DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "each of the cs" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, it’s unclear what cs is.
Claims 2-6 and 9 are rejected based on the dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (US 2021/0302013) in view of Huang (US 2025/0318035), Li (US 2023/0397319) and Bahrehamnd (US 2015/0373796).
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Peng discloses a low-power LED light string control system [e.g. figs. 2, 5/6], comprising a controller [e.g. 100] and LED lamp bead chips [e.g. 31-3n] connected to the controller, each of the LED lamp bead chips further comprises an address code module[e.g. 53, 43, 312, 44, 55/56/51, 52], a data module [e.g. 45], and a drive module [e.g. 46], wherein the address code module and the drive module are both electrically connected to the data module; the address code module is set to a non-sleep state [e.g. work mode] and is configured to make comparison with control data [e.g. address data and light data] sent by the controller; and the address code module compares a lamp bead address contained in the received control data with lamp bead addresses stored in the address code module [see at least para. 0068], and then transmits the light data to the data module when the lamp bead address matches one of the lamp bead addresses stored in the address code module; the data module processes the received control data to generate control signals [e.g. the output of 45]; and the drive module controls an operating state of the corresponding LED lamp bead based on the control signals generated by the data module. Peng does not disclose to transmits the control data in digital format from the controller. However, it’s well-known to transmits control data in digital format from a controller to improve reliability. For example, Huang discloses to transmits control data in digital format [see abstract] from a controller [e.g. the light control device]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Peng in accordance with the teaching of Huang regarding digital data in order to improve reliability. The combination (e.g. Peng) discloses to transmits the light data to the data module, not the control data (e.g. address data and light data). However, this is a matter of design choice to achieve the same result of controlling each of the LED lamp bead, since to transmit both address data and light data is within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
The combination discussed above discloses the low-power LED light string control system according to claim 1, except wherein each of the cs is an RGB tri-color lamp bead with 3 channels, each of the channels occupies 16 data bits, and a data structure of the lamp bead address occupies 48 data bits. However, LED lamp beads is an RGB tri-color lamp bead with 3 channels is well-known. For example, Li discloses the LED lamp beads is an RGB tri-color lamp bead with 3 channels [R, G, B channels, see at least paras. 0042, 0052]. The combination does not disclose each of the channels occupies 16 data bits, and a data structure of the lamp bead address occupies 48 data bits. However, each of the channel occupies 16 data bits is a design choice, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
The combination discussed above discloses wherein a method for controlling the LED light string comprises a synchronized lamp on/off command, a designated address lamp on/off command [paras. 0005, 0020, 0048 peng], and a designated random code lamp on/off command; and all of the commands contain data bits. The combination does not disclose a designated random code lamp on/off command. However, a designated random code lamp on/off command is well-known in the art. For example, Bahrehamnd discloses a designated random code lamp on/off command [see at least paras. 0175, 0176]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Peng and Hunag in accordance with the teaching of Bahrehamnd regarding a random on/off instruction in order to provide more variety of lighting.
Regarding claim 2 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the low-power LED light string control system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to send the control data to the LED lamp bead chips in real time, and the control data comprises the lamp bead address and lamp status control data [see at least para. 0068 Peng].
Regarding claim 3 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the low-power LED light string control system according to claim 1, wherein when the lamp bead address fails to match one of the lamp bead addresses stored in the address code module, the corresponding lamp bead of the LED lamp bead chips remains unchanged in a current state [see at least para. 0068 Peng].
Regarding claim 4 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the low-power LED light string control system according to claim 3, wherein the LED light string is composed of a plurality of LED lamp points, and each of the LED lamp points comprises the LED lamp bead chip and at least one of the LED lamp beads that emits light in response to drive current from the LED lamp bead chips [see at least figs. 2, 5 Peng].
Regarding claim 5 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the low-power LED light string control system according to claim 1, wherein when the LED lamp bead chips are in a sleep state, only the address code module is in a real-time standby state [some portions of the address code module continuously perform the signal detection and signal recognition regarding digital data communication (after the combination) while the data module and the drive module are in the sleep mode, see at least paras. 0075-0076 Peng].
Regarding claim 6 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the low-power LED light string control system according to claim 1, wherein the address code module stores the lamp bead address, and the lamp bead addresses are pre-programmed into the address code module [see at least paras. 0061-0069 Peng]. The combination does not explicitly disclose to store addresses of all of the LED lamp beads on the entire LED light string. However, this a matter of design choice to achieve the same result of controlling each of the LED lamp bead, since to store a local address or to store all address of all of the LED lamp beads is within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses a low-power LED light string control method applied to the LED light string control system according to claim 1, comprising: S110, when the installed LED light string is powered on, the controller sends a control signal to the address code module of the LED lamp bead chips [e.g. synchronous manner, para. 0005 Peng]; S120, the address code module compares a lamp bead address contained in the received control data with lamp bead addresses stored in the address code module, and then transmits the control data to the data module when the lamp bead address matches one of the lamp bead addresses stored in the address code module; S130, the data module processes the received control data to generate control signals; and S140, the drive module controls an operating state of the corresponding LED lamp bead based on the control signals generated by the data module [see at least claim 1 rejection].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
‘Peng discloses in paragraph [0020], "When the address signal matches the light address, the light control unit drives the at least one LED according to the light command content of the carry light signal". Peng further discloses that the light control unit 311 drives the LEDs according to a light command content of the carry light signal. In particular, the light command content is specific identified encoded content corresponding to luminous behaviors of the LEDs, such as color change, light on/off manner, light on/off frequency, etc.
