DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The term “disease” in claims 2 and 4, the Abstract, and paragraphs [0006], [0009], [0016], [0018], [0029], and [0036] of the Specification is used by the claims to mean “defect” or “problem,” while the accepted meaning is “sickness” or “illness.” Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a main body structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because a “main body adopt[ing] a dual-combination octagonal hollow frame structure” has been previously recited. For consistency, “a main body structure” should read “the main body”, “the hollow frame structure”, or similar.
In claim 1, “static coupling shaft” and “dynamic coupling shafts” should read “static shaft coupling” and “dynamic shaft couplings”, respectively, in view of [0026], [0028], and Fig. 5.
In claim 2, the limitation “a lower side of the main body” should read “the lower end of the main body” because “a lower end of the main body” has been previously recited in claim 1.
In claim 2, “to facilitate the detection of a disease” should read “to facilitate detection of a disease” because no detection has been previously recited.
In claim 3, the limitation “an upper side of the main body” should read “the upper end of the main body” because “an upper end of the main body” has been previously recited in claim 1.
In S1 of claim 4, “to press four tires and four driven wheels” should read “to press the four tires and the four [sets of the] driven wheels” because the tires of the servo driving wheels and the (sets of the) driven wheels have been previously recited in claim 1.
In S2 of claim 4, “cable, sets” should read “cable, and sets”.
In S3 of claim 4, “the cover plates” in “the cover plates of the tool compartments” should read “cover plates” because no cover plate has been previously recited.
In S3 of claim 4, “two sets of the high-pressure water guns” should read “the high-pressure water guns” for consistency.
In S3 of claim 4, “the high-pressure water guns back to the tool compartments” should read “the high-pressure water guns back into the tool compartments”.
In S4 of claim 4, “the robot grips steel brushes for a scrubbing task from the tool compartments to perform the scrubbing task” should read “the robot grips steel brushes from the tool compartments to perform a scrubbing task” because the scrubbing task is not from the tool compartments.
In S4 of claim 4, “the steel brushes back to the tool compartments” should read “the steel brushes back into the tool compartments”.
The term “disease” in claim 2 and S5 of claim 4 is used by the claims to mean “defect” or “problem,” while the accepted meaning is “sickness” or “illness.” Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a circumferential direction” and “the circumferential direction” in “four sets of the servo driving wheels are… evenly distributed on an upper end of the main body in a circumferential direction” and “four sets of the driven wheels are… evenly distributed on a lower end of the main body in the circumferential direction,” respectively. These limitations have been interpreted as “along a circumference” and “along the circumference” of the main body, respectively.
In S5 of claim 4, the angles in “the underwater lighting systems adjust their angles” have been interpreted as different angles than the pitch angle and roll angle recited in S2.
In S5 of claim 4, the “top” and “bottom” in “the robot crawls slowly from top to bottom” have been interpreted as positions on the underwater pier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the main body adopts a dual-combination octagonal hollow frame structure”. It is unclear what “dual-combination” means in this context. Specifically, are there two combinations or are there two parts that are combined? For the purpose of examination, “dual-combination” has been interpreted as “two-part”.
In claim 1, the term “high-speed” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-speed” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the claim limitation “high-speed water flow” is indefinite.
In claim 1, the terms “high strength” and “light weight” are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “high strength” and “light weight” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the claim limitation “exhibiting high strength and light weight” is indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “four sets of the servo driving wheels are provided and evenly distributed… for providing power to the underwater pier of the highway bridge”. It is not clear how the servo driving wheels (or their distribution) provide power to the underwater pier. Therefore, this limitation is indefinite.
Claims 2-4 are rejected for depending upon the rejected independent claim 1.
In claim 2, the term “full-view” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “full-view” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the claim limitation “an underwater camera array to provide full-view visual information” is indefinite.
In claim 2, the term “near” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the claim limitation “each of the inclination measurement modules are mounted on… the tool compartments near the underwater manipulator arms” is indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “each of the tool compartments is mounted on an inner side of each of the underwater manipulator arms on a same side”. It is unclear which side “on a same side” refers to because “an upper side of the main body” and “an inner side of each of the underwater manipulator arms” have been recited previously. In addition, it is unclear if the tool compartments or the underwater manipulator arms are on the same side. Therefore, this limitation is indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “an operator assembles a two-sided structure of the robot into an octagonal shape” in S1. It is unclear if this two-sided structure is the same as the “dual-combination octagonal hollow frame structure” previously recited in claim 1. It is also unclear what the two sides are and how the two-sided structure is assembled into an octagon, which has eight sides. Therefore, this limitation is indefinite.
Furthermore, claim 4 recites “the underwater manipulator arms on both sides” in S3. Since no other sides are recited, “both sides” presumably refers to the two sides of the “two-sided structure”. However, since that limitation is indefinite, “the underwater manipulator arms on both sides” is also indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “until the robot slides down without being affected by gravity”. Because the effects of gravity cannot be removed, it is unclear what this limitation means. For the purpose of examination, this limitation has been interpreted as “until the robot does not slide down under gravity”.
In S3 of claim 4, the term “appropriate” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “appropriate” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the claim limitation “after the robot reaches an appropriate depth” is indefinite.
In S3 of claim 4, the term “thoroughly” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thoroughly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the claim limitation “the high-pressure water guns thoroughly wash the underwater pier” is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog and Gunter (WO 2023170398 A1, filed 03/07/2023; hereafter “Hartog”) in view of Blunk (US 20180136144 A1; “Blunk”), Zhong et al. (CN 217143958 U; “Zhong”), Wang et al. (CN 113664842 A; “Wang ‘842”), Zhang et al. (CN 114101162 A; “Zhang”), Wang et al. (CN 108382551 A; “Wang ‘551”), and Choi and Shin (KR 20230016890 A; “Choi”). Citations of publications not in the English language refer to the paragraph numbers of the English translations.
