DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the amendments/arguments filed on 07/24/2026. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are currently pending in the application. It is noted that claims 2, 9, and 16 have been cancelled from the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that DUNJIC et al. (US. 20230060707) does not disclose the limitation of “receiving, by the first computing system, an acceptance packet from the application executed on the user device, the acceptance packet comprising a recipient ID and indicating that the desired data transfer is accepted…” as recited in former claims, 2, 9, and 15 of the application which is now incorporated into independent claims 1, 8, and 15. It was specifically argued that DUNJIC does not disclose and intermediate approval and confirmation step before initiating and completing a data transfer. This argument is not persuasive because DUNJIC discloses the aforementioned limitations in paragraphs 43-44, and 138-140 as cited in the last office action. In paragraphs 43-44, the database management system receives the transfer message, identifies the affected account, and sends a notification which includes a selectable option to authorize the transfer to a client device associated with the identified account. The notification sent by the database management system serves as the claimed acceptance packet which is a confirmation/acknowledgement that the message has been received before authorizing the transfer. The database management system provides intermediate approval and confirmation step before initiating and completing a data transfer. Applicant is silent about these paragraphs.
Regarding paragraphs 138-140 cited in the last office action, acceptance condition
feature 816 provides the claimed intermediate approval and confirmation step before
completing a data transfer. The acceptance condition feature 816 indicates an acceptance conditions which the recipient must be satisfied before completing the transfer. When the conditions are satisfied and confirmed by the confirmation element 824, the data/fund is transferred. Applicant’s arguments/amendments have not shown distinct features of his invention from the applied prior arts and consequently, the examiner hereby upholds the earlier rejections of former claim 2 which is now incorporated into independent claims of the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 3-4 can no longer depend on claim 2, because claim 2 has been cancelled. Likewise, claims 10-11 can no longer depend on claim 9 since claim 9 has been cancelled, and claims 17-18 can no longer depend on claim 16 because claim 16 has been cancelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, and 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PGPub. No. 20230060707 to DUNJIC et al. (hereinafter DUNJIC) in view of PGPub. No. 20210365942 to Williams; Otto (hereinafter Williams).
Regarding claim 1, DUNJIC discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a first computing system, a transfer request from an
application executed on a user device, the transfer request comprising a sender identifier (ID) (¶0027, “The method may include receiving, from a second computing system, a transfer message for a transfer between the first account associated with the first computing system and a second account associated with the second computing system, the transfer message including routing data, an amount of resources to be transferred, and a condition associated with the transfer;…”), (¶0030, “ a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising processor-executable instructions which, when executed, configure a processor to: receive, from a second computing system, a transfer message for a transfer between the first account associated with the first computing system and a second account associated with the second computing system, the transfer message including routing data, an amount of resources to be transferred, and a condition associated with the transfer; evaluate the condition associated with the data transfer based on a comparison between data included in the transfer message and one or more parameters associated with the first account; and when the condition is determined to be satisfied, complete the transfer.”), (¶0037, “A request to transfer is a message that is sent on behalf of a recipient to initiate a transfer from a sender to the recipient. That is, the request to transfer is sent, on behalf of the recipient, from the database management system associated with the recipient to the database management system associated with the sender. The request to transfer requests a transfer from a record in the database that is associated with the sender to a record in the database that is associated with the recipient. The request to transfer includes one or more identifiers that identify the record associated with the sender and/or the record associated with the recipient. The identifier(s) may be or include an account number. The request to transfer may also include one or more identifiers that identify the database management system associated with the sender and/or that identify the database management system associated with the recipient. Such identifiers may be or include one or more of: a transit number and an institution number.”) and indicating a desired data transfer (¶0095-¶0103, “…identification information of the type of data transfer proposal (e.g. payment, or request for payment)…”);
accessing, by the first computing system, a second computing system
to verify data associated with the desired data transfer comprised in a first data store of the second computing system and associated with the sender ID (¶0037, “… the request to transfer is sent, on behalf of the recipient, from the database management system associated with the recipient to the database management system associated with the sender. The request to transfer requests a transfer from a record in the database that is associated with the sender to a record in the database that is associated with the recipient. The request to transfer includes one or more identifiers that identify the record associated with the sender and/or the record associated with the recipient…”), (¶0104, “The data store 600 may further store data regarding an account holder in a user account object 604. A user account object 604 may be a data structure and may include details regarding an individual or entity holding an account or other logical storage area. Example details include a user account identifier indicating a particular person or entity, identification information (e.g. first and last name), an alias (e.g. email address, phone number), contact information (e.g. home address), date of birth, date of