DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination - 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
This action is in response to the applicant’s RCE filed 6 May 2026, which is in response to the USPTO office action mailed 6 February 2026. Claims 1, 4 and 14 are amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 35 USC §103 rejections of claims 1-20, the applicant’s arguments are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection, as necessitated by the applicant's amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-10, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUCEY et al., US 2025/0265449 A1 (hereinafter “Lucey”) in view of Doken et al., US 2026/0000934 A1 (hereinafter “Doken”).
Claim 4: Lucey teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving first tracking data representing first respective locations of a first plurality of players at a first time (Lucey, [0032] note Tracking system 102 may be configured to capture the motions of one or more agents (e.g., players) on the playing surface, [0058] note player tracking data may be captured by tracking system, which may be configured to record the (x, y) positions of the players at a high frame rate (e.g., 10 Hz));
generating first embedding data representing a formation of the first plurality of players at the first time based at least in part on the first tracking data (Lucey, [0054] note map the unstructured set U of N player trajectories to an ordered set (e.g., a vector) of K role-trajectories R. Each player trajectory itself may be an ordered set of positions Un=[xs,n]s=1S for an agent n∈[1, N] and a frame s∈[1, S], [0059] note the pre-processing agent may normalize the raw position data of the players);
determining second embedding data by searching historical embeddings of a first data store using the first embedding data (Lucey, [0074] note A generative machine multimodal sports LLM may be trained and/or have access to the tracking data, event data, and/or diffused tracking and event data depicted in FIG. 2A, [0075] note a multimodal sports LLM may be trained using historical or simulated tracking and event data. The historical or simulated tracking and event data may be based on sporting events that are processed using the broadcast and/or in-venue steams discussed in reference to FIG 2A, [0096] note Based on the contextual and intentional information, the method 500 then determines sports tracking data that matches the inputs received using the multimodal sports LLM 530);
determining a first historical play by ranking historical plays associated with the second embedding data based at least in part on the first game state data; and retrieving at least one of historical tracking data or historical video data associated with the first historical play (Lucey, [0065] note grouping similar plays together, such that when a query is made, only the “most-likely” candidates are retrieved. Comparisons can then be made locally amongst the candidates and each play in these groups are ranked in order of most similar, [0096] note The system may present the sports tracking data and events in one or more of audio and/or text commentary 540, visualizations 545, similar plays 550, and play analysis 555).
Lucey does not explicitly teach wherein the distance metric indicates a similarity between the first embedding data and the second embedding data in an embedding space.
However, Doken teaches this (Doken, [0035] note the comparison between a predetermined location or formation and a current location or formation may be made using a plurality of techniques. One such technique may include generating a matrix for a predetermined location and a second matrix for a current location for each player, group of players, or team. The matrices may then be compared to calculate a vector that represents a distance differential of where a player is predetermined to be located and where the player is currently located, [0036] note The distance differential may be calculated for a current location versus a predetermined location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the sports tracking of Lucy with the difference differential of Doken according to known methods (i.e. calculating a difference differential based on a distance comparison between a predetermined location or formation and a current location or formation). Motivation for doing so is that this may be helpful in making coaching decisions based on the player's sticking to the formation (Doken, [0119]).
Claim 6: Lucey and Doken teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising:
generating a first vector, wherein a first element of the first vector represents a first coordinate for a first location of a first player of the first plurality of players, and wherein a second element of the first vector represents a second coordinate for a second location of a second player of the first plurality of players, wherein the first embedding data comprises the first vector (Lucey, [0054] note map the unstructured set U of N player trajectories to an ordered set (e.g., a vector) of K role-trajectories R. Each player trajectory itself may be an ordered set of positions Un=[xs,n]s=1S for an agent n∈[1, N] and a frame s∈[1, S]).
Claim 7: Lucey and Doken teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising:
receiving, from a first metadata service, first game state data associated with the first tracking data; and determining a subset of historical plays by filtering a set of historical plays using the first game state data, wherein determining the first historical play comprises searching the subset of historical plays using the first embedding data (Lucey, [0074] note A generative machine multimodal sports LLM may be trained and/or have access to the tracking data, event data, and/or diffused tracking and event data depicted in FIG. 2A, [0075] note a multimodal sports LLM may be trained using historical or simulated tracking and event data. The historical or simulated tracking and event data may be based on sporting events that are processed using the broadcast and/or in-venue steams discussed in reference to FIG 2A, [0096] note Based on the contextual and intentional information, the method 500 then determines sports tracking data that matches the inputs received using the multimodal sports LLM 530).