Regarding claim 1, Hartog discloses
a main body (See frame/cage 1, including all subsystems, in Fig. 19.),
depth metering modules (See “The apparatus may include one or more distance sensors, to determine the distance travelled along the support structure 30” [0035]. The distance travelled is a depth. See also [0037-0038] and [0046].),
…driving wheels (See “At least one of the wheels 8, 9 is driveable reciprocally in either one of opposite directions (e.g. forward and backward) so as to move the apparatus respectively up and down the support structure 30” [0027]. See also [0042], [0044], [0056], and [0058].),
synchronized stretching and fixing systems (See “At least one of the pairs of arms 6, 7 are reciprocally driveable to pivot towards and away [stretch and fix] from the support structure 30 so that the corresponding wheels 8, 9 respectively clamp and release the support structure 30. Preferably, this pair of arms 6, 7 is driven by respective hydraulic cylinders 10, 11. The control of the hydraulic cylinders 10, 11 may be interconnected so that the pair of arms is driven in synchronism” [0024]. See also [0025], [0042], and [0044].), and
driven wheels (See “Others of the wheels 8, 9 may not be driven, but may freely rotate, preferably independently of each other, so as to act as guides for movement of the apparatus up and down the support structure 30” [0027]. See also [0042], [0044], [0056], and [0058].);
wherein the main body adopts a dual-combination octagonal hollow frame structure, which is fixed on the underwater pier… and is configured to reduce resistance caused by high-speed water flow (Octagonal hollow frame structure: see frame/cage 1 in Fig. 21. Dual-combination: see “The cage 1 comprises two semi-cylindrical sections 1a, 1b hingedly connected together at connection points 2a, 2b, and lockable together” around aquatic support structure 30 (underwater pier) [0043]. Configured to reduce resistance: “The cage in this example may [be] designed in a larger version for fitting around structures 30 with a diameter of between 22 and 36 inches (0.56 - 0.91 m)” [0043]. The size of the main body corresponds to the size of the underwater pier, and therefore, the (reduced) size of the main body is configured to reduce water resistance. See also [0024], [0062-0063], and Figs. 17-20, 22, and 28.), and
the main body… exhibiting high strength and light weight (See “Preferably, the frame segments 1a, 1b, 1c are constructed of aluminium tube so as to be lightweight” [0061]. Aluminum also has high strength to be used in the servicing application in a tidal zone [0002].);
the systems and the modules perform power and communication transmission through a main body structure (Since the systems and the modules (e.g., hydraulic cylinders 10, 11 of arms 6, 7; driving wheels 8, 9; camera 27; distance sensors; etc.) are part of the main body and also are powered by power supply 28 and exchange signals with controller 26, the systems and the modules perform power and communication transmission through the main body structure. See [0024], [0050-0058], and Figs. 15-16.);
…sets of the… driving wheels are provided and evenly distributed on an upper end of the main body in a circumferential direction for providing power to the underwater pier… (See two sets of (driving) wheels 8 on opposite sides (evenly distributed in a circumferential direction) of a support structure 30 (underwater pier) and in the upper half of the frame 1 (main body) in Figs. 17-19. The wheels provide/dispel power to the underwater pier by clamping onto and driving along the support structure 30 [0027]. See also [0021], [0024], and [0052].),
…sets of the driven wheels are provided and evenly distributed on a lower end of the main body in the circumferential direction (See two sets of (driven) wheels 9 on opposite sides (evenly distributed in a circumferential direction) of a support structure 30 (underwater pier) and in the lower half of the frame 1 (main body) in Figs. 17-19. See also [0021], [0027], and [0051].), and
each set of the driven wheels vertically corresponds to one set of the… driving wheels and is rotatably connected to the main body through a swing frame (See Fig. 17: each set of (driving) wheels 8 vertically corresponds to a set of (driven) wheels 9. Each set of wheels 8, 9 are mounted on arms 6, 7 (swing frames), which pivot (rotate) relative to the frame 1 (main body): “At least one of the pairs of arms 6, 7 are reciprocally driveable to pivot towards and away from the support structure 30 so that the corresponding wheels 8, 9 respectively clamp and release the support structure 30” [0024]. See also Figs. 14 and 18-19, [0022], [0025], [0042], [0044], and [0052].);
each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof… rod… connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the… driving wheels and the driven wheels (See Figs. 18-19: the actuating cylinders 10, 11 and adjustable length bars 12, 13 connect inner sides of the arms 6, 7 (swing frames) which carry the (driving) wheels 8 and (driven) wheels 9. See also [0044].) and…
squeezes the tires of each set of the… driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier… such that the robot is capable of stably embracing [the underwater pier]… (See “At least one of the pairs of arms 6, 7 are reciprocally driveable to pivot towards and away from the support structure 30 so that the corresponding wheels 8, 9 respectively clamp and release the support structure 30” [0024]. See also [0022], [0025], [0042], [0044], [0052], and [0058].).
In another embodiment, Hartog teaches
four sets of the… driving wheels… and four sets of the driven wheels… (See “The second example has three pairs of upper and lower arms 6, 7 as in the first example, evenly spaced around the upper support 3. In other examples, particularly those designed for servicing support structures of larger diameter, there may be more than three pairs of arms 6, 7” [0040]. See also [0021].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have duplicated the sets of driving and driven wheels of Hartog in order to adequately “service[e] support structures of larger diameter” (Hartog, [0040]).
