DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 10-16 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
b. This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 02/25/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyu et al. US Pub 2024/0244472, claiming foreign application priority 2023-01-12 (hereinafter “Lyu”), in view of Rossbach et al. US Pub 2025/0310952 (hereinafter “Rossbach”), and further in view of Tang et al. US Pub 2024/0284461, claiming foreign application priority 2023-02-16 (hereinafter “Tang”).
Regarding claim 10
Lyu discloses a method performed by a terminal (i.e. “terminal device” in Fig. 2) in a wireless communication system (“the method includes: receiving, by a terminal device, a first message in a random access procedure; and performing, by the terminal device, retransmission of a first PUCCH based on first indication information of a network device, where the first PUCCH is used to carry feedback information corresponding to the first message. The first indication information is determined based on first information, and the first information is used to indicate whether the terminal device has a capability of repeatedly transmitting the first PUCCH.” [0006]), the method comprising:
receiving system information (“the network device may configure a repetition factor related to the first PUCCH by using a SIB.” [0139]) from a base station (i.e. “network device” in Fig. 2);
transmitting a random access preamble to the base station (“In Step S210, a terminal device sends message 1 (Msg1) to a network device. In the 4-step RACH, the terminal device may select an RACH resource and a preamble, and send Msg1 to the network device on the selected resource. The RACH resource is also referred to as a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource. Msg1 includes the preamble of the PRACH resource.” [0051-0052]; Fig. 2);
receiving a random access response from the base station (“In Step S220, the network device sends message 2 (Msg2) to the terminal device. Msg2 is also referred to as a random access response (RAR). Msg2 may be carried by using a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).” [0058-0059]); and
Lyu does not specifically teach transmitting, to the base station, a Medium Access Control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) comprising a Common Control Channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU) and a MAC subheader.
In an analogous art, Rossbach discloses transmitting, to the base station, a Medium Access Control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) comprising a Common Control Channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU) and a MAC subheader (“The size of the MAC SDU can vary, and the size of some MAC CEs is fixed while other MAC CEs have a variable size. MAC sub-headers, SDUs and CEs are arranged in octets. The MAC sub-header has a first defined format for variable size MAC CEs and MAC SDUs not containing UL common control channel (CCCH), and other defined formats for fixed size MAC CEs, padding, and MAC SDUs containing UL CCCH.” [0027]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lyu’s method for configuring a resource for retransmission of a PUCCH for a terminal device, to include Rossbach’s method of sub-grouping and configuration of logical channel ID spaces for MAC CEs/SDUs, in order to accommodate additional MAC CEs while ensuring performance (Rossbach [0003]).
Lyu and Rossbach do not specifically wherein the MAC subheader comprises information indicating a logical channel identifier (LCID) index selected from one of a plurality of LCID index regions, and
wherein selection of the LCID index region is determined based on a size of the CCCH SDU, whether the terminal supports Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK, and whether configuration information related to the PUCCH repetition is included in the system information.
In an analogous art, Tang discloses wherein the MAC subheader comprises information indicating a logical channel identifier (LCID) index selected from one of a plurality of LCID index regions (“FIG. 6 illustrates another example scenario of an MAC subheader of the Msg3 under the second scheme in accordance with implementations of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 6, 1 reserved bit in the MAC subheader of the Msg3 may be repurposed as a parameter pucch-AggregationCapability (C) to indicate the capability indication of PUCCH repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK. Another reserved bit (e.g., first R bit in the MAC subheader) in the MAC subheader of the Msg3 may be used for the logical channel identifier (LCID) extension in the MAC subheader of the Msg3. If the parameter pucch-AggregationCapability is set to true (e.g., C=1), it may mean that the UE has capability to perform PUCCH repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK. If the parameter pucch-AggregationCapability is set to false (e.g., C=0), it may mean that the UE does not have capability to perform PUCCH repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK.” [0039]), and
wherein selection of the LCID index region is determined based on a size of the CCCH SDU, whether the terminal supports Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK, and whether configuration information related to the PUCCH repetition is included in the system information (“FIG. 7 illustrates another example scenario of an MAC subheader of the Msg3 under the second scheme in accordance with implementations of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 7, a logical channel identifier (LCID) of the MAC subheader of the Msg3 may be further used to indicate the capability indication of PUCCH repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK. Specifically, a parameter or field (e.g., E or LX) of an extension indication for Msg4 HARQ-ACK repetition capability in the MAC subheader of the Msg3 may be used to indicate whether the UE reports capability for Msg4 HARQ-ACK repetition. If the parameter of the extension indication is set to true (e.g., E=1), it may mean that the UE indicates to have capability of PUCCH repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK with one state of the LCID. The state may only exist when the parameter is set to true (e.g., E=1). If the parameter of the extension indication is set to false (e.g., E=0), it may mean that the UE does not use the LCID to indicate Msg4 HARQ-ACK repetition capability. The size of the parameter of the extension indication may be 1 bit. The parameter of the extension indication may use 1 reserved bit (e.g., first R bit) in the MAC subheader of Msg3.” [0040]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lyu’s method for configuring a resource for retransmission of a PUCCH for a terminal device, as modified by Rossbach, to include Tang’s capability indication of repetition for message 4 (Msg4) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback, in order to increase repetition transmission efficiency (Tang [0008]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Tang’s capability indication of repetition for message 4 (Msg4) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback into Lyu’s method for configuring a resource for retransmission of a PUCCH for a terminal device since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11
