., ¶¶ 44-46 and Figs. 3 and 17).
Regarding claim 4, Snow teaches or suggests wherein the interactive gaming interface display comprises a first area comprising a betting layout associated with the first roulette wheel, and a second area comprising a betting layout associated with the second roulette wheel (e.g., betting layout in Figs. 2 and 14).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Snow teaches or suggests wherein the first area further comprises a live video feed of the first roulette wheel, and the second area further comprises a live video feed of the second roulette wheel (e.g., video feeds in ¶¶ 44-46, 127, and 160).
Regarding claims 6, 9, and 10, Snow teaches or suggests wherein the interactive gaming interface (or dealer console) displays at least one of: a time left in the second betting window and a result of the first gaming event (e.g., roulette outcomes may be displayed in ¶¶ 44-46, 127, and 160).
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Snow teaches or suggests wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to: automatically resolve the bet for the first gaming event after the result of the first gaming event is confirmed (e.g., via partially or fully automated table games or network games in ¶ 45).
Regarding claim 13, Snow suggests during the wheel spin of the second roulette wheel, opening a third betting window for a third gaming event associated with the first roulette wheel at the dual roulette table (e.g., the third roulette wheel in Fig. 3) for the same reasons discussed with respect to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, Snow teaches or suggests wherein the at least one player interface is associated with one or more player stations positioned within a same location as the roulette gaming table (e.g., Figs. 3 and 17).
Regarding claim 15, Snow teaches or suggests wherein the one or more player stations are positioned to enable a player to view the first roulette wheel and the second roulette wheel (e.g., Figs. 3 and 17).
Regarding claim 16, Snow suggests wherein the one or more player stations are arranged in a stadium configuration, wherein the stadium configuration comprises a plurality of rows extending outwardly from the roulette gaming table, and wherein the one or more player stations face the roulette gaming table because the players may participate at individual electronic gaming machines located on a casino floor, which are known to be arranged in a plurality of rows, in ¶ 125 and/or at other tables or electronic devices. The particular choice of where to locate games within a casino is an obvious matter of choice within the ordinary level of skill of casino managers because the particular location of the devices does not alter their functioning.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snow in view of US 2013/0084947 to Nicely (hereinafter Nicely).
Regarding claim 17, Snow teaches or suggests the invention substantially as described above, but lacks in explicitly teaching setting, at the dealer console, a spin direction of the first roulette wheel prior to beginning the first gaming event, and setting, at the dealer console, a spin direction of the second roulette wheel before beginning the second gaming event. In a related disclosure, Nicely teaches a roulette type game having a variety of roulette dealer attributes, including direction of roulette wheel attributes (e.g., clockwise or counter-clockwise) (see ¶ 92). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to modify the system of Snow to include a dealer-selectable roulette wheel rotation direction, as taught or suggested by Nicely, in order to provide players with greater variety of gameplay.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As an initial matter, Applicant addresses the double patenting rejection over app. no. 18/896229 on page 6 of the Remarks. In light of the instant terminal disclaimer, the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant addresses the grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 on pages 6-8 of the Remarks section. Applicant first asserts that the claims do not recite a mental process because initiating a wheel spin cannot practically be performed in the mind. First, the Examiner notes that the grounds of rejection categorize the claims as being directed to both mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity. Applicant appears to only address the mental processes portion of the rejection and therefore the Remarks are unavailing. Nevertheless, the Examiner notes that claims may be directed to mental processes even if they include physical elements. For instance, a claim that requires a computer may still recite a mental process. See October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility, p. 8. The instant invention requires only a generic computer, and, like the October 2019 Update, it recites a mental process along with a handful of generic computer components to be used in conjunction with the mental process. As such, the mere presence of a physical device on which a human initiates a spin of a roulette wheel is not sufficient to demonstrate patent eligibility.
On page 7, Applicant addresses Step 2A prong two, stating that the claims recite “a specific sequence that controls two physical roulette wheels in a defined interlock.” The Examiner notes that the claims do not specify that the roulette wheels are physical wheels and the claims do not use the term “interlock.” In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Indeed, the specification admits that the roulette device may be in the form of generic computers or consumer devices. For instance, the specification describes the player interface as a player station or other device such as a tablet, laptop, or mobile computing device. Spec. ¶ 44. Similarly, the computer components for the game outcomes are described in generic and functional terms: “the techniques may be distributed between the computing device(s) and the controller(s)…Figure 9 illustrates an exemplary block diagram of a computing system that includes hardware modules, software module, and a combination thereof and that can be implemented as the computing device and/or as the server.” Spec. ¶ 72. As such, the claims do not require any particular physical elements to carry out the abstract idea and reading physical wheels into the claims would be an improper importation of limitations from the specification. Because the asserted advantages of safeguarding against error are described with respect to an unclaimed “interlock,” there is no evidence to support a finding that these features are encompassed by the claims.
Turning to Step 2B, Applicant admits that certain picture-in-picture limitations are found in the dependent claims, which are addressed in the grounds of rejection above. Applicant then asserts that the grounds of rejection did not provide evidentiary support for the asserted “interlock” between “physical” roulette wheels. Again, these features are not required by the claims, so there is no factual finding necessary for these terms. However, the grounds of rejection did note (and do note) that physical wheels are well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by the prior art of record. Indeed, US 2017/0092037 to Snow et al., which is the subject of the prior art rejection, also provides the physical wheels (e.g., Fig. 3). In sum, the claims do not require the features upon which Applicant’s argument relies, but even if they did, such features are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art as shown by the art cited on this record.
