DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on April 15, 2026. Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 11, 13-14, and 18 have been amended, claims 2 and 12 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are pending. Of such, claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 represent a method directed to anonymous device fingerprinting for device verification.
Claim Objections
The objections have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed April 15, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grajek et al. (US 20180124039), hereinafter referred to as Grajek, in view of Axdorff et al. (US 20210226794), hereinafter referred to as Axdorff, in further view of Gero, Charles (US 20230155998), hereinafter referred to as Gero.
Regarding Claim 1, Grajek discloses:
A method, comprising: causing generation of a fingerprint for a device (In ¶ 66, Grajek discloses “User device in block 307 executes the capture instructions to gather unique device, software, operating system, and/or user characteristics.” Wherein the captured chrematistics are representative of the device fingerprint); causing sending of the fingerprint, along with a device verification request, to a device fingerprinting server of an authentication system, wherein the device verification request comprises a secure context identifier for a user of the device; (In ¶ 88, Grajek discloses “The entity that requested authentication, for example the target application, may send, via the redirect to the authentication system 102, information requesting authentication using an additional device-based fingerprinting factor. For example, it may send a cookie or other token to the user computing device that may then be sent from the user computing device to the authentication system, and may comprise a number of different elements and information.” And further in ¶ 89 “the information sent from the network resource to the authentication system 102 may comprise, for example, a user identifier such as a user ID”) in response to the device fingerprint server determining that the fingerprint matches a previously-known fingerprint for the secure context identifier: causing receiving, at the device, of a notification that the device has been verified (In ¶ 92, Grajek discloses “If a match is made, then a successful authentication token may be sent back to the authentication calling product.” And in ¶ 113, further discloses “User device 110 may receive the authentication token which may be sent to application web server 103a for processing 622 as described above.”); and in response to the device fingerprint server determining that the fingerprint does not match a previously-known fingerprint for the secure context identifier: causing receiving, at the device, of a device verification challenge (In ¶ 95, Grajek discloses “If the user device was not matched either based on its fingerprints or based on a comparison of a stored user device's characteristics versus the user device's characteristics retrieved from the user device for this session, then the user may be forced to authenticate using an additional factor of authentication.”); responding, at the device, to the device verification challenge; and in response to the device fingerprint server verifying the fingerprint as part of the device verification challenge: causing receiving, at the device, of a notification that the device has been verified (In ¶ 96, Grajek discloses “Once communicated to the user, this randomly generated string may then be returned by the user computing device to the authentication system through the web and may be compared to the stored one-time password that was originally sent. If they are the same then the additional factor of authentication is successful.” And in ¶ 113, further discloses “User device 110 may receive the authentication token which may be sent to application web server 103a for processing 622 as described above.”).
However, Grajek does not explicitly disclose a proof generated from a keypair.
Axdorff discloses:
wherein the fingerprint comprises a cryptographic proof that is generated from a cryptographic keypair (In ¶ 18, Axdorff discloses “As indicated above, proof of possession may be implemented with OAuth 2.0, beginning with a request to the application server by the client for an access token The request may include key material (e.g., token binding type, key, and key parameters) that the client possesses or has access to, such as a public key of an asymmetric key pair. The public key, which may be a confirmation key as mentioned above, is added to the access token and may be JWT signed by the authorization server. The private key is retained by the client, which can generate the PoP token with the signed access token and use the PoP token to prove possession of the private key.”).
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grajek’s approach by utilizing Axdorff’s approach of using a proof of possession token when performing device verification as the motivation would be that proof of possession tokens have a limited time to live which reduces the risk of theft by rendering them ineffective after expiration which allows for a stronger authentication mechanism. (See Axdorff, ¶¶ 46-47)
However, Grajek does not explicitly disclose a fingerprint generated in an iframe.
Gero discloses:
and wherein the fingerprint is generated in an iframe of a browser of the device (In ¶ 117, Cero discloses “sends down to the browser a web page that includes a JavaScript that, upon execution… creates an iframe 709 that is invisible…has access to the browser_private_key in the mfa.akamai.com HTML5 local storage (which only code from mfa.akamai.com can see)”
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grajek’s approach by utilizing Gero’s approach of using a iframe for generating a proof as the motivation would be that proof generation would be secure from other components and protect against phishing attacks as it could only be accessed by the private key (See Gero, ¶171)
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
However, Grajek does not explicitly disclose the security associated with the private key.