incorporation, and sign in or authentication credentials (e.g. user name, password, access card number). The account holder may be or represent a transferor, recipient, payor, payee, customer or user.”), (¶0042, “…the database management system that receives the request to transfer message may be configured to execute a process for obtaining authorization to complete a transfer in response to receiving the request to transfer... Authorization may, for example, require authenticated approval using a credential such as one or more of a username, password, biometric authentication data or other credential.”), (¶0148, “…The remote device transmits to the recipient system a request for payment instruction with respect to the request for payment. The instruction is received by the recipient system via the request for payment interface 1000, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The request for payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferee’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”);
in response to verifying the data comprised in the first data store associated with the sender ID:
generating, by the first computing system, a transfer approval for the desired data transfer (¶0042, “…the database stores account data for a plurality of accounts and a database management system will only allow a transfer out of an account if the transfer is authorized by an authorization entity for that account, such as an account holder. Authorization may, for example, require authenticated approval using a credential such as one or more of a username, password, biometric authentication data or other credential.”), (¶0030, “…the transfer message including routing data, an amount of resources to be transferred, and a condition associated with the transfer; evaluate the condition associated with the data transfer based on a comparison between data included in the transfer message and one or more parameters associated with the first account; and when the condition is determined to be satisfied, complete the transfer.”), see also ¶0142;
transmitting, by the first computing system, the transfer approval for the desired data transfer to the application executed on the user device (¶0139-¶0140, “The remote device transmits to the transferor system a payment instruction with respect to the payment. The instruction is received by the transferor system via the money transfer interface 800, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferor’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition…”), (¶0142, “When the payment instruction is received by the transferor system, the transferor system may transmit a payment message including the payment details to the recipient system. The recipient system may then process the payment message according to the method 700 of FIG. 7. If the condition is satisfied, the indicated amount may be transferred from the transferor’s account to the account specified in the routing data.”);
receiving, by the first computing system, an acceptance packet from the application executed on the user device, the acceptance packet comprising a recipient ID and indicating that the desired data transfer is accepted (¶0138-¶0139, “the deposit or acceptance condition feature 816 may be used to indicate an acceptance condition whereby the first operand is “recipient name”, the operand is “matches”, and the second operand is “John Doe”, which may be evaluated by a second system to confirm that “John Doe” is the account holder of the account specified in the routing data…The remote device transmits to the transferor system a payment instruction with respect to the payment. The instruction is received by the transferor system via the money transfer interface 800, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferor’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”), (¶0043-¶0044, “…The notification may include a selectable option to authorize the transfer… The notification may allow the transfer to be made without requiring input of one or more parameters that are typically required when a transfer is initiated by the sender rather than the recipient…”);
transmitting, by the first computing system, transfer data indicating that the data associated with the desired data transfer is to be transferred from the first data store to a second data store, the second data store associated with the recipient ID (¶0037, “…the request to transfer is sent, on behalf of the recipient, from the database management system associated with the recipient to the database management system associated with the sender. The request to transfer requests a transfer from a record in the database that is associated with the sender to a record in the database that is associated with the recipient. The request to transfer includes one or more identifiers that identify the record associated with the sender and/or the record associated with the recipient. The identifier(s) may be or include an account number. The request to transfer may also include one or more identifiers that identify the database management system associated with the sender and/or that identify the database management system associated with the recipient. Such identifiers may be or include one or more of: a transit number and an institution number.”);
receiving, by the first computing system, a confirmation packet from the second computing system, the confirmation packet indicating that the desired data transfer has been completed (¶0142, “When the payment instruction is received by the transferor system, the transferor system may transmit a payment message including the payment details to the recipient system. The recipient system may then process the payment message according to the method 700 of FIG. 7. If the condition is satisfied, the indicated amount may be transferred from the transferor’s account to the account specified in the routing data.”); and
transmitting, by the first computing system, the confirmation packet to the application executed on the user device (¶0139, “The remote device transmits to the transferor system a payment instruction with respect to the payment. The instruction is received by the transferor system via the money transfer interface 800, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferor’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”), (¶0148, “The remote device transmits to the recipient system a request for payment instruction with respect to the request for payment. The instruction is received by the recipient system via the request for payment interface 1000, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The request for payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferee’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”).