Claim 8: Lucey and Doken teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising generating the first embedding data by inputting first data representing the first tracking data into a graph neural network, wherein the graph neural network is trained to generate embeddings representing formations of players as graph data, wherein a first node of the graph data represents a first player, a second node of the graph data represents a second player, and an edge of the graph data connecting the first node and the second node represents a spacing between the first player and the second player (Lucey, [0106] note transformer neural network may receive inputs (e.g., tensor layers), where each input corresponds to a given player, team, or game, [0108] note The transformer-based neural network may include a set of linear embedding layers, a transformer encoder, and a set of fully connected layers. The set of linear embedding layers may map component tensors of received inputs into tensors with a common feature dimension, [0107] note transformer neural network (e.g., a graph neural network (GNN) model), [0112] note the nodes containing the previous states of the player along the time-series; and the state nodes of the other players, team and the current game state).
Claim 9: Lucey and Doken teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising: determining a ranked list of embedding data by searching the first data store using the first embedding data, wherein the ranked list of embedding data is ranked based at least in part on a degree of similarity to the first embedding data, wherein the degree of similarity is determined using a first distance metric; and generating a ranked list of historical plays using the ranked list of embedding data, wherein the ranked list of historical plays comprises the first historical play (Lucey, [0065] note grouping similar plays together, such that when a query is made, only the “most-likely” candidates are retrieved. Comparisons can then be made locally amongst the candidates and each play in these groups are ranked in order of most similar, [0096] note The system may present the sports tracking data and events in one or more of audio and/or text commentary 540, visualizations 545, similar plays 550, and play analysis 555).
Claim 10: Lucey and Doken teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising:
receiving second tracking data representing second respective locations of the first plurality of players at a second time different from the first time; generating third embedding data representing a formation of the first plurality of players at the second time based at least in part on the second tracking data; and generating fourth embedding data based at least in part on aggregating the first embedding data and the third embedding data, wherein the second embedding data is determined based at least in part on the fourth embedding data (Lucey, [0032] note Tracking system 102 may be configured to capture the motions of one or more agents (e.g., players) on the playing surface, [0058] note player tracking data may be captured by tracking system, which may be configured to record the (x, y) positions of the players at a high frame rate (e.g., 10 Hz), [0038] nope tracking data system 116 may further track and re-identify players over time, [0054] note map the unstructured set U of N player trajectories to an ordered set (e.g., a vector) of K role-trajectories R. Each player trajectory itself may be an ordered set of positions Un=[xs,n]s=1S for an agent n∈[1, N] and a frame s∈[1, S], [0059] note the pre-processing agent may normalize the raw position data of the players).
Claim 14: Lucey teaches a system comprising: at least one processor; and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are effective to cause the at least one processor to:
receive first tracking data representing first respective locations of a first plurality of players at a first time (Lucey, [0032] note Tracking system 102 may be configured to capture the motions of one or more agents (e.g., players) on the playing surface, [0058] note player tracking data may be captured by tracking system, which may be configured to record the (x, y) positions of the players at a high frame rate (e.g., 10 Hz));
generate first embedding data representing a formation of the first plurality of players at the first time based at least in part on the first tracking data [0054] note map the unstructured set U of N player trajectories to an ordered set (e.g., a vector) of K role-trajectories R. Each player trajectory itself may be an ordered set of positions Un=[xs,n]s=1S for an agent n∈[1, N] and a frame s∈[1, S], [0059] note the pre-processing agent may normalize the raw position data of the players);
determining second embedding data by searching historical embeddings of a first data store using the first embedding data (Lucey, [0074] note A generative machine multimodal sports LLM may be trained and/or have access to the tracking data, event data, and/or diffused tracking and event data depicted in FIG. 2A, [0075] note a multimodal sports LLM may be trained using historical or simulated tracking and event data. The historical or simulated tracking and event data may be based on sporting events that are processed using the broadcast and/or in-venue steams discussed in reference to FIG 2A, [0096] note Based on the contextual and intentional information, the method 500 then determines sports tracking data that matches the inputs received using the multimodal sports LLM 530);
determine a first historical play by ranking historical plays associated with the second embedding data based at least in part on the first game state data; and retrieve at least one of historical tracking data or historical video data associated with the first historical play (Lucey, [0065] note grouping similar plays together, such that when a query is made, only the “most-likely” candidates are retrieved. Comparisons can then be made locally amongst the candidates and each play in these groups are ranked in order of most similar, [0096] note The system may present the sports tracking data and events in one or more of audio and/or text commentary 540, visualizations 545, similar plays 550, and play analysis 555).
