DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Responsive to the Amendment filed July 28, 2026. Claims 2 and 9 were amended. Claims 15 and 16 are new. Claims 1-16 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (second notice).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, the Applicant argues with substance:
Argument A: Akiva's aerial images are for offline map creation, not real-time continuous obtaining. Akiva's aerial images are collected for offline map enhancement purposes, not continuously obtained during real- time driving as recited by claims 1 and 8.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Akiva’s system and method is performed in real time and analyzes images in real time during vehicle movement. See at least paragraphs [0029, 0050, 0066]).
Argument B: Akiva provides navigation assistance, not "perception results for autonomy-level driving. Claims 6 and 13: Akiva's 0071, 0084, 0103 (cited by the Examiner) describe: imaging device orientation (0071), retrieving visual objects based on movement vectors (0084), and detecting pavement edges to calculate enhanced positioning ( 0103). None of these teach predicting a future location of a road user.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitation “for use in an autonomy-level driving of the vehicle” is intended use language. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Akiba’s system provides perception results that can be used in any vehicle.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations:
“aerial image signatures are generated by applying a self-attention mechanism to aerial image segment patches, and wherein the processing of the aerial image signatures involves matching the aerial image signatures to vehicle sensed image signatures using a cross-view localization module to generate probabilistic location information”n in claim 2,
“dynamically allocating a coverage area to a patch of an aerial image, wherein the dynamically allocating comprises allocating a coverage area of a path that captures an urban area that is smaller than a coverage area of a patch that captures a rural area” in claim 15,
“wherein the dynamically allocating comprises allocating a coverage area of a path that captures an urban area that is smaller than a coverage area of a patch that captures a rural area” in claim 16
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Newly added claim 15 contains the limitations dynamically allocating a coverage area to a patch of an aerial image, wherein the dynamically allocating comprises allocating a coverage area of a path that captures an urban area that is smaller than a coverage area of a patch that captures a rural area which are not found in the original disclosure and appears to be new matter. Newly added claim 16 contains the limitations dynamically allocating comprises allocating a coverage area of a path that captures an urban area that is smaller than a coverage area of a patch that captures a rural area which also appears to be new matter.
None of the cited sections nor any other section appears to teach any form of dynamic allocation, let alone dynamically allocating a coverage area as claimed.
Clarification of proper support is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Akiva et al (US 2018/0188046).
As per claim 1, Akiva et al teach a method of real time air perception, comprising:
continuously obtaining, by a computerized system, aerial image signatures of patches of aerial images in accordance with a determined driving path of a vehicle, such that the patches of aerial images capture at least parts of an environment of the determined driving path for the vehicle (see at least fig 1 (106), paragraphs [0039, 0079, 0083]; obtaining visual data such as aerial images with coordinates of the vehicle’s surroundings);
processing, by the computerized system and in real time, the aerial image signatures in accordance with one or more road elements within an environment along the determined driving path of the vehicle (see at least fig 1 (102, 104, 110) and corresponding text; obtaining GPS and movement vector, capture images surroundings of the vehicle, analyzing the images and visual data to calculate a relative positioning of the vehicle with respect to the visual objects); and
providing perception results, based on the processing by a classification process running with a neural network in a real time driving of the vehicle, for use in an autonomy-level driving of the vehicle (see at least paragraphs [0087, 0113], fig 1 (112, 114), fig 3-4 and corresponding text; presenting an updated navigation map using the map enhancer and visual classification functions in a neural network).
As per claim 3, Akiva et al teach wherein the continuously obtaining involves downloading the aerial image signatures in accordance with the determined driving path for the vehicle (see at least paragraph [0070]).
As per claim 4, Akiva et al teach wherein providing the perception results involves classifying a road element, based on the processing (see at least paragraph [0033]).
As per claim 5, Akiva et al teach wherein providing the perception results involves providing behavioral information, based on the processing, of a road users captured by the patches of the aerial images (see at least paragraphs [0055-57]).
As per claim 6, Akiva et al teach wherein providing the perception results involves providing a prediction, based on the processing, of a future location of a road user captured by the patches of the aerial images (see at least paragraphs [0071, 0084, 0103]).
As per claim 7, Akiva et al teach determining a location of the vehicle based on, at least in part, the processing of the aerial image signatures (see at least fig 1; obtaining visual data such as aerial images with coordinates of the vehicle’s surroundings).
Claims 8 and 10-14 contain similar limitations as the claims above and therefore are rejected under similar rationale.
As per claim 15, Akiva et al teach dynamically allocating a coverage area to a patch of an aerial image (see at least paragraph [0099; adapted for movement path, route or destination), wherein the dynamically allocating comprises allocating a coverage area of a path that captures an urban area that is smaller than a coverage area of a patch that captures a rural area (non-functional descriptive language).
The limitation is non-functional descriptive language that does not actively recite a function and therefore does not add any meaningful limitations to the scope of the claim. “A claim term is functional when it recites a feature by what it does not what it is" (MPEP 2173.05g). Non-functional descriptive material does not impart a patentable distinction to a claim. Patentable weight will only be given when such descriptive material has a functional relationship to the substrate (MPEP 2111.05).
As per claim 16, Akiva et al teach, wherein the dynamically allocating comprises allocating a coverage area of a path that captures an urban area that is smaller than a coverage area of a patch that captures a rural area (non-functional descriptive language).
The limitation is non-functional descriptive language that does not actively recite a function and therefore does not add any meaningful limitations to the scope of the claim. “A claim term is functional when it recites a feature by what it does not what it is" (MPEP 2173.05g). Non-functional descriptive material does not impart a patentable distinction to a claim. Patentable weight will only be given when such descriptive material has a functional relationship to the substrate (MPEP 2111.05).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiva et al (US 2018/0188046) in view of WANG (US 2021/01301821).
As per claim 2, Akiva et al teach processing images such as aerial images and combining such aerial images with ground images and using computer vision methods, techniques and algorithms such as image processing patterns and recognition on collected images (see at least paragraphs [0039, 0052, 0085], fig 1) but fails to explicitly teach wherein aerial image signatures are generated by applying a self-attention mechanism to aerial image segment patches, and wherein the processing of the aerial image signatures involves matching the aerial image signatures to vehicle sensed image signatures using a cross-view localization module to generate probabilistic location information providing aerial-to-vehicle fused results between the aerial image signatures and sensor signatures of sensor data captured by a sensor of the vehicle. However, in the same field of endeavor, WANG teaches a collaborative map construction between unmanned aerial vehicle and a ground vehicle, and matching images obtained from both vehicles to create the collaborative map. The matching includes determining image data such as pixel values, image points, and or references objects for aerial and ground images and matching images based on that data (see at least paragraphs [0042, 0054, 0056, 0082, 0089]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the Applicant filed the invention to combine WANG with Akiva et al because doing so would provide a more accurate way match and combine similar images.
Claim 9 contains similar limitations as claim 2 above and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAMSEY REFAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3664
/RAMSEY REFAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664