In light of the above analysis, the claimed invention fails to demonstrate patent eligibility.
Applicant addresses the grounds of rejection as obvious over Snow, alone or in view of Nicely, on pages 8-11 of the Remarks section. At the outset, the Examiner respectfully notes that the grounds of rejection are not based on anticipation, as appears to have been argued by Applicant, but rather on obviousness over Snow. Applicant admits that Snow allows players to place wagers on as many as three roulette wheels. Remarks, 8. However, Applicant asserts that Snow accepts a single set of wagers for all wheels before any wheel is spun, and does not open a secondary bet window that allows overlap between the first and second bets being placed. Id. at 8-9. This argument is not persuasive because the grounds of rejection already noted that the timing of different, overlapping betting windows is not taught by the reference. Instead, the rejection finds this feature would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date.
Applicant seems to acknowledge that the grounds of rejection sought to show obviousness, rather than anticipation, on pages 9-10 of the Remarks section. Applicant asserts that Snow does not suggest a deficiency in its own disclosure. This argument is not consistent with any recognized court decision or section of the MPEP. Generally speaking, references would not criticize themselves. To the extent that Applicant invokes In re McLaughlin, the Supreme Court made clear in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc. that a suggestion to modify the known prior art need not come from the art itself, but rather may be found within the ordinary level of skill. The KSR court also noted that one of ordinary skill is one of ordinary creativity and not an automaton.
In this case, the order of operations of the instant claims does not result in any patentable distinction over the art of record because the players are able to make wagers in an order that is only slightly asynchronous between the betting windows, as opposed to the Snow’s teaching of either sequential start-and-stop wagering or simultaneous wagering. Put differently, while Snow teaches either sequential wagers or simultaneous (i.e., concurrent wagers), Snow does not teach the overlapping windows of wagers, such that “during the wheel spin of the first roulette wheel, open a second betting window for a second gaming event associated with the second roulette wheel.” See Claim 1. However, there is no material difference in this order compared to the embodiments of Snow because in either case, the players may have wagers placed upon multiple events (e.g., roulette wheel outcomes of separate wheels), and those wagers may exist at the same time. The differentiating factor is therefore a game rule that is controlled by the casino operator to have the wagers on separate wheels coincide partially but not completely. Given that Snow teaches both sequential and simultaneous wagering, this differentiating factor is simply a matter of the casino implementing a different wagering policy and not any technological difference.
To this end, the grounds of rejection state that it would have been obvious to provide the overlapping time periods of the claimed invention in which the second betting window is opened ‘during the wheel spin of the first roulette wheel’ and the second betting window is closed ‘when the wheel spin of the first roulette wheel ends’ in order to provide players with sufficient time to decide whether to make a second wager while also keeping a faster pace of game outcomes that benefits the gaming establishment with greater profits. These motivations are well within the ordinary level of skill because a person having ordinary skill in the art must understand ways to design games that drive profit for casinos at a pace that players can understand the gameplay. Without designers to provide these profits, the industry would simply cease to exist.
Applicant asserts that that claim 13 requires a third betting window to be for a gaming event associated with the first roulette wheel, which Applicant asserts means “a return to the first wheel,” and not a third wheel. Remarks, 10. The Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant’s assertion that the game returns to a first wheel is completely absent from the claim language. In fact, claim 13 merely requires that the third betting window for a third gaming event be associated with the first roulette wheel at the dual roulette table. The metes and bounds of that association are not defined by the claim language. As such, the fact that Snow’s game started with the first wheel and proceeded to the third wheel (along with the second wheel) demonstrates that the third wheel play is associated with the first wheel. Therefore, Snow meets the invention as broadly claimed in claim 13.
Applicant addresses the rejection of claims 8 and 17 as obvious over Snow and Nicely on pages 10-11 of the Remarks. The Remarks regarding claim 8 appear to simply reiterate those addressed above, and as such these arguments are unpersuasive for the same reasons discussed above. With respect to claim 17, Applicant admits that Nicely teaches a roulette type gaming having a variety of dealer attributes, including direction of roulette wheel attributes. Applicant asserts that these dealer attributes are chosen by the player because the player chooses a virtual dealer. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this line of reasoning. Like the wagering order discussed above, the choice of spinning clockwise or counterclockwise is simply dictated by the rules of the casino. Claim 17 requires “setting, at the dealer console, a spin direction of the first roulette wheel prior to beginning the first gaming event, and setting, at the dealer console, a spin direction of the second roulette wheel before beginning the second gaming event.” It is noted that claim 17 does not state that a dealer chooses the direction, but rather that the direction is chosen at a dealer console. As such, Applicant’s arguments against Nicely are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Furthermore, Nicely’s teaching that the roulette wheel can spin in either direction (e.g., clockwise or counter-clockwise) shows that it was known in the art to allow a dealer to choose either direction. Taken in combination with Snow, Nicely teaches or suggests the invention of claim 17 because the combined teachings provide for a dealer-directed roulette game (e.g., Snow) along with a teaching that a (virtual) dealer may select different spin directions.
In light of the forgoing analysis, the claimed invention fails to demonstrate patent eligibility or patentability over the cited prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM H MCCULLOCH JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715