DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is 152 words in length.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, line 3 recites the term "the fourth wall.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes “the fourth wall” will be read as “a fourth wall,”
Claim 17, line 4 recites the limitation “wherein the phase difference is based on the model.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the phase difference” in this limitation of the claim.
For examination purposes “the phase difference” will be read as “the adjustment,” as parent claims 13 and 16 are both directed towards the basis of an adjustment, and no clear explanation of a “phase difference” as it relates to the rest of the claim limitations could be identified within the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 11-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carlsson et al (hereinafter Carlsson), US-PG-PUB No. 2015/0208187.
Regarding claim 1, Carlsson discloses a media playback system (A networked speaker system.....¶[0003], lines 1-2) comprising:
a first playback device (Shown in Fig. 1, multiple playback devices (speakers (40)) including a first playback device.....¶[0031], lines 1-3);
a second playback device (The number of speakers is greater than 1.....¶[0031], lines 1-3) positioned adjacent to a first wall (The speakers are positioned in a room with at least four walls, which the speakers are adjacent to.....¶[0035], lines 1-5);
one or more sensors carried by at least one of the first playback device and the second playback device (Each playback device (speaker (40)) has a microphone (80) and a GPS receiver for sensing audio and location.....¶[0035], lines 11-14, ¶[0044], lines 6-8);
one or more processors (The CPU (50) of control device (52).....¶[0031], line 17-18);
memory (¶[0031], line 19) storing instructions that, when executed (The memory contains instructions to perform the methods of the disclosure.....¶[0023]) by the one or more processors (The methods are implemented by CPU (50).....¶[0042], lines 2-4), cause the media playback system to:
determine, via the one or more sensors (The determination steps as further detailed below utilize the available microphones and GPS receivers of the system, including those of the playback devices.....¶[0041], lines 5-8, ¶[0044], lines 6-8),
a first acoustic path length (The system utilizes the GPS receivers and microphones of the system to map speaker locations relative to each other, and wall locations relative to the speakers, determining all path lengths of the acoustic environment.....¶[0044], lines 6-8, ¶[0041], lines 5-8) of sound propagating from the first playback device that is reflected from the first wall toward the second playback device (The acoustic environment determination is used to model sound propagating through the environment from the individual speakers, including sound reflected off walls towards other speakers, in order to model interference between the various speaker outputs.....¶[0037], lines 5-14), wherein
determining the first acoustic path length comprises:
determining a first distance between the first playback device and the first wall (In a measurement (determination) routine, speakers (including the first speaker) emit chirps which reflect against the walls of the enclosure (including the first wall), and the timing of the reflection’s receipt at available microphones of the system are used to calculate the distance between the speakers and the walls.....¶[0041], lines 5-12), and determining a second distance between the first wall and the second playback device (The wall locations are determined relative to each speaker location (including the second speaker), and thus the distances between the speakers and walls are determined by this process.....¶[0041], lines 5-12);
determine, based on the first acoustic path length, an adjustment for playback (The system sets (adjusts), based on determined acoustic model and path lengths represented therein, delay parameters for audio playback from the speakers.....¶[0036], lines 15-18) of second audio data via the second playback device (A second speaker plays a parallel part of a first audio data, using an adjusted delay parameter, thus forming second audio data.....¶[0037], lines 19-27) with respect to playback of first audio data via the first playback device (The delay is calculated relative to speakers playing separate, parallel parts of the same soundtrack (first audio data), and are thus respective to each other.....¶[0037], lines 23-25);
play back the first audio data via the first playback device (The system plays back audio over the speakers.....¶[0035], lines 5-7); and play back the second audio data via the second playback device according to the adjustment (The playback is in accordance with the determined configuration, including the adjustment parameters.....¶[0037], lines 30-32).
Regarding claim 2, Carlsson discloses the media playback system of claim 1, wherein determining the adjustment comprises determining a delay time (The parameter adjusted may be a relative delay between speaker outputs.....¶[0037], lines 19-21) associated with a time-of-flight of sound propagation (Distances of speakers from walls may be calculated using the time-of-flight from speaker to microphones.....¶[0041], lines 9-10) corresponding to the first acoustic path length (The distance between speakers and walls correspond to the first acoustic path length), and wherein playing back the second audio comprises delaying playback of the second audio data according to the determined delay time with respect to the playback of the first audio data via the first playback device (The delay is established between first and second speakers, and the second audio data is a delayed with respect to the first audio data.....¶[0037], lines 19-27).
