DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
- Regarding to claim 7, the term “U” is not clear what it represented. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (Patent No. 6631127).
- With respect to claims 1, 17, 20, Ahmed teaches an indication information sending method, performed by a first device, comprising: sending first indication information to a second device (e.g. Fig. 5 shows block 502 feedback to block 500), wherein the first indication information is used to indicate m pieces of sensing measurement result validity and n pieces of communication data reception correctness, m and n are positive integers, and m+n>2 (e.g. fig. 5 shows channel condition report and ACK/NACK feedback channel), wherein m sensing measurement results corresponding to the m pieces of sensing measurement result validity are measurement results of performing sensing measurement on a target signal received by the first device (e.g. the channel condition measurement report in Fig. 5 consider as target to signal received from BS). Ahmed explicitly fails to teach the sensing measurement validity, but Da Silva teaches sensing measurement valid (see par. 37), therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the method to transmit sensing measurement into the feedback of Ahmed’s invention for monitoring the device in communication.
- With respect to claims 2, 18, Ahmed teaches wherein the first indication information comprises an indication bit, and the indication bit is at least one bit indicating the m pieces of sensing measurement result validity and the n pieces of communication data reception correctness. (it inherently to understand that feedback channel in fig. 5 comprises indication bit for BTS to update a local estimate of accumulated SNR see par. 4)
- With respect to claims 3, 19, Ahmed teaches wherein the indication bit is m+n bits, wherein: m bits indicate the m pieces of sensing measurement result validity, and n bits indicate the n pieces of communication data reception correctness (e,g. bit indicate ACK/NACK as in par. 4); or 2x bits in the m+n bits indicate x pieces of sensing measurement result validity and x pieces of communication data reception correctness through joint coding, wherein when x is less than m, m–x bits in the m+n bits indicate m–x pieces of sensing measurement result validity, or when x is less than n, n–x bits in the m+n bits indicate n–x pieces of sensing measurement result validity, wherein x is a positive integer, x is less than or equal to m, and x is less than or equal to n.
- With respect to claims 11, Ahmed teaches wherein the first indication information is further used to indicate at least one of the following: identifier information of a target signal associated with a sensing measurement result; sensing measurement identifier information; a sensing measurement result; or feedback information of the first indication information (e.g. the feedback in Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHUC H TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-3172. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 Flex.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471