DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application 18/896,727 filed on 09/25/2024.
In the instant application, claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims; Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending. This action is made non-final.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 09/25/2024 are acceptable
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected based claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YERKES et al. (“Yerkes,” US 2024/0118746), filed on Sept. 21, 2023 in view of KLEIN et al. (“Klein,” US 2019/0235627), published on August 1, 2019.
Regarding claim 1, Yerkes teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device (Yerkes: ¶0006; the computer system may be a head-mounted device) to:
while a user is wearing an extended-reality headset that is associated with an output device (Yerkes: ¶0088 and Fig. 1A; the computer system 101 includes a head-mounted device, one or more input devices, one or more output devices, etc. The computer system may detect inputs and generate a XR experience that causes the computer system to generate audio, visual, and/or tactile feedback corresponding to various inputs. ¶0110; XR content are displayed via the HMD. ¶0149, 0222; the sensor system can include a plurality of eye tracking and gaze tracking sensors for determining an identify, status, and gaze direction of a user’s eyes during and/or before use. The eye/gaze tracking sensors can include eye cameras disposed on either side of the user’s nose and adjacent the user’s nose when donning the HMD device. ¶0249; Additionally for a head-mounted device, different sensors or sets of sensors might be used to track different eyes of the user to more accurately determine a location of gaze corresponding to the eyes. ¶0256; HMD includes one or more audio output components for generating audio feedback): at a first point in time, in accordance with a determination that a focus selector for the extended-reality headset is directed to a first object with first [visual] characteristics, provide first haptic feedback and first audio feedback corresponding to the first [visual] characteristics via the output device (Yerkes: ¶0540; while displaying the first gaze enrollment user interface, the computer system detects, via the one or more input devices, a gaze input from the user. In response to detecting the gaze input from the user and in accordance with a determination that the gaze input is directed toward the first gaze target element, the computer system outputs first gaze feedback (e.g., visual feedback, audio feedback, and/or haptic feedback) indicating that the gaze of the user is directed toward the first gaze target element. See Fig. 15Y; different objects associated with different audio feedback); and at a second point in time that is after the first point in time, in accordance with a determination that the focus selector for the extended-reality headset is directed to a second object with second [visual] characteristics, distinct from the first [visual] characteristics, provide second haptic feedback and second audio feedback, distinct from the first haptic feedback and the first audio feedback, respectively, corresponding to the second [visual] characteristics via the output device (Yerkes: ¶0540; in response to detecting the gaze input from the user: in accordance with a determination that the gaze input is directed toward the second gaze target element, the computer system outputs second gaze feedback (e.g., visual feedback, audio feedback, and/or haptic feedback) (e.g., second gaze feedback different from the first gaze feedback) indicating that the gaze of the user is directed toward the second gaze target element, See Fig. 15Y; different objects associated with different audio feedback).
Yerkes does not explicitly teach: the feedbacks are associated with the visual characteristic of the objects.
However Klein teaches haptic effect on a touch input surface. Klein also teaches: the feedbacks are associated with the visual characteristic of the objects (Klein: ¶0020; a haptic effect for a particular visual element can be determined based on its visual attributes, e.g., size, color, shading, and so forth. ¶0038; the visual mappings 128 represent data that correlates various types of visual elements to corresponding haptic effects. For instance, visual elements that are generated by the client device can be associated with different haptic effects that are based on attributes of the visual elements, such as visual element type, size shading, position, functionality, and so forth).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Klein and Yerkes in front of them to include the generating haptic feedback based on visual attributes of a graphic object as disclosed by Klein with the user interface for gaze tracking as taught by Yerke to not only does this provide an enhanced used experience, but also represents an important advance in the technological areas of haptic feedback and user accessibility (Klein: ¶0023).
