DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is responsive to the Application filed on 9/25/2024. A filing date 9/25/2024 is acknowledged. The sought benefit of provisional application 63631392 (which was filed on 4/8/2024), provisional application 6364834 (which was filed on 5/10/2024), provisional application 63657810 (which was filed on 6/8/2024), provisional application 63692153 (which was filed on 9/8/2024), is acknowledged. Claims 281-316 are pending in this application. Claims 281, 315, 316 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 281-284, 286-293, 298-304, 306-312, 314-316 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behkish Manzari (US Publication 20220319100 A1, hereinafter Manzari), and in view of Gregory Wilensky et al (US Publication 20200394773 A1, hereinafter Wilensky).
As for independent claim 281, Manzari discloses: A computer system configured to communicate with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices (Abstract, user interfaces for indicating an interference to adjusting simulated image effects is described), comprising: one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a media editing user interface, wherein the media editing user interface includes a media editing control user interface object (Fig. 6B, the media editing user interface includes editing controls), and wherein: the media editing control user interface object includes a two-dimensional region that is configured to concurrently adjust a current value of a first parameter of a media item and a current value of a second parameter of the media item (Fig. 6T and [0239], depth adjustment slider 698 and lighting settings 693 can concurrently be adjusted and the concurrent adjustments can simultaneously be reflected in image representation 696); the current value of the first parameter of the media item is adjusted based on user input that includes a change in position of a parameter index point relative to a first axis of the two-dimensional region (Fig. 6T, lighting settings 693 could be adjusted in vertical axis); and the current value of the second parameter of the media item is adjusted based on user input that includes a change in position of the parameter index point relative to a second axis of the two-dimensional region that is perpendicular to the first axis of the two-dimensional region (Fig. 6F, depth adjustment slider 632 could be adjusted in horizontal axis);
Manzari discloses concurrently adjusting two parameters, but does not clearly disclose concurrently adjusting two parameters by one user input, in an analogous art of editing media object by user input, Wilensky discloses: while displaying the media editing user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object: in accordance with a determination that the user input includes a change in position of the parameter index point relative to the first axis of the media editing control user interface object, adjusting the first parameter of the media item based on a magnitude of the change in position of the parameter index point relative to the first axis; and in accordance with a determination that the user input includes a change in position of the parameter index point relative to the second axis of the media editing control user interface object, adjusting the second parameter of the media item based on a magnitude of the change in position of the parameter index point relative to the second axis (Wilensky: [0055], the digital image enhancement system 110 can determine modifications to parameters based on the movement(s) and corresponding direction(s) detected from the act 204. For example, the digital image enhancement system 110 can determine a modification to a first parameter of a digital image based on a first movement in a horizontal direction. In addition, the digital image enhancement system 110 can determine a modification of a second parameter of the digital image based on a second movement in a vertical direction. Accordingly, the digital image enhancement system 110 can determine modified parameter values for different parameters based on movements in different directions).
Manzari and Wilensky are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, editing media object by user input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Manzari using the teachings of Wilensky to include concurrently modifying two parameters based on the movement of user input in vertical direction and in horizontal direction. It would provide Manzari’s method with enhanced capabilities of allowing user to modify the corresponding parameters quickly and in an intuitive manner.
As for claim 282, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object:
in accordance with a determination that the user input includes a change in position of the parameter index point relative to both the first axis of the media editing control user interface object and the second axis of the media editing control user interface object: adjusting the first parameter of the media item based on a magnitude of the change in position of the parameter index point relative to the first axis; and adjusting the second parameter of the media item based on a magnitude of the change in position of the parameter index point relative to the second axis (Wilensky: [0055], the digital image enhancement system 110 can determine modifications to parameters based on the movement(s) and corresponding direction(s) detected from the act 204. For example, the digital image enhancement system 110 can determine a modification to a first parameter of a digital image based on a first movement in a horizontal direction. In addition, the digital image enhancement system 110 can determine a modification of a second parameter of the digital image based on a second movement in a vertical direction. Accordingly, the digital image enhancement system 110 can determine modified parameter values for different parameters based on movements in different directions).
As for claim 283, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: displaying, via the one or more display generation components and as part of the media editing user interface, a selectable control user interface object that is configured to adjust a current value of a third parameter of the media item, wherein the selectable control user interface object is visually distinct from the media editing control user interface object, and wherein the third parameter is different from the first parameter and the second parameter (Wilensky: Fig. 5, user may adjust a third parameter, tone, which is different from the first parameter saturation value, and the second parameter hue value).
