DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, and 16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conner et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20200005625).
Regarding claim 1, Conner discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a video doorbell device and via mains power, an input voltage from a transformer (smart doorbell device that is functioning as part of a wired doorbell chime system, where a voltage of the battery of the smart doorbell may be determined, and camera module 504 is continuously powered by the input AC voltage generated by the transformer 510, and where it can be seen in Fig. 5 that the transformer 510 is directly connected (mains power) to the smart doorbell 201 including camera module 504, par. 79, 81, 121, and 125, and Fig. 5);
determining, based on the input voltage from the transformer, one or more functional components of a plurality of functional components to set to an active status at the video doorbell device (at block 830, it is determined that the temperature and battery voltage are sufficient, method 800 may proceed to block 840, and when the method proceeds to block 850 the doorbell chime may be caused to sound, par. 127-128 and Fig. 8); and
setting the one or more functional components of the device to the active status (doorbell chime may be caused to sound, par. 117, 121, 124, 127-128 and Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 2, Conner further discloses:
determining, based on the input voltage, an input power for the video doorbell device (at block 830 if it is determined that the temperature and battery voltage are sufficient, method 800 may proceed to block 840, where this affirmative determination may be indicative of the battery of the smart doorbell having a sufficient charge and being a sufficient temperature to be able to power the device, par. 127),
wherein determining, based on the input voltage, the one or more functional components of the plurality of functional components to set to the active status comprises determining, based on the input power, the one or more functional components of the plurality of functional components to set to the active status at the video doorbell device (at block 830, it is determined that the temperature and battery voltage are sufficient, method 800 may proceed to block 840, and this affirmative determination may be indicative of the battery of the smart doorbell having a sufficient charge and being a sufficient temperature to be able to power the continuous streaming of video and/or audio from the battery of the smart doorbell device for at least a period of time while the smart doorbell is disconnected from a wired power supply, where the method eventually proceeds to block 850 and the doorbell chime may be caused to sound, par. 127-128 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Conner further discloses:
determining, based on the input voltage, one or more additional functional components of the plurality of functional components to deactivate (the voltage is determined in block 825 where method 800 is performed as part of block 705 in method 700, and at blocks 1115 and 1135 (after the voltage was determined in block 825) if the temperature is above a predefined threshold and above a second predefined high temperature threshold the smart doorbell may not perform any notification, wireless communication, video capture or record, audio capture or recording, or doorbell chime functions, where method 1100 is performed as part of blocks 725-735 of method 700, par. 79, 117, 118, 121, 146-151); and
deactivating the one or more additional functional components of the video doorbell device (doorbell may not perform any notification, wireless communication, video capture or record, audio capture or recording, or doorbell chime functions, par. 151).
Regarding claim 5, Conner further discloses:
setting the one or more functional components to the active status comprises supplying the one or more functional components with a portion of input power associated with the input voltage (doorbell chime is caused to sound by doorbell chime 506 receiving power from transformer 510 via bypass unit 512, par. 128).
Regarding claim 6, Conner further discloses:
receiving the input voltage comprises:
receiving, by the device, the input voltage at a plurality of voltage levels (transformer 510 that provides an input AC voltage (e.g., by converting a mains power supply of 120 V to the input AC voltage of 12 V, 16 V or 24 V), par. 78); and
determining a minimum input voltage level of the plurality of voltage levels as the input voltage (doorbell camera system 500 may be configured to generate a supply monitoring signal based on the input AC voltage to indicate whether the input AC voltage is greater than a supply threshold, par. 79).
Regarding claim 7, Connor further discloses:
determining, based on the input voltage, an input power for the device (the voltage is determined in block 825 where method 800 is performed as part of block 705 in method 700, and method 1100 is performed as part of blocks 725-735 of method 700, and the second high temperature threshold may be indicative of a temperature above which performance of one or more batteries of the smart doorbell tends to be ineffective (e.g., the amount of current output and/or the ability to maintain a voltage level is degraded) and/or damage may result to the one or more batteries, par. 79, 117, 118, 121, 146-151); and
sending, to a user device and based on the input power being less than a power threshold, a notification that the input voltage is not sufficient to power all of the plurality of functional components of the device (if the temperature is measured at block 1110 to be above a second high temperature threshold above 85° C., such as 93° C., method 1100 may proceed to block 1140 and at block 1140 a low power mode may be enabled, where the low power mode may significantly reduce functionality of the smart doorbell by not performing any notification, wireless communication, video capture or record, audio capture or recording, or doorbell chime functions, and a final notification may be transmitted to a remote device or server that indicates the low-power mode is being entered and, possibly, the reason for entering the low power mode, par. 150-151).
Regarding claim 8, Conner further discloses:
setting the one or more functional components to the active status comprises turning on the one or more functional components (doorbell chime is caused to sound by doorbell chime 506 receiving power from transformer 510 via bypass unit 512, par. 128).
Regarding claim 9, Conner discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a video doorbell device and via mains power, an input voltage from a transformer (smart doorbell device that is functioning as part of a wired doorbell chime system, where a voltage of the battery of the smart doorbell may be determined, and camera module 504 is continuously powered by the input AC voltage generated by the transformer 510, and where it can be seen in Fig. 5 that the transformer 510 is directly connected (mains power) to the smart doorbell 201 including camera module 504, par. 79, 81, 121, 125, and Fig. 5);
determining, based on the input voltage from the transformer, one or more functional components of a plurality of functional components to deactivate at the video doorbell device (at block 830, it is determined that the temperature and battery voltage are not sufficient, method 800 may proceed to block 835 so that the doorbell chime wired with the smart doorbell, such as illustrated in FIG. 5, is not sounded, par. 127-128 and Fig. 8); and
deactivating the one or more functional components of the video doorbell device (the doorbell chime wired with the smart doorbell, such as illustrated in FIG. 5, is not sounded, par. 128).
