DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II and Sub-Species B in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 5 and 18 depend from allowable claims (see below) and therefore remain in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9-10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 10,842,253 to Main.
Regarding claim 1, Main discloses a tactical pouch comprising: a single piece of material configured to be folded from an unfolded generally planar configuration (Fig. 1A) into a folded configuration (Figs. 1B-E) comprising a front surface, a bottom surface, a first side surface, a second side surface, and a rear surface (surfaces in Figs. 1B-E), wherein the tactical pouch is configured to be attached to a webbed material in the folded configuration (the pouch is capable of being attached to a webbed material, for example by slipping the pouch under one of the webs and securing the web between two of the protrusions (108 top/bottom, or 116 top/bottom) or by threading a connector through any of the holes and around one of the webs).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Main discloses a plurality of folding lines (300, 302, 304, 305, 306).
Regarding claim 9, Main discloses wherein the webbed material is MOLLE webbing (Main is capable of attaching to MOLLE webbing (see claim 1 rejection)).
Regarding claim 10, Main discloses a tactical pouch for a firearm comprising: a single piece of material configured to be folded from an unfolded generally planar configuration (Fig. 1A) into a folded configuration (Figs. 1B-E) comprising a front surface, a bottom surface, a first side surface, a second side surface, and a rear surface (surfaces in Figs. 1B-E), wherein the tactical pouch is configured to be attached to a belt in the folded configuration (the pouch is capable of this intended use, for example by securing the belt around the pouch between two of the protrusions (108 top/bottom, or 116 top/bottom) or by threading a connector through any of the holes and around the belt).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Main in view of US Patent 5,991,925 to Wu.
Regarding claim 2, Main fails to disclose tabs. However, Wu discloses a pouch (Figs. 2-3) that includes a rear surface comprises a first rear tab (upper tab engaging 10 in Fig. 2) and a second rear tab (lower tab engaging 10 in Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used Wu’s method for attachment to a tactical vest for Main because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent mounting method for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Main fails to disclose tabs. However, Wu discloses a pouch (Figs. 2-3) that includes a rear surface comprises a first rear tab (upper tab engaging 10 in Fig. 2) and a second rear tab (lower tab engaging 10 in Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used Wu’s method for attachment to a tactical vest for Main because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent mounting method for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Main in view of US Patent 10,835,005 to Buerck.
Regarding claim 8, Main fails to disclose slots on the front surface. However, Buerck discloses a tactical pouch with slots (36) on the front surface (Col. 4, lines 40-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included slits in the front surface in Main because it would allow for attaching MOLLE PALS compatible accessories, as taught by Buerck (Col. 4, lines 40-43).
Regarding claim 16, Main fails to disclose slots on the front surface. However, Buerck discloses a tactical pouch with slots (36) on the front surface (Col. 4, lines 40-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included slots in the front surface in Main because it would allow for attaching MOLLE PALS compatible accessories, as taught by Buerck (Col. 4, lines 40-43).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references disclose configurations similar to that disclosed by applicant.
/SCOTT T MCNURLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734