Lucey does not explicitly teach wherein the distance metric indicates a similarity between the first embedding data and the second embedding data in an embedding space.
However, Doken teaches this (Doken, [0035] note the comparison between a predetermined location or formation and a current location or formation may be made using a plurality of techniques. One such technique may include generating a matrix for a predetermined location and a second matrix for a current location for each player, group of players, or team. The matrices may then be compared to calculate a vector that represents a distance differential of where a player is predetermined to be located and where the player is currently located, [0036] note The distance differential may be calculated for a current location versus a predetermined location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the sports tracking of Lucy with the difference differential of Doken according to known methods (i.e. calculating a difference differential based on a distance comparison between a predetermined location or formation and a current location or formation). Motivation for doing so is that this may be helpful in making coaching decisions based on the player's sticking to the formation (Doken, [0119]).
Claim 16: Lucey and Doken teach the system of claim 14, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable memory stores further instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are further effective to:
generate a first vector, wherein a first element of the first vector represents a first coordinate for a first location of a first player of the first plurality of players, and wherein a second element of the first vector represents a second coordinate for a second location of a second player of the first plurality of players, wherein the first embedding data comprises the first vector (Lucey, [0054] note map the unstructured set U of N player trajectories to an ordered set (e.g., a vector) of K role-trajectories R. Each player trajectory itself may be an ordered set of positions Un=[xs,n]s=1S for an agent n∈[1, N] and a frame s∈[1, S]).
Claim 17: Lucey and Doken teach the system of claim 14, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable memory stores further instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are further effective to:
receive, from a first metadata service, first game state data associated with the first tracking data; and determine a subset of historical plays by filtering a set of historical plays using the first game state data, wherein determining the first historical play comprises searching the subset of historical plays using the first embedding data (Lucey, [0074] note A generative machine multimodal sports LLM may be trained and/or have access to the tracking data, event data, and/or diffused tracking and event data depicted in FIG. 2A, [0075] note a multimodal sports LLM may be trained using historical or simulated tracking and event data. The historical or simulated tracking and event data may be based on sporting events that are processed using the broadcast and/or in-venue steams discussed in reference to FIG 2A, [0096] note Based on the contextual and intentional information, the method 500 then determines sports tracking data that matches the inputs received using the multimodal sports LLM 530).
Claim 18: Lucey and Doken teach the system of claim 14, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable memory stores further instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are further effective to:
generate the first embedding data by inputting first data representing the first tracking data into a graph neural network, wherein the graph neural network is trained to generate embeddings representing formations of players as graph data, wherein a first node of the graph data represents a first player, a second node of the graph data represents a second player, and an edge of the graph data connecting the first node and the second node represents a spacing between the first player and the second player (Lucey, [0106] note transformer neural network may receive inputs (e.g., tensor layers), where each input corresponds to a given player, team, or game, [0108] note The transformer-based neural network may include a set of linear embedding layers, a transformer encoder, and a set of fully connected layers. The set of linear embedding layers may map component tensors of received inputs into tensors with a common feature dimension, [0107] note transformer neural network (e.g., a graph neural network (GNN) model), [0112] note the nodes containing the previous states of the player along the time-series; and the state nodes of the other players, team and the current game state).
