DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Regarding each of Claims 1-10, the “Z-shape” of the bending structure does not appear to be clearly identified in the drawings.
Regarding Claim 1, line 5: it appears that the term “reinforcement” should be changed to “reinforcement part.”
Regarding Claim 9, line 5: it appears that the term “reinforcement” should be changed to “reinforcement part.”
Regarding Claim 10, line 10: it appears that the term “reinforcement” should be changed to “reinforcement part.”
Regarding Claim 11, line 5: it appears that the term “reinforcement” should be changed to “reinforcement part.”
Regarding Claim 11, line 6: it appears that the term “having” should be changed to “first support having.”
Regarding Claim 15, line 5: it appears that the term “reinforcement” should be changed to “reinforcement part.”
Regarding Claim 18, line 12: it appears that the term “having” should be changed to “first support having.”
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/896,982 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 is within the scope of subject matter claimed in Claim 2 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, and 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ning et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0084860 A1, hereinafter “Ning”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Ning discloses a keycap lifting mechanism (Abstract), comprising: a first support (144; FIG. 4), the first support (144) comprising a first support body (1442; FIG. 5) and a first reinforcement part (1444; FIG. 5), the first reinforcement part (1444) being embedded into the first support body (1442; FIG. 5), an elastic modulus of the first reinforcement being greater than an elastic modulus of the first support body (1442; ¶ [0017]), and a second support (142), the second support (142) and the first support (144) being pivotally connected around a pivot axis (14a; FIG. 5), wherein the first reinforcement part (1444) comprises a Z-shaped bending structure (1444a; FIG. 4), and the Z-shaped bending structure (1444a) extends parallel to the pivot axis (14a; FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Ning discloses that the Z-shaped bending structure (1444a) is located on a side fringe of the first reinforcement part (1444; FIG. 4), the first support (144) has a sliding shaft (S1; FIG. 5 reproduced and annotated below), and the Z-shaped bending structure (1444a) and the sliding shaft (S1) overlap in a direction parallel to the pivot axis (14a; see, e.g., FIGS. 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Ning discloses that the Z-shaped bending structure (1444a) comprises two bending portions (within each of 144a; FIG. 4), and the sliding shaft (S1) and one of the two bending portions overlap in the direction parallel to the pivot axis (14a; FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Ning discloses that the first support (144) has a pivot (also S1), the first support (144) is pivotally connected to the second support (142) through the pivot (FIG. 5), the Z-shaped bending structure (1444a) comprises two bending portions (within each of 144a; FIG. 4), and the pivot and one of the two bending portions overlap in a direction parallel to the pivot axis (14a; FIG. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Ning discloses that the Z-shaped bending structure (1444a) comprises a first plate portion (1PP; FIG. 4, a portion of which is reproduced and annotated below), a second plate portion (2PP), and a connecting plate portion (CPP), the first plate portion (1PP), the second plate portion (2PP), and the connecting plate portion (CPP) extend parallel to the pivot axis (14a) and are not coplanar (FIG. 4), the first plate portion (1PP) and the second plate portion (2PP) are connected to opposite sides of the connecting plate portion (CPP; FIG. 4), an included angle is formed by the first plate portion (1PP) and the connecting plate portion (CPP), and the included angle is greater than 90 degrees (an angle from an axis of 1PP to an axis in which CPP extends, i.e., from an intersection of 1PP and CPP to an intersection of 2PP and CPP is greater than 90 degrees; FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Ning discloses that the second support (142) comprises a second support body and a second reinforcement part (1446), the second reinforcement part (1446) is embedded into the second support body (1422), an elastic modulus of the second reinforcement [part] is greater than an elastic modulus of the second support body (1422; ¶ [0023]), and the second reinforcement part (1446) comprises a Z-shaped bending structure (1444a), extending perpendicular to the pivot axis (14a; 1446 extends away from 140a and the pivot axis; FIG. 4).
Claim 10 includes language substantially similar to that disclosed above with respect to Claim 1 and is rejected for reasons at least similar to those discussed above. Ning discloses a keyswitch structure (FIG. 1), comprising: a base plate (10; Abstract, FIG. 1) and a keycap (12; FIG. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, and 8, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 11-19 would be allowable but for the objections identified above. The prior art fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, either alone or in combination, a keycap lifting mechanism comprising the claimed first reinforcement part surrounding a sliding hole and going through a sliding shaft.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831