DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 is identified as currently amended but was presented previously in the claim set dated 11/11/2025. Claim 1 should be identified as previously presently.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2017/0241623 A1) in view of Bretschneider et al. (US 2023/0313958 A1) and Hyun-Jo (US 5,806,956) and Zhang (CN 112050140 A), hereinafter referred to as Zhang’140.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an optical device with a flowing effect, comprising:
a light bead (62; see at least figure 2);
a first cover body (1; see at least figure 2), having a first internal space (see at least figure 2), wherein the light bead (62) is located in the first internal space (see at least figure 2);
a second cover body (5; see at least figure 2), located outside the first cover body (see 1 in at least figure 2), wherein textures are provided on a surface of the second cover body (refractive lens 5 is interpreted as the second cover body; see refractive convex lenses 51 on a top surface of 5 in at least figure 8);
a driving mechanism (motor 7; see at least figure 2), wherein the first cover body (1) and the second cover (5) body undergo relative motion under the driving of the driving mechanism (motor 7); and
a stand body (71), wherein the light bead (62) and the driving mechanism (7) are both fixed on the stand body (71; see at least figure 2) and a relative motion that is axial relative motion and the driving mechanism (7) is connected to the second cover body (5) and is configured to drive the second cover body (5) to perform rotation motion by using a vertical line (see figure 2), where a center line of the second cover body (5) is located, as a rotation axis.
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein textures are provided on a surface of the first cover body . However, Zhang does disclose textures on an inner surface of the first cover body (1; see figure 2 where refractive convex lenses 111 are inside of lens 1 which is interpreted as the first cover body).
Bretschneider et al. teaches textures are provided on a surface of the first cover body (figure 6F; paragraph [0071] which discloses protective cover 602 may be produced with a variety of decorative textures. Decorative textures may be smooth or made of a composition of different shapes) are provided on a surface of the first cover body (protective cover 602; figure 6F). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first cover of Zhang to have textures on a surface thereof as taught by Bretschneider et al. so that the light escaping the lighting device may produce a desired decorative effect (paragraph [0071] of Bretschneider et al.).
Zhang modified by Bretschneider et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the [driving mechanism] is connected to the [first cover body] and is configured to drive the [first cover body] to perform rotation motion by using an axial horizontal line as a rotation axis.
Hyun-Jo teaches a relative motion that is axial relative motion and the driving mechanism (right and left driving motor 22; see figures 1 and 2 and column 2, lines 1-16) is connected to the first cover body (20) to perform rotation motion by using an axial horizontal line as a rotation axis (column 2, lines 1-16 where right and left rotation of the searchlight cover 20 upon the operation of the right and left driving motor 22 is disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first cover of Zhang to rotate along an horizontal axis as taught by Hyun-Jo to illuminate multiple areas surrounding the optical device (see column 2, lines 1-16 of Hyun-Jo).
Zhang further silent about wherein the driving mechanism comprises a first driving structure and a second driving structure;
the first driving structure is connected to the first cover body and is configured to drive the first cover body to perform rotation motion by using [an axial horizontal line] as a rotation axis; and the second driving structure is connected to the second cover body and is configured to drive the second cover body to perform rotation motion by using a vertical line, where a center line of the second cover body is located, as a rotation axis.
Zhang’140 teaches a driving mechanism comprising a first driving structure (first motor; not shown but disclosed in abstract of Zhang) that is connected to the first cover body (16; figure 3) configured to drive the cover body (16) to perform rotation motion and the second driving structure (second motor 2) is connected to the second cover body (19) and is configured to drive the second cover body (19) to perform rotation motion by using a vertical line (see figure 3), where a center line of the second cover body (19) is located, as a rotation axis. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Zhang to include a first and second driving structure as taught by Zhang’140 for a convenient use and good adjusting effect of the optical device (see abstract of translation of Zhang’140).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang further teaches the optical device with the flowing effect wherein the first cover body (1) is in any of a cylindrical shape, a columnar shape, an olive shape, a drum shape, a cone shape, a step shape, and a spherical shape (see shape of 1 in at least figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang further teaches the optical device with the flowing effect wherein the second cover body (5) is a cambered cover body (see at least figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang further teaches the optical device with the flowing effect further comprising an interferometer plate (2), wherein the interferometer plate (2; see at least figure 2) is located between the first cover body (1) and the second cover body (5), or is arranged between the light bead and the first cover body.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang further teaches the optical device with the flowing effect wherein the second cover body (5; see at least figures 2 and 8) is a sheetlike cover body (see shape of 5 in at least figures 2 and 8 ); and a condensing lens (lens 1; see at least figure 2) is arranged on an upper side (see at least figure 2) or a lower side of the second cover body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, and 7-9 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection after further consideration of prior art of record. A new reference, Zhang (CN 112050140 A), teaches the limitation, “wherein the driving mechanism comprises a first driving structure and a second driving structure; the first driving structure is connected to the first cover body and is configured to drive the first cover body to perform rotation motion by using an axial horizontal line as a rotation axis; and the second driving structure is connected to the second cover body and is configured to drive the second cover body to perform rotation motion by using a vertical line, where a center line of the second cover body is located, as a rotation axis.”. See rejection above.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875