DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of provisional application 63601952 filed 11/22/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Carney et al., “hereinafter Carney” (U.S. Patent Application:20220255905) in view of XIAO et al., “hereinafter XIAO” (U.S. Patent Application:20190222552).
As per Claim 1, Carney discloses a method of operating a computing element comprising:
identifying a packet from a process on the computing element with a first source IP address (Carney, Para.27, providing the filtering of packets from the sending computing element, the receiving computing element may also determine whether data should be forwarded to a service. In particular, the receiving computing element may identify source addressing (IP address, port, etc.) and determine whether the packet based on the source addressing. If permitted, the receiving computing element may provide decryption using the supplied keys and forward the packet to the destination service.);
identifying a destination private network from a plurality of private networks for the packet (Carney, Para.51, a coordination service may maintain a data structure 500 or access control list that defines permissions for computing elements to communicate with one another in a private network, wherein the computing elements may reside in one or more geographic locations or one or more private networks, Para.19, the router may identify that the destination corresponds to a computing element in the private network, determine whether the communication is permitted based on the communication information provided from the coordination service, and apply any communication information to the communication prior to transferring the communication to the destination computing element.);
determining whether the destination private network is a primary private network or a secondary private network; when the destination private network is a primary private network: (Carney, Para.20, Computing elements 110-115 may be located on the same local area network or may be located across multiple local area networks. For example, computing elements 110-115 may be distributed across multiple geographic locations for an organization, such as field offices, head quarter offices, and the like.)
encapsulating the packet with the first source IP address to generate an encapsulated packet (Carney, Para.18, the communication information may be used to encapsulate the communication (using an encryption key) and insert a public IP address for the destination computing element in the header for the encapsulated packet. Once encapsulated, the packet may be forwarded to the destination computing element.); and communicating the encapsulated packet toward a destination computing element (Carney, Para.18, the packet may be forwarded to the destination computing element, Para.19, When a communication is received by the router, the router may identify that the destination corresponds to a computing element in the private network, determine whether the communication is permitted based on the communication information provided from the coordination service, and apply any communication information to the communication prior to transferring the communication to the destination computing element.); and
performing network address translation to translate the first source IP address to a second source IP address for the secondary private network (Carney, Para.53, the coordination service may maintain a subnet of addresses that can be allocated to computing elements in the private network. Advantageously, applications on the computing elements or associated with the computing elements may use the private network subnet addresses from the coordination service and the computing element may NAT the destination address to another address, encrypt the packet for encapsulation, and forward the encapsulated packet with the translated address to the destination computing element.); encapsulating the packet (Carney, Para.41, Once the communication request is identified, computing element 110 may perform network address translation based on the destination IP address and use the translated address in the header of the encrypted packet. For example, a packet may use 100.64.10.2 that is a unique IP address in the private network subnet for computing element 112. Once identified, the packet may be encrypted, and public IP addresses associated with the computing elements may be added to the header to communicate the packet to the destination computing element.); and communicating the encapsulated packet toward a destination computing element (Carney, Para.42, the router may determine whether the communication is permitted based on the communication information from the coordination service and apply any required actions to the packet prior to communicating the packet to destination computing element. These actions may include encrypting the packet, adding public addressing information, or providing some other operation on the packet.).
However Carney does not disclose when the destination private network is in a secondary private network: encapsulating the packet with the second source IP address.
XIAO discloses when the destination private network is in a secondary private network: encapsulating the packet with the second source IP address (XIAO, Para.77, the first packet is parsed to obtain an internal destination address and a virtual network identifier. The virtual network identifier is identifier information of the virtual private network where the user is located and is used for distinguishing different virtual private networks, Para.06, The method can include receiving a first packet sent by a virtual private network user, wherein the first packet carries a first destination address that is considered a designated address that does not belong to an address range that has been configured for a virtual private network where the virtual private network user is located, converting the first destination address a second destination address, generating a second packet according to the second destination address and the first packet, and sending the second packet to outside the virtual private network where the virtual private network user is located.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Carney with the teachings as in XIAO. The motivation for doing so would have been for providing a data transmission method. The method can include receiving a first packet sent by a virtual private network user, wherein the first packet carries a first destination address that is considered a designated address that does not belong to an address range that has been configured for a virtual private network where the virtual private network user is located, converting the first destination address a second destination address, generating a second packet according to the second destination address and the first packet, and sending the second packet to outside the virtual private network where the virtual private network user is located. (XIAO, Para.6).
With respect to Claim 9 and Claim 17 are substantially similar to Claim 1 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 2, Carney in view of XIAO discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the computing element comprises a physical computer (Carney, Para.13, These computing elements may comprise physical devices, such as desktop computers, servers, tablets, and the like, and may further comprise virtual computing elements, such as virtual machines or other virtualized endpoints.).
With respect to Claim 10 is substantially similar to Claim 2 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 3, Carney in view of XIAO discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the computing element comprises a virtual machine (Carney, Para.13, These computing elements may comprise physical devices, such as desktop computers, servers, tablets, and the like, and may further comprise virtual computing elements, such as virtual machines or other virtualized endpoints.).