Claim 19: Lucey and Doken teach the system of claim 14, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable memory stores further instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are further effective to: determine a ranked list of embedding data by searching the first data store using the first embedding data, wherein the ranked list of embedding data is ranked based at least in part on a degree of similarity to the first embedding data, wherein the degree of similarity is determined using a first distance metric; and generate a ranked list of historical plays using the ranked list of embedding data, wherein the ranked list of historical plays comprises the first historical play (Lucey, [0065] note grouping similar plays together, such that when a query is made, only the “most-likely” candidates are retrieved. Comparisons can then be made locally amongst the candidates and each play in these groups are ranked in order of most similar, [0096] note The system may present the sports tracking data and events in one or more of audio and/or text commentary 540, visualizations 545, similar plays 550, and play analysis 555).
Claim 20: Lucey and Doken teach the system of claim 14, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable memory stores further instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are further effective to:
receive second tracking data representing second respective locations of the first plurality of players at a second time different from the first time; generate third embedding data representing a formation of the first plurality of players at the second time based at least in part on the second tracking data; and generate fourth embedding data based at least in part on aggregating the first embedding data and the third embedding data, wherein the second embedding data is determined based at least in part on the fourth embedding data (Lucey, [0032] note Tracking system 102 may be configured to capture the motions of one or more agents (e.g., players) on the playing surface, [0058] note player tracking data may be captured by tracking system, which may be configured to record the (x, y) positions of the players at a high frame rate (e.g., 10 Hz), [0038] nope tracking data system 116 may further track and re-identify players over time, [0054] note map the unstructured set U of N player trajectories to an ordered set (e.g., a vector) of K role-trajectories R. Each player trajectory itself may be an ordered set of positions Un=[xs,n]s=1S for an agent n∈[1, N] and a frame s∈[1, S], [0059] note the pre-processing agent may normalize the raw position data of the players).
Claims 1-3, 5, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucey and Doken in further view of Schnurr et al., US 11,006,160 B2 (hereinafter “Schnurr”).
Claim 1: Lucey teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a first frame of tracking data indicating a respective location of each player of a first plurality of players on a field plane at a first time (Lucey, [0032] note Tracking system 102 may be configured to capture the motions of one or more agents (e.g., players) on the playing surface, [0058] note player tracking data may be captured by tracking system, which may be configured to record the (x, y) positions of the players at a high frame rate (e.g., 10 Hz));
generating first embedding data comprising a first vector, wherein a first element of the first vector represents a first player of the first plurality of players, wherein a value of the first element of the first vector represents a first x, y coordinate representing a normalized location of the first player indicated by the first frame of the tracking data, and wherein a second element of the first vector represents a second player of the first plurality of players, wherein a value of the second element of the first vector represents a second x, y coordinate representing a normalized location of the second player indicated by the first frame of the tracking data (Lucey, [0054] note map the unstructured set U of N player trajectories to an ordered set (e.g., a vector) of K role-trajectories R. Each player trajectory itself may be an ordered set of positions Un=[xs,n]s=1S for an agent n∈[1, N] and a frame s∈[1, S], [0059] note the pre-processing agent may normalize the raw position data of the players);
determining first game state data temporally associated with the first frame of tracking data, wherein the first game state data describes at least one of a current ball location, a current down, or a distance until a first down (Lucey, [0043] note tracking data system 116 may use the play-by-play data to refine the player and ball positions and precise frame of the end of possession events (e.g., shot/rebound location));
determining a subset of historical embeddings representing historical plays by filtering a set of historical plays using the first game state data (Lucey, [0074] note A generative machine multimodal sports LLM may be trained and/or have access to the tracking data, event data, and/or diffused tracking and event data depicted in FIG. 2A, [0075] note a multimodal sports LLM may be trained using historical or simulated tracking and event data. The historical or simulated tracking and event data may be based on sporting events that are processed using the broadcast and/or in-venue steams discussed in reference to FIG, [0065] note grouping similar plays together, such that when a query is made, only the “most-likely” candidates are retrieved);
determining, by searching historical embeddings of the subset of historical embeddings using the first embedding data and a distance metric, second embedding data (Lucey, [0074] note A generative machine multimodal sports LLM may be trained and/or have access to the tracking data, event data, and/or diffused tracking and event data depicted in FIG. 2A, [0075] note a multimodal sports LLM may be trained using historical or simulated tracking and event data. The historical or simulated tracking and event data may be based on sporting events that are processed using the broadcast and/or in-venue steams discussed in reference to FIG. 2A, [0096] note Based on the contextual and intentional information, the method 500 then determines sports tracking data that matches the inputs received using the multimodal sports LLM 530); and
determining a first historical play by ranking historical plays associated with the second embedding data based at least in part on the first game state data; and sending video data portraying the first historical play to a first computing device (Lucey, [0065] note grouping similar plays together, such that when a query is made, only the “most-likely” candidates are retrieved, [0096] note The system may present the sports tracking data and events in one or more of audio and/or text commentary 540, visualizations 545, similar plays 550, and play analysis 555).
