DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 04/14/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4 are pending in the application. In response to Applicant's amendments, Examiner withdraws the previous objections and the previous rejections under 112(b). Examiner notes that all previous objections and rejections pertaining to canceled claims 2 and 3 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the cited references, either individually or in combination, do not disclose or render obvious every element of amended claim 1 because “the apparatus for servicing an aquatic structure of Hartog is not for underwater operation,” and “a person of ordinary skill in the art would have no clear motivation to combine the technical features disclosed in the cited references with the cited reference Hartog to obtain the limitations of the amended claim 1 of the present application for underwater operations” (Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 18-19).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Hartog states “The above examples may be used in a marine or aquatic splash zone, or at a shallow depth below the surface, such as 10 metres. The examples may be modified for operation below 10 metres in depth, for example by the use of suitable hydraulic seals” (emphasis added) [0064]. Therefore, Hartog clearly describes an apparatus for underwater operation.
Furthermore, the apparatus of Hartog is an “apparatus for servicing aquatic or marine support structures such as risers, conductors, caissons, piles, or legs for marine platforms, jetties or wharves” [0001]. This is the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, and the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Therefore, Hartog is an analogous art (see MPEP 2141.01(a)). The motivations to combine each reference are clearly written in the rejection below, and Applicant has not specifically challenged any of these motivations. In combination with other references which are also clearly for underwater use (for example, Blunk: a system for “the underwater inspection of piers” [0002]), the combination of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt as a whole teaches the claimed “waterproof” and “underwater” limitations of amended claim 1.
Applicant further argues that the cited references, either individually or in combination, do not disclose or render obvious the amended limitations (“wherein two sets of the vision array modules… from the corresponding tool compartment.”) in claim 1 (Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 19-20).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, Blunk teaches the locations of the vision array modules and underwater lighting systems (see [0005], [0028], and Figs. 2 and 8). Hartog/Blunk/Zhong teaches the locations of the depth metering modules (see [0035-0038] and [0046] of Hartog), the underwater manipulator arms (see Fig. 1 of Zhong; [0021] and Figs. 17-19 of Hartog; and [0028] and Fig. 2 of Blunk), and the tool compartments (see Fig. 2 of Zhong). Wang ‘842 teaches the inclination measurement modules (see [0041], [0049], [0065-0066], and Fig. 6). Leonhardt teaches the details of the tool compartments and gripper [0014-0020]. Therefore, the combination of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt as a whole teaches all of the limitations of amended claim 1.
Since the arguments against the rejection of claim 4 are significantly similar to those of amended claim 1, Examiner maintains the rejection of claim 4 on the same grounds as the rejection of amended claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “power and communication through a main body” should read “power and communication through the main body” because a main body is previously recited in the claim.
In claim 1, “wherein two sets of the underwater manipulator arms” should read “wherein the underwater manipulator arms” for consistency.
In S3 of claim 4, “collect posture information” should read “collect the posture information” because posture information is previously recited in amended claim 1.
In S3 of claim 4, “an depth” should read “a depth”.
In S3 of claim 4, “cover plates” in “cover plates of the tool compartments” should read “the cover plates” because cover plates are previously recited in amended claim 1.
In S4 of claim 4, “to perform the scrubbing task” should read “to perform a scrubbing task” because no scrubbing task is previously recited.
In S5 of claim 4, “transmits visual information” should read “transmits the visual information” because visual information is previously recited in amended claim 1.
In S5 of claim 4, “underwater depth information” should read “the water depth information” and “the depth information” should read “the water depth information” for consistency because water depth information is previously recited in amended claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a circumferential direction” and “the circumferential direction” in “four sets of the servo driving wheels are… evenly distributed on an upper end of the main body in a circumferential direction” and “four sets of the driven wheels are… evenly distributed on a lower end of the main body in the circumferential direction,” respectively. These limitations have been interpreted as “along a circumference” and “along the circumference” of the main body, respectively.
In S3 of claim 4, the “depth” in “after the robot reaches a depth” is not specified. Therefore, this depth has been interpreted as any position on the underwater pier.
In S5 of claim 4, the angles in “the underwater lighting systems adjust their angles” have been interpreted as different angles than the pitch angle and roll angle recited in S2.
In S5 of claim 4, the “top” and “bottom” in “the robot crawls slowly from top to bottom” have been interpreted as positions on the underwater pier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “four sets of the servo driving wheels are provided… for providing power to the embracing crawling robot to crawl the underwater pier of the highway bridge” (underline designates the amended portion) does not have support in the disclosure of application 18896856 as originally filed on 09/25/2024. The closest support found in the original specification of application 18896856 is copied below:
“four sets of the servo driving wheels are provided and evenly distributed on an upper end of the main body in a circumferential direction for providing power to the underwater pier of the highway bridge” [0008]
“the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier of the highway bridge, such that the robot is capable of stably embracing the highway bridge to fix the same” [0008]
“the servo driving wheels are enabled after the cover plates are closed, the robot then crawls downward along the underwater pier” [0014]
The above quotations do not state that the servo driving wheels cause/provide power to the robot to crawl on the underwater pier. Instead, the closest statement is that the synchronous tension pushing the servo driving wheels onto the underwater pier cause the robot to “stably embrac[e] the highway bridge” [0008], which occurs before the servo driving wheels are turned on (see S1 and S2 of claim 4).
Therefore, the disclosure as originally filed does not provide sufficient support for the particular limitation of “four sets of the servo driving wheels are provided… for providing power to the embracing crawling robot to crawl the underwater pier of the highway bridge”. Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Examiner notes that the instant application 18896856 incorporates by reference the application PCT/CN2023/131006, of which the instant application is a continuation. A machine translation of WO 2025050505 A1, which is the publication of the PCT application PCT/CN2023/131006, appears to overcome this rejection (“the servo power system has four groups, which are evenly distributed on the upper end of the body body in the circumferential direction to provide power for crawling underwater pier studs on the road bridge” [0009]). However, a certified copy of the PCT application PCT/CN2023/131006 has not been filed, and the publication WO 2025050505 A1 and application PCT/CN2023/131006 are not in the English language.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim 4 is rejected for depending upon the rejected independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “an operator… remotely controls the waterproof pen-type electric pull rod using a cable to press the four tires and the four driven wheels of the robot tightly against the underwater pier of the highway bridge until the robot stops sliding down” does not have support in the disclosure of application 18896856 as originally filed on 09/25/2024. The closest support found in the original specification of application 18896856 is copied below:
“the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier of the highway bridge, such that the robot is capable of stably embracing the highway bridge to fix the same” [0008]
“S1. an operator… remotely controls the waterproof pen-type electric pull rod using a cable to press four tires and four driven wheels of the robot tightly against the underwater pier of the highway bridge until the robot slides down without being affected by gravity” [0012]
Although the original limitation “until the robot slides down without being affected by gravity” was interpreted as “until the robot does not slide down under gravity” in the Non-Final Rejection of 01/14/2026 for the purpose of applying prior art, paragraphs [0008] and [0012] of the specification do not support that “the robot stops sliding down”.
