DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination received 26 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sucan (US Pub. No. 2022/0073097).
As per Claim 1, Sucan discloses a method, comprising:
at a computer system (112, 300, 500) that is in communication (as per 310), with one or more output components (116, 306, 502) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 70-71, 77, 94-95):
receiving a request (as per “request” in ¶23) to navigate (as per 608) to a first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113);
in response to receiving the request (as per “request” in ¶23), initiating navigation (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113);
after initiating navigation (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111), navigating (as per 608), using sensor data (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53), to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113); and
while navigating (as per 608), using the sensor data (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53), to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) and in accordance with a determination that a set of one or more criteria is met (as per “Due to the presence of an obstacle 606 blocking the navigation path 608” in ¶112), wherein the set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is met when a determination is made that the sensor data (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53) used while navigating (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) is inadequate (as per “situations that may cause navigation issues for the vehicle navigation system and/or other vehicle systems” in ¶25, as per “Due to the presence of an obstacle 606 blocking the navigation path 608” in ¶112) to determine an upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C) for navigating (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111), requesting, via the one or more output components (116, 306, 502), user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139).
As per Claim 2, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan further discloses wherein the computer system (112, 300, 500) is in communication (as per 310) with one or more input devices (116, 306, 502) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 71, 77, 94-95), the method further comprising:
after requesting user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C), detecting, via the one or more input devices (116, 306, 502), an input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) corresponding to a path (622, 624, 626) in a representation of an intended traversal area (as per 621) for the upcoming maneuver (622, 624, 626) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139).
As per Claim 3, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan further discloses wherein the computer system (112, 300, 500) is in communication (as per 310) with one or more input devices (116, 306, 502) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 71, 77, 94-95), the method further comprising:
after requesting user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C), detecting, via the one or more input devices (116, 306, 502), an input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) corresponding to one or more points (as per “draw custom route 634” in ¶127) in a representation of an intended traversal area (as per 621) for the upcoming maneuver (622, 624, 626), wherein a path (as per custom route 634” in ¶127) for navigating to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) is generated based on the one or more points (as per “draw custom route 634” in ¶127) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139).
As per Claim 4, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan further discloses wherein the computer system (112, 300, 500) is in communication (as per 310) with one or more input devices (116, 306, 502) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 71, 77, 94-95), the method further comprising:
after requesting user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C), detecting, via the one or more input devices (116, 306, 502), a voice input (via microphone 150 in Fig. 1; as per “computing device 500 may include a microphone to receive vocal inputs and use speech recognition software to derive operations based on vocal inputs from the operator” in ¶96) corresponding to the upcoming maneuver (622, 624, 626), wherein a path (622, 624, 626) for navigating to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) is generated based on the voice input (via microphone 150 in Fig. 1; as per “computing device 500 may include a microphone to receive vocal inputs and use speech recognition software to derive operations based on vocal inputs from the operator” in ¶96) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139).
As per Claim 5, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan further discloses wherein the navigation (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) is initiated along a path (608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113).
As per Claim 6, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan further discloses wherein the navigation (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) is initiated along a path (608), and wherein the path (608) includes a portion (as per 608 excluding 610, 612, or 614) that does not require user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) to navigate through the portion (as per 608 excluding 610, 612, or 614) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139).
As per Claim 8, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan further discloses wherein the set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is met when a determination is made that the computer system (112, 300, 500) is not moving (as per “after being stranded in the same location for a threshold duration of time” in ¶115, as per “after a threshold duration of time has passed since the vehicle initially became stranded” in ¶133) and {within a threshold distance from the upcoming maneuver}.
As per Claim 9, Sucan further discloses wherein the computer system (112, 300, 500) is in communication (as per 310) with one or more input devices (116, 306, 502) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 71, 77, 94-95), wherein the set of one or more criteria is a first set of one or more criteria (as per “an obstacle 606 blocking the navigation path 608” in ¶112), the method further comprising:
after requesting user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C), detecting, via the one or more input devices (116, 306, 502), a set of one or more inputs (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) including one or more inputs (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (622, 624, 626) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139); and
in response to receiving the set of one or more inputs (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) including the one or more inputs (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (622, 624, 626) and in accordance with a determination that a path (as per one of 622, 624, 626) resulting from the set of one or more inputs (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) does not meet a second set of one or more criteria (as per “encountering an accident between other vehicles or road construction” in ¶25), requesting, via the one or more output components (116, 306, 502), user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139).
As per Claim 10, Sucan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (114, 304) storing one or more programs (115, 314A-C) configured to be executed by one or more processors (113, 302) of a computer system (112, 300, 500) that is in communication (as per 310) with one or more output components (116, 306, 502) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 57-58, 70-77, 94-95), the one or more programs (115, 314A-C) including instructions for:
receiving a request (as per “request” in ¶23) to navigate (as per 608) to a first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113);
in response to receiving the request (as per “request” in ¶23), initiating navigation (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113);
after initiating navigation (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111), navigating (as per 608), using sensor data (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53), to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113); and
while navigating (as per 608), using the sensor data (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53), to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) and in accordance with a determination that a set of one or more criteria is met (as per “Due to the presence of an obstacle 606 blocking the navigation path 608” in ¶112), wherein the set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is met when a determination is made that the sensor data (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53) used while navigating (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) is inadequate (as per “situations that may cause navigation issues for the vehicle navigation system and/or other vehicle systems” in ¶25, as per “Due to the presence of an obstacle 606 blocking the navigation path 608” in ¶112) to determine an upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C ) for navigating (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111), requesting, via the one or more output components (116, 306, 502), user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139).