Regarding claim 8, Carlsson discloses the media playback system of claim 1, wherein determining, via the one or more sensors, the first acoustic path length comprises playing back third audio data from at least the first playback device (The relative location of walls, and therefore the acoustic path length, is determined by playing a test sound (third audio data) from each playback device.....¶[0053], lines 3-5).
Claim 11 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the physical elements are the same as that of claim 1, and are similarly disclosed by Carlsson.
Regarding the additional method limitations, Carlsson additionally discloses, determining, via the one or more sensors (The determination steps as further detailed below utilize the available microphones and GPS receivers of the system, including those of the playback devices.....¶[0041], lines 5-8, ¶[0044], lines 6-8), a distance between the first playback device and the second playback device (The system utilizes the GPS receivers and microphones of the system to map speaker locations relative to each other in the determination of the acoustic environment.....¶[0044], lines 6-8, ¶[0041], lines 5-8); determine, based on the distance (The acoustic environment determination is used to model sound propagating through the environment from the individual speakers as they interfere with each other.....¶[0037], lines 14-16), an adjustment (The system sets (adjusts), based on determined acoustic model and path lengths represented therein, delay parameters for audio playback from the speakers.....¶[0036], lines 15-18) for audio playback by the second playback device (The second speaker plays a parallel part of a first audio data, using an adjusted delay parameter, thus forming second audio data.....¶[0037], lines 19-27) relative to audio playback by the first playback device (The delay is calculated relative to speakers playing separate, parallel parts of the same soundtrack (first audio data), and are thus respective to each other.....¶[0037], lines 23-25); playing back first audio data via the first playback device (The system plays back audio over the speakers.....¶[0035], lines 5-7); and playing back second audio data via the second playback device according to the adjustment (The playback is in accordance with the determined configuration, including the adjustment parameters.....¶[0037], lines 30-32).
Claim 16 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 1, as the walls, of the system of Carlsson determines the location of, are boundaries of the listening environment.
Regarding claim 17, Carlsson teaches the media playback system of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the media playback system to: determine a model of the listening environment including the playback devices (The system utilizes the GPS receivers and microphones of the system to map speaker locations relative to each other, and wall locations relative to the speakers, thus modeling the acoustic environment.....¶[0044], lines 6-8, ¶[0041], lines 5-8) based on the one or more dimensions and the first distance (The model includes the wall dimensions and speaker distances), wherein the adjustment is based on the model (The system sets (adjusts), based on determined acoustic model and path lengths represented therein, delay parameters for audio playback from the speakers.....¶[0036], lines 15-18).
Regarding claim 18, Carlsson teaches the media playback system of claim 13, wherein the adjustment comprises a delay (The second speaker plays a parallel part of a first audio data, using an adjusted delay parameter, thus forming second audio data.....¶[0037], lines 19-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlsson in view of Konagai, US-PG-PUB No. 2007/0019816.
Regarding claim 3, Carlsson discloses the media playback system of claim 1, as explained above.
Carlsson additionally discloses determining, based on the first audio data, the second audio data (A second speaker plays a parallel part of a first audio data, using an adjusted delay parameter, thus forming second audio data.....¶[0037], lines 19-27).
Carlsson fails to disclose wherein determining the second audio data comprises inverting at least a portion of the first audio data.
Konagai teaches an audio playback control speaker wherein determining second audio data comprises inverting at least a portion of a first audio data (Sound S2 from speaker 2 contains a phase-inverted portion S1a of the first sound S1.....¶[0033], lines 5-8, ¶[0035], lines 10-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Carlsson by Konagai to provide the benefit of enhanced sound localization (Konagai, ¶[0007], lines 6-8). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein determining the second audio data comprises inverting at least a portion of the first audio data.
Claims 4-7, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlsson in view of Aggarwal et al (hereinafter Aggarwal), US-PG-PUB No. 2006/0147057.
Regarding claim 4, Carlsson discloses the media playback system of claim 1, as explained above.
Carlsson additionally discloses wherein the number of speakers may be scaled (¶[0038], lines 20-23), the speakers may be moved freely by a user around the acoustic environment (¶[0003], lines 7-11, ¶[0038], lines 20-23), and wherein the instructions further cause the media playback system to: determine a second acoustic path length of sound propagating from any additional playback device that is reflected from the first wall toward any other additional playback device (The system utilizes the GPS receivers and microphones of the system to map speaker locations relative to each other, and wall locations relative to the speakers, determining all path lengths of the acoustic environment.....¶[0044], lines 6-8, ¶[0041], lines 5-8); determine, based on the second acoustic path length, a second adjustment for playback (The system sets (adjusts), based on determined acoustic model and path lengths represented therein, delay parameters for audio playback from each speaker in a configuration.....¶[0036], lines 15-18) of fourth audio data via any additional playback device with respect to playback of third audio data via any other additional playback device (The delay is calculated relative to speakers playing separate, parallel parts of the same soundtrack (first audio data), and are thus respective to each other, with each adjusted playback of the first audio data comprising second, third, and fourth audio data, respective to the device playing the audio back.....¶[0037], lines 23-25); and play back the fourth audio data via the fourth playback device according to the second adjustment (The playback is in accordance with the determined configuration, including the adjustment parameters.....¶[0037], lines 30-32).