However, DUNJIC does not explicitly disclose accessing, by the first computing system,
a second computing system via an application programming interface (API) to verify data associated with the desired data transfer comprised in a first data store of the second computing system,
Williams discloses accessing, by the first computing system,
a second computing system via an application programming interface (API) to verify data associated with the desired data transfer comprised in a first data store of the second computing system and associated with the sender ID (¶0049-¶0052, “…The verification request message (also referred to as “a verification request”) may be in any suitable format. The verification request message can be transmitted from the server computer 108 to the wallet aggregator computer 110 via any suitable application programming interface (API) call. In some embodiments, the server computer 108 may store particular API calls to be utilized to transmit verification requests to particular wallet providers. The verification request message may request the wallet aggregator computer 110 to verify the receiver's information, such as mobile number and name. The verification request may also indicate and/or include a request for the receiver's account identifier (e.g., a PAN associated with the receiver 104).”):
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC to include accessing a computer system via API to verify data as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order to increase the security of the system and thereby prevent fraudulent data transfer.
Regarding claim 8, DUNJIC discloses a first computing system for performing anonymous data transfers (abstract, “a transfer message for a transfer between a first account associated with a first computing system and a second account associated with the second computing system), the system comprising:
one or more processors (¶0031, “computer-readable medium storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, are to cause the one or more processors to carry out at least some of the operations of a method described herein.”); and
a computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations to (¶0031, “the present application discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, are to cause the one or more processors to carry out at least some of the operations of a method described herein.”):
receive, by the first computing system, a transfer request from an application executed on a user device, the transfer request comprising a sender identifier (ID) and indicating a desired data transfer (¶0027, “The method may include receiving, from a second computing system, a transfer message for a transfer between the first account associated with the first computing system and a second account associated with the second computing system, the transfer message including routing data, an amount of resources to be transferred, and a condition associated with the transfer;…”), (¶0030, “ a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising processor-executable instructions which, when executed, configure a processor to: receive, from a second computing system, a transfer message for a transfer between the first account associated with the first computing system and a second account associated with the second computing system, the transfer message including routing data, an amount of resources to be transferred, and a condition associated with the transfer; evaluate the condition associated with the data transfer based on a comparison between data included in the transfer message and one or more parameters associated with the first account; and when the condition is determined to be satisfied, complete the transfer.”), (¶0037, “A request to transfer is a message that is sent on behalf of a recipient to initiate a transfer from a sender to the recipient. That is, the request to transfer is sent, on behalf of the recipient, from the database management system associated with the recipient to the database management system associated with the sender. The request to transfer requests a transfer from a record in the database that is associated with the sender to a record in the database that is associated with the recipient. The request to transfer includes one or more identifiers that identify the record associated with the sender and/or the record associated with the recipient. The identifier(s) may be or include an account number. The request to transfer may also include one or more identifiers that identify the database management system associated with the sender and/or that identify the database management system associated with the recipient. Such identifiers may be or include one or more of: a transit number and an institution number.”) and indicating a desired data transfer (¶0095-¶0103, “…identification information of the type of data transfer proposal (e.g. payment, or request for payment)…”);
access, by the first computing system, a second computing system to verify data associated with the desired data transfer comprised in a first data store of the second computing system and associated with the sender ID (¶0037, “… the request to transfer is sent, on behalf of the recipient, from the database management system associated with the recipient to the database management system associated with the sender. The request to transfer requests a transfer from a record in the database that is associated with the sender to a record in the database that is associated with the recipient. The request to transfer includes one or more identifiers that identify the record associated with the sender and/or the record associated with the recipient…”), (¶0104, “The data store 600 may further store data regarding an account holder in a user account object 604. A user account object 604 may be a data structure and may include details regarding an individual or entity holding an account or other logical storage area. Example details include a user account identifier indicating a particular person or entity, identification information (e.g. first and last name), an alias (e.g. email address, phone number), contact information (e.g. home address), date of birth, date of incorporation, and sign in or authentication credentials (e.g. user name, password, access card number). The account holder may be or represent a transferor, recipient, payor, payee, customer or user.”), (¶0042, “…the database management system that receives the request to transfer message may be configured to execute a process for obtaining authorization to complete a transfer in response to receiving the request to transfer... Authorization may, for example, require authenticated approval using a credential such as one or more of a username, password, biometric authentication data or other credential.”), (¶0148, “…The remote device transmits to the recipient system a request for payment instruction with respect to the request for payment. The instruction is received by the recipient system via the request for payment interface 1000, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The request for payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferee’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”);
in response to verifying the data comprised in the first data store associated with the sender ID:
generate, by the first computing system, a transfer approval for the desired data transfer (¶0042, “…the database stores account data for a plurality of accounts and a database management system will only allow a transfer out of an account if the transfer is authorized by an authorization entity for that account, such as an account holder. Authorization may, for example, require authenticated approval using a credential such as one or more of a username, password, biometric authentication data or other credential.”), (¶0030, “…the transfer message including routing data, an amount of resources to be transferred, and a condition associated with the transfer; evaluate the condition associated with the data transfer based on a comparison between data included in the transfer message and one or more parameters associated with the first account; and when the condition is determined to be satisfied, complete the transfer.”), see also ¶0142;
transmit, by the first computing system, the transfer approval for the desired data transfer to the application executed on the user device (¶0139-¶0140, “The remote device transmits to the transferor system a payment instruction with respect to the payment. The instruction is received by the transferor system via the money transfer interface 800, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferor’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition…”), (¶0142, “When the payment instruction is received by the transferor system, the transferor system may transmit a payment message including the payment details to the recipient system. The recipient system may then process the payment message according to the method 700 of FIG. 7. If the condition is satisfied, the indicated amount may be transferred from the transferor’s account to the account specified in the routing data.”);
receive, by the first computing system, an acceptance packet from the application executed on the user device, the acceptance packet comprising a recipient ID and indicating that the desired data transfer is accepted (¶0138-¶0139, “the deposit or acceptance condition feature 816 may be used to indicate an acceptance condition whereby the first operand is “recipient name”, the operand is “matches”, and the second operand is “John Doe”, which may be evaluated by a second system to confirm that “John Doe” is the account holder of the account specified in the routing data…The remote device transmits to the transferor system a payment instruction with respect to the payment. The instruction is received by the transferor system via the money transfer interface 800, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferor’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”), (¶0043-¶0044, “…The notification may include a selectable option to authorize the transfer… The notification may allow the transfer to be made without requiring input of one or more parameters that are typically required when a transfer is initiated by the sender rather than the recipient…”);
transmit, by the first computing system, transfer data indicating that the data associated with the desired data transfer is to be transferred from the first data store to a second data store, the second data store associated with the recipient ID (¶0037, “…the request to transfer is sent, on behalf of the recipient, from the database management system associated with the recipient to the database management system associated with the sender. The request to transfer requests a transfer from a record in the database that is associated with the sender to a record in the database that is associated with the recipient. The request to transfer includes one or more identifiers that identify the record associated with the sender and/or the record associated with the recipient. The identifier(s) may be or include an account number. The request to transfer may also include one or more identifiers that identify the database management system associated with the sender and/or that identify the database management system associated with the recipient. Such identifiers may be or include one or more of: a transit number and an institution number.”);
receive, by the first computing system, a confirmation packet from the second computing system, the confirmation packet indicating that the desired data transfer has been completed (¶0142, “When the payment instruction is received by the transferor system, the transferor system may transmit a payment message including the payment details to the recipient system. The recipient system may then process the payment message according to the method 700 of FIG. 7. If the condition is satisfied, the indicated amount may be transferred from the transferor’s account to the account specified in the routing data.”); and
transmit, by the first computing system, the confirmation packet to the application executed on the user device (¶0139, “The remote device transmits to the transferor system a payment instruction with respect to the payment. The instruction is received by the transferor system via the money transfer interface 800, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferor’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”), (¶0148, “The remote device transmits to the recipient system a request for payment instruction with respect to the request for payment. The instruction is received by the recipient system via the request for payment interface 1000, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The request for payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferee’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”).
However, DUNJIC does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
wherein the desired data transfer is an anonymous data transfer,
accessing, by the first computing system, a second computing system via an application programming interface (API) to verify data associated with the desired data transfer comprised in a first data store of the second computing system,
Williams discloses:
wherein the data transfer is an anonymous data transfer (¶0064, “…The OCT can include the account number of the recipient and no information about the sender…”).
accessing, by the first computing system,
a second computing system via an application programming interface (API) to verify data associated with the desired data transfer comprised in a first data store of the second computing system and associated with the sender ID (¶0049-¶0052, “…The verification request message (also referred to as “a verification request”) may be in any suitable format. The verification request message can be transmitted from the server computer 108 to the wallet aggregator computer 110 via any suitable application programming interface (API) call. In some embodiments, the server computer 108 may store particular API calls to be utilized to transmit verification requests to particular wallet providers. The verification request message may request the wallet aggregator computer 110 to verify the receiver's information, such as mobile number and name. The verification request may also indicate and/or include a request for the receiver's account identifier (e.g., a PAN associated with the receiver 104).”):
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC to include accessing a computer system via API to verify data as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order to increase the security of the system and thereby prevent fraudulent data transfer.