As per Claim 11, Sucan discloses a computer system (112, 300, 500) that is in communication (as per 310) with one or more output components (116, 306, 502) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 70-71, 77, 94-95), the computer system (112, 300, 500) comprising:
one or more processors (113, 302) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 57-58, 70-77, 94-95); and
memory (114, 304) storing one or more programs (115, 314A-C) configured to be executed by the one or more processors (113, 302) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 57-58, 70-77, 94-95), the one or more programs (115, 314A-C) including instructions for:
receiving a request (as per “request” in ¶23) to navigate (as per 608) to a first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113);
in response to receiving the request (as per “request” in ¶23), initiating navigation (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113);
after initiating navigation (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111), navigating (as per 608), using sensor data (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53), to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113); and
while navigating (as per 608), using the sensor data (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53), to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) and in accordance with a determination that a set of one or more criteria is met (as per “Due to the presence of an obstacle 606 blocking the navigation path 608” in ¶112), wherein the set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is met when a determination is made that the sensor data (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53) used while navigating (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111) is inadequate (as per “situations that may cause navigation issues for the vehicle navigation system and/or other vehicle systems” in ¶25, as per “Due to the presence of an obstacle 606 blocking the navigation path 608” in ¶112) to determine an upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C ) for navigating (as per 608) to the first destination (as per “destination” in ¶23, 82, 92, 103, 111), requesting, via the one or more output components (116, 306, 502), user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139).
As per Claim 12, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan further discloses wherein the computer system (112, 300, 500) is in communication (as per 310) with one or more input devices (116, 306, 502) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 71, 77, 94-95), the method further comprising:
after requesting user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C), detecting, via the one or more input devices (116, 306, 502), an input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) corresponding to the upcoming maneuver (622, 624, 626) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139); and
in response to detecting the input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) corresponding to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C), changing navigation to the first destination (as per 608) in accordance with the input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) corresponding to the upcoming maneuver (622, 624, 626) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139).
As per Claim 13, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan further discloses wherein the computer system (112, 300, 500) is in communication (as per 310) with one or more input devices (116, 306, 502) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶39, 71, 77, 94-95), the method further comprising:
after requesting user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C), detecting, via the one or more input devices (116, 306, 502), an input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) corresponding to the upcoming maneuver (622, 624, 626) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139); and
in response to detecting the input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) corresponding to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C), outputting, via the one or more output components (116, 306, 502), a representation of the upcoming maneuver (622, 624, 626) as defined in the input corresponding to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 110-113, 124-129, 138-139).
As per Claim 14, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan further discloses wherein the computer system (112, 300, 500) is an electronic device (as per 113, 302) that includes the one or more output components (116, 306, 502) and one or more sensors (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53), and wherein the sensor data (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53) is detected via the one or more sensors (as per sensor system 104 in Fig. 1; as per “navigation/pathing system 142 may use data from sensor fusion … to navigate vehicle 100” in ¶53) (Figs. 1, 3, 5; ¶38-39, 44, 53, 57-58, 70-72, 77, 94-95).
As per Claim 15, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan further discloses wherein requesting user input (as per “selection of a particular navigation option” in ¶138) with respect to the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C) includes requesting, via the one or more output components (116, 306, 502), a definition (as per “modify one or more parameters” in ¶108, “approve or modify the proposed option” in ¶123, “option to modify one or mor parameters” in ¶136) of how to perform the upcoming maneuver (as per 622, 624, 626 in Fig. 6C) (Figs. 1, 5, 6A-C, 7; ¶23, 38, 53, 81-82, 92, 94, 103, 108, 110-113, 123-129, 136, 138-139).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sucan (US Pub. No. 2022/0073097) in view of Varoglu (US Pub. No. 2014/0309924).
As per Claim 7, Sucan discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Sucan does not expressly disclose wherein the set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is met when a determination is made that the computer system is within a first threshold distance from the first destination.
Varoglu discloses a navigation system used while traveling within a vehicle (100) to a specified destination (Fig. 1; ¶96). Until a transition event occurs, the navigation system causes a map (104) showing outdoor elements to be displayed (Fig. 1; ¶96). When the vehicle gets close enough to the destination, the navigation system transitions from the outdoor map (104) to an indoor map (106) of a parking structure (Fig. 1; ¶97). The navigation system presents the user with different possible indoor destinations (lots 1, 2, 3, 4) and the navigation system presents the user with available parking spots in accordance with the selected indoor destination (lot 1) (Fig. 2; ¶100-101). In this way, the system facilitates the finding of a suitable, available parking space (¶9). Like Sucan, Varoglu is concerned with vehicle data systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Sucan and Varoglu, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Varoglu to the system of Sucan since doing so would enhance the system by facilitating the finding of a suitable, available parking space. Applying the teachings of Varoglu to the system of Sucan would result in a system “wherein the set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is met when a determination is made that the computer system is within a first threshold distance from the first destination” in that the system of Sucan would be adapted to prompt the user for selection of parking options near the destination as per Varoglu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 August 2026 have been fully considered as follows.
Applicant argues that the claim objection should not be maintained in view of the amendments (page 6 of Amendment). This argument is persuasive in view of the amendments. Therefore, the objection is not maintained.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 112 should not be maintained in view of the amendments (page 6 of Amendment). This argument is persuasive in view of the amendments. Therefore, these rejections are not maintained.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 103 in view of Chowinac, Schunder, and Varoglu should not be maintained in view of the amendments (page 6-12 of Amendment). Upon further consideration of the amended claim language, rejections under 35 USC 103 in view of Chowinac, Schunder, and Varoglu are not maintained. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are moot. Please note that the amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakashima (US Pub. No. 2003/0033083), Drury (US Patent No. 6,707,421), Sham (US Pub. No. 2017/0144654), Chen (US Pub. No. 2020/0209845), and Poulet (US Pub. No. 2020/0348668) disclose vehicle data systems.
/STEPHEN HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656