DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 5 recites “the vias”, but there is only antecedent basis for a via.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warashina et al (US 8,548,284 B2). Warashina teaches:
2. A packaging substrate (1, Figs. 1-13), comprising:
a core layer (2) comprising a glass substrate (C5 L58) having first surface (top) and second surface (bottom) facing each other and a cavity portion (2B1);
an insulating layer (6, 43) formed on the first surface (top); and
a light transmitting portion (8, C5 L65-67) formed on the upper surface of the insulating layer (6, 43),
wherein a light receiving portion (7) is disposed in the cavity portion (2B1),
the insulating layer (43, 6) comprises a via (MC, 2C) penetrating in a thickness direction,
a portion of a bottom surface of the light transmitting portion (8) abuts the via (MC, 2C) (see Fig. 13), and
wherein a signal of photo-energy output from the light transmitting portion (8) passes through the glass substrate (2) to the light receiving portion (7) (see arrows in Fig. 13).
5. A packaging substrate (1, Figs. 1-13), comprising:
a core layer (2) comprising a glass substrate (C5 L58) having first surface (top) and second surface (bottom) facing each other and a cavity portion (2B1);
an insulating layer (6, 43) formed on the first surface (top); and
a light transmitting portion (8, C5 L65-67) formed on the upper surface of the insulating layer (6, 43),
wherein a light receiving portion (7) is disposed in the cavity portion (2B1),
the insulating layer (43, 6) comprises a via (MC, 2C) penetrating in a thickness direction,
a portion of a bottom surface of the light transmitting portion (8) abuts the via (MC, 2C) (see Fig. 13), and
wherein the via (MC, 2C) comprise an inert gas (air in a hole, C6 L25-33).
7. The packaging substrate of Claim 2, wherein the cavity portion (2B1) is open in the direction of the second surface (bottom) of the glass substrate (2) and is formed in the form of a recessed surface (see Fig. 3), having a space in which the light receiving portion (7) is disposed (C7 L27-34).
9. A manufacturing method of a packaging substrate (1, Figs. 1-13), comprising operations of,
creating a cavity portion (2B1) in a glass substrate (2) with first surface (top) and second surface (bottom) facing each other;
placing a light receiving portion (7( in the cavity portion (2B1);
forming an insulating layer (43, 6) on the first surface (top);
creating a via (MC, 2C) in the insulating layer (43, 6); and
laminating a light transmitting portion (8) to the insulating layer (43, 6),
wherein a portion of a lower surface of the light transmitting portion (8) abuts on the via (MC, 2C) (Fig. 13), and
wherein a signal of photo-energy output from the light transmitting portion (8) passes through the glass substrate (2) to the light receiving portion (7) (see arrows of Fig. 13).
10. The manufacturing method of a packaging substrate of Claim 9, wherein the signal of photo-energy comprises visible (VSCEL, C5 L65 – C6 L6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warashina. Warashina teaches the packaging substrate and method previously discussed, but does not state the light is visible or IR light or that the via has a width of 10 to 500 microns. Warashina teaches the light emitting device can be a laser, which is a known device for emitting visible or IR light. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try using a visible light or IR light laser, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Warashina teaches using a laser and as discussed, lasers are known devices that can emit visible or IR light depending on the application needed.
Warashina does not state what the width of the via is, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try a width in the range of 10 to 500 microns for the via, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Warashina teaches using the via for light transmission and a width of 10 to 500 microns is a predictable solution for a light guide because this is the range that would be large enough to transmit light and small enough to fit in the photonic circuit shown in Warashina.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warashina and in view of Kunieda (WO 2023/068105 A1) and the machine translation provided.
Warashina teaches:
6. A packaging substrate (1, Figs. 1-13), comprising:
a core layer (2) comprising a glass substrate (C5 L58) having first surface (top) and second surface (bottom) facing each other and a cavity portion (2B1);
an insulating layer (6, 43) formed on the first surface (top); and
a light transmitting portion (8, C5 L65-67) formed on the upper surface of the insulating layer (6, 43),
wherein a light receiving portion (7) is disposed in the cavity portion (2B1),
the insulating layer (43, 6) comprises a via (MC, 2C) penetrating in a thickness direction,
a portion of a bottom surface of the light transmitting portion (8) abuts the via (MC, 2C) (see Fig. 13).
Warashina does not teach expressly wherein the via comprises a light-transmissive material, and the light-transmissive material has a coefficient of thermal expansion of 10 to 24 ppm/C.
Kunieda teaches a waveguide used in a photonic circuit wherein the waveguide is made of material with a coefficient of thermal expansion of 10 to 24 ppm/C (page 6 of the translation “The coefficient of thermal expansion of the optical waveguide 5 is, for example, 10 ppm/°C to 100 ppm/°C”). In the case where the claimed ranges ''overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art'' a prima facie case of obviousness exists. ln re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Warashina and Kunieda are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, photonic circuits with waveguiding.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the material of the via waveguide of Warashina to use the material taught by Kunieda.
The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce cost and complexity by using material already known in the art used as waveguides.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach packaging substrates with transmission through substrates or substrate with the same layers as applicant’s: US 6330377, US 7526152, US 2011/0299809, US 8076782, US 9417415, US 10439720, US 2021/0104812, US 2023/0087809, US 2023/0102481, US 11652039, US 2023/0178579, US 11967542, US 12181724, US 12392970, US 12402476, US 12456653, US 12546957.
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874