Regarding claim 15, DUNJIC discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (¶0030, “present application describes a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising processor-executable instructions which, when executed, configure a processor to…”): comprising:
receiving, by a first computing system, a transfer request from an application executed on a user device, the transfer request comprising a sender identifier (ID) and indicating a desired data transfer (¶0027, “The method may include receiving, from a second computing system, a transfer message for a transfer between the first account associated with the first computing system and a second account associated with the second computing system, the transfer message including routing data, an amount of resources to be transferred, and a condition associated with the transfer;…”), (¶0030, “ a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising processor-executable instructions which, when executed, configure a processor to: receive, from a second computing system, a transfer message for a transfer between the first account associated with the first computing system and a second account associated with the second computing system, the transfer message including routing data, an amount of resources to be transferred, and a condition associated with the transfer; evaluate the condition associated with the data transfer based on a comparison between data included in the transfer message and one or more parameters associated with the first account; and when the condition is determined to be satisfied, complete the transfer.”), (¶0037, “A request to transfer is a message that is sent on behalf of a recipient to initiate a transfer from a sender to the recipient. That is, the request to transfer is sent, on behalf of the recipient, from the database management system associated with the recipient to the database management system associated with the sender. The request to transfer requests a transfer from a record in the database that is associated with the sender to a record in the database that is associated with the recipient. The request to transfer includes one or more identifiers that identify the record associated with the sender and/or the record associated with the recipient. The identifier(s) may be or include an account number. The request to transfer may also include one or more identifiers that identify the database management system associated with the sender and/or that identify the database management system associated with the recipient. Such identifiers may be or include one or more of: a transit number and an institution number.”) and indicating a desired data transfer (¶0095-¶0103, “…identification information of the type of data transfer proposal (e.g. payment, or request for payment)…”);
accessing, by the first computing system, a second computing system to verify data associated with the desired data transfer comprised in a first data store of the second computing system and associated with the sender ID (¶0037, “… the request to transfer is sent, on behalf of the recipient, from the database management system associated with the recipient to the database management system associated with the sender. The request to transfer requests a transfer from a record in the database that is associated with the sender to a record in the database that is associated with the recipient. The request to transfer includes one or more identifiers that identify the record associated with the sender and/or the record associated with the recipient…”), (¶0104, “The data store 600 may further store data regarding an account holder in a user account object 604. A user account object 604 may be a data structure and may include details regarding an individual or entity holding an account or other logical storage area. Example details include a user account identifier indicating a particular person or entity, identification information (e.g. first and last name), an alias (e.g. email address, phone number), contact information (e.g. home address), date of birth, date of incorporation, and sign in or authentication credentials (e.g. user name, password, access card number). The account holder may be or represent a transferor, recipient, payor, payee, customer or user.”), (¶0042, “…the database management system that receives the request to transfer message may be configured to execute a process for obtaining authorization to complete a transfer in response to receiving the request to transfer... Authorization may, for example, require authenticated approval using a credential such as one or more of a username, password, biometric authentication data or other credential.”), (¶0148, “…The remote device transmits to the recipient system a request for payment instruction with respect to the request for payment. The instruction is received by the recipient system via the request for payment interface 1000, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The request for payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferee’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”);
in response to verifying the data comprised in the first data store associated with the sender ID:
generating, by the first computing system, a transfer approval for the desired data transfer (¶0042, “…the database stores account data for a plurality of accounts and a database management system will only allow a transfer out of an account if the transfer is authorized by an authorization entity for that account, such as an account holder. Authorization may, for example, require authenticated approval using a credential such as one or more of a username, password, biometric authentication data or other credential.”), (¶0030, “…the transfer message including routing data, an amount of resources to be transferred, and a condition associated with the transfer; evaluate the condition associated with the data transfer based on a comparison between data included in the transfer message and one or more parameters associated with the first account; and when the condition is determined to be satisfied, complete the transfer.”), see also ¶0142;
transmitting, by the first computing system, the transfer approval for the desired data transfer to the application executed on the user device (¶0139-¶0140, “The remote device transmits to the transferor system a payment instruction with respect to the payment. The instruction is received by the transferor system via the money transfer interface 800, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferor’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition…”), (¶0142, “When the payment instruction is received by the transferor system, the transferor system may transmit a payment message including the payment details to the recipient system. The recipient system may then process the payment message according to the method 700 of FIG. 7. If the condition is satisfied, the indicated amount may be transferred from the transferor’s account to the account specified in the routing data.”).