Therefore, the disclosure as originally filed does not provide sufficient support for the particular limitation of “four sets of the servo driving wheels are provided… for providing power to the embracing crawling robot to crawl the underwater pier of the highway bridge”. Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “each of the tool compartments is mounted on an inner side of each of the underwater manipulator arms on a side”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. The limitations “inner sides of the swing frames”, “both sides of the vision array modules”, and the “inner side” of the underwater manipulator arms are previously recited in the claim. It is unclear which side “on a side” refers to; therefore, this limitation renders claim 1 indefinite.
Claim 4 is rejected for depending upon the rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Citations of publications not in the English language refer to the paragraph numbers of the English translations.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog and Gunter (WO 2023170398 A1, filed 03/07/2023; hereafter “Hartog”) in view of Blunk (US 20180136144 A1; “Blunk”), Zhong et al. (CN 217143958 U; “Zhong”), Wang et al. (CN 113664842 A; “Wang ‘842”), Zhang et al. (CN 114101162 A; “Zhang”), Wang et al. (CN 108382551 A; “Wang ‘551”), Choi and Shin (KR 20230016890 A; “Choi”), and Leonhardt et al. (US 20200317312 A1; hereafter “Leonhardt”).
Regarding claim 1, Hartog discloses
An embracing crawling robot for detecting an underwater pier… comprising a main body (See an “apparatus for servicing aquatic or marine support structures such as risers, conductors, caissons, piles, or legs for marine platforms, jetties or wharves” [0001]. See frame/cage 1, including all subsystems, in Fig. 19.),
depth metering modules (See “The apparatus may include one or more distance sensors, to determine the distance travelled along the support structure 30” [0035]. The distance travelled is a depth. See also [0037-0038] and [0046].),
…driving wheels (See “At least one of the wheels 8, 9 is driveable reciprocally in either one of opposite directions (e.g. forward and backward) so as to move the apparatus respectively up and down the support structure 30” [0027]. See also [0042], [0044], [0056], and [0058].),
synchronized stretching and fixing systems (See “At least one of the pairs of arms 6, 7 are reciprocally driveable to pivot towards and away [stretch and fix] from the support structure 30 so that the corresponding wheels 8, 9 respectively clamp and release the support structure 30. Preferably, this pair of arms 6, 7 is driven by respective hydraulic cylinders 10, 11. The control of the hydraulic cylinders 10, 11 may be interconnected so that the pair of arms is driven in synchronism” [0024]. See also [0025], [0042], and [0044].), and
driven wheels (See “Others of the wheels 8, 9 may not be driven, but may freely rotate, preferably independently of each other, so as to act as guides for movement of the apparatus up and down the support structure 30” [0027]. See also [0042], [0044], [0056], and [0058].);
wherein the main body adopts an octagonal hollow frame structure, which is fixed on the underwater pier… and is configured to reduce resistance caused by water flow (Octagonal hollow frame structure: see frame/cage 1 in Fig. 21. Fixed on the underwater pier: see “The cage 1 comprises two semi-cylindrical sections 1a, 1b hingedly connected together at connection points 2a, 2b, and lockable together” around aquatic support structure 30 (underwater pier) [0043]. Configured to reduce resistance: “The cage in this example may [be] designed in a larger version for fitting around structures 30 with a diameter of between 22 and 36 inches (0.56 - 0.91 m)” [0043]. The size of the main body corresponds to the size of the underwater pier, and therefore, the (reduced) size of the main body is configured to reduce water resistance. See also [0024], [0062-0063], and Figs. 17-20, 22, and 28.), and
the systems and the modules perform power and communication transmission through a main body (Since the systems and the modules (e.g., hydraulic cylinders 10, 11 of arms 6, 7; driving wheels 8, 9; camera 27; distance sensors; etc.) are part of the main body and also are powered by power supply 28 and exchange signals with controller 26, the systems and the modules perform power and communication transmission through the main body structure. See [0024], [0050-0058], and Figs. 15-16.);
…sets of the… driving wheels are provided and evenly distributed on an upper end of the main body in a circumferential direction for providing power to the embracing crawling robot to crawl the underwater pier… (See two sets of (driving) wheels 8 on opposite sides (evenly distributed in a circumferential direction) of a support structure 30 (underwater pier) and in the upper half of the frame 1 (main body) in Figs. 17-19. The wheels provide/dispel power to the robot by clamping onto and driving along (crawling) the support structure 30 [0027]. See also [0021], [0024], and [0052].),
…sets of the driven wheels are provided and evenly distributed on a lower end of the main body in the circumferential direction (See two sets of (driven) wheels 9 on opposite sides (evenly distributed in a circumferential direction) of a support structure 30 (underwater pier) and in the lower half of the frame 1 (main body) in Figs. 17-19. See also [0021], [0027], and [0051].), and
each set of the driven wheels vertically corresponds to one set of the… driving wheels and is rotatably connected to the main body through a swing frame (See Fig. 17: each set of (driving) wheels 8 vertically corresponds to a set of (driven) wheels 9. Each set of wheels 8, 9 are mounted on arms 6, 7 (swing frames), which pivot (rotate) relative to the frame 1 (main body): “At least one of the pairs of arms 6, 7 are reciprocally driveable to pivot towards and away from the support structure 30 so that the corresponding wheels 8, 9 respectively clamp and release the support structure 30” [0024]. See also Figs. 14 and 18-19, [0022], [0025], [0042], [0044], and [0052].);
each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof… rod… connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the… driving wheels and the driven wheels (See Figs. 18-19: the actuating cylinders 10, 11 and adjustable length bars 12, 13 connect inner sides of the arms 6, 7 (swing frames) which carry the (driving) wheels 8 and (driven) wheels 9. See also [0044].) and…
squeezes the tires of each set of the… driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier… such that the robot is capable of stably embracing [the underwater pier] to fix the same… (See “At least one of the pairs of arms 6, 7 are reciprocally driveable to pivot towards and away from the support structure 30 so that the corresponding wheels 8, 9 respectively clamp and release the support structure 30” [0024]. Fix: See an “apparatus for servicing aquatic or marine support structures such as risers, conductors, caissons, piles, or legs for marine platforms, jetties or wharves” [0001]. See also [0022], [0025], [0042], [0044], [0052], and [0058].).