As for claim 284, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input corresponding to the selectable control user interface object; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the selectable control user interface object: adjusting the current value of the third parameter of the media item (Wilensky: Fig. 6, user may adjust tone parameter value); and adjusting an appearance of the two-dimensional region of the media editing control user interface object (Manzari: [0211], electronic device 600 shifts upwards image display region 616 within user interface 614 (such that first menu region 628A becomes vertically narrower and second menu region 628B becomes vertically wider) to display, in second menu region 628B, a depth adjustment slider 632).
As for claim 286, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input corresponding to the selectable control user interface object; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the selectable control user interface object, outputting tactile feedback corresponding to the user input corresponding to the selectable control user interface object (Manzari: [0048], one or more tactile output generators 167 for generating tactile outputs on device 100 (e.g., generating tactile outputs on a touch-sensitive surface such as touch-sensitive display system 112 of device 100 or touchpad 355 of device 300)).
As for claim 287, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: wherein the first parameter and the second parameter are selected from the group consisting of: tone, saturation, and color temperature (Manzari: [0215], The degree of change in the blurriness, the size, the degree of brightness, the degree of saturation, and/or the degree of shape-distortion of the objects from the previous f-number (4.5) to the lower f-number (3.9) is more drastic for light-emitting objects as compared to non-light-emitting objects).
As for claim 288, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: wherein displaying the media editing user interface includes concurrently displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the media item and the media editing control user interface object (Manzari: [0246], displayed the adjustable slider upon (e.g., concurrently with) displaying the representation of image data).
As for claim 289, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object:
adjusting an appearance of the media item based on the change in position of the parameter index point (Manzari: [0006], changing an appearance of the representation of image data in accordance with the simulated depth effect as modified by the second value; [0239], a plurality of lighting settings 693 corresponding to various lighting/light filtering options that can be applied to image representation 696, and can be changed via vertical swipe gestures).
As for claim 290, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: in response to detecting user input the two-dimensional region of the media editing control user interface object, outputting tactile feedback corresponding to an input directed to the two-dimensional region (Manzari: [0071], Contact intensity sensor 165 receives tactile feedback generation instructions from haptic feedback module 133 and generates tactile outputs on device 100 that are capable of being sensed by a user of device 100).
As for claim 291, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the two-dimensional region of the media editing control user interface object: in accordance with a determination that the user input corresponds to a change in position of the parameter index point across a respective portion of the two-dimensional region of the media editing control user interface object, outputting tactile feedback corresponding to an input directed to the two-dimensional region of the media editing control user interface object (Manzari: [0071], Contact intensity sensor 165 receives tactile feedback generation instructions from haptic feedback module 133 and generates tactile outputs on device 100 that are capable of being sensed by a user of device 100).
As for claim 292, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: in response to detecting an end of the user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object, outputting tactile feedback corresponding to an end of input being directed to the media editing control user interface object (Manzari: [0140], a first liftoff (touch end) for a predetermined phase; please note tactile feedback could be provided when detecting touch end).
As for claim 293, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: prior to detecting the user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a graphical indication of a current value of the first parameter and a current value of the second parameter (Manzari: [0006], indicating that the first value is a currently-selected simulated depth effect value).
As for claim 298, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: while displaying the graphical indication of the current value of the first parameter and the current value of the second parameter, detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input corresponding to the media editing user interface; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the media editing user interface, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a second graphical indication of an updated parameter value of the first parameter and an updated parameter value of the second parameter, wherein the updated parameter value of the first parameter is different from the current value of the first parameter and the updated parameter value of the second parameter is different from the current value of the second parameter (Manzari: [0239], a plurality of lighting settings 693 corresponding to various lighting/light filtering options that can be applied to image representation 696, and can be changed via vertical swipe gestures).
As for claim 299, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: while displaying the media editing control user interface object, detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input that is directed to a portion of a user interface that is outside of the media editing control user interface object; and in response to detecting the user input that is directed to a portion of a user interface that is outside of the media editing control user interface object: collapsing display of the media editing control user interface object; and transitioning display of the media editing control user interface object into a graphical indication of an adjusted parameter value of the first parameter and an adjusted parameter value of the second parameter, wherein the adjusted parameter value of the first parameter was set while displaying the media editing control user interface object, and wherein the adjusted parameter value of the second parameter was set while displaying the media editing control user interface object (Manzari: [0239], a plurality of lighting settings 693 corresponding to various lighting/light filtering options that can be applied to image representation 696, and can be changed via vertical swipe gestures).
