Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The Applicant’s recited components appear to be a list of parts and it is unclear how the Applicant’s recited components, such as support frames, positioning plate, an adjustment shaft, connecting block, support rods, Velcro, and positioning mechanism cooperate as system of parts and function together with a compressor device to reduce the volume of the sofa body and cushions, and how an angle of a support rod is adjusted through the shaft therefore the specification does not describe in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention
Claims 1-6 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. As previously stated, it is unclear how the Applicant’s structural limitations, such as support frames, positioning plate, an adjustment shaft, connecting block, support rods, Velcro, and positioning mechanism cooperate as system of parts and how they are organized and correlated to function together to present a complete operative device. It is particularly unclear what is meant by the Applicant’s recitations “the base (2) is surrounded by a jacket”, “the positioning column is adapted to the positioning hole”, “the positioning column is provided with anti-slip patterns”, “the positioning plate is adapted to the positioning groove” and render the claims confusing and indefinite.
Claims 1 and 3 recites the limitation "the positioning columns, the cover, and the bottom end". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0085197 to Lucas in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0260879 to Nelson et al.
Claim 1, Lucas, as best understood, discloses a sofa body (10) and a base (20b), characterized in that the sofa body (1) is provided with cushions and pillows defined by backrest and seat (14,16)(fig. 4); and a support mechanism is provided on the base and includes a support frame (20,22), and support rods defined by guide members (34) are provided at both ends of the support frame; the support rods are equipped with an adjustment shaft defined by a damper piston (32), and a connecting block (38) is provided between the adjustment shaft and the base; the support frame is provided on left and right sides, and a positioning mechanism defined by a slider 36 is provided between the two support frames; the positioning mechanism comprises a positioning groove defined by an aperture and a positioning column defined by a block [0104]; the aperture opened on two support frames, and a positioning hole is opened on the positioning groove; the block is pressed against the positioning hole (fig. 13), and a positioning plate defined by seat slider 30 is provided between the two positioning columns that are symmetrically arranged. Lucas is silent to Velcro. Nelson discloses a sofa having a cover with Velcro fasteners [0123]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Velcro fastener of Nelson with the sofa of Lucas with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a means to removably secure to a cushion and prevent the cushion from moving or sliding during use.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0389758 to Deng et al. discloses a compressible sofa.
U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0415292 to Xiao discloses a compressible sofa.
U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0120332 to Chou discloses a system for assembled furniture.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Justin C. Mikowski can be reached on (571) 272-8525. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673