In another embodiment, Hartog teaches
four sets of the… driving wheels… and four sets of the driven wheels… (See “The second example has three pairs of upper and lower arms 6, 7 as in the first example, evenly spaced around the upper support 3. In other examples, particularly those designed for servicing support structures of larger diameter, there may be more than three pairs of arms 6, 7” [0040]. See also [0021].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have duplicated the sets of driving and driven wheels of Hartog in order to adequately “service[e] support structures of larger diameter” (Hartog, [0040]).
However, Hartog does not explicitly teach “underwater lighting systems, tool compartments,” “servo driving wheels, inclination measurement modules, underwater manipulator arms,” “the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” “the main body is composed of carbon fiber pipes,” “each of the servo driving wheels comprises a wiring cover, a servo motor, a waterproof motor sleeve, a locating shoulder, a static shaft coupling, tires, and dynamic shaft couplings;” and “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod and an underwater tension sensor, which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” and “wherein two sets of the vision array modules are provided and located on the lower end of the main body and are composed of an underwater camera array to provide visual information to facilitate detection of a defect on the underwater pier of the highway bridge and the transmission of visual data; four sets of the underwater lighting systems are provided and located on both sides of the vision array modules to provide visual lighting conditions in a turbid water environment; each of the depth metering modules is mounted at a center of an outer wall of each of the tool compartments to collect water depth information; and each of the inclination measurement modules are mounted on an upper wall of each of the tool compartments adjacent to the underwater manipulator arms to provide posture information of the robot, which is used for anti-deflection control, wherein two sets of the underwater manipulator arms are symmetrically distributed on the upper end of the main body; each of the tool compartments is mounted on an inner side of each of the underwater manipulator arms on a side, each of the tool compartments comprises cylindrical chambers, a cover plate, and a cover plate slot, and contains operating tools for cleaning inside, a gripper is mounted at an end of each of the underwater manipulator arms, and each of the underwater manipulator arms is thus capable of gripping the operating tools from the corresponding tool compartment.”
Blunk, in the same field of endeavor (underwater inspection systems), teaches
underwater lighting systems (See four underwater diving lights 119 in Fig. 2. See also [0005], [0025], and [0028].),
vision array modules (See four cameras 117 in Fig. 2. See also [0025] and [0028].),
the main body is composed of carbon fiber pipes (See “As seen in FIG. 2, the frame 202 is a square shaped stainless steel pipe, but the material may be aluminum, carbon fiber or other material depending upon the application of underwater camera inspection system 200” [0027]. See also [0025].);
wherein two sets of the vision array modules are provided and located on the lower end of the main body and are composed of an underwater camera array to provide visual information to facilitate detection of a defect on the underwater pier… and the transmission of visual data (In Fig. 8, see thrusters 1010 mounted above frame 202 (depicted in Fig. 2), upon which the cameras 117 are fastened; therefore, the cameras 117 located on a lower side of the main body. The underwater camera inspection system 200 has “four cameras 117… with one fastened to each of the legs 204. …In this arrangement, the cameras 117 are able to capture the entire circumference of pile 104 [underwater pier] on video at the same time” [0028]. Transmission: see “the video feed… can be live streamed to a remote location, e.g., a display located on the surface of the sea, for viewing in real time” [0005].);
four sets of the underwater lighting systems are provided and located on both sides of the vision array modules to provide visual lighting conditions in a turbid water environment (See “Four underwater diving lights 119 are mounted to frame 202 at spaced apart points to provide overlapping illumination of the pile 104” [0028]. In Fig. 2, diving lights 119 are mounted on both sides of each camera 117 and therefore both sides of the vision array modules. The diving lights 119 provide visual lighting for all environments, including a turbid water environment. See also [0005].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog with the lights and carbon fiber pipes of Blunk. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “to provide overlapping illumination of the pile[s] throughout the inspection process” (Blunk, [0028]).
However, Hartog/Blunk does not explicitly teach “tool compartments,” “servo driving wheels, inclination measurement modules, underwater manipulator arms,” “the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” “each of the servo driving wheels comprises a wiring cover, a servo motor, a waterproof motor sleeve, a locating shoulder, a static shaft coupling, tires, and dynamic shaft couplings;” “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod and an underwater tension sensor, which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” and “each of the depth metering modules is mounted at a center of an outer wall of each of the tool compartments to collect water depth information; and each of the inclination measurement modules are mounted on an upper wall of each of the tool compartments adjacent to the underwater manipulator arms to provide posture information of the robot, which is used for anti-deflection control, wherein two sets of the underwater manipulator arms are symmetrically distributed on the upper end of the main body; each of the tool compartments is mounted on an inner side of each of the underwater manipulator arms on a side, each of the tool compartments comprises cylindrical chambers, a cover plate, and a cover plate slot, and contains operating tools for cleaning inside, a gripper is mounted at an end of each of the underwater manipulator arms, and each of the underwater manipulator arms is thus capable of gripping the operating tools from the corresponding tool compartment.”
Zhong, in the same field of endeavor (pier cleaning robots), teaches
tool compartments (See housing/chassis 4, which “can carry certain equipment” [0021]. See Fig. 1: housing/chassis 4 has a basket shape.),
underwater manipulator arms (See two cleaning arms 7 in Fig. 2. See also [0009], [0020], and [0032].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk to include the tool compartments and underwater manipulator arms of Zhong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because by “controlling the posture of the cleaning arm 7 in the water and the water pressure and flow rate of the cleaning nozzle 8, cleaning can be achieved at different locations” (Zhong, [0032]).