receiving, by the first computing system, an acceptance packet from the application executed on the user device, the acceptance packet comprising a recipient ID and indicating that the desired data transfer is accepted (¶0138-¶0139, “the deposit or acceptance condition feature 816 may be used to indicate an acceptance condition whereby the first operand is “recipient name”, the operand is “matches”, and the second operand is “John Doe”, which may be evaluated by a second system to confirm that “John Doe” is the account holder of the account specified in the routing data…The remote device transmits to the transferor system a payment instruction with respect to the payment. The instruction is received by the transferor system via the money transfer interface 800, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferor’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”), (¶0043-¶0044, “…The notification may include a selectable option to authorize the transfer… The notification may allow the transfer to be made without requiring input of one or more parameters that are typically required when a transfer is initiated by the sender rather than the recipient…”);
transmitting, by the first computing system, transfer data indicating that the data associated with the desired data transfer is to be transferred from the first data store to a second data store, the second data store associated with the recipient ID (¶0037, “…the request to transfer is sent, on behalf of the recipient, from the database management system associated with the recipient to the database management system associated with the sender. The request to transfer requests a transfer from a record in the database that is associated with the sender to a record in the database that is associated with the recipient. The request to transfer includes one or more identifiers that identify the record associated with the sender and/or the record associated with the recipient. The identifier(s) may be or include an account number. The request to transfer may also include one or more identifiers that identify the database management system associated with the sender and/or that identify the database management system associated with the recipient. Such identifiers may be or include one or more of: a transit number and an institution number.”);
receiving, by the first computing system, a confirmation packet from the second computing system, the confirmation packet indicating that the desired data transfer has been completed (¶0142, “When the payment instruction is received by the transferor system, the transferor system may transmit a payment message including the payment details to the recipient system. The recipient system may then process the payment message according to the method 700 of FIG. 7. If the condition is satisfied, the indicated amount may be transferred from the transferor’s account to the account specified in the routing data.”); and
transmitting, by the first computing system, the confirmation packet to the application executed on the user device (¶0139, “The remote device transmits to the transferor system a payment instruction with respect to the payment. The instruction is received by the transferor system via the money transfer interface 800, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferor’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”), (¶0148, “The remote device transmits to the recipient system a request for payment instruction with respect to the request for payment. The instruction is received by the recipient system via the request for payment interface 1000, through the selection of a confirmation element 824. The request for payment message may include the selection and configuration details of one or more options or features, including the transferee’s account, transfer amount, routing data, and acceptance condition.”).
However, DUNJIC does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
accessing, by the first computing system, a second computing system via an application programming interface (API) to verify data associated with the desired data transfer comprised in a first data store of the second computing system,
Williams discloses:
wherein the data transfer is an anonymous data transfer (¶0064, “…The OCT can include the account number of the recipient and no information about the sender…”).
accessing, by the first computing system, a second computing system via an application
programming interface (API) to verify data associated with the desired data transfer comprised in a first data store of the second computing system and associated with the sender ID (¶0049-¶0052, “…The verification request message (also referred to as “a verification request”) may be in any suitable format. The verification request message can be transmitted from the server computer 108 to the wallet aggregator computer 110 via any suitable application programming interface (API) call. In some embodiments, the server computer 108 may store particular API calls to be utilized to transmit verification requests to particular wallet providers. The verification request message may request the wallet aggregator computer 110 to verify the receiver's information, such as mobile number and name. The verification request may also indicate and/or include a request for the receiver's account identifier (e.g., a PAN associated with the receiver 104).”):
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC to include accessing a computer system via API to verify data as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order to increase the security of the system and thereby prevent fraudulent data transfer.
Regarding claim 3, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the method of claim 2.
DUNJIC further discloses wherein the confirmation packet comprises public usernames associated with the sender ID and/or the recipient ID (¶0042, “… Authorization may, for example, require authenticated approval using a credential such as one or more of a username, password, biometric authentication data or other credential.”), (¶0104, “…details include a user account identifier indicating a particular person or entity, identification information (e.g. first and last name), an alias (e.g. email address, phone number), contact information (e.g. home address), date of birth, date of incorporation, and sign in or authentication credentials (e.g. user name, password, access card number). The account holder may be or represent a transferor, recipient, payor, payee, customer or user.”).
Regarding claim 10, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the system of claim 9.
