2. Response to Election/Restriction filed on September 14, 2026, is acknowledged.
3. Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. It is noted that Applicants have not filed an information disclosure statementunder § 1.97(c). Applicant is reminded of 37 CFR § 1.56, which details Applicants dutyto disclose all information known to be material to patentability.
Please note: the specification refers to Non-patent literature (see paragraphs [0012]-[0022] of instant specification US 2025/0009848). This is not a proper way to disclose IDS. Applicant is required to properly disclose all information known to be material to patentability by filing an Information Disclosure Statement.
Priority
5. Applicant claims foreign priority to JAPAN 2018-176473 (9/20/2018). The certified copy has been received by the Office. However, a certified English translation has not been provided. Therefore, the foreign priority date has not been perfected. Thus, the priority date of instant application is 9/11/2019 until the foreign priority date is perfected.
Restriction
6. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-4 and 9-10) and food or drink composition for type of composition, enteric coated table as the species of formulation, and infertility as the cause/disease associated with the intrauterine bacterial flora in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged. Restriction is deemed to be proper and is made FINAL in this office action. Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. There appears to be a discrepancy with the species elected (food or drink and enteric coating). A search was conducted on the elected species, and prior art was found. Claims 3 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration, as being drawn to nonelected species. The Examiner Claims 1-2, 4 and 9 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Please note: claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration because enteric tablet or enteric capsules appear to be related to pharmaceutical composition.
Objections
Please note, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
7. Claims 2, 4 and 9 are objected to for the following: Claims 2-4 and 9-10 recite, “…to the above-described claim 1…” These should be corrected to recite, “…according to claim 1…”
8. Claim 4 is objected to for the following: Claim 4 does not end with a period. Applicant is required to correct this error.
9. Claims 1-2, 4 and 9 are objected to for the following: Claim numberings are in brackets. The usage of brackets in the claims is confusing because brackets and strikethroughs are used to delete recitation(s) in the claims. Applicant is required to correct this error.
Rejections
35 U.S.C. 112(b)
11. Claim 9 recites the limitation "disturbance in the intrauterine bacterial flora" in the claim, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 is dependent from claim 1. Claim 1 recites, “A method for improving bacterial flora in the uterus…” Claim 1 does not recite, “disturbance in the intrauterine bacterial flora”. Therefore, there is lack of antecedent basis.
U.S.C. 102/103
17. Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanaihara et al (Fertility and Sterility, 2007, 87(2): 279-282).
18. Yanaihara et al teach testing the levels of lactoferrin (LF) in follicular fluid (FF) as well as the correlation between the LF concentration of FF, fertilization rate, and embryo quality (see Objective). Yanaihara et al teach that the patients were 35 IVF patients, aged 25-34 years, and follicular fluid was obtained from these patients (see Patients). Yanaihara et al teach the following:
(p. 281, Discussion). Yanaihara et al teach that oral administration of bovine LF was found to elevate serum IL-18 concentration…shown to be differentially regulated by hormones in the tissue-specific manner…the LF levels of uterine epithelial cells and ovarian steroids positively correlate with circulating estrogen levels…It is thought that LF may be immunologically related to the reproductive process (see p. 281, left column, 2nd paragraph or 1st section reproduced above). Yanaihara et al teach that “LF may be related to fertilization rate and embryo quality…Oocytes with a high LF level in the FF had a significantly higher fertilization rate, and this resulted in higher-quality embryos…” (see p. 281, right column, 1st full paragraph or 2nd section reproduced above). The Examiner has interpreted the bovine LF as “food” composition. Thus, the reference meets the limitations of claims 1-2, 4 and 9.
19. As discussed above, the cited reference disclose an oral administration of bovine LF to 35 IVF patients, aged 25-34 years. The cited reference teaches that LF may be related to fertilization rate and embryo quality. Oocytes with a high LF level in the FF had a significantly higher fertilization rate, and this results in higher-quality embryos. Consequently, the claimed method appears to be anticipated by the reference.
20. In the alternative, even if the claimed method is not identical to the referenced method with regard to some unidentified characteristics, the differences between that which is disclosed and that which is claimed are considered to be so slight that the referenced method is likely to inherently possess the same characteristics of the claimed method particularly in view of the similar characteristics which they have been shown to share. Thus, the claimed method would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art with the meaning of U.S.C. 103.
21. Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole was at least prima facie obvious, if not anticipated by the reference, especially in the absence of sufficient, clear, and convincing evidence to the contrary.
22. With respect to the art rejection above, please note that Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether Applicants’ product differs and, if so, to what extent, from that of discussed references. Therefore, with the showing of the references, the burden of establishing non-obviousness by objective evidence is shifted to the Applicants.
ART OF INTEREST
23. Hashem et al (Biomedical Journal of Scientific & Technical Research, 2021, 29787-29799) teach
(see p. 29795, left column, 1st paragraph of Discussion).
24. Abdel Baky et al (Clin. Exp. Reproduc. Med., 2026, pp. 1-10) teach that lactoferrin treatment ameliorates endometriosis-associated subfertility in a rat model (see Title, Results on p. 1; Discussion on pp. 5-9, and throughout the reference). This is a post filing date reference.
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
/JULIE HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
10/02/2026