Regarding the depth metering modules, Hartog does not specify a required position for the distance sensors, and thus teaches all mounting positions. An example position of a distance sensor is given in [0046]; see also [0035-0038]. A specific mounting position is a design choice that would not modify the operation of the distance sensors. Mounting each of the depth metering modules at a center of an outer wall of each of the tool compartments is a known mounting variation, and the claimed variation is predictable and could have been implemented by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the combination Hartog/Blunk/Zhong teaches “each of the depth metering modules is mounted at a center of an outer wall of each of the tool compartments to collect water depth information,” where the water depth information is related to the measured distance the system has moved along the support structure 30 (Hartog, [0038]).
Regarding the position of the underwater manipulator arms, Zhong teaches a cleaning arm 7 on an upper body 1 (upper end of the main body) in Fig. 1; see also [0016]. Hartog teaches symmetrically distributed arms 6, 7; see [0021] and Figs. 17-19. Similarly, Blunk teaches symmetrically distributed cameras 117 and diving lights 119 to inspect “the entire circumference of pile 104 on video at the same time” [0028]; see Fig. 2. A specific mounting position is a design choice that would not modify the operation of the cleaning arms. Distributing the underwater manipulator arms symmetrically on the upper end of the main body is a known distribution variation, and the claimed variation is predictable and could have been implemented by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place a second cleaning arm 7 on the upper end of the main body, on the opposite side of the pier (symmetrically distributed), so that the cameras 117 on that side of the pier also inspect a cleaned pier surface. Thus, the combination of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong teaches “wherein two sets of the underwater manipulator arms are symmetrically distributed on the upper end of the main body.”
Regarding the tool compartments, Zhong teaches that the housing/chassis 4 carrying equipment is between the cleaning arms 7 in Fig. 2, and thus, the tool compartment “is mounted on an inner side of each of the underwater manipulator arms.” A specific mounting position of the tool compartments within the range of the underwater manipulator arms is a design choice that would not modify the operation of the tool compartments and is thus obvious. Duplicating and mounting the tool compartments on an inner side of each of the underwater manipulator arms is a known mounting variation, and the claimed variation is predictable and could have been implemented by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the combination of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong teaches “each of the tool compartments is mounted on an inner side of each of the underwater manipulator arms on a side.”
However, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong does not explicitly teach “servo driving wheels, inclination measurement modules,” “the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” “each of the servo driving wheels comprises a wiring cover, a servo motor, a waterproof motor sleeve, a locating shoulder, a static shaft coupling, tires, and dynamic shaft couplings;” and “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod and an underwater tension sensor, which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” and “each of the tool compartments comprises cylindrical chambers, a cover plate, and a cover plate slot, and contains operating tools for cleaning inside, a gripper is mounted at an end of each of the underwater manipulator arms, and each of the underwater manipulator arms is thus capable of gripping the operating tools from the corresponding tool compartment.”
Wang ‘842, in the same field of endeavor (pier inspection robots), teaches
servo driving wheels (See “The drive motor 223 transmits the driving force to the drive wheel 221 through a conventional worm gear mechanism, thereby providing the system with crawling force; in this embodiment, the drive motor 223 is a servo motor” [0043]. See also [0028] and [0066].),
inclination measurement modules (See “At least two crawling mechanisms 2 are evenly provided on the frame 1… A horizontal detection sensor 3 is installed at the frame 1 corresponding to each crawling mechanism 2. The host computer is used to receive the tilt angle of the frame 1 at the location corresponding to the crawling mechanism 2 detected by the horizontal detection sensor 3… The horizontal detection sensor 3 used in this invention is a high-precision gyroscope, which can perform all-round angle detection on the crawling mechanism 2” [0041]. See also [0049], [0054], and [0065-0066].),
the systems and the modules perform power and communication transmission through a main body structure (See at least one power supply 5 connected to driving motor 223 on frame 1 in Fig. 2. See also [0028], [0043], [0046], [0074-0075].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong with the servo driving wheels and gyroscopes of Wang ‘842. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “reduc[e] the probability of the robot getting stuck during the ascent or descent” by using the detected tilt angle from the gyroscopes to make the frame level (Wang ‘842, [0065]).
Regarding the inclination measurement modules, Wang ‘842 discloses gyroscopes that “can perform all-round angle detection” where the gyroscopes are mounted [0041]. A specific mounting position is a design choice that would not modify the operation of the gyroscopes. Mounting the gyroscopes on an upper wall of each of the tool compartments adjacent to the underwater manipulator arms is a known mounting variation, and the claimed variation is predictable and could have been implemented by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The data from the gyroscopes indicates posture information (see Fig. 6 and [0049]), which is used to correct the tilt angle of the robot (anti-deflection control) [0065-0066]. Therefore, the combination Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842 teaches “each of the inclination measurement modules are mounted on an upper wall of each of the tool compartments near the underwater manipulator arms to provide posture information of the robot, which is used for anti-deflection control.”
However, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842 does not explicitly teach “the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” “each of the servo driving wheels comprises a wiring cover, a servo motor, a waterproof motor sleeve, a locating shoulder, a static shaft coupling, tires, and dynamic shaft couplings;” and “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod and an underwater tension sensor, which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” and “each of the tool compartments comprises cylindrical chambers, a cover plate, and a cover plate slot, and contains operating tools for cleaning inside, a gripper is mounted at an end of each of the underwater manipulator arms, and each of the underwater manipulator arms is thus capable of gripping the operating tools from the corresponding tool compartment.”
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor (underwater cleaning robots), teaches
servo driving wheels (See steering wheel drive units 2 comprising rubber tires in contact with the pipe wall in Figs. 1.1 and 1.2. The wheels are driven by “an underwater servo motor” [0012]. See also [0070].),
each of the servo driving wheels comprises a wiring cover, a servo motor, a waterproof motor sleeve, a locating shoulder, a static coupling shaft, tires, and dynamic coupling shafts (Wiring cover and waterproof motor sleeve: see servo motor housing 201 in Fig. 2.2 [0066]. Servo motor: see servo motor 203 in Fig. 2.3 [0067] and underwater servo motor 235 in Fig. 2.7 [0070]. Locating shoulder: see “The rubber wheel is positioned by the built-in axle shoulder and hub flange” [0070]. Static coupling shaft: see adapter flange 221 with steering connection shaft 220 in Fig. 2.5 [0068] and drive wheel hub 229 with drive wheel axle 230 in Fig. 2.7 [0070]. Tires: see “The outer side of the [wheel] hub [229] is a rubber tire 228” [0070]. Dynamic coupling shafts: see steering dynamic sealing chamber 205, harmonic reducer 208, and flexible wheel adapter flange 209 in Fig. 2.4, wave generator fixing baffle 216 in Fig. 2.5 [0068]; and dual guide posts 222 and rectangular compression springs 223 in Fig. 2.6 [0069]. See also [0009-0012] and [0029].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842 with the steering wheel drive units of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “ensur[e] that the servo motor 203 can work stably underwater” (Zhang, [0068]).
However, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang does not explicitly teach “the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod and an underwater tension sensor, which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” and “each of the tool compartments comprises cylindrical chambers, a cover plate, and a cover plate slot, and contains operating tools for cleaning inside, a gripper is mounted at an end of each of the underwater manipulator arms, and each of the underwater manipulator arms is thus capable of gripping the operating tools from the corresponding tool compartment.”
Wang ‘551, in the same field of endeavor (underwater pier inspection robots), teaches
the underwater pier of the highway bridge… (See “This invention discloses a detection robot system, and more particularly a robot system for underwater inspection of bridge piers” [0001].), and
each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod… (See “The armholding mechanism 13, consisting of the pull rod 1301 and the electric push rod 1302 at the rear end of the arm-holding mechanism 12, performs the arm-holding and arm-extending actions” to secure the water-based fixed mechanism 3 to the bridge pier [0047]. Pulling vs pushing depends on the zero-point set upon installation, so the electric push rod 1302 functions as a pull rod during the arm-extending actions. See Fig. 4: electric push rod 1302 appears to be pen-type. Electric push rod functions in a water environment (see water “surface fixing mechanism 3” [0044] and “water-based fixed mechanism 3” [0047]) and is therefore waterproof. See also [0015].).
Hartog discloses actuating cylinders 10, 11 and adjustable length bars 12, 13 on inner sides of the arms 6, 7 (swing frames) to push the (driving and driven) wheels 8, 9 onto the support structure 30 [0044] (see also Figs. 18-19). Using the electric pull rods, as taught by Wang ‘551, to clamp the wheels onto the pier instead of the actuating cylinders 10, 11 and adjustable length bars 12, 13 of Hartog, the combination of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551 teaches “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod… which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang with the electric pull rod of Wang ‘551. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of using a single, electric power supply 30 for all components (Wang ‘551, [0044] and Fig. 8) instead of a hydraulic power supply 28 to power the hydraulic actuating cylinders 10, 11 (Hartog, [0050]) in addition to an electric power supply for powering the lights, cameras, and other sensors.
However, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551 does not explicitly teach “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of… an underwater tension sensor, …and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” and “each of the tool compartments comprises cylindrical chambers, a cover plate, and a cover plate slot, and contains operating tools for cleaning inside, a gripper is mounted at an end of each of the underwater manipulator arms, and each of the underwater manipulator arms is thus capable of gripping the operating tools from the corresponding tool compartment.”
Choi, in the same field of endeavor (pier inspection systems), teaches
each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of… an underwater tension sensor… (See “the tension generating unit (300) includes… a tension generator (320) that adjusts tension between the two unit climbing modules (100) by pulling or releasing the tension member (310), a load sensor (not shown) that detects tension applied to the tension member (310)” [0032].) and
provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier of the highway bridge, such that the robot is capable of stably embracing the highway bridge to fix the same (Synchronous: see “The tension generating unit (300) is provided in each of two adjacent unit climbing modules (100) in the unit climbing modules (100), and the tension generating unit (300) controls the pulling force of each of the two adjacent unit climbing modules (100) to control the contact force between each wheel (120) of the unit climbing modules (100) positioned to surround the pier and the outer surface of the pier. It is preferable that the tension force acting on each tension force generating unit (300) of the tension force generating units (300) provided in each of the two adjacent unit climbing modules (100) surrounding the pier is the same” [0032-0033]. Squeeze: see “by controlling the integrated control box (500) to operate the tension generating units (300) respectively to generate tension in the tension material (310), the two adjacent unit climbing modules (100) are pulled to surround the pier, thereby applying pressure to the outer surface of the pier on each wheel (120) of the unit climbing modules (100)” so the system can drive up the pier [0041]. See also [0031].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551 with the tension units of Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to control “the tension generator (320) based on information detected by the load sensor” and thereby “control the contact force between each wheel (120) of the unit climbing modules (100) positioned to surround the pier and the outer surface of the pier” (Choi, [0032]).
However, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi does not explicitly teach “each of the tool compartments comprises cylindrical chambers, a cover plate, and a cover plate slot, and contains operating tools for cleaning inside, a gripper is mounted at an end of each of the underwater manipulator arms, and each of the underwater manipulator arms is thus capable of gripping the operating tools from the corresponding tool compartment.”
Leonhardt, in the same field of endeavor (underwater robotic systems), teaches
each of the tool compartments comprises cylindrical chambers, a cover plate, and a cover plate slot, and contains operating tools for cleaning inside (A tool storage unit 32 has multiple tool holders 200 [0015]. See “tool holder 200 includes a housing 202, shown here as a frame, with a face plate 204 [cover plate]. The housing 202 defines a receptacle 206 that receives and holds the tool 18, so that the tool can be stored when not in use” [0016]. See “The face plate 204 also includes features to lock the tool in place… in the form of a twist-lock keyway 224 [cover plate slot] that engages corresponding key 226 on the periphery of the tool 18” [0017]. The shape of the chamber/receptacle is a design choice that would not modify the operation of the chamber/receptacle and is thus obvious. The tools, “including torque tools, cutters and other tools” [0014], can be used for cleaning, for example, by cutting off debris, and Zhong teaches a high-pressure cleaning nozzle 8 [0020].),
a gripper is mounted at an end of each of the underwater manipulator arms, and each of the underwater manipulator arms is thus capable of gripping the operating tools from the corresponding tool compartment (See “A tool interchange 20 mounts at the end of the manipulator arm 16, between the manipulator arm 16 and the tool 18, becoming the interface between the arm 16 and the tool 18” [0014] and “The operator can then operate the manipulator arm 16 to dock in a different tool holder storing a different tool 18, and actuate the tool interchange 20 to lock to and establish data and power communications with the different tool 18—in other words, connect to a tool 18” [0015].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi to include the tool storage unit and tool interchange of Leonhardt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of using and storing multiple tools (Leonhardt, [0015]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog in view of Blunk, Zhong, Wang ‘842, Zhang, Wang ‘551, Choi, and Leonhardt; and further in view of Chen et al. (CN 116060388 A, hereafter “Chen”), and Chin et al. (US 20150148949 A1, hereafter “Chin”).