However, Hartog does not explicitly teach “underwater lighting systems, tool compartments,” “inclination measurement modules, underwater manipulator arms,” “the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” “the main body is composed of carbon fiber pipes,” “each of the servo driving wheels comprises a wiring cover, a servo motor, a waterproof motor sleeve, a locating shoulder, a static coupling shaft, tires, and dynamic coupling shafts;” and “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod and an underwater tension sensor, which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier.”
Blunk, in the same field of endeavor (underwater inspection systems), teaches
underwater lighting systems (See four underwater diving lights 119 in Fig. 2. See also [0005], [0025], and [0028].),
vision array modules (See four cameras 117 in Fig. 2. See also [0025] and [0028].),
the main body is composed of carbon fiber pipes, exhibiting high strength and light weight (See “As seen in FIG. 2, the frame 202 is a square shaped stainless steel pipe, but the material may be aluminum, carbon fiber or other material depending upon the application of underwater camera inspection system 200” [0027]. See also [0025].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog with the lights and carbon fiber pipes of Blunk. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “to provide overlapping illumination of the pile[s] throughout the inspection process” (Blunk, [0028]).
However, Blunk does not explicitly teach “tool compartments” “inclination measurement modules, underwater manipulator arms,” “the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” “each of the servo driving wheels comprises a wiring cover, a servo motor, a waterproof motor sleeve, a locating shoulder, a static coupling shaft, tires, and dynamic coupling shafts;” and “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod and an underwater tension sensor, which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier.”
Zhong, in the same field of endeavor (pier cleaning robots), teaches
tool compartments (See housing/chassis 4, which “can carry certain equipment” [0021].),
underwater manipulator arms (See two cleaning arms 7 in Fig. 2. See also [0009], [0020], and [0032].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk to include the tool compartments and underwater manipulator arms of Zhong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because by “controlling the posture of the cleaning arm 7 in the water and the water pressure and flow rate of the cleaning nozzle 8, cleaning can be achieved at different locations” (Zhong, [0032]).
However, Zhong does not explicitly teach “inclination measurement modules,” “the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” “each of the servo driving wheels comprises a wiring cover, a servo motor, a waterproof motor sleeve, a locating shoulder, a static coupling shaft, tires, and dynamic coupling shafts;” and “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod and an underwater tension sensor, which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier.”
Wang ‘842, in the same field of endeavor (pier inspection robots), teaches
servo driving wheels (See “The drive motor 223 transmits the driving force to the drive wheel 221 through a conventional worm gear mechanism, thereby providing the system with crawling force; in this embodiment, the drive motor 223 is a servo motor” [0043]. See also [0028] and [0066].),
inclination measurement modules (See “At least two crawling mechanisms 2 are evenly provided on the frame 1… A horizontal detection sensor 3 is installed at the frame 1 corresponding to each crawling mechanism 2. The host computer is used to receive the tilt angle of the frame 1 at the location corresponding to the crawling mechanism 2 detected by the horizontal detection sensor 3… The horizontal detection sensor 3 used in this invention is a high-precision gyroscope, which can perform all-round angle detection on the crawling mechanism 2” [0041]. See also [0049], [0054], and [0065-0066].),
the systems and the modules perform power and communication transmission through a main body structure (See at least one power supply 5 connected to driving motor 223 on frame 1 in Fig. 2. See also [0028], [0043], [0046], [0074-0075].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong with the servo driving wheels and gyroscopes of Wang ‘842. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “reduc[e] the probability of the robot getting stuck during the ascent or descent” by using the detected tilt angle from the gyroscopes to make the frame level (Wang ‘842, [0065]).
However, Wang ‘842 does not explicitly teach “inclination measurement modules,” “the underwater pier of the highway bridge,” “each of the servo driving wheels comprises a wiring cover, a servo motor, a waterproof motor sleeve, a locating shoulder, a static coupling shaft, tires, and dynamic coupling shafts;” and “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod and an underwater tension sensor, which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier.”
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor (underwater cleaning robots), teaches
servo driving wheels (See steering wheel drive units 2 comprising rubber tires in contact with the pipe wall in Figs. 1.1 and 1.2. The wheels are driven by “an underwater servo motor” [0012]. See also [0070].),
each of the servo driving wheels comprises a wiring cover, a servo motor, a waterproof motor sleeve, a locating shoulder, a static coupling shaft, tires, and dynamic coupling shafts (Wiring cover and waterproof motor sleeve: see servo motor housing 201 in Fig. 2.2 [0066]. Servo motor: see servo motor 203 in Fig. 2.3 [0067] and underwater servo motor 235 in Fig. 2.7 [0070]. Locating shoulder: see “The rubber wheel is positioned by the built-in axle shoulder and hub flange” [0070]. Static coupling shaft: see adapter flange 221 with steering connection shaft 220 in Fig. 2.5 [0068] and drive wheel hub 229 with drive wheel axle 230 in Fig. 2.7 [0070]. Tires: see “The outer side of the [wheel] hub [229] is a rubber tire 228” [0070]. Dynamic coupling shafts: see steering dynamic sealing chamber 205, harmonic reducer 208, and flexible wheel adapter flange 209 in Fig. 2.4, wave generator fixing baffle 216 in Fig. 2.5 [0068], and dual guide posts 222 and rectangular compression springs 223 in Fig. 2.6 [0069]. See also [0009-0012] and [0029].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842 with the steering wheel drive units of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “ensur[e] that the servo motor 203 can work stably underwater” (Zhang, [0068]).
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach “the underwater pier of the highway bridge” and “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod and an underwater tension sensor, which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels and provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier.”