DUNJIC further discloses wherein the confirmation packet comprises public usernames associated with the sender ID and/or the recipient ID (¶0042, “… Authorization may, for example, require authenticated approval using a credential such as one or more of a username, password, biometric authentication data or other credential.”), (¶0104, “…details include a user account identifier indicating a particular person or entity, identification information (e.g. first and last name), an alias (e.g. email address, phone number), contact information (e.g. home address), date of birth, date of incorporation, and sign in or authentication credentials (e.g. user name, password, access card number). The account holder may be or represent a transferor, recipient, payor, payee, customer or user.”).
Regarding claim 17, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the non-transitory computer-readable of claim 16.
DUNJIC further discloses wherein the confirmation packet comprises public usernames associated with the sender ID and/or the recipient ID (¶0042, “… Authorization may, for example, require authenticated approval using a credential such as one or more of a username, password, biometric authentication data or other credential.”), (¶0104, “…details include a user account identifier indicating a particular person or entity, identification information (e.g. first and last name), an alias (e.g. email address, phone number), contact information (e.g. home address), date of birth, date of incorporation, and sign in or authentication credentials (e.g. user name, password, access card number). The account holder may be or represent a transferor, recipient, payor, payee, customer or user.”).
Regarding claim 4, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the method of claim 2.
DUNJIC further discloses further comprising: verifying, by the first computing system, the recipient ID via an authentication service in (¶0042 and ¶0138).
Williams further discloses verifying, by the first computing system, the recipient ID via an authentication service accessed via a second API (¶0052, “The verification request message (also referred to as “a verification request”) may be in any suitable format. The verification request message can be transmitted from the server computer 108 to the wallet aggregator computer 110 via any suitable application programming interface (API) call. In some embodiments, the server computer 108 may store particular API calls to be utilized to transmit verification requests to particular wallet providers. The verification request message may request the wallet aggregator computer 110 to verify the receiver's information, such as mobile number and name. The verification request may also indicate and/or include a request for the receiver's account identifier (e.g., a PAN associated with the receiver 104).”), ¶0059.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include verifying the recipient ID via API as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order to prevent data from being transferred to wrong recipients/receivers.
Regarding claim 11, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the system of claim 9.
DUNJIC further discloses further comprising: verifying, by the first computing system, the recipient ID via an authentication service (¶0042 and ¶0138).
Williams further discloses verifying, by the first computing system, the recipient ID via an authentication service accessed via a second API (¶0052, “The verification request message (also referred to as “a verification request”) may be in any suitable format. The verification request message can be transmitted from the server computer 108 to the wallet aggregator computer 110 via any suitable application programming interface (API) call. In some embodiments, the server computer 108 may store particular API calls to be utilized to transmit verification requests to particular wallet providers. The verification request message may request the wallet aggregator computer 110 to verify the receiver's information, such as mobile number and name. The verification request may also indicate and/or include a request for the receiver's account identifier (e.g., a PAN associated with the receiver 104).”), ¶0059.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include verifying the recipient ID via API as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order to prevent data from being transferred to wrong recipients/receivers.
Regarding claim 18, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16.
DUNJIC further discloses further comprising: verifying, by the first computing system, the recipient ID via an authentication service (¶0042 and ¶0138).
Williams further discloses verifying, by the first computing system, the recipient ID via an authentication service accessed via a second API (¶0052, “The verification request message (also referred to as “a verification request”) may be in any suitable format. The verification request message can be transmitted from the server computer 108 to the wallet aggregator computer 110 via any suitable application programming interface (API) call. In some embodiments, the server computer 108 may store particular API calls to be utilized to transmit verification requests to particular wallet providers. The verification request message may request the wallet aggregator computer 110 to verify the receiver's information, such as mobile number and name. The verification request may also indicate and/or include a request for the receiver's account identifier (e.g., a PAN associated with the receiver 104).”), ¶0059.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include verifying the recipient ID via API as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order to prevent data from being transferred to wrong recipients/receivers.
Regarding claim 5, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the method of claim 1.
Williams further discloses further comprising: verifying, by the first computing system, the sender ID via an authentication service accessed via a second API (¶0059, “… In some embodiments, the processing network computer 114 (e.g., performing a Verified by Visa Service) may authenticate the sender 102. In some embodiments, for security reasons, it may be preferable that only fully authenticated transactions are supported.”), (¶0075, “…The verification request message can be transmitted via any suitable application programming interface (API) call. In some embodiments, the processing network computer 114 may store particular API calls to be utilized to transmit verification requests to particular wallet providers.”), (¶0079, “…The confirmation request may comprise the mobile number and the name. In some embodiments, the confirmation request may comprise additional data such as an address, an email address, a country, a wallet identifier, a username, and/or the like depending on the transfer data provided at step 1. The information transmitted in the confirmation request may be provided to the sender 102 via user interface 120.”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include verifying the sender’s ID via API as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order to increase transaction security by supporting only fully authenticated transactions-Williams ¶0059 in parts.