Regarding claim 4, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi disclose the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Hartog additionally teaches
S1. an operator assembles the robot into an octagonal shape on a water surface platform (See cage/frame 1, which is in an octagonal shape, of the robot assembled around a support structure 30 (underwater pier) in Figs. 17-22. The structure is composed of “two semi-cylindrical sections 1a, 1b hingedly connected together at connection points 2a, 2b, and lockable together” [0043]. The frame 1 is assembled around a support structure 30 manually (by an operator) [0019] while floating on buoyancy members (water surface platform) [0013]. See also Figs. 1-5, claims 4-5, and [0062].), and
remotely controls the waterproof pen-type electric pull rod using a cable to press the four tires and the four driven wheels of the robot tightly against the underwater pier of the highway bridge until the robot stops sliding down (See in Fig. 16 where the control of actuating cylinders 10, 11 and adjustable length bars 12, 13 are controlled by remote control unit 25 via a wired (cable) connection to controller 26 [0055]. When the cylinders/bars are extended, the driving and driven wheels 8, 9 clamp (press tightly against) the support structure 30 [0024]. As established in the rejection of claim 1 above, the actuating cylinders 10, 11 and adjustable length bars 12, 13 are replaced with waterproof pen-type electric pull rods, and the control is similar. When sufficiently clamped, the driving wheels 8, 9 “move the apparatus… up and down the support structure 30,” so the robot does not slide down under gravity [0027]. See also [0025-0026], [0044], [0049], and [0052-0053]. See also [0047] of Wang ‘551.);
S2. the operator remotely turns on the servo driving wheels, the depth metering modules, …the vision array modules… using the cable, and sets parameters to prepare for starting a cleaning task (The remote control unit 25 controls (turns on) the driving functions of the powered wheels 8, 9, “optionally in response to the distance traveled as detected by the distance sensor(s)” [0056]. To do this, the operator must also turn on the depth metering modules. The calibration of the distance sensor and driving response to detected depth are parameters to set before a cleaning task; see [0035-0038] and [0046]. To use a video camera 27 for inspection, the vision array modules must be turned on; see tool 22 connected to remote control unit 25 in Fig. 16. This control is via a wired connection (cable) [0055]. See also [0052].);
S3. after the robot reaches an appropriate depth, the underwater manipulator arms are used to perform the cleaning task (See “the remote control unit 25 or controller 26 may be programmable or programmed to carry out a particular service by coordinated control of the different functions, optionally in response to the distance travelled as detected by the distance sensor(s)… This may enable a predetermined section of the support structure 30 to be serviced” [0056]. That service includes “cleaning the surface of the support structure 30” with a tool 22, like “a high-pressure water nozzle” [0033]. See also [0031].);
the servo driving wheels are enabled… the robot then crawls downward along the underwater pier, and the high-pressure water guns wash the underwater pier of the highway bridge during the crawling of the robot (See “the remote control unit 25 or controller 26 may be programmable or programmed to carry out a particular service by coordinated control of the different functions, optionally in response to the distance travelled as detected by the distance sensor(s)” [0056]. “By moving the frame 1 up and down the support structure 30 using the driveable wheel(s) 8, 9, …the tool(s) 22 may reach substantially any part of the external surface of the support structure” for servicing [0031]. That service includes “cleaning the surface of the support structure 30” with a tool 22, like “a high-pressure water nozzle” [0033].); and
the servo driving wheels are enabled… the robot then crawls upward along the underwater pier, and… S5: after the [servicing] task is completed, the robot returns to the water surface… (See “the apparatus may be used to service in turn a plurality of piles… After each pile is serviced the apparatus may be floated to the next pile to be serviced and attached thereto” [0008]. To float to the next pile, the robot must return to the water surface; the driving wheels 8, 9 “move the apparatus… up and down the support structure 30” [0027]. See also “the remote control unit 25 or controller 26 may be programmable or programmed to carry out a particular service by coordinated control of the different functions, optionally in response to the distance travelled as detected by the distance sensor(s” [0056]. See also [0031-0034].);
the vision array modules approach the underwater pier of the highway bridge to perform visual detection… (See “The tool(s) 22 may be moveably mounted… to allow movement of the tool(s) 22,” including “a video camera 27 for inspection of the servicing site” [0032-0033].);
the robot crawls slowly from top to bottom (“By moving the frame 1 up and down the support structure 30 using the driveable wheel(s) 8, 9, …the tool(s) 22 may reach substantially any part of the external surface of the support structure” for servicing [0031]. The speed is slow enough to perform the servicing task, “subject to any restrictions due to hydraulic lines and the like” [0031].), and
when the defect on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, …the depth metering modules record underwater depth information of the defect and transmits defect information and the depth information back to the ground station (See “As the apparatus moves along the support structure 30, the distance sensor(s) and rotational position sensor(s) measure the distance travelled in an axial and circumferential direction relat[ive] to the initial position. This enables the position of any anomaly or discrepancy [defect] on the support structure to be mapped and returned to” [0038]. See “the remote control unit 25 or controller 26 may be programmable or programmed to carry out a particular service by coordinated control of the different functions, optionally in response to the distance travelled as detected by the distance sensor(s)” [0056]; therefore, the depth information, including the depth of an anomaly/discrepancy, is transmitted to the remote control unit 25. See also [0037]. See also [0044] of Wang ‘551.); and
after completing the detection task, the robot returns to the water surface (See “the apparatus may be used to service in turn a plurality of piles… After each pile is serviced the apparatus may be floated to the next pile to be serviced and attached thereto” [0008]. To float to the next pile, the robot must return to the water surface, and the driving wheels 8, 9 “move the apparatus… up… the support structure 30” [0027]. See also [0031-0034] and [0056].).