Axdorff discloses:
wherein the cryptographic keypair is stored in an unextractable fashion in the device (In ¶ 18, Axdorff discloses “The private key is retained by the client, which can generate the PoP token with the signed access token and use the PoP token to prove possession of the private key.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grajek’s approach by utilizing Axdorff’s approach of using a proof of possession token when performing device verification as the motivation would be that proof of possession tokens have a limited time to live which reduces the risk of theft by rendering them ineffective after expiration which allows for a stronger authentication mechanism. (See Axdorff, ¶¶ 46-47)
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the device further comprises a browser or mobile application executing on the device and configured to perform the device verification request and the device verification challenge (In ¶ 23, Grajek discloses “Specifically, the disclosure relates to a single sign-on process in which browsers, mobile applications, etc., may initially register a user device fingerprint using an additional factor of authentication that may require user interaction (such as a one-time password or knowledge based authentication).”).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the response to the device verification challenge comprises a challenge response. (In ¶ 96, Grajek discloses “Once communicated to the user, this randomly generated string may then be returned by the user computing device to the authentication system through the web and may be compared to the stored one-time password that was originally sent. If they are the same then the additional factor of authentication is successful.”)
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the fingerprint comprises an anonymous and unique device (In ¶ 66, Grajek discloses “User device in block 307 executes the capture instructions to gather unique device, software, operating system, and/or user characteristics.”).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the secure context identifier comprises one of: an email address, a telephone number (In ¶ 89, Grajek discloses “No matter the method of transmission, the information sent from the network resource to the authentication system 102 may comprise, for example, a user identifier such as a user ID, an email address associated with the user of the user device, a telephone number associated with the user or the user device, an SMS number associated with the user of the user device or the user device a push number or a pin.”)
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the device verification request further comprises an application identifier. (In ¶ 27, Grajek discloses “the system may send a device characteristic capture script to the user's device to capture information about the device, such as HTTP header information, identifiers of browser plug-ins, networking addresses, screen size and/or resolution, HTML5 session storage information, Internet Explorer User Data Support information, Browser Cookie enable/disable settings, a time zone, and/or other information.”)
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
However, Grajek does not explicitly disclose the verification using a public key.
Axdorff discloses:
wherein verifying the fingerprint as part of the device verification challenge further comprises: verifying the fingerprint based, at least in part, on a public key. (In ¶ 19, Axdorff discloses “The public key is reflected in the token binding ID between the client and the authorization server. The token binding ID reflects the public key along with the key parameters agreed upon in the token binding negotiation. Server verification involves the server receiving the token binding request from the client, verifying that the key parameters in the request match the token binding parameters, and validating the signature contained in the request.”)
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein, in response to the device fingerprint server failing to verify the fingerprint as part of the device verification challenge, the method further comprises: receiving, at the device, a notification that additional verification is required in order to verify the device. (In ¶ 95, Grajek discloses “If the user device was not matched either based on its fingerprints or based on a comparison of a stored user device's characteristics versus the user device's characteristics retrieved from the user device for this session, then the user may be forced to authenticate using an additional factor of authentication. In this case, a one-time password mechanism may be used. For example, an SMS message that may be sent to the user's phone; a telephone call may be made to the user's phone, whereby an audio voice describes a one-time password to be used; an email message may be sent, whereby the email message may include a link to verify that the email message was received (this email link may trigger the user computing device's browser to go to a specific web page that is provided by the authentication system); a push notification may be sent to a push number for the user; and so on.”)
