DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is responsive to the Application filed on 9/25/2024. A filing date 9/25/2024 is acknowledged. The sought benefit of provisional application 63541820 (which was filed on 9/30/2023), provisional application 63541806 (which was filed on 9/30/2023), provisional application 63541815 (which was filed on 9/30/2023), is acknowledged. Claims 1-12 are pending in this application. Claims 1,11,12 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mark Zeinstra et al (US Publication 20150339031 A1, hereinafter Zeinstra), and in view of Peggy Wang et al (US Publication 20170052666 A1, hereinafter Wang), and Amy Dedonato et al (US Publication 20220269333 A1, hereinafter Dedonato).
As for independent claim 1, Zeinstra discloses: A method, comprising:
at a computer system that is in communication with a display component, a respective device ([0051], A remote system may be any system or device external to vehicle 100 capable of interacting with control system 106 via remote systems interface 154, one or more input devices, and a physical input mechanism ([0043], Primary display 162 may include one or more knobs, pushbuttons, and/or tactile user inputs; [0044], secondary display 164 may be a non-touch-sensitive display including one or more pushbuttons and/or tactile user inputs for selecting a displayed icon; [0073], A user may adjust the icons displayed on secondary display 164 via touch-based interaction (e.g., swiping a finger, touch-sensitive buttons, etc.), a control dial, knob, pushbuttons, or using any other tactile input mechanism): after displaying a respective user interface: in accordance with a determination that the computer system will not be moving within a predetermined period of time ([0060], Context module 132 may receive input data from a speed control or speed monitoring system indicating a current speed of vehicle 100; please note speed information indication may indicate the device is not moving), displaying, via the display component, a user interface object ([0038], cause one or more selectable icons to be displayed on the secondary display screen based on a vehicle context (e.g., status information, location information, or other contemporaneous information)); and in accordance with a determination that the computer system will be moving within the predetermined period of time ([0060], Context module 132 may receive input data from a speed control or speed monitoring system indicating a current speed of vehicle 100; please note speed information indication may indicate the device is moving), forgoing displaying the user interface object ([0038], cause one or more selectable icons to be displayed on the secondary display screen based on a vehicle context (e.g., status information, location information, or other contemporaneous information); please note certain icons may be hidden based on a vehicle context); while displaying the user interface object, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input directed to the user interface object ([0038], a garage door control icon may be displayed on the secondary display screen, thereby allowing the user to operate the garage door); and after detecting the first input directed to the user interface object, configuring the physical input mechanism to cause the respective device to perform a respective operation in response to detecting an input directed to the physical input mechanism ([0038], a garage door control icon may be displayed on the secondary display screen, thereby allowing the user to operate the garage door).
Zeinstra discloses displaying appropriate icons based on device context data including the speed data, but does not clearly disclose determining the device is moving or not moving, in an analogous art of providing control functions based on device state, Wang discloses: in accordance with a determination that the computer system will not be moving within a predetermined period of time, displaying, via the display component, a user interface object (Wang: [0038], personalized preferences may change depending on the status of the vehicle (e.g., whether the vehicle in on or off, whether the vehicle is in gear, etc). As an example, the data mining module 122 may generate a one set of suggested features for the vehicle when it is in a parked position (not moving) such as the option to read an electronic book. However, such a feature may not be suggested when the vehicle is in motion); and in accordance with a determination that the computer system will be moving within the predetermined period of time, forgoing displaying the user interface object ([0038], such a feature may not be suggested when the vehicle is in motion; please note when the vehicle is going to move, electronic book reading option is hidden);
Zeinstra and Wang are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, providing control functions based on device state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zeinstra using the teachings of Wang to include providing appropriate icons based on the vehicle is moving or not moving injection. It would provide Zeinstra’s method with enhanced capabilities of allowing user to access the appropriate control objects easily and efficiently.
Further, Zeinstra discloses physical input mechanism such as knob and pushbutton, but does not expressly disclose operate the device in response to the physical input mechanism, in another analogous art of controlling the device based on the detected state data, Dedonato discloses: configuring the physical input mechanism to cause the respective device to perform a respective operation in response to detecting an input directed to the physical input mechanism (Dedonato: [0099], a smartwatch that includes a touch-sensitive display 702, a rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704 (e.g., rotatable and depressible in relation to a housing or frame of the device); [0249], Such user inputs are optionally provided, for example, within a digital user interface, and/or via a physical button (e.g., button 706, depressible and rotatable input mechanism 704, etc.); [0260], user 1103 depresses rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704 (user input 1314), and electronic device 700 detects user input 1314 corresponding to depression and/or activation of the rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704);
Zeinstra and Dedonato are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, controlling the device based on the detected state data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zeinstra using the teachings of Dedonato to include using physical rotatable and depressible input mechanism to control device. It would provide Zeinstra’s method with enhanced capabilities of allowing user to control objects easily and efficiently.
As for claim 2, Zeinstra-Wang-Dedonato discloses: while the physical input mechanism is configured to cause the respective device to perform the respective operation, detecting a second input directed to the physical input mechanism; and in response to detecting the second input directed to the physical input mechanism, causing the respective device to perform the respective operation (Zeinstra: [0038], a garage door control icon may be displayed on the secondary display screen, thereby allowing the user to operate the garage door; Dedonato: [0099], a smartwatch that includes a touch-sensitive display 702, a rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704 (e.g., rotatable and depressible in relation to a housing or frame of the device); [0249], Such user inputs are optionally provided, for example, within a digital user interface, and/or via a physical button (e.g., button 706, depressible and rotatable input mechanism 704, etc.); [0260], user 1103 depresses rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704 (user input 1314), and electronic device 700 detects user input 1314 corresponding to depression and/or activation of the rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704).
