DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 09/25/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-49 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Oath/Declaration
Oath has not been filed.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 09/25/2024 is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 45-46 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 45,
The recitation “a first internal volume” in line 2 is considered vague because it’s unclear regarding what structure comprises a first internal volume. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 42 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martiskainen et al (US 20080180333), hereinafter Martiskainen.
Regarding claim 42,
Martiskainen discloses an antenna assembly (a device 10, Fig 1) comprising:
a case (a housing H, Fig 1) comprising:
a body portion (an enclosure 11, Fig 1); and
a door (a lid L, Fig 1) pivotably coupled to the body portion;
a first ground plane (a section 29 of ground plane 21, Fig 2A) coupled to the body portion;
a second ground plane (a section 28 of ground plane 21, Fig 2A; “A section 29 of the ground plane is galvanically connected to section 28” paragraph [0153]) coupled to the door; and
a multi-band multi-element antenna (a multi-band antenna 20, Fig 1) comprising:
at least one multi-band radiating element (a radiating element includes an element 30 and an element 34, Fig 2A) coupled to a top side of the first ground plane (Fig 2A).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (L)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (H)][AltContent: textbox (Martiskainen (US 20080180333))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (34HOR)][AltContent: textbox (34UP)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Martiskainen (US 20080180333))]
Regarding claim 49,
Martiskainen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 42.
Martiskainen teaches the at least one multi-band radiating element comprises:
a feeding portion (a feed zone 40, Fig 2A);
a grounding portion (a region 46, Fig 2A);
an upright low band radiation portion (a section 34UP, Fig 2A);
a second low band radiation portion (a section 34HOR, Fig 2A); and
a high band radiation portion (a section 33, Fig 2A).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12-13, 45 and 48, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martiskainen et al (US 20080180333), hereinafter Martiskainen.
Regarding claim 1,
Martiskainen discloses an antenna assembly (a device 10, Fig 1) comprising:
a case (a housing H, Fig 1) comprising:
a body portion (an enclosure 11, Fig 1); and
a door (a lid L, Fig 1) pivotably coupled to the body portion;
a first ground plane (a section 29 of ground plane 21, Fig 2A) coupled to the body portion (Fig 1); and
a multi-band multi-element antenna (a multi-band antenna 20, Fig 1) comprising:
at least one multi-band radiating element (a radiating element includes an element 30 and an element 34, Fig 2A) coupled to a top side of the first ground plane (Fig 2A).
Martiskainen does not explicitly teach the first ground plane dividing the case into a first internal volume and a second internal volume.
However, Martiskainen teaches operational elements of the device 10 are mounted inside enclosure 11, and components of transceiver 14 are mounted on substrate 22 which comprises ground plane 21 (Fig 1; paragraph [0150]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art considering section 29 may divide enclosure 11 into a first internal volume in front of section 29 and a second internal volume on the back of section 29.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first ground plane dividing a case into a first internal volume and a second internal volume in Martiskainen, in order provide an efficient multi-band antenna.
Regarding claim 12,
Martiskainen as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Martiskainen does not explicitly teach an internal modem and a battery housed within the first internal volume.
However, Martiskainen teaches substrate 22 is a planar dielectric substrate for a multilayer printed circuit board (PCB) 12, and components of transceiver 14 are mounted on the substrate (Fig 1; paragraph [0150]). It’s well known in the art that an internal modem and a battery are mounted a printed circuit board, and housed in an enclosure of a phone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an internal modem and a battery housed within a first internal volume in Martiskainen as modified, in order provide an efficient multi-band antenna.
Regarding claim 13,
Martiskainen as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Martiskainen teaches the at least one multi-band radiating element comprises:
a feeding portion (a feed zone 40, Fig 2A);
a grounding portion (a region 46, Fig 2A);
an upright low band radiation portion (a section 34UP, Fig 2A);
a second low band radiation portion (a section 34HOR, Fig 2A); and
a high band radiation portion (a section 33, Fig 2A).
