DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13, 15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ungurean (US 2006/0165486).
Regarding claim 1, Ungurean discloses in an airfield matting system which comprises a plurality of matting panels 4 (see Fig.1, Para [0040]) each including a rectangular mat core (see Figs. 12-13) having a first side, a second side, a first end, and a second end, the first end having a first end connector 28, and the second end having a second end connector 48; an end- to-end connection, between the first end connector of one matting panel of the plurality of matting panels and the second end connector of an end neighboring matting panel (see Figs. 6-8), comprising:
the first end connector of one matting panel of the plurality of matting panels configured to couple with the second end connector of an end neighboring matting panel of the plurality of matting panels to be connected therewith (see Figs. 6-7, Para [0046]); the first end connector including an overlap end connector 27 having a top slot portion; the second end connector including an underlap end connector 29 having a bottom slot portion; the top slot portion and the bottom slot portion forming a locking bar slot 50 (see Fig.7, Para [0054]); and a locking bar configured to be disposed in the locking bar slot formed by the top slot portion of the overlap end connector and the bottom slot portion of the underlap end connector, and substantially filling the locking bar slot (see Para [0054]).
Regarding claim 2, Ungurean discloses the locking bar slot is rectangular (see Fig.7).
Regarding claim 3, Ungurean discloses the overlap end connector 27 includes a top hook with a top hook distal portion; wherein the underlap end connector 29 includes a bottom hook with a bottom hook distal portion; and where in the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are configured to engage one another (see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Ungurean discloses the overlap end connector includes a top hook having a top hook 28 proximal portion and a top hook having a top hook distal portion; wherein the underlap end connector includes a bottom hook 48 having a bottom hook proximal portion and a bottom hook having a bottom hook distal portion; and where in the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are configured to engage one another (see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Ungurean discloses the top hook distal portion is disposed between the top slot portion and the top hook proximal portion, the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are disposed between the top hook proximal portion and the locking bar slot, the top hook distal portion is disposed between the bottom hook distal portion and the bottom hook proximal portion, and the bottom hook distal portion is disposed between the top hook distal portion and the top hook proximal portion (see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Ungurean discloses the top hook comprises a J-shaped top hook having a generally vertical orientation as a generally upright top hook having a top hook distal portion oriented generally vertically upward; wherein the bottom hook comprises a J-shaped bottom hook having a generally vertical orientation as a generally inverted vertical bottom hook having a bottom hook distal portion oriented generally vertically downward; and wherein the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are disposed adjacent to one another (see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, Ungurean discloses an end-to-end connection for end neighboring matting panels 4 in an airfield matting system (see Fig.1), the end-to-end connection comprising: a first end connector 28 of one matting panel of a plurality of matting panels each including a rectangular mat core having a first side, a second side, a first end, and a second end, the first end connector to be attached to the first end, the first end connector including an overlap end connector 27 having a top slot portion; a second end connector 48 of another matting panel of the plurality of matting panels, the second end connector being configured to be attached to the second end and to couple with the first end connector, the second end connector including an underlap end connector 29 having a bottom slot portion 50, the top slot portion and the bottom slot portion forming a locking bar slot (see Figs. 6-7, Para [0046]); a locking bar configured to be disposed in the locking bar slot formed by the top slot 10 portion of the overlap end connector and the bottom slot portion of the underlap end connector, and substantially filling the locking bar slot. (see Figs. 6-8, Para [0054])
Regarding claim 10, Ungurean discloses the locking bar slot is rectangular (see Fig.7).
Regarding claim 11, Ungurean discloses the overlap end connector 27 includes a top hook with a top hook distal portion; wherein the underlap end connector 29 includes a bottom hook with a bottom hook distal portion; and where in the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are configured to engage one another (see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]).
Regarding claim 12, Ungurean discloses the overlap end connector includes a top hook having a top hook 28 proximal portion and a top hook having a top hook distal portion; wherein the underlap end connector includes a bottom hook 48 having a bottom hook proximal portion and a bottom hook having a bottom hook distal portion; and where in the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are configured to engage one another (see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]).
Regarding claim 13, Ungurean discloses the top hook distal portion is disposed between the top slot portion and the top hook proximal portion, the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are disposed between the top hook proximal portion and the locking bar slot, the top hook distal portion is disposed between the bottom hook distal portion and the bottom hook proximal portion, and the bottom hook distal portion is disposed between the top hook distal portion and the top hook proximal portion(see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Ungurean discloses the top hook comprises a J-shaped top hook having a generally vertical orientation as a generally upright top hook having a top hook distal portion oriented generally vertically upward; wherein the bottom hook comprises a J-shaped bottom hook having a generally vertical orientation as a generally inverted vertical bottom hook having a bottom hook distal portion oriented generally vertically downward; and wherein the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are disposed adjacent to one another (see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]).
Regarding claim 18, Ungurean discloses an end-to-end connection for two end neighboring matting panels 4 in an airfield matting system which comprises a plurality of matting panels each including a rectangular mat core (see Fig. 1) having two ends, the end-to-end connection comprising: an overlap end connector 27 to be attached to an end of a first rectangular mat core of a first one of the two end neighboring matting panels, the overlap end connector having a top slot portion; an underlap end connector 29 to be attached to an end of a second rectangular mat core of a second one of the two end neighboring matting panels (see Figs. 6-8, Para [0046]), the underlap end connector having a bottom slot portion, the top slot portion and the bottom slot portion forming a locking bar slot 50; and a locking bar configured to be disposed in the locking bar slot formed by the top slot portion of the overlap end connector and the bottom slot portion of the underlap end connector, and substantially filling the locking bar slot (see Para [0054]).