Wang ‘551, in the same field of endeavor (underwater pier inspection robots), teaches
the underwater pier of the highway bridge… (See “This invention discloses a detection robot system, and more particularly a robot system for underwater inspection of bridge piers” [0001].), and
each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod… (See “The armholding mechanism 13, consisting of the pull rod 1301 and the electric push rod 1302 at the rear end of the arm-holding mechanism 12, performs the arm-holding and arm-extending actions” to secure the water-based fixed mechanism 3 to the bridge pier [0047]. Pulling vs pushing depends on the zero-point set upon installation, so the electric push rod 1302 functions as a pull rod during the arm-extending actions. See Fig. 4: electric push rod 1302 appears to be pen-type. Electric push rod functions in a water environment (see “[water] surface fixing mechanism 3” [0044] and “water-based fixed mechanism 3” [0047]) and is therefore waterproof. See also [0015].).
Hartog discloses actuating cylinders 10, 11 and adjustable length bars 12, 13 on inner sides of the arms 6, 7 (swing frames) to push the (driving and driven) wheels 8, 9 onto the support structure 30 [0044] (see also Figs. 18-19). Using the electric pull rods, as taught by Wang ‘551, to clamp the wheels onto the pier instead of the actuating cylinders 10, 11 and adjustable length bars 12, 13 of Hartog, the combination of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang and Wang ‘551 teaches “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of a waterproof pen-type electric pull rod… which connects inner sides of the swing frames corresponding to the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang with the electric pull rod of Wang ‘551. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of using a single, electric power supply 30 for all components (Wang ‘551, [0044] and Fig. 8) instead of a hydraulic power supply 28 to power the hydraulic actuating cylinders 10, 11 (Hartog, [0050]) in addition to an electric power supply for powering the lights, cameras, and other sensors.
However, Wang ‘551 does not explicitly teach “each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of… an underwater tension sensor.”
Choi, in the same field of endeavor (pier inspection systems), teaches
each of the synchronized stretching and fixing systems is composed of… an underwater tension sensor… (See “the tension generating unit (300) includes… a tension generator (320) that adjusts tension between the two unit climbing modules (100) by pulling or releasing the tension member (310), a load sensor (not shown) that detects tension applied to the tension member (310)” [0032].) and
provides synchronous tension, and the provided synchronous tension squeezes the tires of each set of the servo driving wheels and the driven wheels tightly onto a surface of the underwater pier of the highway bridge, such that the robot is capable of stably embracing the highway bridge to fix the same (Synchronous: see “The tension generating unit (300) is provided in each of two adjacent unit climbing modules (100) in the unit climbing modules (100), and the tension generating unit (300) controls the pulling force of each of the two adjacent unit climbing modules (100) to control the contact force between each wheel (120) of the unit climbing modules (100) positioned to surround the pier and the outer surface of the pier. It is preferable that the tension force acting on each tension force generating unit (300) of the tension force generating units (300) provided in each of the two adjacent unit climbing modules (100) surrounding the pier is the same” [0032-0033]. Squeeze: see “by controlling the integrated control box (500) to operate the tension generating units (300) respectively to generate tension in the tension material (310), the two adjacent unit climbing modules (100) are pulled to surround the pier, thereby applying pressure to the outer surface of the pier on each wheel (120) of the unit climbing modules (100)” so the system can drive up the pier [0041]. See also [0031].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551 with the tension units of Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to control “the tension generator (320) based on information detected by the load sensor” and thereby “control the contact force between each wheel (120) of the unit climbing modules (100) positioned to surround the pier and the outer surface of the pier” (Choi, [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Blunk additionally discloses
wherein two sets of the vision array modules are provided and located on a lower side of the main body and are composed of an underwater camera array to provide full-view visual information to facilitate the detection of a disease on the underwater pier of the highway bridge and the transmission of visual data (In Fig. 8, see thrusters 1010 mounted above frame 202 (depicted in Fig. 2), upon which the cameras 117 are fastened; therefore, the cameras 117 located on a lower side of the main body. The underwater camera inspection system 200 has “four cameras 117… with one fastened to each of the legs 204. …In this arrangement, the cameras 117 are able to capture the entire circumference of pile 104 [underwater pier] on video at the same time” [0028]. Transmission: see “the video feed… can be live streamed to a remote location, e.g., a display located on the surface of the sea, for viewing in real time” [0005].);
four sets of the underwater lighting systems are provided and located on both sides of the vision array modules to provide visual lighting conditions in a turbid water environment (See “Four underwater diving lights 119 are mounted to frame 202 at spaced apart points to provide overlapping illumination of the pile 104” [0028]. In Fig. 2, diving lights 119 are mounted on both sides of each camera 117 and therefore both sides of the vision array modules. The diving lights 119 provide visual lighting for all environments, including a turbid water environment. See also [0005].).
Hartog does not specify a required position for the distance sensors (depth metering modules), and thus teaches all mounting positions. An example position of a distance sensor is given in [0046]; see also [0035-0038]. A specific mounting position is a design choice that would not modify the operation of the distance sensors. Therefore, the combination Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi teaches “each of the depth metering modules is mounted at a center of an outer wall of each of the tool compartments to collect water depth information,” where the water depth information is related to the measured distance the system has moved along the support structure 30 (Hartog, [0038]).
Wang ‘842 discloses gyroscopes that “can perform all-round angle detection” where the gyroscopes are mounted [0041]. A specific mounting position is a design choice that would not modify the operation of the gyroscopes. The data from the gyroscopes indicates posture information (see Fig. 6 and [0049]), which is used to correct the tilt angle of the robot (anti-deflection control) [0065-0066]. Therefore, the combination Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi teaches “each of the inclination measurement modules are mounted on an upper wall of each of the tool compartments near the underwater manipulator arms to provide posture information of the robot, which is used for anti-deflection control.”
