DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed September 9, 2026. Applicant’s reply to the restriction requirement of August 17, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 have been canceled. Claims 15-23 are pending in the application.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit as a continuation of prior-filed U.S. Patent Application No. 15/774,845, filed May 9, 2018, which is the National Stage entry of prior-filed WIPO International Application No. PCT/IB2016/001661, filed November 8, 2016 under 35 U.S.C. 365(c), is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is also made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of application EP15193624, filed November 9, 2015 in the European Patent Office, has been received as required by 37 CFR 1.55 in parent U.S. Application No. 15/774,845.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 15-18, is acknowledged. Applicant’s elections of i) insecticidal agent” as the species of active ingredient, ii) “wax” as the species of constituent representing 20-40 wt% of the composition, iii) “polyethylene wax” as the species of wax, and iv) “improving release of an active” as the species of intended method outcome are all also acknowledged. The Examiner has determined that claims 15-18 read on the elected subject matter.
Accordingly, claims 19-23 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 9, 2026. Claims 15-18 are currently under examination.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should be limited to a single paragraph. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to for the following:
1. There should be a comma rather than a colon between “insecticidal agents” and “20-40”; there should be a comma rather than a semicolon between “a starch” and “and less than 4%”; and there should be a semicolon rather than a comma between “a starch” and “wherein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
1. Claim 15 provides that the “polymeric binder” can include e.g. “a cellulose” and e.g. “a dextrin”, and other polymeric carbohydrates, such as “alginate”, and that these can be present in the amounts specified, e.g. “less than 4% by weight of the seed coating composition”. However, the original specification appears to more broadly teach that the “polymeric binder” element excludes wax and polymeric carbohydrates generally, and the amount of the “polymeric binder” necessarily excludes the amount of any wax or polymeric carbohydrates in the seed coating composition. Hence, designating polymeric carbohydrates as polymeric binders constitutes new matter.
Claim 15 stipulates that the seed coating composition comprises “less than 4% by weight of the seed coating composition of a polymeric binder excluding a wax and/or a starch”. Claim 16 stipulates in a wherein clause that “the polymeric binder is present in an amount of less than 2% by weight of the seed coating composition”. Claim 17 stipulates in a wherein clause that “the polymeric binder is present in an amount of less than 1% by weight of the seed coating composition”. However, the original specification discloses “an amount of polymeric binder exluding wax and polymeric carbohydrate of 10% or less by total weight of the wax and polymeric carbohydrate together”. In other words, the recited amount of polymeric binder is a percentage of the total weight of the wax and polymeric carbohydrate, not the total weight of the seed coating composition. This constitutes new matter.
Claims 16-18 depend from claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is indefinite for the following reasons:
1. Claim 15 first stipulates that the composition contains “a wax and/or a starch”, but then goes on to stipulate as a further limitation an amount of “a polymeric binder excluding a wax and/or a starch”. One of ordinary skill in the art thus cannot definitively ascertain if the “a wax and/or a starch” element is necessarily limited to being “a binder”, and if so, which waxes are and are not “binders” and which starches are and are not “binders”, and hence which waxes and which starches are thus necessarily included and excluded from being suitable elements for inclusion in the composition, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
2. Claim 15 provides that the “polymeric binder” can be e.g. “an oil” and “a syrup”, which one of ordinary skill in the art would generally recognize are not polymers, and that the “polymeric binder” can be e.g. “a vinylidene chloride” and “a methylacrylamide monomer”, which are not polymers (i.e. not polymeric) but rather are monomers. Claim 15 thus provides that “polymeric binders” can include non-polymers, which is incongruous. One of ordinary skill in the art thus cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
Claims 16-18 are indefinite for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reus et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2012/0065060).
Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a seed coating composition comprising an insecticidal active, and 20-40 wt% polyethylene wax; wherein the seed coating composition contains less than 1 wt% of a polymeric binder.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Reus et al. disclose a seed coating composition containing e.g. an insecticidal active, a “binder” wherein the “binder” can exclusively be e.g. 10-60 wt% polyethylene wax, inorganic nanoparticles, and a pigment; wherein the seed coating composition can thus be free of polymeric binder excluding wax and polymeric carbohydrate and need not include polyvinyl acetate or any other agents beyond those just enumerated (abstract; paragraphs 0008, 0023, 0024, 0039-0044; claims 1, 9, 23).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Reus et al. do not anticipate the instantly claimed subject matter with one specific example or preferred embodiment. However, the Reus et al. disclosure is sufficient to render the claimed subject matter prima facie obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to employ the teachings of Reus et al., outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s instantly claimed seed coating composition.
Reus et al. disclose a seed coating composition comprising an active, and a “binder”, wherein the “binder” can exclusively be e.g. 10-60 wt% polyethylene wax; wherein the composition, when coated onto a seed, negates the stickiness of the surface and thereby prevents agglomeration of the seeds. Since Reus et al. expressly disclose that the active can be e.g. an insecticide (paragraph 0042), and since Reus et al. expressly teaches that the “binder” can exclusively be a wax, e.g. polyethylene wax, and thus does not require a polymeric binder excluding wax and polymeric carbohydrate at all, one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to follow the teachings of Reus et al., to arrive at the claimed composition with the reasonable expectation that the resulting composition, when coated onto a seed, will negate the stickiness of the surface and thereby prevent agglomeration of the seeds..
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617