Regarding Claim 11, Grajek discloses:
A method, comprising: receiving, at a device fingerprinting server, a fingerprint generated for a device and a device verification request (In ¶ 66, Grajek discloses “User device in block 307 executes the capture instructions to gather unique device, software, operating system, and/or user characteristics.” Wherein the captured chrematistics are representative of the device fingerprint), wherein the device verification request comprises a secure context identifier for a user of the device (In ¶ 88, Grajek discloses “The entity that requested authentication, for example the target application, may send, via the redirect to the authentication system 102, information requesting authentication using an additional device-based fingerprinting factor. For example, it may send a cookie or other token to the user computing device that may then be sent from the user computing device to the authentication system, and may comprise a number of different elements and information.” And further in ¶ 89 “the information sent from the network resource to the authentication system 102 may comprise, for example, a user identifier such as a user ID”); in response to the device fingerprint server determining that the fingerprint matches a previously-known fingerprint for the secure context identifier: sending, to the device, a notification that the device has been verified (In ¶ 92, Grajek discloses “If a match is made, then a successful authentication token may be sent back to the authentication calling product.” And in ¶ 113, further discloses “User device 110 may receive the authentication token which may be sent to application web server 103a for processing 622 as described above.”); and in response to the device fingerprint server determining that the fingerprint does not match a previously-known fingerprint for the secure context identifier: sending, to the device, a device verification challenge (In ¶ 95, Grajek discloses “If the user device was not matched either based on its fingerprints or based on a comparison of a stored user device's characteristics versus the user device's characteristics retrieved from the user device for this session, then the user may be forced to authenticate using an additional factor of authentication.”); receiving, from the device, a response to the device verification challenge; and in response to the verifying the fingerprint at the device fingerprint server as part of the device verification challenge: sending, to the device, a notification that the device has been verified (In ¶ 96, Grajek discloses “Once communicated to the user, this randomly generated string may then be returned by the user computing device to the authentication system through the web and may be compared to the stored one-time password that was originally sent. If they are the same then the additional factor of authentication is successful.” And in ¶ 113, further discloses “User device 110 may receive the authentication token which may be sent to application web server 103a for processing 622 as described above.”).
However, Grajek does not explicitly disclose a proof generated from a keypair.
Axdorff discloses:
wherein the fingerprint comprises a cryptographic proof that is generated from a cryptographic keypair (In ¶ 18, Axdorff discloses “As indicated above, proof of possession may be implemented with OAuth 2.0, beginning with a request to the application server by the client for an access token The request may include key material (e.g., token binding type, key, and key parameters) that the client possesses or has access to, such as a public key of an asymmetric key pair. The public key, which may be a confirmation key as mentioned above, is added to the access token and may be JWT signed by the authorization server. The private key is retained by the client, which can generate the PoP token with the signed access token and use the PoP token to prove possession of the private key.”).
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grajek’s approach by utilizing Axdorff’s approach of using a proof of possession token when performing device verification as the motivation would be that proof of possession tokens have a limited time to live which reduces the risk of theft by rendering them ineffective after expiration which allows for a stronger authentication mechanism. (See Axdorff, ¶¶ 46-47)
However, Grajek does not explicitly disclose a fingerprint generated in an iframe.
Gero discloses:
and wherein the fingerprint is generated in an iframe of a browser of the device (In ¶ 117, Cero discloses “sends down to the browser a web page that includes a JavaScript that, upon execution… creates an iframe 709 that is invisible…has access to the browser_private_key in the mfa.akamai.com HTML5 local storage (which only code from mfa.akamai.com can see)”
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grajek’s approach by utilizing Gero’s approach of using a iframe for generating a proof as the motivation would be that proof generation would be secure from other components and protect against phishing attacks as it could only be accessed by the private key (See Gero, ¶171)
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
However, Grajek does not explicitly disclose the security associated with the private key.
Axdorff discloses:
wherein the cryptographic keypair is stored in an unextractable fashion in the device (In ¶ 18, Axdorff discloses “The private key is retained by the client, which can generate the PoP token with the signed access token and use the PoP token to prove possession of the private key.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grajek’s approach by utilizing Axdorff’s approach of using a proof of possession token when performing device verification as the motivation would be that proof of possession tokens have a limited time to live which reduces the risk of theft by rendering them ineffective after expiration which allows for a stronger authentication mechanism. (See Axdorff, ¶¶ 46-47)
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 11, wherein the device further comprises a browser or mobile application executing on the device and configured to perform the device verification request and the device verification challenge (In ¶ 23, Grajek discloses “Specifically, the disclosure relates to a single sign-on process in which browsers, mobile applications, etc., may initially register a user device fingerprint using an additional factor of authentication that may require user interaction (such as a one-time password or knowledge based authentication).”).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 11, wherein the response to the device verification challenge comprises a challenge response. (In ¶ 96, Grajek discloses “Once communicated to the user, this randomly generated string may then be returned by the user computing device to the authentication system through the web and may be compared to the stored one-time password that was originally sent. If they are the same then the additional factor of authentication is successful.”)
