DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 9/25/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daoura et al. (US 9,961,523), (hereinafter, Daoura).
Regarding claim 1, Daoura discloses a system (= adhoc network consist of host devices, see col. 18, lines 36-48 and lines 56-64; and col. 19, line 60-col. 20, line 9), comprising:
a first electronic device having a first sensor configured to determine electronic device positions in a building (= each host receives proximate beacon broadcasts and relay any information in the broadcasts to the internet, including the GPS location of the host device, see col. 18, lines 36-46);
a second electronic device in wireless communication with the first electronic device and having a second sensor (= beacons would be attached to laptop or tablet computer, see col. 17, lines 24-33; and col. 19, lines 49-54); and
a third electronic device in wireless communication with the first electronic device and having a third sensor(= beacons would be attached to laptop or tablet computer, see col. 17, lines 24-33; and col. 19, lines 49-54),
wherein the first electronic device is configured to select the first sensor or the second sensor to gather sensor data on an object in the building based on the electronic device positions (= any network alerts are conveyed or may be shared with a second smartphone 503, see col. 16, lines 58-66; col. 17, lines 1-23 and col. 23, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned in claim 1, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first sensor comprises an image sensor (see, col. 24, lines 13-25 and col. 19, lines 49-54).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 1, Daoura discloses system, wherein the second and third sensors comprise three-dimensional image sensors (see, col. 24, lines 13-25).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 1, Daoura discloses system, wherein the second and third sensors comprise microphones (see, col. 24, lines 13-25).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned in claim 1, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first sensor comprises a radio-frequency sensor (see, col. 24, lines 13-25 and col, 20, lines 15-27).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned in claim 1, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first electronic device comprises a display configured to adjust display content based on the sensor data on the object (see, col. 24, lines 13-25).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned in claim 1, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first sensor is configured to determine a first distance between the object and second electronic device and a second distance between the object and the third electronic device (see, col. 19, lines 51-59).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 8, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first electronic device is configured to use the second or third sensor to gather the sensor data based on the first and second distances (see, col. 19, lines 51-59).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 1, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first electronic device is configured to select the second or third sensor based on a signal quality factor associated with the second and third sensors. (see, col. 24, lines 13-25 and col, 20, lines 15-27).
Regarding claim 11, Daoura discloses a system (= adhoc network consist of host devices, see col. 18, lines 36-48 and lines 56-64; and col. 19, line 60-col. 20, line 9), comprising:
a first electronic device having an image sensor and configured to determine device positions within a building using the image sensor (= host device takes a picture, see col. 20, lines 44-56);
a second electronic device having a first sensor (= host device takes a picture, see col. 20, lines 44-56; and other host devices, see col. 18, lines 36-55); and
a third electronic device having a second sensor (= host device takes a picture, see col. 20, lines 44-56; and other host devices, see col. 18, lines 36-55), wherein the first electronic device is configured to use the first sensor or the second sensor to gather sensor data on an object in building based on the device positions
(= any network alerts are conveyed or may be shared with a second smartphone 503, see col. 16, lines 58-66; col. 17, lines 1-23 and col. 23, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 11, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first and second sensors comprise microphones (see, col. 24, lines 13-25).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned in claim 11, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first electronic device is configured to select the first or second sensor based on a signal quality factor associated with the first and second sensors (see, col. 24, lines 13-25; and col. 18, lines 36-55 and col. 24, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned in claim 11, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first electronic device comprises a display configured to adjust visual content based on the sensor data on the object (see, col. 20, lines 44-55).
Regarding claim 16, Daoura discloses a system (= adhoc network consist of host devices, see col. 18, lines 36-48 and lines 56-64; and col. 19, line 60-col. 20, line 9), comprising:
a first electronic device having a sensor configured to determine device positions within a building (= each host receives proximate beacon broadcasts and relay any information in the broadcasts to the internet, including the GPS location of the host device, see col. 18, lines 36-46; and col. 20, lines 44-55);
a second electronic device having a first microphone(= other host devices, see col. 18, lines 36-55 and col. 24, lines 14-21), and
a third electronic device having a second microphone, wherein the first electronic device is configured to receive measured sound from the first or second microphone based on the device positions (= any network alerts are conveyed or may be shared with a second smartphone 503, see col. 16, lines 58-66; col. 17, lines 1-23 and col. 23, lines 15-25; other host devices, see col. 18, lines 36-55 and col. 24, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned in claim 16, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first electronic device is configured to select the first or second microphone based on a signal quality factor associated with the first and second microphones (see, col. 24, lines 13-25; and col. 18, lines 36-55 and col. 24, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned in claim 16, Daoura discloses system, wherein the first electronic device comprises a speaker configured to play the sound (see, col. 24, lines 13-25; and col. 18, lines 36-55 and col. 24, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned in claim 16, Daoura discloses system wherein the sensor comprises a radio-frequency sensor (see, col. 24, lines 13-25; and col. 18, lines 36-55 and col. 24, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned in claim 16, Daoura discloses system wherein the second and third electronic devices are selected from the group consisting of: a cellular telephone, a tablet computer, a wristwatch device, and a laptop (= other host devices, see, col. 24, lines 13-25; and col. 18, lines 36-55 and col. 24, lines 14-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhang et in view of Lee et al., (US 2019/0331914), (hereinafter, Lee).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned in claim 1, Daoura explicitly fails to disclose the system wherein the first electronic device comprises a head-mounted device.
However, Lee which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the system wherein the first electronic device comprises a head-mounted device (see, [0093 and 0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Willey with Daoura for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes sharing mechanism that reduces the sharer’s processing load.
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned in claim 11, Daoura explicitly fails to disclose the system wherein the first electronic device comprises a head-mounted device and the image sensor comprises a three-dimensional image sensor.
However, Willey which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the system wherein the first electronic device comprises a head-mounted device and the image sensor comprises a three-dimensional image sensor (see, [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Willey with Daoura for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes sharing mechanism that reduces the sharer’s processing load.
CONCLUSION
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.