DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to a paper filed on 07/31/2026 in which claims 18-37 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-24 and 27-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo Calzo et al (hereinafter Lo Calzo) (US 2024/0001767 A1) in view of Okada et al (hereinafter Okada) (US 2013/0229151 A1).
As to claims 18 and 36, Lo Calzo discloses a connection circuit for connecting a plurality of consumers (Fig 6, 11, 30) of electrical energy to a direct current source (Fig 6, 6, 10), the connection circuit comprising:
a plurality of connection switches (Fig 6, 23), each consumer of electrical energy of said plurality of consumers of electrical energy having associated therewith one connection switch of said plurality of connection switches for establishing a connection thereof to said direct current source (Fig 6, 6, 10);
connection switch activation circuits (Fig 10, two control units 21), each consumer of electrical energy of said plurality of consumers (Fig 6, 11, 30) of electrical energy having associated therewith one connection switch activation circuit of said plurality of connection switch activation circuits for supplying a current thereto and for activating the connection switch thereof in order to establish the connection thereof to said direct current source (see Fig 6, parags [0052-0055], a selection unit 22 configured to selectively connect or disconnect certain loads 11 according to the commands given by the control unit 21).
Lo Calzo does not disclose plurality of connection switch activation circuits. However, Lo Calzo does disclose two control units (Fig 10, 21). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control units of Lo Calzo to become plurality of control units in order to control power provided to plurality of loads. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Lo Calzo does not disclose wherein each one of the connection switch activation circuits includes a switching transistor, wherein a base-emitter voltage of the switching transistor depends on the current supplied to the associated consumer via the corresponding connection switch activation circuit; and, wherein, when the base-emitter voltage exceeds a threshold voltage, a switch signal is generated at a collector terminal of the switching transistor for switching the associated connection switch into a closed state that establishes a connection between the associated consumer and the direct current source.
However, Okada discloses wherein a switch activation circuit (Fig 2, 8) includes a switching transistor (Fig 2, T8), wherein a base-emitter voltage of the switching transistor depends on the current supplied to the associated consumer via the corresponding connection switch activation circuit; and, wherein, when the base-emitter voltage exceeds a threshold voltage, a switch signal is generated at a collector terminal of the switching transistor for switching the associated connection switch into a closed state that establishes a connection between the associated consumer and the direct current source (see Fig 2, functions of a NPN transistor, when npn transistor switch - Google Search). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control unit of Lo Calzo with a NPN transistor as taught by Okada in order to control the connection of the load based on the transistor.
As to claim 19, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 18, wherein each connection switch activation circuit of said plurality of connection switch activation circuits includes a diode circuit having a reference diode (Okada, Fig 2, ZD); and, the base-emitter voltage of the switching transistor is related to a voltage drop at the reference diode in the diode circuit (Okada, see parag [0047]).
As to claim 20, the combination of Lo Cazlo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 19, wherein the base-emitter voltage corresponds to a voltage drop at the reference diode (Okada, see parag [0043]).
As to claim 21, the combination of Lo Cazlo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 20, wherein the reference diode is a p-n diode (Okada, see Fig 2, ZD).
As to claim 22, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada does not disclose the connection circuit of claim 20, wherein the reference diode is a silicon diode. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diode of Lo Calzo and Okada to become a silicon diode in order to achieve better connection, since this is just a designed choice and involves only routine skills in the art.
As to claim 23, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 19, wherein the diode circuit has at least one electrical resistor (Fig 2, R) connected in series with the reference diode (Fig 2, ZD), and wherein the base-emitter voltage substantially corresponds to a voltage drop at the series connection of the reference diode and at least one electrical resistor.
As to claim 24, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada does not disclose the connection circuit as claimed in claim 23, wherein the reference diode is a Schottky diode or a germanium diode. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diode or Lo Calzo and Okada to become a Schottky or Germanium diode in order to achieve better performance.
As to claim 27, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 18, wherein the connection switch activation circuit has a control signal circuit (Lo Calzo, see Fig 2, 21); wherein the control signal circuit is configured to generate, when a switch signal has been generated at the collector terminal of the connection switch activation circuit, a control signal to be applied at the associated connection switch for switching the connection switch into the closed state thereof (see parag [0052]).
As to claim 28, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection switch of claim 18, wherein the connection switch activation circuit has an input terminal which is connected or is to be connected to the direct current source, and an output terminal which is connected or is to be connected to the associated consumer of electrical energy (see Fig 2 configuration).
As to claim 29, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 19, wherein the reference diode (Fig 2, 26) is connected in a forward direction between the input terminal and the output terminal.
As to claim 30, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 28, wherein at least one of the following applies: i) an emitter terminal of the switching transistor is connected to the input terminal; and, ii) a base terminal of the switching transistor is connected to the output terminal (Okada, see Fig 2, ZD).
As to claim 31, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 28, wherein a safety circuit (Fig 6, 26) is provided, wherein the input terminals of all connection switch activation circuits (Fig 6, 20) are connected or are to be connected via a safety circuit to the direct current sources (Fig 6, 6, 10); wherein the safety circuit is configured to monitor the current from the direct current source to all of the consumers; and, wherein the current exceeds a threshold current, to interrupt the connection between the direct current source and all of the consumers (see Fig 6, the circuit 20 will deactivate diode 26 to disconnect the direct current sources 6, 10 and loads 11, 30).
As to claim 32, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 18, wherein a connection circuit activation unit is provided, wherein the connection circuit activation unit, when the switch signal is generated by at least one connection switch activation circuit associated with one consumer, performs at least one of the following: i) deactivates all connection switch activation circuits; ii) switches at least some of the connection switches into the closed state thereof (Lo Calzo, see parag [0052]); and, iii) switches all connection switches into the closed state thereof.
As to claim 33, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 31, wherein the connection switch activation unit is configured, in order to deactivate all connection switch activation circuits, to switch the safety circuit into an interrupt state interrupting the connection between the direct current source and all of the consumers (see Fig 6, the circuit 20 will deactivate diode 26 to disconnect the direct current sources 6, 10 and loads 11, 30).
As to claim 34, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 18, wherein the switching transistor is a bipolar transistor (Okada, see Fig 2, ZD).
As to claim 35, the combination of Lo Calzo and Okada discloses the connection circuit of claim 18, wherein said connection circuit is in a vehicle (Lo Calzo, see parag [0031]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 37 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-5, filed on 07/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 18, 36 under 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The applicant argued that Lo Calzo did not teach about the switch transistor. The examiner had mentioned in the rejection that Lo Caloz did not teach the switch transistor and relied on Okada for teaching the switch transistor. In the applicant’s argument, he did not mention about the Okada reference. Therefore, the argument was not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUC M PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 September 29, 2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836