DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on September 8, 2026 is acknowledged.
4. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
5. Claims 1-14 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to natural products without significantly more.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant's claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes. The analysis then moves to Step 2A, Prong One, which asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant's claims recite Dichrostachys glomerata. Dichrostachys glomerata is a naturally occurring plant. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that "When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A."
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that "if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is " a product of nature exception To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states "The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product's structure, function, and/or other properties...".
In this case, the closest naturally occurring counterpart for the ingredient is the ingredient itself. Selection of a particular species of a naturally occurring plant does not create a markedly distinct plant. The selected plant would be the same as the identical plant because selection only occurs from what exists. Thus, the claims are drawn directly to a product of nature. Thus, the claimed Dichrostachys glomerata cannot display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterpart because they are one in the same. In addition, claim(s) 3,4, 10, 11 and 12 are drawn to extracts, thus, in this case, extraction of plants only concentrates and portions the naturally occurring compounds in the plants which are soluble or insoluble in the particular solvent. General extraction does not necessarily result in a markedly distinct change in the naturally occurring compounds from the plant. Thus, while a solvent extract itself may not be found in the nature, the compounds which are present in the plant and soluble in the selected solvent are found in nature. The creation of a solvent extract only partitions and concentrates the molecules that are naturally in the plant. There is no evidence or reason to expect that any new compounds are formed. The extract itself is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are simply soluble in a particular solvent. Thus, while extraction of the compounds with the selected solvent would separate a portion of the plant matter away from the naturally-occurring ingredients, the result of extraction is still a mixture of ingredients which are naturally-found in the plant material; i.e., the compound is not inventive or "man-made." Thus, the extract in turn is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds found in the particular plant. The extract from the individual plant leads to a combination of the naturally occurring compounds from the plant. Thus, the claim is drawn to a mixture of naturally occurring products.
There is no indication that the specified extract as commensurate in scope with the stated claim changes the structure, function, or other properties of the extract in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. The closest naturally occurring counterpart for the extract is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are present in the extract. Because, as discussed above, the plant extract contains only a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds found in the plant. The extract composition appears to maintain its naturally occurring structure and properties and is merely present in the combination. In addition, there is nothing to show that mixing the ingredients in the particular concentrations produces any sort of marked distinction. In addition, the closest naturally occurring counterpart for each ingredient is the ingredient itself. There is no indication that mixing the following ingredients together such as an extract of D. glomerata with D. glomerata as commensurate in scope with the stated claims changes the structure, function, or other properties of the components in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. Thus, the claims are drawn directly to a product of nature. Thus, the claimed mixture as a whole does not display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterparts. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, applicant's claims are directed to a composition with an intended use of a composition for improving mood in a mammal. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) specifically states that a claim is only directed to "an intended use of a claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the 'treatment or prophylaxis' consideration." Therefore, applicant's intended use is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by "Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself." In this case, the additional element in the claims is the presence of a liquid ingredient to form the liquid composition. However, MPEP § 2106.05(d) states that well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not sufficient to show that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, mixing the ingredients together does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
In addition, applicant's intended use for a composition for improving mood in a mammal is not considered to amount to significantly more. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A), "Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use" is not considered to be enough to qualify as significantly more. An intended use of a claimed composition only generally links the exception to the field of use. Therefore, the additional elements are not considered to amount to significantly more. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim(s) 1-14 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim(s) 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/644,048 or 18/896,177 or 18/896,862 or 18/897,834 or 18/896,899 or 18/897,989 or 18/897,674 or 18/896,891 (reference applications).
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented. Each set of claims contain word for word limitations except for the recitation of intended use. However, the intended use does not create a structural distinction between the different sets of claims. Thus, a statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate because the structural limitations of the claims are identical and overlapping.
8. Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-13 of U.S. App. No. 18/898,550 or 18/898,585 or 18/898,491 or 18/898,614 or 18/898,639 or 18/898,656 (reference applications). The claims for each reference application and this current application are drawn to compositions comprising Dichrostachys glomerata with overlapping oral dosage forms and dosages. Thus, the current claims are not considered to be patentably distinct from the reference applications despite a difference in the intended use because they are structurally the same compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
9. Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, 21, and 22 of copending Application No. 18/644,031 or claims 1-4, 6-11, 13, 14, 21-26 of copending Application No. 18/644,016 or claims 1-14, 21, and 22 of copending Application No. 18/644,042 or claims 1-4, 7-11, 14 of copending Application No. 18/644,054 or claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/643,996 (reference applications). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference applications are drawn to extracts from Dichrostachys glomerata fruit pods with overlapping dosages and oral dosage forms. The scope of the reference applications’ claims are narrower in scope than the current claims; thus, they anticipate the current claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roth (U.S. Patent No. 3,089,817 A).
Regarding claim(s) 1-4 and 7, Roth teaches a composition comprising Dichrostachys glomerata (paragraph 0002). Roth teaches that the compositions may take the form of tablets, powders, syrup elixirs, or capsules for oral ingestion (paragraph 0020). The reference teaches that the plant material is extracted with water and/or ethanol (paragraphs 0014 and 0017). In addition, the reference teaches a dosage form with 500 mg of the Dichrostachys glomerata (example 9, col. 6, line 25).
The reference does not teach using the composition for the same intended uses as claimed by applicant. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
11. Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 7-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oben (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0111071 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 7-9 and 13-14, Oben teaches a composition comprising Dichrostachys glomerata (claim 1). Oben teaches the use of dried pods from the Dichrostachys glomerata (paragraph 0052). Oben teaches that the effective amount of the Dichrostachys glomerata is 20 mg to 6000 mg to the mammal per day (claim 7). Oben teaches the Dichrostachys glomerata are encapsulated in individual packets of capsules (paragraph 0052). Oben teaches that the composition was administered to a mammal over the course of 8 weeks at a dosage of 250 mg or 400 mg (paragraph 0053).
The reference does not teach using the composition for the same intended uses as claimed by applicant. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim Ji (KR 20180026128 A – English translation provided).
Kim Ji teaches a food composition containing an extract of Dichrostachys glomerata fruit (abstract). Kim Ji teaches the food composition that can be prepared as a refillable health supplement food (page 6). Kim Ji teaches that the fruit extract can be a water or a lower alcohol having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, or a mixture thereof, as an extraction solvent (page 7). Kim Ji teaches that the composition was administered to mice at 500mg (page 4).
The reference does not teach using the composition for the same intended uses as claimed by applicant. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655