DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9-10 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, “applying to vacuum device” should read --applying a vacuum device--.
In claim 10, “a cutting” should read --cutting--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high resolution” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high resolution” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “precise” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “precise” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manz et al. (US2017/0188664) hereinafter Manz.
Regarding claim 1, Manz teaches:
A method of manufacturing an article of apparel (abstract) comprising:
securing a first component to a support structure (Fig 15: carrier surface 22; [0272-0274]) coupled to an arm of a first multi-axis robot (23a-d: robot 36; [0290-0297]), the first component forming at least a portion of the article of apparel and having an external surface ([0272]);
disposing a second component (Fig 15: patches 10 cut from spools 5) on a surface of a receiving station (Fig 15: gripper 15), the second component comprising a material that has a first surface and an opposite surface (Fig 15), the opposite surface facing the surface of the receiving station (Fig 15);
attaching the first surface of the second component to the external surface of the first component by moving the arm of the multi-axis robot from a first position in which the first component is spaced apart from the second component to a second position in which the external surface of the first component is in contact with the opposite surface of the second component (Fig 15, Fig 23d; [0234-0248, 0272-0274]); and
moving the first component away from the receiving station with the second component attached to the external surface of the first component (Fig 15; [0274]).
Manz does not teach the second component comprising a material that has an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface facing the surface of the receiving station, and attaching the upper surface of the second component to the external surface of the first component by moving the arm of the multi-axis robot from a first position in which the first component is spaced apart from the second component to a second position in which the external surface of the first component is in contact with the upper surface of the second component.
However, this difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is merely due to the difference in orientations of the receiving stations, wherein the claimed surface of the receiving station is oriented facing up while the prior art surface of the receiving station is oriented facing down. In an alternative embodiment, Manz teaches a receiving station that is oriented facing up (Fig 12: gripper 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried the upward facing orientation for the receiving station as taught by the alternative embodiment of Manz and there would be a reasonable expectation of success since Manz teaches both upward and downward facing receiving stations.
Regarding claim 2, Manz teaches the method of claim 1.
Manz further teaches wherein the upper surface of the second component comprises a bonding material that secures the upper surface of the second component to the external surface of the first component upon contact ([0238-0247]) and the method comprises directing heat and/or radiation at the bonding material before moving the first component into contact with the second component ([0238-0247]).
Regarding claim 4, Manz teaches the method of claim 1.
Manz further teaches directing heat and/or radiation from a heating system toward the upper surface of the one or more receiving stations prior to or during the attaching of the upper surface of the second component to the external surface of the first component ([0238-0247]).
Regarding claim 7, Manz teaches the method of claim 1.
Manz further teaches wherein the upper surface of the receiving station is selected to restrict relative movement between the upper surface of the receiving station and respective lower surface of the second component when received thereon ([0283]).
Regarding claim 8, Manz teaches the method of claim 1.
Manz further teaches applying a suction force at the upper surface of the one or more receiving station to restrict movement of the second component on the surface of the receiving station ([0238]).
Regarding claim 9, Manz teaches the method of claim 8.
Manz further teaches wherein the application of the suction force is achieved by applying a vacuum device to a flexible housing of the receiving surface, the flexible housing being at least partially collapsible when an internal pressure of the flexible housing is reduced by the vacuum device ([0283-0289]).
Regarding claim 10, Manz teaches the method of claim 1.
Manz further teaches cutting out the second component from a material source before disposing the second component on the surface of the receiving station ([0279]).
Regarding claim 11, Manz teaches the method of claim 10.
Manz further teaches wherein the material source is a flexible roll material (roll 5).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jurkovic et al. (US2015/0201710 of record) hereinafter Jurkovic.
Regarding claim 3, Manz teaches the method of claim 1.
Manz further teaches capturing image information using one or more image devices ([0290-0291]).
Manz does not teach capturing image information from an area of the one or more receiving stations to identify a position and orientation of the second components when received on the receiving station.
In the same field of endeavor regarding apparel manufacture, Jurkovic teaches capturing image information from an area of a receiving station using one or more image devices to identify a position and orientation of a component for the motivation of determining position and orientation information of the component (Fig 6: vision system 124; [0060]).
It would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image information capturing step as taught by Manz with the image capturing as taught by Jurkovic in order to determine position and orientation information of the component.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manz as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hanson (US4598193 of record).
Regarding claim 5, Manz teaches the method of claim 4.
Manz does not teach moving the heating system between a first position and a second position, and the second position being an operating position in which the heating system can direct heat and/or radiation toward the upper surface of the one or more receiving stations and the first position is a non-operating position in which the heating system is spaced further away from the upper surface than in the second position.
In the same field of endeavor regarding apparel manufacture, Hanson teaches moving the heating system (Fig 1-2: heater member 82; col 4, ln 45-65; col 5, ln 35-45) between a first position (col 4, ln 45-65; col 5, ln 35-45) and a second position (Fig 1-2: operating station A), and the second position being an operating position in which the heating system can direct heat and/or radiation toward a shoe part and the first position is a non-operating position in which the heating system is spaced further away from the shoe part than in the second position (col 4, ln 45-65; col 5, ln 35-45) for the motivation of maintaining operating temperature at all times when the apparatus is in use (col 1, ln 6-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating system as taught by Manz to cycle between a parking and operating position as taught by Hanson in order to maintain operating temperature at all times when the apparatus is in use.