Thus, the combination as a whole teaches the claim.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog in view of Blunk, Zhong, Wang ‘842, Zhang, Wang ‘551, and Choi and further in view of Leonhardt et al. (US 20200317312 A1; hereafter “Leonhardt”).
Regarding claim 3, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi disclose the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and additionally teach
wherein two sets of the underwater manipulator arms are symmetrically distributed on an upper side of the main body (Zhong teaches a cleaning arm 7 on an upper body 1 (upper side of the main body) in Fig. 1; see also [0016]. Hartog teaches symmetrically distributed arms 6, 7; see [0021] and Figs. 17-19. Similarly, Blunk teaches symmetrically distributed cameras 117 and diving lights 119 to inspect “the entire circumference of pile 104 on video at the same time” [0028]; see Fig. 2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place a second cleaning arm 7 on the upper side of the main body, on the opposite side of the pier (symmetrically distributed), so that the cameras 117 on that side of the pier also inspect a cleaned pier surface.);
each of the tool compartments is mounted on an inner side of each of the underwater manipulator arms on a same side (A specific mounting position within the range of the underwater manipulator arms is a design choice that would not modify the operation of the tool compartments and is thus obvious.),
However, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi do not explicitly teach “each of the tool compartments comprises cylindrical chambers, a cover plate, and a cover plate slot, and contains operating tools for cleaning inside, a gripper is mounted at an end of each of the underwater manipulator arms, and each of the underwater manipulator arms is thus capable of gripping the operating tools from the corresponding tool compartment.”
Leonhardt, in the same field of endeavor (underwater robotic systems), teaches
each of the tool compartments comprises cylindrical chambers, a cover plate, and a cover plate slot, and contains operating tools for cleaning inside (A tool storage unit 32 has multiple tool holders 200 [0015]. See “tool holder 200 includes a housing 202, shown here as a frame, with a face plate 204 [cover plate]. The housing 202 defines a receptacle 206 that receives and holds the tool 18, so that the tool can be stored when not in use” [0016]. See “The face plate 204 also includes features to lock the tool in place… in the form of a twist-lock keyway 224 [cover plate slot] that engages corresponding key 226 on the periphery of the tool 18” [0017]. The shape of the chamber/receptacle is a design choice that would not modify the operation of the chamber/receptacle and is thus obvious. The tools, “including torque tools, cutters and other tools” [0014], can be used for cleaning, for example, by cutting off debris, and Zhong teaches a high-pressure cleaning nozzle 8 [0020].),
a gripper is mounted at an end of each of the underwater manipulator arms, and each of the underwater manipulator arms is thus capable of gripping the operating tools from the corresponding tool compartment (See “A tool interchange 20 mounts at the end of the manipulator arm 16, between the manipulator arm 16 and the tool 18, becoming the interface between the arm 16 and the tool 18” [0014] and “The operator can then operate the manipulator arm 16 to dock in a different tool holder storing a different tool 18, and actuate the tool interchange 20 to lock to and establish data and power communications with the different tool 18—in other words, connect to a tool 18” [0015].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi to include the tool storage unit and tool interchange of Leonhardt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of using and storing multiple tools (Leonhardt, [0015]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog in view of Blunk, Zhong, Wang ‘842, Zhang, Wang ‘551, and Choi and further in view of Leonhardt, Chen et al. (CN 116060388 A, hereafter “Chen”), and Chin et al. (US 20150148949 A1, hereafter “Chin”).
Regarding claim 4, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi disclose the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Hartog additionally teaches
S1. an operator assembles a two-sided structure of the robot into an octagonal shape on a water surface platform (See cage/frame 1, which is in an octagonal shape, of the robot assembled around a support structure 30 (underwater pier) in Figs. 17-22. The structure is composed of “two semi-cylindrical sections 1a, 1b hingedly connected together at connection points 2a, 2b, and lockable together” [0043]. The frame 1 is assembled around a support structure 30 manually (by an operator) [0019] while floating on buoyancy members (water surface platform) [0013]. See also Figs. 1-5, claims 4-5, and [0062].), and
remotely controls the waterproof pen-type electric pull rod using a cable to press four tires and four driven wheels of the robot tightly against the underwater pier of the highway bridge until the robot slides down without being affected by gravity (See in Fig. 16 where the control of actuating cylinders 10, 11 and adjustable length bars 12, 13 are controlled by remote control unit 25 via a wired (cable) connection to controller 26 [0055]. When the cylinders/bars are extended, the driving and driven wheels 8, 9 clamp (press tightly against) the support structure 30 [0024]. As established in the rejection of claim 1 above, the actuating cylinders 10, 11 and adjustable length bars 12, 13 are replaced with waterproof pen-type electric pull rods, and the control is similar. When sufficiently clamped, the driving wheels 8, 9 “move the apparatus… up and down the support structure 30,” so the robot does not slide down under gravity [0027]. See also [0025-0026], [0044], [0049], and [0052-0053]. See also [0047] of Wang ‘551.);
S2. the operator remotely turns on the servo driving wheels, the depth metering modules, …the vision array modules… using the cable, sets parameters to prepare for starting a cleaning task (The remote control unit 25 controls (turns on) the driving functions of the powered wheels 8, 9, “optionally in response to the distance traveled as detected by the distance sensor(s)” [0056]. To do this, the operator must also turn on the depth metering modules. The calibration of the distance sensor and driving response to detected depth are parameters to set before a cleaning task; see [0035-0038] and [0046]. To use a video camera 27 for inspection, the vision array modules must be turned on; see tool 22 connected to remote control unit 25 in Fig. 16. This control is via a wired connection (cable) [0055]. See also [0052].);