Lucey does not explicitly teach wherein the tracking data is generated by a first plurality of sensors; and wherein the distance metric indicates a similarity between the first embedding data and the second embedding data in an embedding space.
However, Doken teaches wherein the distance metric indicates a similarity between the first embedding data and the second embedding data in an embedding space (Doken, [0035] note the comparison between a predetermined location or formation and a current location or formation may be made using a plurality of techniques. One such technique may include generating a matrix for a predetermined location and a second matrix for a current location for each player, group of players, or team. The matrices may then be compared to calculate a vector that represents a distance differential of where a player is predetermined to be located and where the player is currently located, [0036] note The distance differential may be calculated for a current location versus a predetermined location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the sports tracking of Lucy with the difference differential of Doken according to known methods (i.e. calculating a difference differential based on a distance comparison between a predetermined location or formation and a current location or formation). Motivation for doing so is that this may be helpful in making coaching decisions based on the player's sticking to the formation (Doken, [0119]).
Lucey and Doken do not explicitly teach wherein the tracking data is generated by a first plurality of sensors.
However, Schnurr teaches this (Schnurr, [Col. 6 Lines 61-67]-[Col. 7 Lines 1-14] note information pertaining to real-world sporting events, such as play-by-play information of a football game, may be obtained through the use of a plurality of cameras, sensors, and/or other information trackers. Such information trackers may take the form of motion sensors embedded in a gameplay field/court/arena/area, and/or cameras (including 3D depth cameras, stereoscopic cameras, infrared cameras, etc.) mounted in and around the gameplay area and configured to monitor gameplay events. Additionally, information trackers (including, for example, RFID chips) may be worn by/embedded on real-world game players/coaches/officials, game balls and/or other objects, game landmarks, etc., and each may include a unique identifier, signature, and/or other method for specifying the unique entity with which the information tracker is associated. Information trackers may further comprise biometric sensors worn by each real-world game player/coach/official, and configured to measure one or more biometric parameters, including heart rate, respiration rate, blood pressure, metabolic rate, kilocalories burned, as well as any other suitable biometric information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the sports tracking of Lucy and Doken with the information trackers of Schnurr according to known methods (i.e. tracking player information using a plurality of sensors). Motivation for doing so is that sporting events are enhanced in a personalized manner (Schnurr, [Col. 1 Lines 54-55]).
Claim 2: Lucey, Doken and Schnurr teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, using an unsupervised machine learning model, a first plurality of clusters of the subset of historical embeddings; determining, for the first embedding data, a first cluster of the first plurality of clusters based on a distance between the first embedding data and an aggregated embedding for the first cluster; and determining, for the first cluster, a first set of nearest neighbors in an embedding space for the first embedding data, wherein the first set of nearest neighbors comprises the second embedding data (Lucey, [0065] note grouping similar plays together, such that when a query is made, only the “most-likely” candidates are retrieved. Comparisons can then be made locally amongst the candidates and each play in these groups are ranked in order of most similar, [0121] note Unsupervised approaches may include clustering, classification or the like. K-means clustering or K-Nearest Neighbors may also be used, which may be supervised or unsupervised. Combinations of K-Nearest Neighbors and an unsupervised cluster technique may also be used).