As for claim 300, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: after detecting the user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object, adjusting an appearance of the media item based on an adjustment of a respective parameter of the media item, wherein the media item is an existing media item of a media library (Manzari: [0003], a stored image or photo; [0006], changing an appearance of the representation of image data in accordance with the simulated depth effect as modified by the second value).
As for claim 301, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: after detecting the user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object, detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input corresponding to a request to capture the media item using a first application; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the request to capture the media item using the first application: capturing the media item using an effect that is based on the current value of the first parameter and the current value of the second parameter (Manzari: [0067], obtained for video conferencing while the user views the other video conference participants on the touch screen display and to capture selfies with depth map data).
As for claim 302, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: in accordance with a determination that the media item is of a first type, the effect is a first effect; and in accordance with a determination that the media item is of a second type, the effect is a second effect that is different from the first effect (Manzari: [0209], with the simulated depth effect applied, depth-of-field properties of an object within image representation 618 are adjusted based on one or more characteristics of the particular object (e.g., the type of object, such as whether the object corresponds to a light-emitting object or to a non-light-emitting object, the shape of the object, the distance of the object from the focal point)).
As for claim 303, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: after detecting the user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object, detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input corresponding to a request to capture the media item using a second application that is different from the first application; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the request to capture the media item using the second application: capturing the media item using an effect that is based on the current value of the first parameter and the current value of the second parameter (Manzari: [0046], The device typically supports a variety of applications, such as one or more of the following: a drawing application, a presentation application, a word processing application, a website creation application, a disk authoring application, a spreadsheet application, a gaming application, a telephone application, a video conferencing application, an e-mail application, an instant messaging application, a workout support application, a photo management application, a digital camera application, a digital video camera application, a web browsing application, a digital music player application, and/or a digital video player application; [0067], obtained for video conferencing while the user views the other video conference participants on the touch screen display and to capture selfies with depth map data).
As for claim 304, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object while playing back the video media item, adjusting a respective parameter of the video media item (Manzari: [0118], play back videos).
As for claim 306, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a plurality of parameter configurations for the media item, wherein the plurality of parameter configurations includes different pairs of parameter values for the first parameter and corresponding parameter values for the second parameter (Manzari: [0006], a selection indicator indicating that the first value is a currently-selected simulated depth effect value; while displaying the adjustable slider, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the adjustable slider; and in response to detecting the input directed to the adjustable slider: moving the adjustable slider to indicate that a second value, of the plurality of selectable values for the simulated depth effect, is the currently-selected simulated depth effect value; and changing an appearance of the representation of image data in accordance with the simulated depth effect as modified by the second value; [0215], The degree of change in the blurriness, the size, the degree of brightness, the degree of saturation, and/or the degree of shape-distortion of the objects).
As for claim 307, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: displaying, via the one or more display generation components: a first parameter configuration of the plurality of parameter configurations at a first size, wherein the first parameter configuration corresponds to a currently selected parameter configuration of the plurality of parameter configurations; and a selectable control user interface object corresponding to the first parameter configuration (Manzari: [0006], a selection indicator indicating that the first value is a currently-selected simulated depth effect value; while displaying the adjustable slider, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the adjustable slider; and in response to detecting the input directed to the adjustable slider: moving the adjustable slider to indicate that a second value, of the plurality of selectable values for the simulated depth effect, is the currently-selected simulated depth effect value; and changing an appearance of the representation of image data in accordance with the simulated depth effect as modified by the second value; [0309], selecting a different value for the image distortion parameter causes a first change to the first portion of the representation of the image data and causes a second change to the second portion of the representation of the image data, wherein the first change is different from the second change and the first change and the second change both include the same type of change (e.g., an increase or decrease in blurriness, size, brightness, saturation, and/or shape-distortion).
As for claim 308, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: displaying, via the one or more display generation components: a currently selected parameter configuration of the plurality of parameter configurations at a first size; and one or more non-selected parameter configurations of the plurality of parameter configurations at a second size that is smaller than the first size (Manzari: [0006], a selection indicator indicating that the first value is a currently-selected simulated depth effect value; while displaying the adjustable slider, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the adjustable slider; and in response to detecting the input directed to the adjustable slider: moving the adjustable slider to indicate that a second value, of the plurality of selectable values for the simulated depth effect, is the currently-selected simulated depth effect value; and changing an appearance of the representation of image data in accordance with the simulated depth effect as modified by the second value; [0309], selecting a different value for the image distortion parameter causes a first change to the first portion of the representation of the image data and causes a second change to the second portion of the representation of the image data, wherein the first change is different from the second change and the first change and the second change both include the same type of change (e.g., an increase or decrease in blurriness, size, brightness, saturation, and/or shape-distortion).
