DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed January 22, 2026. The applicant’s remarks and amendment to the specification and/or claims were considered with the results that follow.
Claims 2-21 have been presented for examination in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palmer (US# 10,725,930).
Regarding claim 2, Palmer teaches an apparatus, comprising: processing circuitry configured to cause the apparatus to: select a portion of a node address mapping stored in a first area of a non- volatile memory device of a memory system, the memory system having the non-volatile memory device and a volatile memory device [col. 2, lines 19-29 & 30-36]; transmit a command to transfer the portion of the node address mapping to the volatile memory device that is associated with firmware of the memory system, the node address mapping comprising one or more addresses associated with node blocks of a second area of the non-volatile memory device [col. 2, lines 36-42 & col. 5, lines 37-45]; and receive a response to the command, the response indicating a status associated with transferring the portion [col. 7, lines 27-32; node indication].
Claims 13 and 15 recite language similar to that of claim 2, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, Palmer teaches wherein the non-volatile memory device is associated with a file system layout, the file system layout indicating an index for each area of the plurality of areas, the plurality of areas comprising the first area storing the node address mapping, the second area storing data associated with a host system, a third area storing checkpoint data, a fourth area storing a segment information table, a fifth area storing a segment summary area, or any combination thereof [each plurality of areas is associated with a portion of the L2P table [col. 2, lines 14-36].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7-11, 16-18, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2021/0096939).
Regarding claim 3, Palmer teaches an associated status relative to address availability but fails to teach wherein the status comprises a successful status indicating that the memory system transferred the portion of the node address mapping to the volatile memory device. Zhou teaches indicating a successful status upon transferal to the volatile memory of the mapping portion [0089]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Palmer to include expanded responses because then a means for detecting normal and abnormal response could be implemented [0012].
Regarding claim 4, Zhou et al. teaches wherein the status comprises a busy status indicating that the memory system is processing one or more operations associated with one or more commands sent prior to the command to transfer the portion [0030; timeout].
Regarding claim 5, Zhou et al. teaches wherein the status comprises a failed status indicating that the memory system failed to transfer the portion of the node address mapping [0011].
Regarding claim 7, Zhou et al. teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of one or more parameters associated with the failed status in the response, the one or more parameters associated with an illegal request, a hardware error, a power threshold, or any combination thereof [0074, hardware failure].
Regarding claim 8, Palmer teaches, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to: fill one or more fields of the command in response to selecting the portion of the node address mapping, the one or more fields indicating the portion of the node address mapping [Palmer, col. 6, lines 55-65].
Regarding claim 9, Palmer teaches wherein the one or more fields indicate a range of addresses associated with the node address mapping or a portion of the range of addresses [col. 8, lines 35-42; LBA writing].
Regarding claim 10, Palmer teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit a second command to remove a second portion of the node address mapping from the volatile memory device [col. 9, lines 25-50; claim may also be interpreted as second portion to be removed may correspond to new command/address].
Regarding claim 11, Zhou et al. teaches, wherein the command comprises an indication of a type of information associated with the portion of the node address mapping [col. 8, lines 35-42, where sequential access comprises LBA +length parameter].
Claim 16 recites language similar to that of claim 3, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Claim 17 recites language similar to that of claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claim 18 recites language similar to that of claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim 20 recites language similar to that of claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Claim 21 recites language similar to that of claim 8, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer (US# 10,725,930) in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2021/0096939) as applied to claims 3-5, 7-11, 16-18, 20 and 21 above, and further in view of Bannerjee et al. (US# 8,868,839).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Palmer and Zhou fails to teach identifying that the portion of the node address mapping corresponds to a frequency of access operations that satisfies a threshold, wherein selecting the portion is in accordance with the satisfied threshold. Bannerjee teaches this selection at col. 9, lines 4-16. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Palmer and Zhou to include the threshold system of Bannerjee in order to facilitate expedited data access [col. 1, lines 20-30].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Double Patenting rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Double Patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed January 22, 2026, directed towards the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on page 8,
Palmer does not disclose at least "transmit a command to transfer the portion of the node address mapping to the volatile memory device that is associated with firmware of the memory system" or "receive a response to the command, the response indicating a status associated with transferring the portion,",
the Examiner respectfully disagrees. According to Palmer, col. 2, lines 29-39, the address mapping table may comprise several portions which may be stored in non-volatile memory, and that these portions may be cached in volatile memory SRAM. Furthermore, this swapping of table portions is “for access and use by a memory sub-system controller as needed”. Needs of the controller necessitate the swapping of table portions between volatile and non-volatile memory, and as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, memories on their own are unable to move data and inherently require commands transmitted from a processing circuitry to a controlling device of a memory to direct the movement of data from a source to a destination.
The claimed “receive a response to the command” is broadly written, and a broad and reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation language would indicate that the status, which is “associated” with transferring the portion, may relate to a status that indicates that the command is received, the command is rejected , the command is being processed, the command has failed, the command has finished, or any other status that is in any way “associated” with the transmission of the command, including the completion of the original memory operation. As also seen in column 2, lines 21-29, the controller receives a command that requires movement of at least one logical address before the command can be successfully executed, thus the response to the command being at least the successful execution of the command.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2100.
/BRIAN R PEUGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133