Regarding claim 45,
Martiskainen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 42.
Martiskainen teaches the door is configured to move between an open configuration, where an enclosure 11 is accessible (Fig 1), and a closed configuration (Fig 1), where the enclosure 11 is sealed (Fig 1).
Martiskainen does not explicitly teach the enclosure 11 has a first internal volume.
However, Martiskainen teaches operational elements of the device 10 are mounted inside enclosure 11, and components of transceiver 14 are mounted on substrate 22 which comprises ground plane 21 (Fig 1; paragraph [0150]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art considering section 29 may divide enclosure 11 into a first internal volume in front of section 29 and a second internal volume on the back of section 29.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a door being configured to move between an open configuration, where a first internal volume being accessible, and a closed configuration, where the first internal volume being sealed in Martiskainen, in order provide an efficient multi-band antenna.
Regarding claim 48,
Martiskainen as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 45.
Martiskainen does not explicitly teach an internal modem and a battery housed within the first internal volume.
However, Martiskainen teaches substrate 22 is a planar dielectric substrate for a multilayer printed circuit board (PCB) 12, and components of transceiver 14 are mounted on the substrate (Fig 1; paragraph [0150]). It’s well known in the art that an internal modem and a battery are mounted a printed circuit board, and housed in an enclosure of a phone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an internal modem and a battery housed within a first internal volume in Martiskainen as modified, in order provide an efficient multi-band antenna.
Claims 2, 4 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martiskainen et al (US 20080180333), hereinafter Martiskainen, in view of Wang et al (US 20130082893), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 2,
Martiskainen as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Martiskainen does not teach a second ground plane and a third ground plane configured to be in contact with the first ground plane.
However, Wang teaches an antenna assembly (an array 250, Fig 2B) comprises a second ground plane (a ground plane 252a, Fig 2B) and a third ground plane (a ground plane 272a, Fig 2B) configured to be in contact with a first ground plane (a backplane 258, Fig 2B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second ground plane and a third ground plane configured to be in contact with a first ground plane in Martiskainen as modified, as taught by Wang, in order to provide an antenna assembly having broadband capability.
[AltContent: textbox (Wang (US 20130082893))]
Regarding claim 4,
Martiskainen as modified in view of Wang discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Wang teaches the second ground plane and the third ground plane are substantially orthogonal to a top side of the first ground plane (Fig 2B).
Regarding claim 43,
Martiskainen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 42.
Martiskainen does not teach a third ground plane, wherein at least one of the second and third ground planes is configured to be in contact with the first ground plane.
However, Wang teaches an antenna assembly (an array 250, Fig 2B) comprises a third ground plane (a ground plane 272a, Fig 2B), wherein at least one of a second ground plane (a ground plane 252a, Fig 2B) and the third ground plane is configured to be in contact with a first ground plane (a backplane 258, Fig 2B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna assembly comprising a third ground plane, wherein at least one of second and third ground planes being configured to be in contact with a first ground plane in Martiskainen, as taught by Wang, in order to provide an antenna assembly having broadband capability.
Regarding claim 44,
Martiskainen in view of Wang discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 43.
Wang teaches the second ground plane and the third ground plane are substantially orthogonal to a top side of the first ground plane.
Claims 9-10 and 46, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martiskainen et al (US 20080180333), hereinafter Martiskainen, in view of Chen et al (US 20100206523), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 9,
Martiskainen as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Martiskainen does not teach the housing H (the case) comprising an inlet vent and an exhaust vent, the inlet vent configured to allow fluid to enter the first internal volume, the exhaust vent configured to allow fluid to exit the first internal volume.