It can be seen from the above excerpt of Peng that the command content of LED in Peng is color change, light on/off manner, light on/off frequency. On the contrary, in amended claim 1 of the present application a method for controlling the LED light string comprises a synchronized lamp on/off command, a designated address lamp on/off command, and a designated random code lamp on/off command as recited in the amended claim 1 of the present application.
Besides that, the disclosure of Peng does not involve "structure of the lamp bead address occupies 48 data bits" either.
Huang discloses a method and an apparatus for controlling light body which are capable of realizing overall control of a plurality of light bodies by a light control device, and capable of improving the accuracy of the light body control.
Huang further discloses that light control data transmitted by the light control device are received, the light control data including first address information, answering information and control data, the answering information being configured to represent whether feedback data corresponding to the control data needs to be transmitted to the light control device; the first address information is compared with pre-stored second address information, the second address information being address information corresponding to the target light body; and if the first address information matches the second address information, a control operation corresponding to the control data is performed based on the answering information (para. 0063 of the description of H uang). For example, the control data may be a timing CCT setting instruction, a timing temperature data read instruction, an instant CCT setting instruction, an instant temperature data read instruction, etc. (para. 0070 of the description of Huang).
Li discloses an integrated intelligent dazzling LED lamp string controller, which is configured to control the display effect of the lamp string.
The control program receives the information sent by each key in the infrared remote controller to correspondingly realize the effect conversion of the lamp string The infrared remote controller can also send software to decode key values through a NEC protocol (one of infrared remote control protocols), and realize corresponding control functions through presser key values, that is, pressing the key can remotely control the lamp string to realize different functions and show different effects, such as lamp string switching, color selection. brightness adjustment. timing, mode selection and sensitivity adjustment (para. 0051 of the description of Li).
Bahrehamnd discloses a multifunctional universal LED driver that can be configured to match the voltage and/or current requirements of various LED loads such as LED lighting fixtures.
A programmable integrated circuit 298 operatively connects to said switching LED driver circuit 220 to generate a control signal for control of said LED load 228 (para. 0029 of the description of Bahrehamnd). The PWM signal is transmitted to the switching LED driver circuit 20 via the lead 32, which adjusts the brightness of the LEDs 28 or turns them ON/OFF (para. 0163 of the description of Bahrehamnd).
From the above it can be clearly seen that Huang, Li or Bahrehamnd does not cure the deficiency of Peng either.
The above insufficiency of Peng cannot be cured by the other cited references.’
However, However, LED lamp beads is an RGB tri-color lamp bead with 3 channels is well-known. For example, Li discloses the LED lamp beads is an RGB tri-color lamp bead with 3 channels [R, G, B channels, see at least paras. 0042, 0052]. The combination does not disclose each of the channels occupies 16 data bits, and a data structure of the lamp bead address occupies 48 data bits. However, each of the channel occupies 16 data bits is a design choice, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In addition, Peng discloses, in para. 0020, “The address signal process unit receives an address signal transmitted from the light control unit and compares the address signal with the light address. When the address signal matches the light address, the light control unit drives the at least one LED according to the light command content of the carry light signal.” Peng also discloses “The control circuit 20 can receive external light control data Sec through a wired manner or a wireless manner as well as read internal light data stored inside the control circuit 20 so that the control circuit 20 can control each of the LED modules 31, 32, . . . , 3n of the LED light string 30 according to the content of the light control data Sec. For example, the user may operate a computer through the wired manner to transmit the light control data Sec to the control circuit 20 so that the control circuit 20 controls the LED modules 31, 32, . . . , 3n according to the light control data Sec. Alternatively, the user may operate a mobile phone or a wearable device through the wireless manner to transmit the light control data Sec to the control circuit 20 so that the control circuit 20 controls the LED modules 31, 32, . . . , 3n according to the light control data Sec.”, see para. 0048.
Accordingly, the combination discloses a method for controlling the LED light string comprises a synchronized lamp on/off command, a designated address lamp on/off command [para. 0005 peng]; and all of the commands contain data bits.
The combination does not disclose a designated random code lamp on/off command. However, a designated random code lamp on/off command is well-known in the art. For example, Bahrehamnd discloses a designated random code lamp on/off command [see at least paras. 0175, 0176]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Peng and Hunag in accordance with the teaching of Bahrehamnd regarding a random on/off instruction in order to provide more variety of lighting.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836