S3. after the robot reaches an appropriate depth, the underwater manipulator arms on both sides are used to perform the cleaning task (See “the remote control unit 25 or controller 26 may be programmable or programmed to carry out a particular service by coordinated control of the different functions, optionally in response to the distance travelled as detected by the distance sensor(s)… This may enable a predetermined section of the support structure 30 to be serviced” [0056]. That service includes “cleaning the surface of the support structure 30” with a tool 22, like “a high-pressure water nozzle” [0033]. See also [0031].);
the servo driving wheels are enabled after the cover plates are closed, the robot then crawls downward along the underwater pier, and… the high-pressure water guns thoroughly wash the underwater pier of the highway bridge during the crawling of the robot (See “the remote control unit 25 or controller 26 may be programmable or programmed to carry out a particular service by coordinated control of the different functions, optionally in response to the distance travelled as detected by the distance sensor(s)” [0056]. “By moving the frame 1 up and down the support structure 30 using the driveable wheel(s) 8, 9, …the tool(s) 22 may reach substantially any part of the external surface of the support structure” for servicing [0031]. That service includes “cleaning the surface of the support structure 30” with a tool 22, like “a high-pressure water nozzle” [0033].); and
the servo driving wheels are enabled after the cover plates are closed, the robot then crawls upward along the underwater pier, and S5: after the [servicing] task is completed, the robot returns to the water surface… (See “the apparatus may be used to service in turn a plurality of piles… After each pile is serviced the apparatus may be floated to the next pile to be serviced and attached thereto” [0008]. To float to the next pile, the robot must return to the water surface; the driving wheels 8, 9 “move the apparatus… up and down the support structure 30” [0027]. See also “the remote control unit 25 or controller 26 may be programmable or programmed to carry out a particular service by coordinated control of the different functions, optionally in response to the distance travelled as detected by the distance sensor(s” [0056]. See also [0031-0034].);
the vision array modules approach the underwater pier of the highway bridge to perform visual detection… (See “The tool(s) 22 may be moveably mounted… to allow movement of the tool(s) 22,” including “a video camera 27 for inspection of the servicing site” [0032-0033].);
the robot crawls slowly from top to bottom (“By moving the frame 1 up and down the support structure 30 using the driveable wheel(s) 8, 9, …the tool(s) 22 may reach substantially any part of the external surface of the support structure” for servicing [0031]. The speed is slow enough to perform the servicing task, “subject to any restrictions due to hydraulic lines and the like” [0031].), and
when the disease on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, …the depth metering modules record underwater depth information of the disease and transmits disease information and the depth information back to the ground station (See “As the apparatus moves along the support structure 30, the distance sensor(s) and rotational position sensor(s) measure the distance travelled in an axial and circumferential direction relat[ive] to the initial position. This enables the position of any anomaly or discrepancy [disease] on the support structure to be mapped and returned to” [0038]. See “the remote control unit 25 or controller 26 may be programmable or programmed to carry out a particular service by coordinated control of the different functions, optionally in response to the distance travelled as detected by the distance sensor(s)” [0056]; therefore, the depth information, including the depth of an anomaly/discrepancy, is transmitted to the remote control unit 25. See also [0037]. See also [0044] of Wang ‘551.); and
after completing the detection task, the robot returns to the water surface (See “the apparatus may be used to service in turn a plurality of piles… After each pile is serviced the apparatus may be floated to the next pile to be serviced and attached thereto” [0008]. To float to the next pile, the robot must return to the water surface, and the driving wheels 8, 9 “move the apparatus… up… the support structure 30” [0027]. See also [0031-0034] and [0056].).
Blunk additionally discloses
S2. the operator remotely turns on… the vision array modules, and the underwater lighting systems… (See the “remotely operated video cameras” [0004] are caused “to make a video recording of the entire circumference of [the underwater pier] as [the inspection] frame is moved along” the pier [0007]. For the underwater diving lights 119 “to provide overlapping illumination of the pile 104's coating throughout the inspection process,” the lights must be turned on [0028].);
…and starts a detection task (See the “remotely operated video cameras” [0004] are caused “to make a video recording of the entire circumference of [the underwater pier] as [the inspection] frame is moved along” the pier [0007]. See also [0005] and [0025-0026].)
the vision array modules approach the underwater pier of the highway bridge to perform visual detection, and transmits visual information back to a ground station; at the same time, the underwater lighting systems adjust their angles to provide suitable lighting conditions (The cameras 117 approach the pile 104 for inspection, and the underwater diving lights 119 adjust their angles to provide suitable lighting conditions, when the frame 202 is assembled around the pile 104. See [0028], [0030], and Fig. 2. From the cameras 117, “the video feed… can be live streamed to a remote location, e.g., a display located on the surface of the sea, for viewing in real time” [0005].);
the robot crawls slowly from top to bottom, and when the disease on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, the vision array modules automatically… transmits disease information… back to the ground station (See “the method according to the present invention comprises the raising and lowering of the inspection system 100 across the entire vertical, exterior surface of the pile to ensure that no areas of the pile's coating are missed during inspection of the pile” [0026]. From the cameras 117, “the video feed… can be live streamed to a remote location, e.g., a display located on the surface of the sea, for viewing in real time” [0005].).