Carlsson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the media playback system comprises a four-device setup, and therefore fails to explicitly disclose the relative locations of four playback devices.
However, Aggarwal teaches a quadraphonic subwoofer configuration, shown in Fig. 1, with first playback device (Sub 1), second playback device (Sub 4), third playback device (Sub 2), and fourth playback device (Sub 3), with second and fourth playback devices positioned against a same first wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Carlsson by Aggarwal to provide even bass sound at multiple listening positions (Aggarwal, ¶[0014], lines 7-16). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein the adjustment is a first adjustment, the media playback system further comprising: a third playback device; and a fourth playback device positioned adjacent the first wall, wherein the instructions further cause the media playback system to: determine a second acoustic path length of sound propagating from the third playback device that is reflected from the first wall toward the fourth playback device; determine, based on the second acoustic path length, a second adjustment for playback of fourth audio data via the fourth playback device with respect to playback of third audio data via the third playback device; and play back the fourth audio data via the fourth playback device according to the second adjustment.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Carlsson and Aggarwal teach, as explained above, the the media playback system of claim 4.
Aggarwal additionally teaches wherein all four playback devices are subwoofers (¶[0009], lines 11-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Carlsson and Aggarwal further by Aggarwal to provide even bass sound at multiple listening positions (Aggarwal, ¶[0014], lines 7-16). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein the first, second, third, and fourth playback devices are subwoofers.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Carlsson and Aggarwal teach, as explained above, the media playback system of claim 4.
Carlsson additionally teaches wherein determining the second acoustic path length comprises: determining a third distance between the third playback device and a fourth wall (The wall locations (including all four walls, 72, 74, 76, or 78 in Fig. 1)) are determined relative to each speaker location (including the third speaker), and thus the distances between the speakers and walls are determined by this process.....¶[0041], lines 5-12); and determining a fourth distance between the first wall and the fourth playback device (The wall locations are determined relative to each speaker location (including the fourth speaker), and thus the distances between the speakers and walls are determined by this process.....¶[0041], lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Carlsson and Aggarwal teach, as explained above, the media playback system of claim 4.
Carlsson additionally teaches wherein the instructions further cause the media playback system to: determine that the first playback device and the second playback device are arranged along user determined dimension of the listening environment (The system utilizes the GPS receivers and microphones of the system to map speaker locations relative to each other, and wall locations relative to the speakers, determining all path lengths of the acoustic environment.....¶[0044], lines 6-8, ¶[0041], lines 5-8), wherein the adjustment is determined based on determining that the first playback device and the second playback device are arranged along the user determined dimension of the listening environment (The system sets (adjusts), based on determined acoustic model and path lengths represented therein, delay parameters for audio playback from the speakers.....¶[0036], lines 15-18).
This further combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the first and second playback devices are arranged along a longest horizontal dimension of the listening environment.
Aggarwal additionally teaches, as shown in Fig. 1 wherein the first and second playback devices (Sub. 1 and Sub. 4) are arranged along a longest horizontal dimension of the listening environment (The left wall).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Carlsson and Aggarwal further by Aggarwal to provide even bass sound at multiple listening positions (Aggarwal, ¶[0014], lines 7-16). Such modification would make obvious the features wherein the instructions further cause the media playback system to: determine that the first playback device and the second playback device are arranged along a longest horizontal dimension of the listening environment, wherein the adjustment is determined based on determining that the first playback device and the second playback device are arranged along the longest horizontal dimension of the listening environment.
Regarding claim 10, Carlsson discloses the media playback system of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first playback device or the second playback device is a subwoofer, instead disclosing where configurations in general may include subwoofers (¶[0036], lines 7-9).
Aggarwal teaches a media playback system, shown in Fig. 1, wherein all playback devices are subwoofers (¶[0009], lines 11-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Carlsson and Aggarwal further by Aggarwal to provide even bass sound at multiple listening positions (Aggarwal, ¶[0014], lines 7-16). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein at least one of the first playback device or the second playback device is a subwoofer.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 7.
