Priority
Instant application 18/896,502 filed on 09/25/2024 claims benefit as follows:
CONTINUING DATA:
Status of the Application
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-2019/0201328-A1.
US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches and claims:
Further, US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches and claims a method for removing localized fat comprising administering the said composition by injection:
Regarding instant claim 3, US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches the composition may be administered multiply to the target side, including 2 to 10 times:
Regarding instant claim 4, US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches the target site may be set in a range of 1 to 50 (see para [0212]). Further, US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches the target site may be, for example, 0.1cmx0.1 cm to about 5 cmx5 cm. [0264].
Regarding instant claim 5, US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches:
The 0.1 - 1 ml range per target site disclosed by US-2019/0201328-A1 overlaps with the range recited in instant claims (0.1 to 0.5 ml per target site).
Regarding instant claim 6, US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches the recited target areas:
Regarding instant claim 8, US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches the method is intended for treatments of adipose tissue or hyperproliferative disorder (see para [0146]). (It should be noted that hyperproliferative disorder is characterized by overproliferation.)
Regarding instant claim 9, US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches the method is intended for treatments a subject that is obese or has a lower eyelid prolapse, lipoma, Dercum's disease, Madelung's neck, lipedema, piezogenic nodules, xanthelasma, lipodystrophy or fat accumulation associated with cellulite:
US-2019/0201328-A1 does not teach in one single embodiment a method wherein the composition is administered in 2-week intervals at a concentration of 25 mg/ml.
US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches clinical evaluation at intervals of 4 weeks (see Example 6):
However, a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant application would have been capable of adjusting concentrations and administration schedule by routine experimentation. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II) (A) and In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) “[W]here the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Further, US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches the composition may be administered once or multiply to the target side over 2 weeks (see para. [0214]).
Furthermore, US-2019/0201328-A1 teaches composition comprising 25 mg/ml of PPC:
Therefore, it would be obvious to select the concertation and administration intervals suggested by US-2019/0201328-A1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,298314-B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,298314-B2 recite a method comprising administering an effective amount of a composition consisting essentially of phosphatidylcholine; and at least one solubilizing agent of phosphatidylcholine selected from the group consisting of glycocholic acid, taurocholic acid and salt thereof:
It should be noted that the specification of 11,298314-B2 teaches that 25.0 mg/ml of PPC is equivalent to 2.5%, Therefore the concentration recited in instant claims is encompassed by the range between 0.3125 to 10% recited in claim 1 of 11,298314-B2 (see column 56, first line).
Further, the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,298314-B2 recite the administration comprises a subcutaneous injection (see claim 4).
The claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,298314-B2 does not recite a method wherein the composition is administered in 2 week intervals at a concentration of 25 mg/ml in one single embodiment. The claims of 11,298314-B2 are also silent about administration areas.
However, a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant application would have been capable of adjusting concentrations and administration schedule and administration areas by routine experimentation. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II) (A) and In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) “[W]here the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621