Claim 3: Lucey, Doken and Schnurr teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a second frame of the tracking data indicating a respective location of each of the first plurality of players on the field plane at a second time (Lucey, [0032] note Tracking system 102 may be configured to capture the motions of one or more agents (e.g., players) on the playing surface, [0058] note player tracking data may be captured by tracking system, which may be configured to record the (x, y) positions of the players at a high frame rate (e.g., 10 Hz));
generating second embedding data comprising a second vector, wherein a first element of the second vector represents the first player of the first plurality of players, wherein a value of the first element of the second vector represents a third x, y coordinate representing the normalized location of the first player indicated by the second frame of the tracking data, and wherein a second element of the second vector represents the second player of the first plurality of players, wherein a value of the second element of the second vector represents a fourth x, y coordinate representing the normalized location of the second player indicated by the second frame of the tracking data (Lucey, [0054] note map the unstructured set U of N player trajectories to an ordered set (e.g., a vector) of K role-trajectories R. Each player trajectory itself may be an ordered set of positions Un=[xs,n]s=1S for an agent n∈[1, N] and a frame s∈[1, S], [0059] note the pre-processing agent may normalize the raw position data of the players); and
generating aggregated embedding data based on an aggregation of the first vector and the second vector, wherein the aggregated embedding data represents locations of the first plurality of players over the first time and the second time (Lucey, [0065] note grouping similar plays together, such that when a query is made, only the “most-likely” candidates are retrieved. Comparisons can then be made locally amongst the candidates and each play in these groups are ranked in order of most similar, [0121] note Unsupervised approaches may include clustering, classification or the like. K-means clustering or K-Nearest Neighbors may also be used, which may be supervised or unsupervised. Combinations of K-Nearest Neighbors and an unsupervised cluster technique may also be used).
Claim 5: Lucey and Doken do not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising receiving the first tracking data from a first plurality of sensors, wherein each sensor of the first plurality of sensors is associated with a respective player of the first plurality of players.
However, Schnurr teaches this (Schnurr, [Col. 6 Lines 61-67]-[Col. 7 Lines 1-14] note information pertaining to real-world sporting events, such as play-by-play information of a football game, may be obtained through the use of a plurality of cameras, sensors, and/or other information trackers. Such information trackers may take the form of motion sensors embedded in a gameplay field/court/arena/area, and/or cameras (including 3D depth cameras, stereoscopic cameras, infrared cameras, etc.) mounted in and around the gameplay area and configured to monitor gameplay events. Additionally, information trackers (including, for example, RFID chips) may be worn by/embedded on real-world game players/coaches/officials, game balls and/or other objects, game landmarks, etc., and each may include a unique identifier, signature, and/or other method for specifying the unique entity with which the information tracker is associated. Information trackers may further comprise biometric sensors worn by each real-world game player/coach/official, and configured to measure one or more biometric parameters, including heart rate, respiration rate, blood pressure, metabolic rate, kilocalories burned, as well as any other suitable biometric information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the sports tracking of Lucy and Doken with the information trackers of Schnurr according to known methods (i.e. tracking player information using a plurality of sensors). Motivation for doing so is that sporting events are enhanced in a personalized manner (Schnurr, [Col. 1 Lines 54-55]).
Claim 11: Lucey and Doken teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising:
determining a set of historical plays associated with the second embedding data, the set of historical plays comprising the first historical play (Lucey, [0065] note grouping similar plays together, such that when a query is made, only the “most-likely” candidates are retrieved, [0096] note The system may present the sports tracking data and events in one or more of audio and/or text commentary 540, visualizations 545, similar plays 550, and play analysis 555).
Lucey and Doken do not explicitly teach determining a percentage of the set of historical plays that resulted in a successful outcome as determined using a first success metric; and causing first graphical data indicating the percentage to be rendered on a display.
However, Schnurr teaches this (Schnurr, [Fig. 3]-[Fig. 5], [Col. 8 Lines 25-29] note statistical data and/or predictions of aspects of a live-action sporting event may be included in an overlay that is visually presented simultaneously with a broadcast feed/video stream of the live-action sporting event, [Col. 11 Lines 1-14] note predictions that may be made for any given play may include, but are not limited to, a Redzone TD prediction that indicates a percent (%) chance that the next play, when in the redzone, will lead to touchdown, a Run vs Pass prediction that indicates a percent (%) chance that the next play will be a run or a pass, a Drive prediction that indicates where on the field (e.g., a particular yardage marker) a current drive is likely to end, a Yardage Gain/Loss prediction that indicates a number of yards the current play/drive is predicted to gain/lose, a 1st Down prediction that indicates a percent (%) chance that the current play will achieve a first down, and a Likely Target Prediction that indicates which player is likely to receive/carry the ball (or otherwise be involved) on the current play).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the sports tracking of Lucey and Doken with the predictions and overlay of Schnurr according to known methods (i.e. providing predictions overlaying a live broadcast feed or video stream). Motivation for doing so is that sporting events are enhanced in a personalized manner (Schnurr, [Col. 1 Lines 54-55]).