With respect to Claim 11 is substantially similar to Claim 3 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 4, Carney in view of XIAO discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising:
receiving a configuration from a coordination service (Carney, Para.13, a coordination service is deployed that is capable of managing the connection information for each of the computing elements in the private networks, Para49, The coordination service may further allocate an IP address for the private network from a subnet for the private network.), wherein the configuration comprises source IP addresses for the plurality of private networks, destination IP addresses for the plurality of private networks, encryption parameters for the plurality of private networks, and public destination IP addresses for the plurality of private networks (Carney, Para.19, source IP address for the communication… a computing element on the private network may provide a relay for one or more other computing devices to connect in the private network., Para.33, destination IP address is in the subnet for the private network, Para.52, The communication information may include encryption keys, addressing information, or some other information that can be provided to the registering computing element to communicate in the private network.).
With respect to Claim 12, 18 are substantially similar to Claim 4 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 5, Carney in view of XIAO discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the destination private network is a primary private network or a secondary private network comprises:
identifying a destination IP address in the packet (Carney, Para.30, determine whether the destination IP address is in the subnet for the private network); and determining whether the destination IP address corresponds to a destination in the primary private network of the secondary private network (Carney, Para.18, each of the computing elements in the secure network may be allocated a unique IP address for the network, wherein the IP addresses may comprise a range of IP addresses available for the computing elements. When a communication is required by a computing element, the computing element may use the unique IP address for the private network destination (e.g., 100.64.10.2 allocated to the destination computing element), Para.19, the router may identify that the destination corresponds to a computing element in the private network,).
With respect to Claim 13 is substantially similar to Claim 5 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 6, Carney in view of XIAO discloses the method of claim 1, wherein encapsulating the packet with the first source IP address comprises: identifying encryption parameters and a public IP address associated with a destination for the packet (Carney, Para.18, encapsulate the communication (using an encryption key) and insert a public IP address for the destination computing element in the header for the encapsulated packet. Once encapsulated, the packet may be forwarded to the destination computing element.); and encapsulating the packet in accordance with the encryption parameters and the public IP address, wherein the public IP address is placed in an encapsulation header for the encapsulated packet (Carney, Para.18, encapsulate the communication (using an encryption key) and insert a public IP address for the destination computing element in the header for the encapsulated packet. Once encapsulated, the packet may be forwarded to the destination computing element, Para.33, adding an encapsulation header that includes a public IP address for the destination computing element, or applying some other operation to the packet, Para.41, computing element 110 may perform network address translation based on the destination IP address and use the translated address in the header of the encrypted packet. For example, a packet may use 100.64.10.2 that is a unique IP address in the private network subnet for computing element 112. Once identified, the packet may be encrypted, and public IP addresses associated with the computing elements may be added to the header to communicate the packet to the destination computing element).
With respect to Claim 14, 20 are substantially similar to Claim 6 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 7, Carney in view of XIAO discloses the method of claim 1, wherein encapsulating the packet with the second source IP address comprises:
identifying encryption parameters and a public IP address associated with a destination for the packet (Carney, Para.18, encapsulate the communication (using an encryption key) and insert a public IP address for the destination computing element in the header for the encapsulated packet. Once encapsulated, the packet may be forwarded to the destination computing element.); and encapsulating the packet in accordance with the encryption parameters and the public IP address, wherein the public IP address is placed in an encapsulation header for the encapsulated packet (Carney, Para.18, encapsulate the communication (using an encryption key) and insert a public IP address for the destination computing element in the header for the encapsulated packet. Once encapsulated, the packet may be forwarded to the destination computing element, Para.33, adding an encapsulation header that includes a public IP address for the destination computing element, or applying some other operation to the packet, Para.41, computing element 110 may perform network address translation based on the destination IP address and use the translated address in the header of the encrypted packet. For example, a packet may use 100.64.10.2 that is a unique IP address in the private network subnet for computing element 112. Once identified, the packet may be encrypted, and public IP addresses associated with the computing elements may be added to the header to communicate the packet to the destination computing element).
With respect to Claim 15 are substantially similar to Claim 7 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 8, Carney in view of XIAO discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising:
generating a request to join a first private network of the plurality of private networks, wherein the request indicates at least a public IP address for the computing element and a public encryption key for the computing element; communicating the request to a coordination service; (Carney, Para.45, computing element 110 may communicate a request, at step 4, to join the private network, wherein computing elements 110-114 may be distributed across multiple physical locations and local area networks. In response to the request, coordination service 120 may identify rules and communication information that correspond to the request., Para.63, the coordination service may distribute communication information to computing system 700 when the computing system is authorized to join the private network. The communication information may be used by private network service 730 to communicate with one or more other computing elements, wherein the communication information may include addressing information (IP addresses, ports, network translations, or some other addressing) encryption, or some other information associated with the communication.); and receiving a configuration from the coordination service from the coordination service, wherein the configuration comprises source IP addresses for the first private network, destination IP addresses for the first private network, encryption parameters, and public destination IP addresses for the first private network ((Carney, Para.63, the coordination service may distribute communication information to computing system 700 when the computing system is authorized to join the private network. The communication information may be used by private network service 730 to communicate with one or more other computing elements, wherein the communication information may include addressing information (IP addresses, ports, network translations, or some other addressing) encryption, or some other information associated with the communication.))
With respect to Claim 16 are substantially similar to Claim 8 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 19, Carney in view of XIAO discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the system further comprises the coordination service executing on one or more additional computers (Carney , Para.20, Coordination service 120 may execute using one or more physical computing devices, such as servers, desktop computers, or some other computing element. Computing elements 110-115 may be located on the same local area network or may be located across multiple local area networks. For example, computing elements 110-115 may be distributed across multiple geographic locations for an organization, such as field offices, head quarter offices, and the like.).
Conclusion
/NORMIN ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449