Zhong additionally discloses
S1. an operator assembles a two-sided structure of the robot in… on a water surface platform, and remotely controls the waterproof… rod using a cable to press four tires and four driven wheels of the robot tightly against the underwater pier of the highway bridge until the robot slides down without being affected by gravity (See “The robot is connected to the oil supply pump, controller and high-pressure water pump on the guide frame platform through hydraulic pipelines, control cables and high-pressure water pipes” [0019]. See “The clamping arm (6) can be opened and closed by controlling the extension and retraction of the clamping arm telescopic hydraulic cylinder (3). Under the joint action of the drive wheel (18) and the driven wheel (11), it will clamp the guide frame column (2)” [claim 2]. See also the Abstract and [0006-0007], [0022], [0026-0027].);
…the underwater manipulator arms on both sides are used to perform the cleaning task (See “By controlling the posture of the cleaning arm 7 in the water and the water pressure and flow rate of the cleaning nozzle 8, cleaning can be achieved at different locations” [0032]. The control of the other underwater manipulator arm(s) is the same. See also [0009] and [0020].);
the underwater manipulator arms on both sides grip high-pressure water guns… (See “The cleaning arm 7 carries a cleaning nozzle 8 at its end. The cleaning nozzle 8 is connected to the well platform through a high-pressure water pipe to provide high-pressure water to the robot and realize the robot's cleaning function” [0020]. See also [0009] and [0032].);
the servo driving wheels are enabled after the cover plates are closed, the robot then crawls downward along the underwater pier, and two sets of the high-pressure water guns thoroughly wash the underwater pier of the highway bridge during the crawling of the robot (See “When the robot is working, it first travels downwards along the guide frame column 2” [0027]. See “By controlling the posture of the cleaning arm 7 in the water and the water pressure and flow rate of the cleaning nozzle 8, cleaning can be achieved at different locations” [0032]. To complete the cleaning of an entire pier, the cleaning must be performed at least intermittently during the crawling of the robot. See two cleaning arms 7 in Fig. 2.); and
S5: after the [cleaning] task is completed, the robot returns to the water surface and starts a detection task (See “After cleaning, the inspection of the structure of the guide frame column 2 can be completed through the inspection device carried at the end of the cleaning arm 7” [0032].See also “Driven by four hydraulic motors 16, the robot moves upward” [0028].);
…approach the underwater pier of the highway bridge to perform… detection… (See “The cleaning arm has four degrees of freedom, which allows the cleaning nozzle and detection device to complete cleaning and detection work within a certain spatial range. The cleaning arm also carries a detection device at its end, which can be used to inspect the guide frame column structure after cleaning” [0009]. See also [0020] and [0032].);
Wang ‘842 additionally discloses
S2. the operator remotely turns on the servo driving wheels, …the inclination measurement modules, …using the cable, sets parameters to prepare for starting a cleaning task (See “Connect the controller cable” [0071] then “Power on the robot by connecting the batteries and control circuits of each group of drive components 21 to power on the drive components 21” of crawling mechanisms 2 [0073]. The horizontal detection sensors 3 are part of the crawling mechanisms 2 [0041]. See “before using the robot, parameters can be set on the robot via a host computer. The parameters determine whether the robot should climb upwards or descend downwards” [0061]. See also [0066].);
during crawling of the robot, the inclination measurement modules continuously collect posture information of the robot; and the robot makes use of the posture information to control a pitch angle and a roll angle, so as to keep the robot in a stable and balanced state (See “The host computer is used to receive the tilt angle of the frame 1 at the location corresponding to the crawling mechanism 2 detected by the horizontal detection sensor 3…, which can perform all-round angle detection on the crawling mechanism 2” [0041]. See “The drive component 21 drives the drive motor 223 to rotate, and finally corrects the tilt angle of each gyroscope, so that the frame 1 is level as a whole, reducing the probability of the robot getting stuck during the ascent or descent” [0065]. The robot controls a pitch and roll angle so that the frame is level (“on the same horizontal plane” [0048]), which is a stable and balanced state. The host computer continuously controls each crawling mechanism using the detected tilt angle of each crawling mechanism; therefore, the horizontal detection sensors 3 continuously collect posture information [0029]. See also “The horizontal detection sensor detects the position of the crawling mechanism in real time, and then the host computer controls the speed of each crawling mechanism to ensure that the height of each crawling mechanism is consistent” [Abstract]. See also [0049-0050], [0054], and [0066].);
Zhang additionally discloses
after completing the detection task, the robot returns to the water surface (See “Once all tasks are completed, the equipment receives a stop signal. After completing the current process, it will run a vertical reset” [0086].).
Wang ‘551 additionally discloses
at the same time, the underwater lighting systems adjust their angles to provide suitable lighting conditions (See “the control box 29 sends a signal to the camera motor driver 32, which in turn sends a command to the inspection device 18 to adjust the position of the camera 1801 in real time” [0042]. Given the structure of the camera mount, as seen in Fig. 7, the illumination source 1802 would also have an angular adjustment.);
when the disease on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, …the depth metering modules record underwater depth information of the disease and transmits disease information and the depth information back to the ground station (See “The underwater inspection agency 4 is responsible for detecting apparent defects in the part of the bridge pier below the water surface, and sends the current underwater depth and collected image information when it is in operation to the ship's control system 27” [0044]. The depth is calculated by encoder 25 [0047].).
However, Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi does not explicitly teach “the cover plates of the tool compartments are opened, …high-pressure water guns from the tool compartments, and the cover plates are closed after the underwater manipulator arms take out the high-pressure water guns; …and the underwater manipulator arms put the high-pressure water guns back to the tool compartments; S4. after the high-pressure water guns are put back, the robot grips steel brushes for a scrubbing task from the tool compartments to perform the scrubbing task; …and two sets of the steel brushes thoroughly scrub and clean the underwater pier of the highway bridge; and when the robot returns to a water surface, the scrubbing task is completed, and the underwater manipulator arms put the steel brushes back to the tool compartments; and …when the disease on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, the vision array modules automatically identify a disease type.”
