DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US 2022/0126613 – hereinafter Sato.)
Regarding claim 1,
Sato discloses a transport device [20 in fig. 1] comprising:
a transport belt [33 in fig. 1] that includes an outer peripheral surface [33a in fig. 1] for supporting a medium [P in fig. 1] and that is configured to transport the medium [paragraph 0031];
a blade [301 in figs. 3A-4A] configured to wipe the outer peripheral surface by contacting the outer peripheral surface [paragraph 0045];
a first frame [302 in fig. 4A] that holds the blade [paragraph 0049; see fig. 4A];
an elastic member [371 in fig. 4A] configured to bias the first frame in a direction in which the blade contacts the outer peripheral surface [paragraph 0049; as seen in figs. 3B and 5A];
a second frame [303 in fig. 4A] that supports the first frame so that the first frame is movable along a normal direction [Z-direction] of the outer peripheral surface [paragraphs 0047-0048; as seen in figs.3A-3B]; and
a sliding member [352 (352a-352b) in figs. 4A and 9A-9B] disposed between the first frame and the second frame to space the first frame from the second frame and provide a gap between the first frame and the second frame [as seen in figs. 4A and 9A-9B; paragraphs 0055 and 0080.]
Regarding claim 2,
Sato further discloses wherein the elastic member is a spring [paragraph 0049.]
Regarding claim 3,
Sato further discloses wherein the spring includes an attaching section configured to be attached to the first frame and the second frame [as seen in fig. 4A.]
Regarding claim 4,
Sato further discloses wherein the elastic member is attached to the first frame and the second frame and is configured to be attached to and detached from the first frame and the second frame [paragraph 0069.]
Regarding claim 5,
Sato further discloses wherein the first frame is configured to attach a plurality of the elastic members [as seen in fig. 4B; also, see embodiment in fig. 11B.]
Regarding claim 6,
Sato further discloses wherein a plurality of the first frames are connected to one second frame via the elastic member [as seen in fig. 4B; also, see embodiment in fig. 11B.]
Regarding claim 8,
Sato further discloses a recording device [100 in fig. 1] comprising:
the transport device according to claim 1 [see Rejection above] and
a recording section [60 in fig. 1] configured to perform recording on the medium transported by the transport belt [paragraphs 0027 and 0032.]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853