As for claim 309, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: while displaying the media editing user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input requesting to zoom the media item; and in response to detecting the user input requesting to zoom the media item: displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a zoomed in portion of the media item; and displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a border around the zoomed in portion of the media item (Manzari: [0253], a zoom control element (e.g., a region with one or more affordances for changing a zoom level of the camera), wherein displaying the adjustable slider (e.g., 632) comprises replacing display of the zoom control element).
As for claim 310, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: the media editing user interface includes: an effect user interface object, a live effect editing user interface object,
an adjustment user interface object, and a crop user interface object (Manzari: [0265], while moving the adjustable slider, in accordance with a determination that the representation of image data corresponds to a live preview of image data being captured by the one or more cameras).
As for claim 311, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an indication of the current value of the first parameter; and displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an indication of the current value of the second parameter (Manzari: [0006], a selection indicator indicating that the first value is a currently-selected simulated depth effect value; while displaying the adjustable slider, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the adjustable slider; and in response to detecting the input directed to the adjustable slider: moving the adjustable slider to indicate that a second value, of the plurality of selectable values for the simulated depth effect, is the currently-selected simulated depth effect value; and changing an appearance of the representation of image data in accordance with the simulated depth effect as modified by the second value).
As for claim 312, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: prior to displaying the media editing user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a sequence of one or more user inputs, wherein the sequence of one or more user inputs includes a first user input corresponding to a hardware input device of the one or more input devices; and in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the media editing control user interface object (Manzari: [0016], operating a camera).
As for claim 314, Manzari-Wilensky discloses: while displaying the media editing user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input corresponding to a request to display a second media item that is different from the media item; and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the request to display the second media item that is different from the media item, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the second media item, wherein an appearance of the second media item is based on the current value of the first parameter and the current value of the second parameter (Manzari: Figs. 6K-6L, user may select a stored image affordance 642 and select another image and edit another media item).
As per claim 315, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by claim 281, thus the rationales for rejecting claim 281 are incorporated herein.
As per claim 316, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by claim 281, thus the rationales for rejecting claim 281 are incorporated herein.
4. Claims 285, 294, 295, 296, 297 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manzari and Wilensky as applied on claim 281, and further in view of Behkish Manzari et al (US Publication 20220382440 A1, hereinafter Manzari1).
As for claim 285, Manzari-Wilensky does not clearly disclose adjust another parameter, in another analogous art of editing media object by user input, Manzari1 discloses: in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the media editing control user interface object: adjusting values of one or more parameters of the media item based on a magnitude of the change in position of the parameter index point without adjusting the current value of the third parameter of the media item; and
adjusting values of one or more parameters of the media item based on a magnitude of the change in position of the parameter index point without adjusting an appearance of the selectable control user interface object (Manzari1: [0208], warmth parameter control 626a2; please node warmth parameter could be adjusted independently).
Manzari and Manzari1 are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, editing media object by user input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Manzari using the teachings of Manzari1 to include independently adjust warmth value. It would provide Manzari’s method with enhanced capabilities of allowing user to modify the corresponding parameters with more flexibility.
As for claim 294, Manzari-Wilensky does not clearly disclose shutter control, in another analogous art of editing media object by user input, Manzari1 discloses: wherein displaying the media editing user interface includes displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a camera shutter user interface object (Manzari1: [0198], control region 606 includes shutter control 610, camera switcher control 614, a representation of media collection 612, and camera mode controls 620).
Manzari and Manzari1 are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, editing media object by user input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Manzari using the teachings of Manzari1 to include shutter control. It would provide Manzari’s method with enhanced capabilities of allowing user to capturing media.
As for claim 295, Manzari-Wilensky does not clearly disclose close control, in another analogous art of editing media object by user input, Manzari1 discloses: wherein displaying the media editing user interface includes displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a close user interface object, the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying the close user interface object, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to selection of the close user interface object; and in response to detecting the input corresponding to selection of the close user interface object, ceasing display of the media editing user interface (Manzari1: [0291], the computer system detects a requests to close and re-open an application, and in response to detecting the requests to close and re-open the application).