Blunk additionally discloses
S2. the operator remotely turns on… the vision array modules, and the underwater lighting systems… (See the “remotely operated video cameras” [0004] are caused “to make a video recording of the entire circumference of [the underwater pier] as [the inspection] frame is moved along” the pier [0007]. For the underwater diving lights 119 “to provide overlapping illumination of the pile 104's coating throughout the inspection process,” the lights must be turned on [0028].);
…and starts a detection task (See the “remotely operated video cameras” [0004] are caused “to make a video recording of the entire circumference of [the underwater pier] as [the inspection] frame is moved along” the pier [0007]. See also [0005] and [0025-0026].)
the vision array modules approach the underwater pier of the highway bridge to perform visual detection, and transmits visual information back to a ground station; at the same time, the underwater lighting systems adjust their angles to provide suitable lighting conditions (The cameras 117 approach the pile 104 for inspection, and the underwater diving lights 119 adjust their angles to provide suitable lighting conditions, when the frame 202 is assembled around the pile 104. See [0028], [0030], and Fig. 2. From the cameras 117, “the video feed… can be live streamed to a remote location, e.g., a display located on the surface of the sea, for viewing in real time” [0005].);
the robot crawls slowly from top to bottom, and when the defect on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, the vision array modules automatically… transmits defect information… back to the ground station (See “the method according to the present invention comprises the raising and lowering of the inspection system 100 across the entire vertical, exterior surface of the pile to ensure that no areas of the pile's coating are missed during inspection of the pile” [0026]. From the cameras 117, “the video feed… can be live streamed to a remote location, e.g., a display located on the surface of the sea, for viewing in real time” [0005].).
Zhong additionally discloses
S1. an operator assembles the robot… on a water surface platform, and remotely controls the waterproof… rod using a cable to press the four tires and the four driven wheels of the robot tightly against the underwater pier of the highway bridge until the robot stops sliding down (See “The robot is connected to the oil supply pump, controller and high-pressure water pump on the guide frame platform through hydraulic pipelines, control cables and high-pressure water pipes” [0019]. See “The clamping arm (6) can be opened and closed by controlling the extension and retraction of the clamping arm telescopic hydraulic cylinder (3). Under the joint action of the drive wheel (18) and the driven wheel (11), it will clamp the guide frame column (2)” [claim 2]. See also the Abstract and [0006-0007], [0022], [0026-0027].);
…the underwater manipulator arms are used to perform the cleaning task (See “By controlling the posture of the cleaning arm 7 in the water and the water pressure and flow rate of the cleaning nozzle 8, cleaning can be achieved at different locations” [0032]. The control of the other underwater manipulator arm(s) is the same. See also [0009] and [0020].);
the underwater manipulator arms grip high-pressure water guns… (See “The cleaning arm 7 carries a cleaning nozzle 8 at its end. The cleaning nozzle 8 is connected to the well platform through a high-pressure water pipe to provide high-pressure water to the robot and realize the robot's cleaning function” [0020]. See also [0009] and [0032].);
the servo driving wheels are enabled after the cover plates are closed, the robot then crawls downward along the underwater pier, and the high-pressure water guns thoroughly wash the underwater pier of the highway bridge during the crawling of the robot (See “When the robot is working, it first travels downwards along the guide frame column 2” [0027]. See “By controlling the posture of the cleaning arm 7 in the water and the water pressure and flow rate of the cleaning nozzle 8, cleaning can be achieved at different locations” [0032]. To complete the cleaning of an entire pier, the cleaning must be performed at least intermittently during the crawling of the robot. See two cleaning arms 7 in Fig. 2.); and
when the robot reaches a water bottom, the cleaning task is completed (See “When the robot is working, it first travels downwards along the guide frame column 2” [0027], and “After cleaning, the inspection of the structure of the guide frame column 2 can be completed through the inspection device carried at the end of the cleaning arm 7” [0032].), and
S5: after the [cleaning] task is completed, the robot returns to the water surface and starts a detection task (See “After cleaning, the inspection of the structure of the guide frame column 2 can be completed through the inspection device carried at the end of the cleaning arm 7” [0032]. See also “Driven by four hydraulic motors 16, the robot moves upward” [0028].);
…approach the underwater pier of the highway bridge to perform… detection… (See “The cleaning arm has four degrees of freedom, which allows the cleaning nozzle and detection device to complete cleaning and detection work within a certain spatial range. The cleaning arm also carries a detection device at its end, which can be used to inspect the guide frame column structure after cleaning” [0009]. See also [0020] and [0032].);
Wang ‘842 additionally discloses
S2. the operator remotely turns on the servo driving wheels, …the inclination measurement modules, …using the cable, and sets parameters to prepare for starting a cleaning task (See “Connect the controller cable” [0071] then “Power on the robot by connecting the batteries and control circuits of each group of drive components 21 to power on the drive components 21” of crawling mechanisms 2 [0073]. The horizontal detection sensors 3 are part of the crawling mechanisms 2 [0041]. See “before using the robot, parameters can be set on the robot via a host computer. The parameters determine whether the robot should climb upwards or descend downwards” [0061]. See also [0066].);
during crawling of the robot, the inclination measurement modules continuously collect posture information of the robot; and the robot makes use of the posture information to control a pitch angle and a roll angle, so as to keep the robot in a stable and balanced state (See “The host computer is used to receive the tilt angle of the frame 1 at the location corresponding to the crawling mechanism 2 detected by the horizontal detection sensor 3… which can perform all-round angle detection on the crawling mechanism 2” [0041]. See “The drive component 21 drives the drive motor 223 to rotate, and finally corrects the tilt angle of each gyroscope, so that the frame 1 is level as a whole, reducing the probability of the robot getting stuck during the ascent or descent” [0065]. The robot controls a pitch and roll angle so that the frame is level (“on the same horizontal plane” [0048]), which is a stable and balanced state. The host computer continuously controls each crawling mechanism using the detected tilt angle of each crawling mechanism; therefore, the horizontal detection sensors 3 continuously collect posture information [0029]. See also “The horizontal detection sensor detects the position of the crawling mechanism in real time, and then the host computer controls the speed of each crawling mechanism to ensure that the height of each crawling mechanism is consistent” [Abstract]. See also [0049-0050], [0054], and [0066].);
Zhang additionally discloses
after completing the detection task, the robot returns to the water surface (See “Once all tasks are completed, the equipment receives a stop signal. After completing the current process, it will run a vertical reset” [0086].).
