DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bok et al. [US PGPUB 20170269749] (hereinafter Bok).
Regarding claim 1 Bok teaches a micro light emitting diode (LED) display device, comprising:
a substrate (311, Para 76) including a display region (302, Fig. 3/4, –i.e., in view of LED 325 being in the region, Para 76) and pad region (303, Fig. 3/4, –i.e., in view of electrode 326);
a plurality of thin film transistors (313/318/320/321, Para 79, Fig. 4, –wherein each of sub-pixels of the display device 300 may include at least one thin film transistor (“TFT”) and at least one micro-LED, Para 75) on the substrate (Fig. 4);
a first insulating layer (322, Para 86) on the thin film transistors (Fig. 4) including a source electrode (320, Para 79) and a drain electrode (321, Para 79);
a plurality of micro light emitting diodes (LEDs) (325, 75/76, –wherein each of sub-pixels of the display device 300 may include at least one thin film transistor (“TFT”) and at least one micro-LED) on the first insulating layer (Fig. 1), each of the plurality of micro LEDs including a p type electrode (328, Para 94) and a n type electrode (Para 94);
a second insulating layer (323, Para 87) surrounding at least a portion of the micro LEDs (Fig. 4);
a pad (326, Para 89) disposed in the pad region of the substrate (Fig. 4); and
a buffer layer (335, Para 103) on the micro LEDs and at least a portion of the pad (Fig. 4);
wherein the p type electrode is electrically connected to the drain electrode of the thin film transistors (Para 88/94, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Bok teaches a micro LED display device wherein the substrate is flexible (Para 77).
Regarding claim 13, Bok teaches a micro LED display device wherein the substrate is transparent (Para 77).
Regarding claim 14, Bok teaches a micro LED display device wherein the thin film transistor has a structure of a top gate thin film transistor (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Bok teaches a micro LED display device wherein the thin film transistor includes a semiconductor layer (313, Para 81) and the semiconductor layer composed of an amorphous semiconductor (Para 81).
Regarding claim 16, Bok teaches a micro LED display device wherein the micro LED has a structure of a vertical structure micro LED (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok in view or Bibl et al. [US PGPUB 20140367633] (hereinafter Bibl).
Regarding claim 3, Bok teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
Bok does not specifically disclose a micro LED display device further comprising a protective film covering at least the portion of the micro LEDs.
Referring to the invention of Bibl, Bibl teaches optionally forming a protective film (407, Para 60) covering portions of the micro LEDs 400 (Para 60).
In view of such teaching by Bibl, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Bok comprise the teachings of Bibl to protect the micro LEDs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 is objected to because the prior arts of record and related prior arts fail to anticipate or render obvious the limitation of claim 2. Although individual elements of claim 2 may be found in one of more of the prior arts, none of the prior arts, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests the particularly claimed combination of individual elements or the relationship of the claimed individual elements. Wherein any combination of the prior arts to arrive at the claimed combination would be nothing short of impermissible hindsight.
Claim 4 is objected to because the prior arts of record and related prior arts fail to anticipate or render obvious the limitation of claim 4. Although individual elements of claim 4 may be found in one of more of the prior arts, none of the prior arts, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests the particularly claimed combination of individual elements or the relationship of the claimed individual elements. Wherein any combination of the prior arts to arrive at the claimed combination would be nothing short of impermissible hindsight.
Claims 5-7 are allowable based on their dependency on claim 4.
Claim 8 is objected to because the prior arts of record and related prior arts fail to anticipate or render obvious the limitation of claim 8. Although individual elements of claim 8 may be found in one of more of the prior arts, none of the prior arts, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests the particularly claimed combination of individual elements or the relationship of the claimed individual elements. Wherein any combination of the prior arts to arrive at the claimed combination would be nothing short of impermissible hindsight.
Claims 9-11 are allowable based on their dependency on claim 8.
Conclusion
/ISMAIL A MUSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812