Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11, 16-17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uleru et al. (Uleru et al., “Electro‐optical spiking neural networks using an enhanced optical axon with pulse amplitude modulation and automatic gain controller”, IET Optoelectron, 2023, Wiley, August 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Uleru et al. teaches in FIG. 1 a method of transmitting data by light communication, the method comprising: encoding a set of data values using one or more light emitters (the blue LED), wherein the set of data values is encoded through a temporal variation of light emitted by the one or more light emitters (Uleru et al. teaches on page 177, left col., 5th paragraph that the voltage generated by the sensors is converted into a spiking rate); recording, using an event-based sensor (the optical receiver of FIG. 1), a sequence of events including a pattern of events reflecting the temporal variation of the light emitted by the one or more light emitters; and processing the recorded sequence of events using a spiking neural network (Uleru et al. teaches in the title spiking neural networks) to obtain information indicative of the temporal variation of the light that was emitted by the one or more light emitters such that the set of data values that was encoded can be decoded from the temporal variation of the light emitted by the one or more light emitters (Uleru et al. teaches in FIG. 1 amplitude demodulator and synapses).
Regarding claim 2, Uleru et al. teaches in FIG. 1 a method of decoding a set of data values encoded into a temporal variation of light emitted by one or more light emitters (the blue LED), the method comprising: recording, using an event-based sensor (the optical receiver of FIG. 1), a sequence of events including a pattern of events reflecting the temporal variation of light emitted by the one or more light emitters (Uleru et al. teaches on page 177, left col., 5th paragraph that the voltage generated by the sensors is converted into a spiking rate); processing the recorded sequence of events using a spiking neural network (Uleru et al. teaches in the title spiking neural networks) to obtain information indicative of the temporal variation of the light emitted by the one or more light emitters; and decoding the set of data values encoded into the temporal variation of light emitted by the one or more light emitters from the obtained information indicative of the temporal variation of the light emitted by the one or more light emitters (Uleru et al. teaches in FIG. 1 amplitude demodulator and synapses).
Regarding claim 3, Uleru et al. teaches in FIG. 1 optical filter for removing at least some background noise.
Regarding claim 4, Uleru et al. teaches on page 177, left col., 5th paragraph that the voltage generated by the sensors is converted into a spiking rate equivalent to event frequency of instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Uleru et al. teaches in FIG. 1 a system for transmitting data comprising: one or more light emitters configured to emit light (the blue LED), wherein the emitted light is configured to cause a set of data values to be transmitted is encoded into a temporal variation of light emitted by the one or more light emitters (Uleru et al. teaches on page 177, left col., 5th paragraph that the voltage generated by the sensors is converted into a spiking rate); and a decoder apparatus comprising: an event-based sensor (the optical receiver of FIG. 1) configured to record a sequence of events such that the recorded sequence of events includes a pattern of events reflecting the temporal variation of the light that was emitted by the one or more light emitters; and a processing unit configured to execute a spiking neural network (Uleru et al. teaches in the title spiking neural networks), wherein the spiking neural network is configured to obtain information indicative of the temporal variation of the light that was emitted by the one or more light emitters such that the set of data values encoded can be decoded from the obtained information indicative of the temporal variation of the light emitted by the one or more light emitters (Uleru et al. teaches in FIG. 1 amplitude demodulator and synapses).
Regarding claim 10, Uleru et al. teaches in FIG. 1 a system for decoding a set of data values encoded into a temporal variation of light emitted by one or more light emitters (the blue LED) comprising: an event-based sensor (the optical receiver of FIG. 1) configured to record a sequence of events such that the recorded sequence of events includes a pattern of events reflecting the temporal variation of the light emitted by the one or more light emitters (Uleru et al. teaches on page 177, left col., 5th paragraph that the voltage generated by the sensors is converted into a spiking rate); and a processing unit configured to execute a spiking neural network (Uleru et al. teaches in the title spiking neural networks), wherein the spiking neural network is configured to obtain information indicative of the temporal variation of the light emitted by the one or more light emitters, and wherein the processing unit is further configured to obtain the set of data values encoded from the obtained information indicative of the temporal variation of the light emitted by the one or more light emitters (Uleru et al. teaches in FIG. 1 amplitude demodulator and synapses).
Regarding claims 11, 16 and 21, Uleru et al. teaches in FIG. 1 optical filter for removing at least some background noise.
Regarding claim 17, Uleru et al. teaches on page 177, left col., 5th paragraph that the voltage generated by the sensors is converted into a spiking rate equivalent to event frequency of instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uleru et al. (Uleru et al., “Electro‐optical spiking neural networks using an enhanced optical axon with pulse amplitude modulation and automatic gain controller”, IET Optoelectron, 2023, Wiley, August 2023) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2017/0261975 A1).
Uleru et al. has been discussed above in regard to claims 1-4, 9-11, 16-17 and 21. The difference between Uleru et al. and the claimed invention is that Uleru et al. does not teach that the light communication is used to facilitate control of a vehicle when performing an automated manoeuvre, wherein the automated manoeuvre includes facilitating an autonomous landing manoeuvre for an aircraft. Liu et al. teaches in FIG. 1 a landing guidance system for an aerial drone by using light communication where a light source generates light signals to be received by the light sensors 104 and 106 installed at the bottom of the aerial drone 106. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Uleru et al. with the system of Uleru et al. because it is a practical application of the light communication system of Uleru et al. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Uleru et al. for a landing guidance system for an aerial drone, as taught by Liu et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 12-13, 18-19 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
skl3 August 2026
/SHI K LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635