Regarding claim 2, Yerkes and Klein teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1,
Yerkes and Klein also teach: comprising instructions for causing the computer device to: at a third point in time that is after the first point in time and after the second point in time, in accordance with a determination that the focus selector for the extended-reality headset is directed to a third object with third visual characteristics, distinct from the first and second visual characteristics, provide third haptic feedback and third audio feedback, the third haptic feedback being distinct from the first and second haptic feedback and the third audio feedback being distinct from the first and second audio feedback, corresponding to the third visual characteristics via the output device (Yerkes: ¶0540; in response to detecting the gaze input from the user: in accordance with a determination that the gaze input is directed toward the second gaze target element, the computer system outputs second gaze feedback (e.g., visual feedback, audio feedback, and/or haptic feedback) (e.g., second gaze feedback different from the first gaze feedback) indicating that the gaze of the user is directed toward the second gaze target element, See Fig. 15Y; different objects associated with different audio feedback. Note: the gaze input from the user may be directed to one element after another element. Klein: ¶0020; a haptic effect for a particular visual element can be determined based on its visual attributes, e.g., size, color, shading, and so forth. ¶0038; the visual mappings 128 represent data that correlates various types of visual elements to corresponding haptic effects. For instance, visual elements that are generated by the client device can be associated with different haptic effects that are based on attributes of the visual elements, such as visual element type, size shading, position, functionality, and so forth).
Regarding claim 4, Yerkes and Klein teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1,
Yerkes and Klein also teach: wherein the focus selector is a gaze-based cursor (Yerkes: ¶0540; while displaying the first gaze enrollment user interface, the computer system detects, via the one or more input devices, a gaze input from the user. In response to detecting the gaze input from the user and in accordance with a determination that the gaze input is directed toward the first gaze target element, the computer system outputs first gaze feedback (e.g., visual feedback, audio feedback, and/or haptic feedback) indicating that the gaze of the user is directed toward the first gaze target element. See Fig. 15Y; different objects associated with different audio feedback).
Regarding claim 5, Yerkes and Klein teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1,
Yerkes and Klein also teach: wherein the output device is one of: a wrist-wearable device, a head-wearable device, or a wearable glove (Yerkes: ¶0256; HMD includes one or more audio output components for generating audio feedback).
Regarding claim 7, Yerkes and Klein teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1,
Yerkes and Klein also teach: wherein the first haptic feedback and the first audio feedback are provided by different devices (Yerkes: ¶0088 and Fig. 1A; the computer system 101 includes a head-mounted device, one or more input devices, one or more output devices, etc. The computer system may detect inputs and generate a XR experience that causes the computer system to generate audio, visual, and/or tactile feedback corresponding to various inputs).
Regarding claims 8-9, 11-12 and 14, these claims are directed to a method executing instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7, respectively; Claims 8-9, 11-12 and 14 are similar scope to claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7, respectively and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 15-16 and 18-19, these claims are directed to a system (Yerkes: ¶0088 and Fig. 1A; a computer system 101 includes a head-mounted device) executing instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claims 1-2 and 4-5, respectively; Claims 15-16 and 18-19 are similar scope to claims 1-2 and 4-5, respectively and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerkes and Klein as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Aurongzeb et al. (“Aurongzeb,” US 2024/0028110), filed on July 21, 2022.
Regarding claim 6, Yerkes and Klein teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1,
Yerkes and Klein do not appear to teach: wherein the extended -reality headset does not include a display.
However Aurongzeb teaches a method for headset haptic or audio confirmation feedback for gaze activation. Aurongzeb also teaches: wherein the extended -reality headset does not include a display (Aurongzeb: ¶0044 and Fig. 2; the wireless headset device 230 may receive commands, such as one or more gaze detection feedback signals from the host information handling system executing code instructions of a gaze detection function system. The gaze detection feedback signals may contain metadata or another indicator of a type of audio feedback, haptic feedback, or combination feedback).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Aurongzeb, Yerkes and Klein in front of them to include the wireless headset device receiving gaze detection feedback as disclosed by Aurongzeb with the user interface for gaze tracking as taught by Yerke to provide an improved haptic or audio feedback via a wireless headset device for confirmation of gaze control system (Aurongzeb: ¶0001).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is directed to a method executing instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in 6; Claim 13 is similar scope to claim 6 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is directed to a system (Yerkes: ¶0088 and Fig. 1A; a computer system 101 includes a head-mounted device) executing instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 6; Claim 20 is similar scope to claim 6 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)).
Inquiry
/TAM T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174