Regarding claim 10, Conner further discloses:
determining, based on the input voltage, an input power for the video doorbell device (at block 830 if it is determined that the temperature and battery voltage are sufficient, method 800 may proceed to block 840, where this affirmative determination may be indicative of the battery of the smart doorbell having a sufficient charge and being a sufficient temperature to be able to power the device, par. 127),
wherein determining, based on the input voltage, the one or more functional components of the plurality of functional components to deactivate comprises determining, based on the input power, the one or more functional components of the plurality of functional components to deactivate at the video doorbell device (at block 830, it is determined that the temperature and battery voltage are not sufficient, method 800 may proceed to block 835 so that the doorbell chime wired with the smart doorbell, such as illustrated in FIG. 5, is not sounded, par. 127-128 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Conner further discloses:
determining, based on the input voltage, one or more additional functional components of the plurality of functional components to set to an active status (method 800 is performed as part of block 705 in method 700, where at block 830 if it is determined that the temperature and battery voltage are sufficient, method 800 may proceed to block 840, where this affirmative determination may be indicative of the battery of the smart doorbell having a sufficient charge and being a sufficient temperature to be able to power the device, and method 1000 may be performed as part of block 715, where in block 1015 if the temperature is determined to be below the temperature threshold at block 1020 the power level (e.g., the transmit power level) of an on-board wireless transceiver may be increased, par. 79, 117, 118, 121, 127, 123-133, 146-151); and
setting to the active status the one or more additional functional components of the device (the power level (e.g., the transmit power level) of an on-board wireless transceiver may be increased, par. 133).
Regarding claim 12, Conner further discloses:
deactivating the one or more functional components comprises preventing the one or more functional components from receiving power via the input voltage (the doorbell chime wired with the smart doorbell, such as illustrated in FIG. 5, is not sounded with power from the transformer 510, par. 78, 80, and 128).
Regarding claim 13, see the rejection of claims 9 and 6.
Regarding claim 14, see the rejection of claims 9 and 7.
Regarding claim 15, Conner further discloses:
input voltage comprises one or more of voltage from mains power or voltage from a battery (transformer 510 that provides an input AC voltage (e.g., by converting a mains power supply of 120 V to the input AC voltage of 12 V, 16 V or 24 V) or a rechargeable battery powers the smart doorbell 201, par. 78, 80, 82).
Regarding claim 16, Conner discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a video doorbell device and via mains power, an input voltage from a transformer (smart doorbell device that is functioning as part of a wired doorbell chime system, where a voltage of the battery of the smart doorbell may be determined, and camera module 504 is continuously powered by the input AC voltage generated by the transformer 510, and where it can be seen in Fig. 5 that the transformer 510 is directly connected (mains power) to the smart doorbell 201 including camera module 504, par. 79, 81, 121, 125, and Fig. 5);
determining, based on the input voltage from the transformer, an activation status of one or more functional components of a plurality of functional components of the video doorbell device to modify (at block 830, it is determined that the temperature and battery voltage are sufficient, method 800 may proceed to block 840, and when the method proceeds to block 850 the doorbell chime may be caused to sound, and at block 830, it is determined that the temperature and battery voltage are not sufficient, method 800 may proceed to block 835 so that the doorbell chime wired with the smart doorbell, such as illustrated in FIG. 5, is not sounded, par. 127-128 and Fig. 8); and
based on the input voltage, modifying the activation status of the one or more functional components of the plurality of functional components (doorbell chime may be caused to sound when the battery voltage is sufficient, or the doorbell chime wired with the smart doorbell, such as illustrated in FIG. 5, is not sounded when battery voltage is not sufficient, par. 117, 121, 124, 127-128 and Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 17, Conner further discloses:
modifying the activation status of a functional component of the one or more functional components comprises one of activating the functional component, deactivating the functional component, reducing an amount of time the functional component is on while the functional component is in an active state, reducing an output intensity of the functional component while maintaining the functional component in the active state, reducing a power level of the functional component while the functional component is in the active state, reducing a video resolution of the functional component while the functional component is in the active state, or reducing a speed of the functional component while the functional component is in the active state (doorbell chime may be caused to sound, par. 117, 121, 124, 127-128 and Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 18, Conner further discloses:
wherein modifying the activation status of the one or more functional components of the plurality of functional components comprises activating the one or more functional components of the plurality of functional components of the video doorbell device (doorbell chime may be caused to sound, par. 117, 121, 124, 127-128 and Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 19, Conner further discloses:
modifying the activation status of the one or more functional components of the plurality of functional components comprises deactivating the one or more functional components of the plurality of functional components of the video doorbell device (the doorbell chime wired with the smart doorbell, such as illustrated in FIG. 5, is not sounded, par. 128).
Regarding claim 20, see the rejection of claims 16 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conner et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20200005625) in view of Browning et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170185133).
Regarding claim 3, Conner is silent with regards to determining a power level associated with each functional component of the plurality of functional components. Browning discloses determining a power level associated with each functional component of the plurality of functional components (device 105 may perform any number of functions, including a door lock that may provide lock and unlock functionality, along with a camera to view guest, a doorbell functionality, and so forth, and information, such as an identification and power usage data, for each extended function 154 may be stored in memory, par. 23 and 49). As can be seen in par. 56-58 this is advantageous in that an extended function can be enabled if the power level is greater than a threshold value while a fundamental function is enabled. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining a power level associated with each functional component of the plurality of functional components.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS G GILES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639