Wang ‘551 additionally discloses
at the same time, the underwater lighting systems adjust their angles to provide suitable lighting conditions (See “the control box 29 sends a signal to the camera motor driver 32, which in turn sends a command to the inspection device 18 to adjust the position of the camera 1801 in real time” [0042]. Given the structure of the camera mount, as seen in Fig. 7, the illumination source 1802 would also have an angular adjustment.);
when the defect on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, …the depth metering modules record underwater depth information of the defect and transmits defect information and the depth information back to the ground station (See “The underwater inspection agency 4 is responsible for detecting apparent defects in the part of the bridge pier below the water surface, and sends the current underwater depth and collected image information when it is in operation to the ship's control system 27” [0044]. The depth is calculated by encoder 25 [0047].).
Leonhardt additionally discloses
the cover plates of the tool compartments are opened, the underwater manipulator arms grip [tools] from the tool compartments, and the cover plates are closed after the underwater manipulator arms take out the [tools] (A tool storage unit 32 has multiple tool holders 200 [0015]. See “tool holder 200 includes a housing 202, shown here as a frame, with a face plate 204” (cover plate) [0016]. The cover plate is opened when the manipulator arm 16 connects to (grips) and withdraws a tool 18; see Figs. 2-3B. The cover plate is closed when the manipulator arm 16 docks to a tool holder 200 and returns a tool 18, which occurs after the tool 18 is taken out of the tool holder 200 by manipulator arm 16; see [0015], [0020], and [0031]. See also [0014], [0017], and [0023].);
…the underwater manipulator arms put the [tools] back into the tool compartments (See “The operator can then actuate the tool interchange 20 to release the tool from the manipulator arm 16, withdraw the manipulator arm 16 from the tool holder of the tool storage unit 32 and leave the tool 18 in the tool storage unit—in other words, stow the tool 18” [0015]. See also [0031].);
S4. after the high-pressure water guns are put back, the robot grips [a second tool] from the tool compartments… (See “The operator can… stow the tool 18. The operator can then operate the manipulator arm 16 to dock in a different tool holder storing a different tool 18, and actuate the tool interchange 20 to… connect to a tool 18. Thereafter, the operator can withdraw the manipulator arm 16 from the tool holder and use the different tool 18 in performing operations” [0015]. See also [0031] and [0033].);
…the underwater manipulator arms put the [second tool] back into the tool compartments (See “The operator can then actuate the tool interchange 20 to release the tool from the manipulator arm 16, withdraw the manipulator arm 16 from the tool holder of the tool storage unit 32 and leave the tool 18 in the tool storage unit—in other words, stow the tool 18” [0015]. See also [0031] and [0033].).
Hartog teaches interchangeable tools, including “a high-pressure water nozzle for cleaning the surface of the support structure 30” [0033]. Zhong also teaches a high-pressure cleaning nozzle 8 [0020]. Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt teaches “the underwater manipulator arms grip high-pressure water guns from the tool compartments, and the cover plates are closed after the underwater manipulator arms take out the high-pressure water guns;” and “the underwater manipulator arms put the high-pressure water guns back to the tool compartments.”
Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt teaches “the servo driving wheels are enabled after the cover plates are closed” (See “the apparatus may be used to service in turn a plurality of piles… After each pile is serviced the apparatus may be floated to the next pile to be serviced and attached thereto” (Hartog, [0008]). To float to the next pile, the robot must return to the water surface; the driving wheels 8, 9 “move the apparatus… up and down the support structure 30” (Hartog, [0027]). The robot is floated to the next pile to repeat the servicing after it finishes servicing the first pile. This occurs after the cover plates are closed when the manipulator arms return a tool to the tool compartments; see [0015], [0020], and [0031] of Leonhardt.).
However, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt does not explicitly teach “…the robot grips steel brushes for a scrubbing task from the tool compartments to perform the scrubbing task; …and two sets of the steel brushes thoroughly scrub and clean the underwater pier of the highway bridge; and when the robot returns to a water surface, the scrubbing task is completed, and… when the defect on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, the vision array modules automatically identify a defect type.”
Chen, in the same field of endeavor (cleaning and inspection robots), teaches
when the robot reaches a water bottom, the cleaning task is completed (See “after the circumferential oxide skin is removed, the driving wheel 201 is started to drive the driving frame 1 to move a certain distance along the axial direction of the pipeline… until finishing the oxide skin removing operation of the peripheral area of the pipeline welding seam” [top of pg. 8]. Cleaning starts by traveling downwards (to the bottom); see [0027] of Zhong.), and
…the robot grips steel brushes for a scrubbing task… to perform the scrubbing task and the steel brushes thoroughly scrub and clean (See a cleaning robot with “steel wire brush device 5” for removing an oxide layer of a pipeline [top of pg. 8]. The pipeline is cleaned thoroughly enough that detection of cracks is possible [top of pg. 8].);
In combination with the arms of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt (see citations above), Chen teaches “two sets of the steel brushes thoroughly scrub and clean the underwater pier of the highway bridge; and when the robot returns to a water surface, the scrubbing task is completed, and the underwater manipulator arms put the steel brushes back into the tool compartments.” See “after the circumferential oxide skin is removed [by the scrubbing of the steel wire brush device 5], the driving wheel 201 is started to drive the driving frame 1 to move a certain distance along the axial direction of the pipeline… until… the oxide skin removing operation” is finished [Chen, top of pg. 8].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt to include and use a steel brush as taught by Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of more thoroughly cleaning a pier by removing an oxide layer, enabling more accurate inspection results (Chen, pg. 2 and pg. 8).
However, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt/Chen does not teach “when the defect on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, the vision array modules automatically identify a defect type.”
Chin, in the same field of endeavor (pier inspection robots), teaches
when the defect on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, the vision array modules automatically identify a defect type (See “The robot may take images and/or videos [with cameras] of the structure and the surrounding environment. The images and/or videos may be processed by the controller to identify features (e.g., cracks, corrosion, cars/trucks/trains/people using the structure, etc.)” [0052]. The structure is a bridge [0051]. Features like cracks and corrosion are types of a defect of the pier. The controller is part of the vision array modules; see Fig. 6. See also [0054].),
…transmits defect information… back to the ground station (See “The images and/or videos may be stored in a memory of the robot for later export or transmission to a server or a base station. The images and/or videos may be transmitted in a live or a near-live steam to a server or a base station” [0052].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt/Chen to automatically identify structural defects as taught by Chin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing a remedial action of the detected defect (Chin, [0054]). See also [0049] and [0055-0062].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOYA LY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658