Claim 12: Lucey and Doken teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising:
determining, using the historical tracking data associated with the first historical play, a first trajectory associated with a first player (Luckey, [0054] note map the unstructured set U of N player trajectories to an ordered set (e.g., a vector) of K role-trajectories R. Each player trajectory itself may be an ordered set of positions Un=[xs,n]s=1S for an agent n∈[1, N] and a frame s∈[1, S]).
Lucey and Doken do not explicitly teach generating a graphical overlay representing, at least in part, the first trajectory; and causing the graphical overlay to be rendered on a display over a video feed of the first plurality of players.
However, Schnurr teaches this (Schnurr, [Fig. 3]-[Fig. 5], [Col. 8 Lines 25-29] note statistical data and/or predictions of aspects of a live-action sporting event may be included in an overlay that is visually presented simultaneously with a broadcast feed/video stream of the live-action sporting event, [Col. 15 Lines 27-30] note Detailed information object 400 may be visually presented in any suitable manner. In one example, detailed information object 400 may be visually presented as an overlay on video stream 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the sports tracking Lucey and Doken with the detailed information overlay of Schnurr according to known methods (i.e. providing detailed information overlaying a live broadcast feed or video stream). Motivation for doing so is that sporting events are enhanced in a personalized manner (Schnurr, [Col. 1 Lines 54-55]).
Claim 13: Lucey and Doken do not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving a live video feed of the first plurality of players; and causing the historical video data to be rendered on a display during the live video feed.
However, Schnurr teaches this (Schnurr, [Fig. 3]-[Fig. 5], [Col. 8 Lines 25-29] note statistical data and/or predictions of aspects of a live-action sporting event may be included in an overlay that is visually presented simultaneously with a broadcast feed/video stream of the live-action sporting event, [Col. 15 Lines 27-30] note Detailed information object 400 may be visually presented in any suitable manner. In one example, detailed information object 400 may be visually presented as an overlay on video stream 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the sports tracking of Lucey and Doken with the detailed information overlay of Schnurr according to known methods (i.e. providing detailed information overlaying a live broadcast feed or video stream). Motivation for doing so is that sporting events are enhanced in a personalized manner (Schnurr, [Col. 1 Lines 54-55]).
Claim 15: Lucey and Doken do not explicitly teach the system of claim 14, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable memory stores further instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are further effective to: receive the first tracking data from a first plurality of sensors, wherein each sensor of the first plurality of sensors is associated with a respective player of the first plurality of players.
However, Schnurr teaches this (Schnurr, [Col. 6 Lines 61-67]-[Col. 7 Lines 1-14] note information pertaining to real-world sporting events, such as play-by-play information of a football game, may be obtained through the use of a plurality of cameras, sensors, and/or other information trackers. Such information trackers may take the form of motion sensors embedded in a gameplay field/court/arena/area, and/or cameras (including 3D depth cameras, stereoscopic cameras, infrared cameras, etc.) mounted in and around the gameplay area and configured to monitor gameplay events. Additionally, information trackers (including, for example, RFID chips) may be worn by/embedded on real-world game players/coaches/officials, game balls and/or other objects, game landmarks, etc., and each may include a unique identifier, signature, and/or other method for specifying the unique entity with which the information tracker is associated. Information trackers may further comprise biometric sensors worn by each real-world game player/coach/official, and configured to measure one or more biometric parameters, including heart rate, respiration rate, blood pressure, metabolic rate, kilocalories burned, as well as any other suitable biometric information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the sports tracking of Lucy and Doken with the information trackers of Schnurr according to known methods (i.e. tracking player information using a plurality of sensors). Motivation for doing so is that sporting events are enhanced in a personalized manner (Schnurr, [Col. 1 Lines 54-55]).
Conclusion
/GIUSEPPI GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153