Lyu, as modified by Rossbach and Tang, previously discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of LCID index regions comprise:
Rossbach further discloses an 8-bit or 16-bit extended LCID (eLCID) field can be added to the MAC sub-header to extend the LCID space (“The medium access control (MAC) layer of a radio access network (RAN) protocol stack can transmit/receive MAC service data units (SDU), MAC control elements (CE) and/or padding in a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU). Each MAC sub-PDU includes a MAC sub-header indicating a logical channel identifier (LCID) value identifying the logical channel for the payload, e.g., the MAC SDU or the MAC CE. The LCID field comprises 6 bits and establishes 64 LCID values in the LCID space. In addition, an 8-bit or 16-bit extended LCID (eLCID) field can be added to the MAC sub-header to extend the LCID space. In general, less frequent and/or low priority MAC CEs are assigned to an LCID index in the eLCID space, while more frequent and/or high priority MAC CEs are assigned to an LCID index in the LCID space. Certain legacy MAC CEs defined in earlier 3GPP releases are also defined in the LCID space. The mapping between a LCID/eLCID codepoint and a logical channel or MAC CE is defined in 3GPP specification TS 38.321.” [0002]). One skilled in the art can easily adapt Rossbach’s teaching to implement the claimed features below:
a first LCID index region from 0 to 63;
a second LCID index region from 64 to 319;
a third LCID index region from 320 to 65855; and
a fourth LCID index region from 65856 to 65919.
Regarding claim 15
Lyu, as modified by Rossbach and Tang, previously discloses the method of claim 11,
Lyu further discloses wherein the LCID index indicates information related to a Msg4 HARQ-ACK Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) (“In some embodiments, the first information may also be associated with other information in Msg3. The terminal device may report, by using Msg3, that the terminal device itself has a capability of supporting PUCCH retransmission. In a possible implementation, the terminal device may indicate, by using a logical channel ID (LCID) in Msg3, that the terminal device supports retransmission of the first PUCCH. For example, a terminal device adapted to the R18 may indicate, by using an LCID codepoint within a range of reserved index values, that the terminal device supports PUCCH retransmission of HARQ-ACK for Msg4. The range of reserved index values for the LCID is, for example, LCID codepoints in a reserved range indicated by the table 6.2.1-2 in TS38.321.” [0126]).
Rossbach further discloses wherein the LCID index indicates a size of the CCCH SDU (“The size of the MAC SDU can vary, and the size of some MAC CEs is fixed while other MAC CEs have a variable size. MAC sub-headers, SDUs and CEs are arranged in octets. The MAC sub-header has a first defined format for variable size MAC CEs and MAC SDUs not containing UL common control channel (CCCH), and other defined formats for fixed size MAC CEs, padding, and MAC SDUs containing UL CCCH.” [0027]).
Regarding claim 16
Lyu, as modified by Rossbach and Tang, previously discloses the method of claim 15,
Tang further discloses wherein: when the terminal supports PUCCH repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK and the configuration information is not included in the system information, the LCID index is selected from the first LCID index region (“FIG. 7 illustrates another example scenario of an MAC subheader of the Msg3 under the second scheme in accordance with implementations of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 7, a logical channel identifier (LCID) of the MAC subheader of the Msg3 may be further used to indicate the capability indication of PUCCH repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK. Specifically, a parameter or field (e.g., E or LX) of an extension indication for Msg4 HARQ-ACK repetition capability in the MAC subheader of the Msg3 may be used to indicate whether the UE reports capability for Msg4 HARQ-ACK repetition. If the parameter of the extension indication is set to true (e.g., E=1), it may mean that the UE indicates to have capability of PUCCH repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK with one state of the LCID. The state may only exist when the parameter is set to true (e.g., E=1). If the parameter of the extension indication is set to false (e.g., E=0), it may mean that the UE does not use the LCID to indicate Msg4 HARQ-ACK repetition capability. The size of the parameter of the extension indication may be 1 bit. The parameter of the extension indication may use 1 reserved bit (e.g., first R bit) in the MAC subheader of Msg3.” [0040]; Fig. 7); and
when the terminal supports PUCCH repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK and the configuration information is included in the system information, the LCID index is selected from the fourth LCID index region (“In some implementations, an LCID of the MAC subheader of the Msg3 may be further used to indicate the capability indication of PUCCH repetition for Msg4 HARQ-ACK or Msg4 HARQ-NACK.” [0066]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyu, in view of Rossbach and Tang, and further in view of Kim et al. US Pub 2022/0368414 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 12
Lyu, as modified by Rossbach and Tang, previously discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the MAC subheader comprises a first field and a second field,
Rossbach further discloses that (“the LCID value 33 or 34 indicates that the eLCID is used” [0042]).
