DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed June 19, 2026. The applicant’s remarks and amendment to the specification and/or claims were considered with the results that follow.
Claims 2-21 have been presented for examination in this application. In response to the June 19, 2026 response, claims 2-13, 15, and 19-21 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palmer (US# 10,725,930).
Regarding claim 2, Palmer teaches a host system, comprising: processing circuitry configured to cause the host system to: select a portion of a node address mapping stored in a first area of a non- volatile memory device of a memory system, the memory system having the non-volatile memory device and a volatile memory device [col. 2, lines 19-29 & 30-36]; transmit, to the memory system, a command instructing the memory system to transfer the portion of the node address mapping to the volatile memory device that is associated with firmware of the memory system, the node address mapping comprising one or more addresses associated with node blocks of a second area of the non-volatile memory device [col. 2, lines 19-26: host sends read/write command to memory controller, which causes a required mapping update and transfer to occur (col. 2, lines 27-42) before the host command can be completed, thus fulfilling the claim language as recited]; [see also: col. 2, lines 36-42 & col. 5, lines 37-45]; and receive, from the memory system, a response to the command, the response indicating a status associated with transferring the portion [ col. 6, lines 4-9: response received by host regarding commands sent; col. 4, lines 53-56: address, data, etc. sent between memory system and host according to operations; col. 7, lines 27-32; node indication].
Claims 13 and 15 recite language similar to that of claim 2, and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, Palmer teaches wherein the non-volatile memory device is associated with a file system layout, the file system layout indicating an index for each area of the plurality of areas, the plurality of areas comprising the first area storing the node address mapping, the second area storing data associated with a host system, a third area storing checkpoint data, a fourth area storing a segment information table, a fifth area storing a segment summary area, or any combination thereof [each plurality of areas is associated with a portion of the L2P table [col. 2, lines 14-36].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7-11, 16-18, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2021/0096939).
Regarding claim 3, Palmer teaches an associated status relative to address availability but fails to teach wherein the status comprises a successful status indicating that the memory system transferred the portion of the node address mapping to the volatile memory device. Zhou teaches indicating a successful status upon transferal to the volatile memory of the mapping portion [0089]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Palmer to include expanded responses because then a means for detecting normal and abnormal response could be implemented [0012].
Regarding claim 4, Zhou et al. teaches wherein the status comprises a busy status indicating that the memory system is processing one or more operations associated with one or more commands sent prior to the command to transfer the portion [0030; timeout].
Regarding claim 5, Zhou et al. teaches wherein the status comprises a failed status indicating that the memory system failed to transfer the portion of the node address mapping [0011].
Regarding claim 7, Zhou et al. teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of one or more parameters associated with the failed status in the response, the one or more parameters associated with an illegal request, a hardware error, a power threshold, or any combination thereof [0074, hardware failure].
Regarding claim 8, Palmer teaches, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to: fill one or more fields of the command in response to selecting the portion of the node address mapping, the one or more fields indicating the portion of the node address mapping [Palmer, col. 6, lines 55-65].
Regarding claim 9, Palmer teaches wherein the one or more fields indicate a range of addresses associated with the node address mapping or a portion of the range of addresses [col. 8, lines 35-42; LBA writing].
Regarding claim 10, Palmer teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit a second command to remove a second portion of the node address mapping from the volatile memory device [col. 9, lines 25-50; claim may also be interpreted as second portion to be removed may correspond to new command/address].
Regarding claim 11, Zhou et al. teaches, wherein the command comprises an indication of a type of information associated with the portion of the node address mapping [col. 8, lines 35-42, where sequential access comprises LBA +length parameter].
Claim 16 recites language similar to that of claim 3, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Claim 17 recites language similar to that of claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claim 18 recites language similar to that of claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim 20 recites language similar to that of claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Claim 21 recites language similar to that of claim 8, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer (US# 10,725,930) in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2021/0096939) as applied to claims 3-5, 7-11, 16-18, 20 and 21 above, and further in view of Bannerjee et al. (US# 8,868,839).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Palmer and Zhou fails to teach identifying that the portion of the node address mapping corresponds to a frequency of access operations that satisfies a threshold, wherein selecting the portion is in accordance with the satisfied threshold. Bannerjee teaches this selection at col. 9, lines 4-16. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Palmer and Zhou to include the threshold system of Bannerjee in order to facilitate expedited data access [col. 1, lines 20-30].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 22, 2026, directed towards the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on pages 8-9, directed towards the amended claim language of the host system and associated instruction, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in the Palmer reference, and specifically col. 2, lines 19-39 as noted above, the circumstances where a host transmits memory command with a logical address that needs to be mapped forces the mapping table to be partitioned, with a portion moved to volatile memory. Furthermore, while the host sent command may be called a read or write memory command, the required effect of the memory command is to instruct the memory system to transfer a portion of the address mapping to a volatile memory, and only occurs according to said memory command, thus rendering the “read” or “write” memory command to also be considered a “address mapping portion transfer” command, or the like, in it’s operation that includes more than merely reading or writing data but also the transfer of a portion of the address map.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on page 9 regarding the host receiving a response to the command from the memory system, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted above, Palmer teaches that the memory system is designed for passing control, address, data, etc. between the memory subsystem and the host. Applicant’s claim language does not clearly indicate what comprises a “response” to the command or associated “status”, thereby enabling at least the interpretation where data read (response) from the memory and returned to the host indicates a completed (status) operation.
The rejections are maintained as noted above in accordance to the amended claim limitations as recited.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2100.
/BRIAN R PEUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133