Leonhardt, in the same field of endeavor (underwater robotic systems), teaches
the cover plates of the tool compartments are opened, the underwater manipulator arms on both sides grip [tools] from the tool compartments, and the cover plates are closed after the underwater manipulator arms take out the [tools] (A tool storage unit 32 has multiple tool holders 200 [0015]. See “tool holder 200 includes a housing 202, shown here as a frame, with a face plate 204” (cover plate) [0016]. The cover plate is opened when the manipulator arm 16 connects to (grips) and withdraws a tool 18; see Figs. 2-3B. The cover plate is closed when the manipulator arm 16 docks to a tool holder 200 and returns a tool 18, which occurs after the tool 18 is taken out of the tool holder 200 by manipulator arm 16; see [0015], [0020], and [0031]. See also [0014], [0017], and [0023].);
…the underwater manipulator arms put the [tools] back to the tool compartments (See “The operator can then actuate the tool interchange 20 to release the tool from the manipulator arm 16, withdraw the manipulator arm 16 from the tool holder of the tool storage unit 32 and leave the tool 18 in the tool storage unit—in other words, stow the tool 18” [0015]. See also [0031].);
S4. after the high-pressure water guns are put back, the robot grips [a second tool] from the tool compartments… (See “The operator can… stow the tool 18. The operator can then operate the manipulator arm 16 to dock in a different tool holder storing a different tool 18, and actuate the tool interchange 20 to… connect to a tool 18. Thereafter, the operator can withdraw the manipulator arm 16 from the tool holder and use the different tool 18 in performing operations” [0015]. See also [0031] and [0033].);
…the underwater manipulator arms put the [second tool] back to the tool compartments (See “The operator can then actuate the tool interchange 20 to release the tool from the manipulator arm 16, withdraw the manipulator arm 16 from the tool holder of the tool storage unit 32 and leave the tool 18 in the tool storage unit—in other words, stow the tool 18” [0015]. See also [0031] and [0033].).
Hartog teaches interchangeable tools, including “a high-pressure water nozzle for cleaning the surface of the support structure 30” [0033]. Zhong also teaches a high-pressure cleaning nozzle 8 [0020]. In combination with Leonhardt (see citations above), they teach “the underwater manipulator arms on both sides grip high-pressure water guns from the tool compartments, and the cover plates are closed after the underwater manipulator arms take out the high-pressure water guns;” and “the underwater manipulator arms put the high-pressure water guns back to the tool compartments.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi to include the tool storage unit and tool interchange of Leonhardt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of using and storing multiple tools (Leonhardt, [0015]).
However, Leonhardt does not explicitly teach “…the robot grips steel brushes for a scrubbing task from the tool compartments to perform the scrubbing task; …and two sets of the steel brushes thoroughly scrub and clean the underwater pier of the highway bridge; and when the robot returns to a water surface, the scrubbing task is completed, and… when the disease on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, the vision array modules automatically identify a disease type.”
Chen, in the same field of endeavor (cleaning and inspection robots), teaches
…the robot grips steel brushes for a scrubbing task… to perform the scrubbing task and the steel brushes thoroughly scrub and clean (See a cleaning robot with “steel wire brush device 5” for removing an oxide layer of a pipeline [top of pg. 8]. The pipeline is cleaned thoroughly enough that detection of cracks is possible [top of pg. 8].);
In combination with the arms of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi and the tool interchange system and method of Leonhardt (see citations above), Chen teaches “two sets of the steel brushes thoroughly scrub and clean the underwater pier of the highway bridge; and when the robot returns to a water surface, the scrubbing task is completed, and the underwater manipulator arms put the steel brushes back to the tool compartments.” See “after the circumferential oxide skin is removed [by the scrubbing of the steel wire brush device 5], the driving wheel 201 is started to drive the driving frame 1 to move a certain distance along the axial direction of the pipeline… until… the oxide skin removing operation” is finished [Chen, top of pg. 8].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt to include and use a steel brush as taught by Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of more thoroughly cleaning a pier by removing an oxide layer, enabling more accurate inspection results (Chen, pg. 2 and pg. 8).
However, Chen does not teach “when the disease on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, the vision array modules automatically identify a disease type, the depth metering modules record underwater depth information of the disease and transmits disease information and the depth information back to the ground station.”
Chin, in the same field of endeavor (pier inspection robots), teaches
when the disease on the underwater pier of the highway bridge is detected, the vision array modules automatically identify a disease type (See “The robot may take images and/or videos [with cameras] of the structure and the surrounding environment. The images and/or videos may be processed by the controller to identify features (e.g., cracks, corrosion, cars/trucks/trains/people using the structure, etc.)” [0052]. The structure is a bridge [0051]. Features like cracks and corrosion are types of a disease of the pier. The controller is part of the vision array modules; see Fig. 6. See also [0054].),
…transmits disease information… back to the ground station (See “The images and/or videos may be stored in a memory of the robot for later export or transmission to a server or a base station. The images and/or videos may be transmitted in a live or a near-live steam to a server or a base station” [0052].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pier maintenance robot of Hartog/Blunk/Zhong/Wang ‘842/Zhang/Wang ‘551/Choi/Leonhardt/Chen to automatically identify structural defects as taught by Chin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing a remedial action of the detected defect (Chin, [0054]). See also [0049] and [0055-0062].
Conclusion
/MOYA LY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658