Regarding claim 6, Manz in view of Hanson teaches the method of claim 5.
Hanson further teaches wherein the heating system is coupled to one or more rail members and the heating system can move from the operating position to the non-operating position along the one or more rail members (Fig 1-2: rails 50, 48; col 4, ln 16-30).
Claim(s) 12-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manz in view of Jurkovic.
Regarding claim 12, Manz teaches:
A method of manufacturing an article of apparel (abstract) comprising:
securing a first component to a support structure (Fig 15: carrier surface 22; [0272-0274]) coupled to an arm of a first multi-axis robot (23a-d: robot 36; [0290-0297]), the first component forming at least a portion of the article of apparel and having an external surface ([0272]);
disposing a second component (Fig 15: patches 10 cut from spools 5) on a surface of a receiving station (Fig 15: gripper 15), the second component comprising a material that has a first surface and an opposite surface (Fig 15), the opposite surface facing the surface of the receiving station (Fig 15);
capturing image information using one or more image devices ([0290-0291]);
attaching the first surface of the second component to the external surface of the first component by moving the arm of the multi-axis robot from a first position in which the first component is spaced apart from the second component to a second position in which the external surface of the first component is in contact with the opposite surface of the second component (Fig 15; [0234-0248, 0272-0274]); and
moving the first component away from the receiving station with the second component attached to the external surface of the first component (Fig 15; [0274]).
Manz does not teach the second component comprising a material that has an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface facing the surface of the receiving station, and attaching the upper surface of the second component to the external surface of the first component by moving the arm of the multi-axis robot from a first position in which the first component is spaced apart from the second component to a second position in which the external surface of the first component is in contact with the upper surface of the second component.
However, this difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is merely due to the difference in orientations of the receiving stations, wherein the claimed surface of the receiving station is oriented facing up while the prior art surface of the receiving station is oriented facing down. In an alternative embodiment, Manz teaches a receiving station that is oriented facing up (Fig 12: gripper 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried the upward facing orientation for the receiving station as taught by the alternative embodiment of Manz and there would be a reasonable expectation of success since Manz teaches both upward and downward facing receiving stations.
Manz does not teach capturing image information from an area of the receiving station using one or more image devices to identify a position and orientation of the second component.
In the same field of endeavor regarding apparel manufacture, Jurkovic teaches capturing image information from an area of a receiving station using one or more image devices to identify a position and orientation of a component for the motivation of determining position and orientation information of the component (Fig 6: vision system 124; [0060]).
It would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image information capturing step as taught by Manz with the image capturing as taught by Jurkovic in order to determine position and orientation information of the component.
Regarding claim 13, Manz in view of Jurkovic teaches the method of claim 12.
Manz further teaches directing heat and/or radiation at a bonding material on the upper surface of the second component using a heating system ([0238-0247]).
Regarding claim 15, Manz in view of Jurkovic teaches the method of claim 12.
Jurkovic further teaches wherein the image devices include a high-resolution camera for precise identification of the second component's position and orientation ([0060]).
Regarding claim 16, Manz in view of Jurkovic teaches the method of claim 12.
Manz further teaches wherein the support structure is adjustable to accommodate different sizes and shapes of the first component ([0290]; the last 20 is position/orientation adjustable via robot 36. This adjustability allows components of different sizes and shapes to be manipulated).
Regarding claim 17, Manz in view of Jurkovic teaches the method of claim 12.
Manz further teaches wherein the support structure is a last ([0272]) and the first component is a component of an article of footwear ([0272]).
Regarding claim 18, Manz in view of Jurkovic teaches the method of claim 17.
Manz further teaches wherein the support structure is a last ([0272]) and the first component is an upper ([0272]).
Regarding claim 19, Manz in view of Jurkovic teaches the method of claim 17.
Manz further teaches wherein the support structure is a last and the first component is an article of footwear ([0272]).
Regarding claim 20, Manz in view of Jurkovic teaches the method of claim 12.
Manz further teaches wherein the second component is pre-treated with a bonding agent to enhance adhesion to the first component ([0239]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manz in view of Jurkovic as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Darland (US2015/0290893).
Regarding claim 14, Manz in view of Jurkovic teaches the method of claim 13.
Manz in view of Jurkovic does not teach wherein the heating system is configured to adjust the intensity of heat or radiation based on the material properties of the bonding material.
In the same field of endeavor regarding apparel manufacture, Darland teaches a heating system configured to adjust the intensity of heat or radiation based on the material properties of the bonding material for the motivation of altering whether the adhesive particulate achieves a melting temperature or does not melt in a given location ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating system as taught by Manz in view of Jurkovic with the selective heating as taught by Darland in order to alter whether the adhesive particulate achieves a melting temperature or does not melt in a given location.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741