But Lyu, Rossbach, and Tang do not specifically teach wherein the MAC subheader further comprises a third field when the second field is set to 34, and wherein the MAC subheader further comprises a fourth field when the second field is set to 33.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the MAC subheader further comprises a third field when the second field is set to 34, and wherein the MAC subheader further comprises a fourth field when the second field is set to 33 (“In FIG. 28, LCID represents a logical channel ID field. The LCID field indicates an instance of the corresponding MAC SDU, a type of the corresponding MAC CE, or padding. This will be described in detail in Tables 23 and 24 below. Table 23 below shows LCID values for DL-SCH, and Table 24 shows LCID values for UL-SCH. One LCID field is present for each MAC subheader, and the size of the LCID field is 6 bits. When the LCID field is set to, for example, “34,” one additional octet is present in a MAC subheader including an eLCID field and follows the octet including the LCID field. When the LCID field is set to, for example, “33,” two additional octets are present in a MAC subheader including an eLCID field and follow the octet including the LCID field.” [0271]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lyu’s method for configuring a resource for retransmission of a PUCCH for a terminal device, as modified by Rossbach and Tang, to include Kim’s method of configuring a message transmitted from a MAC layer to a physical layer, in order to increase transmission efficiency (Kim [0270]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Kim’s method of configuring a message transmitted from a MAC layer to a physical layer into Lyu’s method for configuring a resource for retransmission of a PUCCH for a terminal device since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 13
Lyu, as modified by Rossbach, Tang, and Kim, previously discloses the method of claim 12, wherein:
Rossbach further discloses different ways to map LCID fields to LCID values (“FIG. 2c shows an exemplary mapping table 220 of logical channel ID (LCID) field codepoints to LCID values for the uplink (UL) (e.g., for the UL-SCH transport channel) according to existing specification. The 6-bit LCID field in the MAC sub-header can indicate 64 different codepoints (0-63). Similar to the DL-SCH, a particular LCID value (e.g., LCID=33) is used to indicate that the sub-header format including the 8-bit (one octet) eLCID field is used. FIG. 2d shows an exemplary mapping table 230 of extended logical channel ID (eLCID) field codepoints to LCID values for the uplink (UL) (e.g., for the UL-SCH transport channel) according to existing specification. Similar to the DL-SCH, the 8-bit eLCID field in the MAC sub-header can indicate 256 different codepoints (0-255) that map to LCID index range 64-319. For example, the codepoints 0-249 indicate LCID index values 64-313 and are reserved and the codepoints 250-255 indicate LCID index values 314-319 and correspond to various UL MAC CEs.” [0032] and furthermore “In another option, a top level LCID can be allocated that is shared by multiple sub-identifiers by serving as a pointer to an eLCID group. For example, in current specification, the LCID value 33 or 34 indicates that the eLCID is used. In the presently described option, additional LCID values can point to a specific range of eLCID values.” [0042]). One skilled in the art can easily adapt Rossbach’s teaching to implement the claimed features below:
when the first field is 0 and the second field is neither 33 nor 34, the second field indicates an LCID index in the first LCID index region;
when the first field is 0 and the second field is 34, the third field indicates an LCID index in the second LCID index region;
when the first field is 0 and the second field is 33, the fourth field indicates an LCID index in the third LCID index region; and
when the first field is 1, a portion of the MAC subheader indicates an LCID index in the fourth LCID index region.
Regarding claim 14
Lyu, as modified by Rossbach, Tang, and Kim, previously discloses the method of claim 13, wherein:
Rossbach further discloses the first LCID index region is determined by a 6-bit size of the second field (“The LCID field comprises 6 bits and establishes 64 LCID values in the LCID space” [0002]);
the second LCID index region is determined by an 8-bit size of the third field; the third LCID index region is determined by a 16-bit size of the fourth field (“In addition, an 8-bit or 16-bit extended LCID (eLCID) field can be added to the MAC sub-header to extend the LCID space” [0002]); and
the fourth LCID index region is determined by a 6-bit size of a portion of the MAC subheader (“FIG. 1a shows an exemplary medium access layer (MAC) sub-header 100 for a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU) including a variable size MAC control element (CE) payload according to existing specification. A first octet 102 includes a reserved field R 110 (1 bit), a format field F 112 (1 bit) and a LCID field 114 (6 bits).” [0028]).
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411