Manzari and Manzari1 are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, editing media object by user input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Manzari using the teachings of Manzari1 to include close control. It would provide Manzari’s method with enhanced capabilities of allowing user to manipulate the media and application with more flexibility.
As for claim 296, Manzari-Wilensky does not clearly disclose a disabled state, in another analogous art of editing media object by user input, Manzari1 discloses: while displaying the graphical indication of the current value of the first parameter and the current value of the second parameter, wherein the media editing control user interface object is in a disabled state while displaying the graphical indication of the current value of the first parameter and the current value of the second parameter, detecting, user input corresponding to the graphical indication (Manzari1: [0321], in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to capture and store media in the second file format, the computer system ceases to display the second styles-mode user interface object in the active state (e.g., as discussed above in relation to FIGS. 6V-6Y) (e.g., ceasing to display the second styles-mode user interface object and/or displaying the second styles-mode user interface object in an inactive (e.g., disabled state (e.g., a state where the computer system does not perform an action in response to detecting one or more inputs directed to the user interface object)); and in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the graphical indication, transitioning the media editing control user interface object from the disabled state to an active state, wherein the media editing control user interface object is not configured to concurrently adjust the current value of the first parameter and the current value of the second parameter while in the disabled state (Manzari1: [0071], active application state, indicating which applications, if any, are currently active).
Manzari and Manzari1 are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, editing media object by user input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Manzari using the teachings of Manzari1 to include disabled state and active state. It would provide Manzari’s method with enhanced capabilities of allowing user to manipulate the media and application with more flexibility.
As for claim 297, Manzari-Wilensky-Manzari1 discloses: while the media editing control user interface object is in the disabled state, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a camera shutter object; and
while the media editing control user interface object is in the active state, forgoing display of the camera shutter object (Manzari1: [0198], control region 606 includes shutter control 610, camera switcher control 614, a representation of media collection 612, and camera mode controls 620).
5. Claims 305, 313 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manzari and Wilensky as applied on claim 281, and further in view of Pei-Yu Chi et al (US Publication 20250095690 A1, hereinafter Chi).
As for claim 305, Manzari-Wilensky does not clearly disclose adjusting a playback position of the video media, in another analogous art of editing media object by user input, Chi discloses: while displaying media editing control user interface object, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a user input corresponding to a request to adjust a playback position of the video media item; and
in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the request to adjust the playback position of the video media item, adjusting the playback position of the video media item while maintaining display of the media editing control user interface object (Chi: [0029], Viewers can jump to the moment and continue watching in the same video player; [0040], the support video can then be included in an interactive user interface 212. In some implementations, including the support video in the user interface 212 can include associating the support video with one or more timestamps of the source video 202, wherein the one or more timestamps correspond to the one or more sets of textual content. Then, during playback of the source video 202 at the one or more timestamps, a user interface element can be provided that enables viewing of the support video. Alternatively, the user interface element for the support video may be available during the entirety of playback of the source video 202).
Manzari and Chi are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, editing media object by user input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Manzari using the teachings of Chi to include allowing user to manage video viewing parameters during playback. It would provide Manzari’s method with enhanced capabilities of allowing user to manipulate the media and application with more flexibility.
As for claim 313, Manzari-Wilensky does not clearly disclose displaying the tutorial animation, in another analogous art of editing media object by user input, Chi discloses: while displaying the media editing user interface, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a tutorial animation, wherein displaying the tutorial animation includes displaying, via the one or more display generation components: a first animation of an adjustment to a respective parameter of the media item; and a second animation of an adjustment to an appearance of the media item based on the adjustment to the respective parameter of the media item (Chi: [0020], tutorial videos are a popular way for learners to follow a new concept via verbal and visual guidance from an instructor … They commonly use transitions, animations, and highlights.
Manzari and Chi are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, editing media object by user input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Manzari using the teachings of Chi to include providing tutorial videos. It would provide Manzari’s method with enhanced capabilities of allowing user to manipulate the media and application with more flexibility.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131(b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as “Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced” may be deemed insufficient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Applicants are required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Gregory Dunko et al (US Publication 20130254661) SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR PROVIDING ACCESS TO MEDIA CONTENT
Sasaki et al (US Publication 20150248221) IMAGE PROCESSING DEVICE, IMAGE PROCESSING METHOD, IMAGE PROCESSING SYSTEM, AND NON-TRANSITORY COMPUTER READABLE MEDIUM
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Hua Lu whose telephone number is 571-270-1410 and fax number is 571-270-2410. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott Baderman can be reached on 571-272-3644. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-273-8300.
/Hua Lu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118