As for claim 3, Zeinstra-Wang-Dedonato discloses: wherein the physical input mechanism is a rotatable input mechanism (Dedonato: [0099], a smartwatch that includes a touch-sensitive display 702, a rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704 (e.g., rotatable and depressible in relation to a housing or frame of the device); [0249], Such user inputs are optionally provided, for example, within a digital user interface, and/or via a physical button (e.g., button 706, depressible and rotatable input mechanism 704, etc.); [0260], user 1103 depresses rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704 (user input 1314), and electronic device 700 detects user input 1314 corresponding to depression and/or activation of the rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704).
As for claim 4, Zeinstra-Wang-Dedonato discloses: wherein the second input corresponds to a touch input on the physical input mechanism (Dedonato: [0099], a smartwatch that includes a touch-sensitive display 702, a rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704 (e.g., rotatable and depressible in relation to a housing or frame of the device); [0249], Such user inputs are optionally provided, for example, within a digital user interface, and/or via a physical button (e.g., button 706, depressible and rotatable input mechanism 704, etc.); [0260], user 1103 depresses rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704 (user input 1314), and electronic device 700 detects user input 1314 corresponding to depression and/or activation of the rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704).
As for claim 5, Zeinstra-Wang-Dedonato discloses: wherein the respective device is an actuator that adjusts a surface, and wherein causing the respective device to perform the respective operation includes causing the surface via the actuator to move from a first position to a second position (Zeinstra: [0005], displaying an animation sequence indicating that the garage door is opening or closing, wherein the animation sequence is displayed in response to a user selecting the garage door control icon).
As for claim 6, Zeinstra-Wang-Dedonato discloses: in accordance with a determination that a first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, causing the surface via the actuator to move from the first position to the second position includes causing the surface to open; and in accordance with a determination that a second set one or more of criteria is satisfied, causing the surface via the actuator to move from the first position to the second position includes causing the surface to close (Zeinstra: [0005], displaying an animation sequence indicating that the garage door is opening or closing, wherein the animation sequence is displayed in response to a user selecting the garage door control icon).
As for claim 7, Zeinstra-Wang-Dedonato discloses: in accordance with a determination that the user interface object is displayed on a first side of the respective user interface, the respective device is positioned on a first side; and
in accordance with a determination that the user interface object is displayed on a second side of the respective user interface, the respective device is positioned on a second side (Zeinstra: [0041], vehicle 100 includes a tertiary display. The tertiary display may provide an indication of one or more currently active vehicle contexts; please note the contexts may include the device position).
As for claim 8, Zeinstra-Wang-Dedonato discloses: while displaying the user interface object, detecting that the computer system transitions from a first state to a second state; and in response to detecting that the computer system transitioned from the first state to the second state, ceasing to display the user interface object (Wang: [0038], personalized preferences may change depending on the status of the vehicle (e.g., whether the vehicle in on or off, whether the vehicle is in gear, etc). As an example, the data mining module 122 may generate a one set of suggested features for the vehicle when it is in a parked position (not moving) such as the option to read an electronic book. However, such a feature may not be suggested when the vehicle is in motion; please note when determining the vehicle is changing from parked to motion, the electronic book reading option is ceasing to display).
As for claim 9, Zeinstra-Wang-Dedonato discloses: while the physical input mechanism is configured to cause the respective device to perform the respective operation, detecting that the computer system transitions from a third state to a fourth state; and in response to detecting that the computer system transitions from the third state to the fourth state, configuring the physical input mechanism to not cause the respective device to perform the respective operation in response to detecting input on the physical input mechanism (Dedonato: [0099], a smartwatch that includes a touch-sensitive display 702, a rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704 (e.g., rotatable and depressible in relation to a housing or frame of the device); [0249], Such user inputs are optionally provided, for example, within a digital user interface, and/or via a physical button (e.g., button 706, depressible and rotatable input mechanism 704, etc.); [0260], user 1103 depresses rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704 (user input 1314), and electronic device 700 detects user input 1314 corresponding to depression and/or activation of the rotatable and depressible input mechanism 704).
As for claim 10, Zeinstra-Wang-Dedonato discloses: while the physical input mechanism is configured to cause the respective device to perform the respective operation, detecting that the computer system transitions from a fifth state to a sixth state; in response to detecting that the computer system transitioned from the fifth state to the sixth state, configuring the physical input mechanism to not cause the respective device to perform the respective operation; while the physical input mechanism is configured to not cause the respective device to perform the respective operation, detecting a third input directed to the user interface object; and in response to detecting the third input, forgoing causing the respective device to perform the respective operation (Zeinstra: [0061], context module 132 and or control system 106 may prevent a driver from accessing passenger-specific applications; Wang: [0038], such a feature may not be suggested when the vehicle is in motion; please note when the vehicle is moving, certain functions will not be operated).
As per claim 11, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by claim 1, thus the rationales for rejecting claim 1 are incorporated herein.
As per claim 12, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by claim 1, thus the rationales for rejecting claim 1 are incorporated herein.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131(b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as “Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced” may be deemed insufficient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Applicants are required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Birdsall (US Publication 20210171334) SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR MANAGING REFUELING INTERACTIONS
Buttolo (US Publication 20160257198) IN-VEHICLE COMPONENT USER INTERFACE
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Hua Lu whose telephone number is 571-270-1410 and fax number is 571-270-2410. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott Baderman can be reached on 571-272-3644. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-273-8300.
/Hua Lu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118