However, Chen teaches an antenna assembly (an antenna system 10, Fig 1) comprises a case (a radome 20, Fig 1) comprises an inlet vent (an inlet port 28, Fig 2) and an exhaust vent (an outlet port 30, Fig 2), the inlet vent configured to allow fluid to enter an internal volume (internal layers 24, Fig 2), the exhaust vent configured to allow fluid to exit the internal volume (Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a case comprising an inlet vent and an exhaust vent, the inlet vent configured to allow fluid to enter a first internal volume, the exhaust vent configured to allow fluid to exit the first internal volume in Martiskainen as modified, as taught by Chen, in order to provide an internal cooling system that may increase heat dissipation, and dissipate heat from relatively hot layers of the radome nearest the heat source (such as an antenna).
[AltContent: textbox (Chen (US 20100206523))]
[AltContent: textbox (Chen (US 20100206523))]
Regarding claim 10,
Martiskainen as modified in view of Chen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 9.
Martiskainen as modified does not teach a first rain hood extending over the inlet vent and a second rain hood extending over the exhaust vent.
However, it’s well known in the art that an internal cooling system may comprise a rain hood extending over an inlet port or an outlet port.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first rain hood extending over an inlet vent and a second rain hood extending over an exhaust vent in Martiskainen as modified, in order to provide an internal cooling system that may increase heat dissipation, and dissipate heat from relatively hot layers of the radome nearest the heat source (such as an antenna).
Regarding claim 46,
Martiskainen as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 45.
Martiskainen does not teach the housing H (the case) comprising an inlet vent and an exhaust vent, the inlet vent configured to allow fluid to enter the first internal volume, the exhaust vent configured to allow fluid to exit the first internal volume.
However, Chen teaches an antenna assembly (an antenna system 10, Fig 1) comprises a case (a radome 20, Fig 1) comprises an inlet vent (an inlet port 28, Fig 2) and an exhaust vent (an outlet port 30, Fig 2), the inlet vent configured to allow fluid to enter an internal volume (internal layers 24, Fig 2), the exhaust vent configured to allow fluid to exit the internal volume (Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a case comprising an inlet vent and an exhaust vent, the inlet vent configured to allow fluid to enter a first internal volume, the exhaust vent configured to allow fluid to exit the first internal volume in Martiskainen as modified, as taught by Chen, in order to provide an internal cooling system that may increase heat dissipation, and dissipate heat from relatively hot layers of the radome nearest the heat source (such as an antenna).
Claims 11 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martiskainen et al (US 20080180333), hereinafter Martiskainen, in view of Wang et al (US 20130082893), hereinafter Wang, and Migliorino et al (US 20210226316), hereinafter Migliorino.
Regarding claim 11,
Martiskainen as modified in view of Wang discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Martiskainen as modified does not teach the second ground plane is configured to act as a heatsink for the antenna assembly.
However, Migliorino teaches an antenna assembly (an antenna structure 100, Fig 1A) comprises ground plane 104 and heatsink portions 140a and 140b (Fig 1A), wherein ground plane 104 coupled to heatsink portions 140a and 140b to dissipate additional thermal energy and further improve thermal performance (Fig 1A; paragraph [0048])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second ground plane being configured to act as a heatsink for an antenna assembly in Martiskainen as modified, as taught by Migliorino, in order to enhance antenna properties.
[AltContent: textbox (Migliorino (US 20210226316))]
Regarding claim 47,
Martiskainen in view of Wang discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 43.
Martiskainen as modified does not teach at least one of the first, second, and third ground planes is configured to act as a heatsink for the antenna assembly.
However, Migliorino teaches an antenna assembly (an antenna structure 100, Fig 1A) comprises ground plane 104 and heatsink portions 140a and 140b (Fig 1A), wherein ground plane 104 coupled to heatsink portions 140a and 140b to dissipate additional thermal energy and further improve thermal performance (Fig 1A; paragraph [0048])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one of first, second, and third ground planes being configured to act as a heatsink for an antenna assembly in Martiskainen as modified, as taught by Migliorino, in order to enhance antenna properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the second ground plane is coupled to the body portion within the first internal volume and the third ground plane is coupled to the door”.
Dependent claims 5-8 are considered to be allowable by virtue of its/their dependency/dependencies on claim 3.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845