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose the limitations of Claim 11.
However, Grajek does not explicitly disclose a proof generated from a keypair.
Axdorff discloses:
wherein the fingerprint comprises an anonymous and unique device proof for the device (In ¶ 18, Axdorff discloses “As indicated above, proof of possession may be implemented with OAuth 2.0, beginning with a request to the application server by the client for an access token The request may include key material (e.g., token binding type, key, and key parameters) that the client possesses or has access to, such as a public key of an asymmetric key pair. The public key, which may be a confirmation key as mentioned above, is added to the access token and may be JWT signed by the authorization server. The private key is retained by the client, which can generate the PoP token with the signed access token and use the PoP token to prove possession of the private key.”).
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grajek’s approach by utilizing Axdorff’s approach of using a proof of possession token when performing device verification as the motivation would be that proof of possession tokens have a limited time to live which reduces the risk of theft by rendering them ineffective after expiration which allows for a stronger authentication mechanism. (See Axdorff, ¶¶ 46-47)
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 11, wherein the secure context identifier comprises one of: an email address, a telephone number, or some other unique identifier. (In ¶ 89, Grajek discloses “No matter the method of transmission, the information sent from the network resource to the authentication system 102 may comprise, for example, a user identifier such as a user ID, an email address associated with the user of the user device, a telephone number associated with the user or the user device, an SMS number associated with the user of the user device or the user device a push number or a pin.”)
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 11, wherein the device verification request further comprises an app identifier. (In ¶ 27, Grajek discloses “the system may send a device characteristic capture script to the user's device to capture information about the device, such as HTTP header information, identifiers of browser plug-ins, networking addresses, screen size and/or resolution, HTML5 session storage information, Internet Explorer User Data Support information, Browser Cookie enable/disable settings, a time zone, and/or other information.”)
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose the limitations of Claim 11.
However, Grajek does not explicitly disclose the verification using a public key.
Axdorff discloses:
wherein verifying the fingerprint as part of the device verification challenge further comprises: verifying the fingerprint based, at least in part, on a public key. (In ¶ 19, Axdorff discloses “The public key is reflected in the token binding ID between the client and the authorization server. The token binding ID reflects the public key along with the key parameters agreed upon in the token binding negotiation. Server verification involves the server receiving the token binding request from the client, verifying that the key parameters in the request match the token binding parameters, and validating the signature contained in the request.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grajek’s approach by utilizing Axdorff’s approach of using a public key when performing device verification as the motivation would be that the authorization server can validate a signature received from the device using the public key as an additional layer of security. (See Axdorff, ¶ 20)
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Grajek, Axdorff, and Gero disclose:
The method of claim 11, wherein, in response to the device fingerprint server failing to verify the fingerprint as part of the device verification challenge, the method further comprises: receiving, at the device, a notification that additional verification is required in order to verify the device. (In ¶ 95, Grajek discloses “If the user device was not matched either based on its fingerprints or based on a comparison of a stored user device's characteristics versus the user device's characteristics retrieved from the user device for this session, then the user may be forced to authenticate using an additional factor of authentication. In this case, a one-time password mechanism may be used. For example, an SMS message that may be sent to the user's phone; a telephone call may be made to the user's phone, whereby an audio voice describes a one-time password to be used; an email message may be sent, whereby the email message may include a link to verify that the email message was received (this email link may trigger the user computing device's browser to go to a specific web page that is provided by the authentication system); a push notification may be sent to a push number for the user; and so on.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bester et al. (US 11870769) discloses a method for identifying a browser instance in a browser session between a server hosting a web domain and the browser instance executing on a user computing device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHADI H KOBROSLI/Examiner, Art Unit 2492 /RUPAL DHARIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2492