Regarding claim 12, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the system of claim 8.
Williams further discloses further comprising: verifying, by the first computing system, the sender ID via an authentication service accessed via a second API (¶0059, “… In some embodiments, the processing network computer 114 (e.g., performing a Verified by Visa Service) may authenticate the sender 102. In some embodiments, for security reasons, it may be preferable that only fully authenticated transactions are supported.”), (¶0075, “…The verification request message can be transmitted via any suitable application programming interface (API) call. In some embodiments, the processing network computer 114 may store particular API calls to be utilized to transmit verification requests to particular wallet providers.”), (¶0079, “…The confirmation request may comprise the mobile number and the name. In some embodiments, the confirmation request may comprise additional data such as an address, an email address, a country, a wallet identifier, a username, and/or the like depending on the transfer data provided at step 1. The information transmitted in the confirmation request may be provided to the sender 102 via user interface 120.”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include verifying the sender’s ID via API as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order to increase transaction security by supporting only fully authenticated transactions-Williams ¶0059 in parts.
Regarding claim 19, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Williams further discloses further comprising: verifying, by the first computing system, the sender ID via an authentication service accessed via a second API (¶0059, “… In some embodiments, the processing network computer 114 (e.g., performing a Verified by Visa Service) may authenticate the sender 102. In some embodiments, for security reasons, it may be preferable that only fully authenticated transactions are supported.”), (¶0075, “…The verification request message can be transmitted via any suitable application programming interface (API) call. In some embodiments, the processing network computer 114 may store particular API calls to be utilized to transmit verification requests to particular wallet providers.”), (¶0079, “…The confirmation request may comprise the mobile number and the name. In some embodiments, the confirmation request may comprise additional data such as an address, an email address, a country, a wallet identifier, a username, and/or the like depending on the transfer data provided at step 1. The information transmitted in the confirmation request may be provided to the sender 102 via user interface 120.”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include verifying the sender’s ID via API as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order to increase transaction security by supporting only fully authenticated transactions-Williams ¶0059 in parts.
Regarding claim 6, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the method of claim 1.
Williams further discloses wherein the desired data transfer is an anonymous data transfer (¶0064, “…The OCT can include the account number of the recipient and no information about the sender…”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include anonymous data transfer as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order not to expose users’ private data to strangers.
Regarding claim 13, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the system of claim 8. Williams further discloses wherein the desired data transfer is an anonymous data transfer (¶0064, “…The OCT can include the account number of the recipient and no information about the sender…”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include anonymous data transfer as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order not to expose users’ private data to strangers.
Regarding claim 20, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Williams further discloses wherein the desired data transfer is an anonymous data transfer (¶0064, “…The OCT can include the account number of the recipient and no information about the sender…”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include anonymous data transfer as disclosed by Williams and be motivated in doing so in order not to expose users’ private data to strangers.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PGPub. No. 20230060707 to DUNJIC et al (hereinafter DUNJIC) in view of PGPub. No. 20210365942 to Williams; Otto (hereinafter Williams) and further in view of PGPub. No. 20150319144 to Barton et al. (hereinafter Barton).
Regarding claim 7, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the method of claim 1.
However, DUNJIC in view of Williams does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
wherein the first computing system is configured to communicate with a secure partition of the user device.
Barton discloses wherein the first computing system is configured to communicate with a secure partition of the user device (¶0050, “The secure applications may access data stored in a secure data container 328 in the managed partition 310 of the mobile device...”), see also ¶0124, ¶0136, ¶0138 to mention just a few.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include first computing system is configured to communicate with a secure partition of the user device as disclosed by Barton and be motivated in doing so in order to ensure confidentiality, integrity, and authenticity of the data being transferred.
Regarding claim 14, DUNJIC in view of Williams discloses the system of claim 8.
However, DUNJIC in view of Williams does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
wherein the first computing system is configured to communicate with a secure partition of the user device.
Barton discloses wherein the first computing system is configured to communicate with a secure partition of the user device (¶0050, “The secure applications may access data stored in a secure data container 328 in the managed partition 310 of the mobile device...”), see also ¶0124, ¶0136, ¶0138 to mention just a few.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of DUNJIC and Williams to include first computing system is configured to communicate with a secure partition of the user device as disclosed by Barton and be motivated in doing so in order to ensure confidentiality, integrity, and authenticity of the data being transferred.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUDASIRU K OLAEGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/JEFFERY L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495