Claim 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlsson in view of Meyers et al (hereinafter Meyers), US Patent No. 9,967,437.
Regarding claim 9, Carlsson discloses the media playback system of claim 1, wherein the first playback device comprises a first network interface (Each speaker may be separately addressed by the control unit (52) via a network, requiring each speaker to have a separate network interface.....¶[0031], lines 26-27) and wherein the second playback device comprises a second network interface (¶[0031], lines 26-27), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the media playback system to: receive, via the first network interface, the first audio data (A part of a soundtrack (first audio data) may be received by the playback devices of the system from the central controller of the system via wired or wireless links (network interfaces).....¶[0031], lines 15-20, ¶[0037], lines 23-27); receive, via the second network interface, second audio data (A second speaker receives a parallel part of the same first audio data, shifted for delay, thus forming second audio data.....¶[0037], lines 23-27).
Carlsson fails to disclose wherein the adjustment is applied at the second playback device, instead disclosing wherein the adjustment is applied to the audio signal before transmission to the second playback device.
Meyers teaches a method for synchronizing playback between multiple audio devices, wherein calculated delays (analogous to the adjustment parameters of Carlsson) are transmitted and stored in the controllers of said audio devices (Col. 8, lines 36-40), allowing audio adjustments to be applied at each individual playback device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Carlsson by Meyers to provide the benefit of allowing devices options to compensate for their innate latency when live calculations are unavailable (Meyers, Col. 8, lines 33-35). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein the adjustment to the first audio data is applied at the second playback device, thereby to generate the second audio data.
Claim 15 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 9.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlsson in view of Ayotte et al (hereinafter Ayotte), US-PG-PUB No. 2019/0306642.
Regarding Claim 14, Carlsson discloses the media playback system of claim 16, wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more microphones (Each playback device (speaker (40)) has a sensor (microphone (80)).....¶[0035], lines 11-14), and wherein at least one of the first playback device or the second playback device comprises the one or more microphones (Each playback device (speaker (40)) has a sensor (microphone (80)).....¶[0035], lines 11-14).
Carlsson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the distance between a first and second playback device is determined using the speakers and microphones, instead teaching wherein the speaker locations (and distances) are provided by GPS, UWB signals, or pre-programmed by a user.
Ayotte teaches an audio system wherein the distance between a speaker (analogous to the first audio playback device of Carlsson) and a microphone (analogous to the microphone of the second audio playback device of Carlsson) may be determined by playing back third audio data via the speaker; and receiving the third audio data via the microphone, the distance being determined based on the third audio data (A first speaker provides a sound (third audio data) which is received by a microphone, and the distance is calculated based on the time of flight…..¶[0162], lines 5-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Carlsson by Ayotte to provide the benefit of ensuring that the playback devices occupy the desired position (for instance, as indicated by the user of the system of Carlsson) (Ayotte, ¶[0031], lines 1-3). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein determining the distance comprises: playing back third audio data via at least the other of the first playback device or the second playback device; and receiving the third audio data via the one or more microphones, the distance being determined based on the third audio data.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlsson in view of Sabatier et al (hereinafter Sabatier), US-PG-PUB No. 2024/0196154.
Regarding claim 20, Carlsson discloses the media playback system of claim 13, but fails to disclose wherein the adjustment comprises at least one of a frequency-dependent phase shift or applying at least one all pass filter.
Sabatier teaches a method of optimizing audio playback of multiple speakers, wherein adjustments for each sound source (playback device) comprises a frequency-dependent phase shift (¶[0115], lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Carlsson by Sabatier to provide the benefit of a system capable of optimizing playback according to the a variable position of the listener, without recalibrating the playback system (Sabatier, ¶[0009]). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein the adjustment to the first audio data is applied at the second playback device, thereby to generate the second audio data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Skovenborg, US-PG-PUB No. 2017/0070822 teaches a method, based on multiple playback devices containing microphones, of locating the devices with respect to the playback environment (and therefore each other), with provisions for detecting and modeling low-order reflections.
Takeuchi, US Patent No. 5740253 teaches a quadraphonic stereo system wherein reflected sounds are managed via phase inversion.
Hashimoto et al, US-PG-PUB No. 2021/0383788 teaches an audio that utilizes speaker distance measurements to apply delays, controlling interference from reflected sounds.
Wardle et al, US-PG-PUB No. 2019/0246229 teaches an audio system that determines the relative locations of speakers and walls of a home theater based on speaker-to-microphone measurements.
Kushida, US-PG-PUB No. 2004/0196983 teaches a system which models sound ray paths based on input speaker and environment information.
/SEAN M RINEHART/Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/FAN S TSANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694