Regarding claim 19, Ungurean discloses the overlap end connector 27 includes a top hook with a top hook distal portion; wherein the underlap end connector 29 includes a bottom hook with a bottom hook distal portion; and where in the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are configured to engage one another (see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]), wherein the top hook distal portion is disposed between the top slot portion and the top hook proximal portion, the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are disposed between the top hook proximal portion and the locking bar slot, the top hook distal portion is disposed between the bottom hook distal portion and the bottom hook proximal portion, and the bottom hook distal portion is disposed between the top hook distal portion and the top hook proximal portion (see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ungurean (US 2006/0165486) in view of Hilton (US 3377931).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Ungurean fails to discloses or fairly the bottom slot portion is disposed in the bottom hook proximal portion; and wherein the locking bar is a rectangular locking bar disposed above the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion.
However, Hilton discloses fairly the airfield matting system having an end to end connection comprising the bottom slot portion is disposed in the bottom hook proximal portion; and wherein the locking bar is a rectangular locking bar disposed above the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion (the lower connecting means 44b, 44c, 44d and the locking bar 46 disposed above lower connecting means, see Fig.3, col.3, line 38 - col.4, line 24 ) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to modify Ungurean’s connecting system as taught by Hilton in order to improve the interlocking function for stronger connection between the panels.
Claims 8, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ungurean (US 2006/0165486)
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Although Ungurean fails to specifically disclose the locking bar slot is an inclined slot which is inclined at an angle of about 10°- 30° relative to horizontal, downward on a side of the top hook distal portion and upward on a side of the bottom hook distal portion, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to modify Ungurean’s connecting system with providing the locking slot with 10-30 degree angle relative to horizontal in order to improve the interlocking function for stronger connection between the panels.
Regarding claim 20, Ungurean discloses the top hook comprises a J-shaped top hook having a generally vertical orientation as a generally upright top hook having a top hook distal portion oriented generally vertically upward; wherein the bottom hook comprises a J-shaped bottom hook having a generally vertical orientation as a generally inverted vertical bottom hook having a bottom hook distal portion oriented generally vertically downward; and wherein the top hook distal portion and the bottom hook distal portion are disposed adjacent to one another (see Fig. 7, Para [0041] & [0054]).
Although Ungurean fails to specifically disclose the locking bar slot is an inclined slot which is inclined at an angle of about 10°- 30° relative to horizontal, downward on a side of the top hook distal portion and upward on a side of the bottom hook distal portion, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to modify Ungurean’s connecting system with providing the locking slot with 10-30 degree angle relative to horizontal in order to improve the interlocking function for stronger connection between the panels.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ungurean (US 2006/0165486) in view of Perry (US 3572224).
Regarding claim 17, Ungurean fails to disclose or fairly suggest the first end connector includes a first end connector insert configured to slide in between ribs of the first end of the rectangular mat core; wherein the second end connector includes a second end connector insert configured to slide in between ribs of the second end of the rectangular mat core.
However, Perry discloses a load supporting plank system having a connecting system comprising a first end connector insert/side element 12/right side, 16 configured to slide in between ribs of the first end of the rectangular mat core; wherein a second end connector/side element 12/left side, 17 includes a second end connector insert configured to slide in between ribs of the second end of the rectangular mat core (adjoining these side elements into the panel/ honeycomb structure 40 as inserts with using epoxy material 41, see Figs 1-2, col.4, lines 25-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to modify Ungurean’s end connecting system as taught by Perry in order to easily change the end connector parts with various interlocking features as to the design.
Relevant Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20260085474 A1 LIGHTWEIGHT AIRFIELD MATTING SYSTEM
WO 2019229474 A1 STRUCTURAL SURFACE ENHANCING PANEL
US 20180030665 A1 Rig mat for use in oil and mining industries for forming temporary work surface or road surface, has two elongate elements with one element including reinforcing rib extending along length of cavity from one location to another location
US 20120321382 A1 SURFACE COVERING FOR ENABLING A SURFACE TO BE CROSSED, IN PARTICULAR BY VEHICLES
US 20120163910 A1 Rig mat system for e.g. tractor in oil industry, has connecting bar extending from flange to end face such that flange is inserted through mouth by tilting panel and prevented from escaping from mouth by horizontal movement
US 6685388 B2 Multi-purpose mat
US 4226064 A Flooring comprising adjoining plastics elements
US 3557670 A PATCH ASSEMBLY FOR RAPID REPAIR OF BOMB-DAMAGED RUNWAYS AND PAVEMENTS
US 3538819 A AIRFIELD MATTING LOCKING PIN
US 3348459 A Interlocking matting and coupling bar therefor
US 3301147 A Vehicle-supporting matting and plank therefor
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jong-Suk (James) Lee whose telephone number is (571) 272-7044. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Thursday 6AM- 4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Allana Bidder can be reached on 571-272-5560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: httos://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/Avww.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JONG-SUK (JAMES) LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875