Detailed Action
The communications received 09/25/2024 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claim Objections
To make the claims more clear, “the treated cellulosic fibers” in line 4 of claim 1 should be changed to “the cleaned cellulosic fibers”.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The acronym “SFR” is clearly defined in the specification as “Short Fiber Residuals”. For purposes of clarification, the definition of the acronym should be recited in the first claim in which it is presented which is claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gerber et al (US 2007/0137805) hereinafter GER.
As for claim 1, GER teaches:
A method for manufacturing fire resistant insulation using cellulosic fibers [Abstract], the method comprising the steps of:
cleaning the cellulosic fibers [Fig. 1 #10; 0091];
partially dewatering the treated cellulosic fibers (the hydrocleaner is understood to both clean and dewater) [Fig. 1 #10; 0101];
treating the cleaned cellulosic fibers with fire retardant material [Fig. 2 #26; 0102];
drying the treated cellulosic fibers (dewatering and drying) [Fig. 2 #29-31; 0103; 0105];
and forming a plurality of superstructures of at least a portion of the treated cellulosic fibers (fluffing) [0103-0105].
As for claim 2, GER teaches claim 1 and wherein a least a portion of the cellulosic fibers come from short fibers [0060].
As for claim 3, GER teaches claim 2 and wherein the SFR is combined with recycled cellulose fiber (via blending from recycled trash fiber) [0060].
As for claim 4, GER teaches claim 1 and wherein the fire retardant material includes borate based compounds (boric acid) [0005; 0095].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GER.
As for claim 5, GER teaches claim 1 and although the exact moisture content of the fibers being between 20-99% at the time of treatment with the fire retardant material, GER teaches that post fluffing which occurs after the treatment with the fire retardant material, the moisture content of about 40-60% [0103] and that the step before the fire retardant material treatment is a pulping fluid extractor which at the ending would be understood to produce a pulp with less than 100% moisture content [0102]. Therefore at the point of treatment, the moisture content would be less than 100% and greater than 40% which overlaps the claimed range.
In accordance with the MPEP, ‘ In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)’ therefore the overlapping range is obvious [see e.g. MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Conclusion
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748