Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 10/27/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that on the grounds that it would not be a significant burden on the Office to search and examine each of the identified inventions. This is not found persuasive because as explained in the Restriction Requirement that the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification, as the methods are classified in class 427 whereas the apparatus is classified in 118. Additionally, the inventions clearly require a different field of search, for the reasons set forth above.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/27/25.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 6 recite limitations joined by “and/or”. As such, the claim is treated in two ways, wherein the claim reads one, or the other limitation (assumption #1), or both limitations (assumption #2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, line 4, the phrase “the opening” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “an opening” is assumed.
In claim 3, line 2, the phrase “the opening” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “an opening” is assumed.
In claim 10, line 4, the phrase “a second cavity” lacks proper antecedent basis, because nothing of “a first cavity” is taught in claims 1 or 8. For the purpose of examination, claim 8 depends from claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al (US 2022/0395856A1)
As to claim 1, Matsumoto et al teaches a coating device (see Figs 1, 7 and 9), comprising: a fluidization tank (10) for containing dip-coating powder therein; a clamp (gripper 60 with clamp mechanism 63) for clamping a workpiece W (capable of being a battery case) and dipping the workpiece into the dip-coating powder in the fluidization tank(10); and a first heating mechanism (preheating furnace, see para [0065]) for heating (preheating) the workpiece so that the dip-coating powder around the workpiece is melted and adhered to the surface of the battery case to form an insulating film (see para [0064-0065]) and Fig 9 for heating process allowing insulating powder to be melted applied on the workpiece capable of forming a layer).
As to claim 2, Matsumoto et al teaches (see Fig 7) the clamp (gripper 60 with clamp mechanism 63) comprises a mounting plate (clamp plate 631) and a clamping portion (protrusion pieces 634 and the claws 636), the clamping portion (protrusion pieces 634 and the claws 636) being connected to the mounting plate (clamp plate 631) and used to clamp the workpiece (W); and the mounting plate (clamp plate 631) is capable of covering the opening of the fluidization tank (as the gripper 60 move downward by the conveyor 50 workpiece W is immersed into the powder in the tank 10, see Figs 1 and 7 and para [0078]).
Regarding claim 3, in Matsumoto et al (see Fig 7) the clamping portion has a sealing member (workpiece pallet 80) capable of sealing (closing) an opening of the battery case (workpiece W); and/or the clamp comprises a plurality of clamping portions (protrusion pieces 634 and the claws 636) for clamping a plurality of battery cases (W), and the plurality of clamping portions are all connected to the mounting plate (631); and/or the clamp further comprises a vibrating portion (vibrator 64 with shaker 641 and 642) provided on the mounting plate (631) for vibrating the clamping portion (applying vibrations to the workpiece W gripped by the clamp mechanism, see para [0057]).
As to claim 4, Matsumoto et al teaches the fluidization tank (10) has an air inlet (18) for introducing gas into the interior of the fluidization tank, so that the dip-coating powder is in a fluidized state.
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto et al discloses (see Fig 7) a partition (13, 14) provided inside the fluidization tank, the partition divides the interior of the fluidization tank into a first chamber and a second chamber along the height direction of the fluidization tank (see Fig 7), and the partition has a plurality of through holes to communicate the first chamber with the second chamber, the diameter of the through holes being less than or equal to the diameter of the dip-coating powder (see para [0025]); and the air inlet is in communication with the first chamber, and the second chamber is filled with the dip-coating powder.
As to claim 6, Matsumoto teaches the first heating mechanism is located outside the fluidization tank for heating the battery case before it is dipped in the dip-coating powder (see preheating furnace on para [0065-0066] and [0073]).
As to claim 8, Matsumoto et al teaches (see the coating device further comprises: a second heating mechanism (curing furnace, see para [0073]) for heating the workpiece having its surface covered with an insulating film to melt the insulating film to make the surface of the insulating film uniform (curing furnace thus forming an insulating layer on the workpiece).
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by CN213558167U.
As to claim 1, CN’167 teaches (see Figs 1 and 3) a coating device, comprising: a fluidization tank (18) for containing dip-coating powder therein; a clamp (see Fig 1) for clamping a battery case and dipping the battery case into the dip-coating powder in the fluidization tank (see Fig 1 for the assembly of hood 9, bracket 11, frames 12,15, clamping seat 16 clamping the steel shell 14 and the fluidized tank/bed 18); and a first heating mechanism (steel furnace) for heating the battery case (14) so that the dip-coating powder around the battery case (14) is capable of being melted and adhered to the surface of the battery case to form an insulating film (see English Translation of specification on page 1, under Background and page 3 under Specific implementation examples teaching insulated steel shell for storage battery, steel shell processed by powder dipping plastic, immersing the steel shell at suitable temperature, and the powder material adheres to the heated metal).
As to claim 2, CN’167 teaches the clamp comprises a mounting plate (hood 9) and a clamping portion, the clamping portion (bracket 11) being connected to the mounting plate (hood 9) and used to clamp the article 14; and the mounting plate (hood 9) is configured to cover the opening of the fluidization tank.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 833,181 in view of CN213558167U.
As to claim 1, GB’181 teaches a coating device, comprising: a fluidization tank (10) for containing dip-coating powder therein; and dipping a metal article (capable of being a battery case) into the dip-coating powder in the fluidization tank; and a first heating mechanism (heating coil 15) for heating the article so that the dip-coating powder around the battery case is melted and adhered to the surface of the article to form an insulating film. Although GB’181 teaches an article 19 suspended on a support (see Fig 1), a clamp for clamping the article is not taught in GP’181. However, a clamp for clamping a suspended article and dipping the article into a fluidized bed is known in the art; for instance – as taught by CN’167 (see Fig 1 for the assembly of hood 9, bracket 11, frames 12,15, clamping seat 16 clamping the steel shell 14 and the fluidized tank/bed 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a clamp in GB’181 to attach the substrate/article onto the suspender/support means and insert the substrate into the fluidized bed or tank.
Regarding claim 2, GB’181 lacks teaching details regarding the support/clamp. However, CN’167 teaches the clamp comprises a mounting plate (hood 9) and a clamping portion, the clamping portion (bracket 11) being connected to the mounting plate (hood 9) and used to clamp the article 14; and the mounting plate (hood 9) is configured to cover the opening of the fluidization tank. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a clamp having clamping portion/ bracket and mounting plate/hood and in GB’181 covering the upper surface of the plastic dipping machine; preventing the powder in the fluidized bed from flying everywhere as taught by CN’167 (see English Translation on page 2 under Contents of the invention).
As to claim 4, GB181 teaches (see Fig 1) the fluidization tank (10) has an air inlet (a supply of air through control valve of chamber 12) for introducing gas into the interior of the fluidization tank, so that the dip-coating powder is in a fluidized state.
As to claim 6, GB’181 teaches (see Fig 1) the first heating mechanism (heating coil 15) is located inside the fluidization tank for heating the battery case after it is dipped in the dip-coating powder.
Regarding claim 7, in GB’181 the first heating mechanism (coil 15) is a first electromagnetic induction coil (see page 3, lines 94-106), wherein the first electromagnetic induction coil encloses a first cavity (tube 15a) for accommodating the battery case
As to claim 8, GB’181 teaches a second heating mechanism (post-heating convection oven or infrared) for heating the battery case having its surface covered with an insulating film to melt the insulating film to make the surface of the insulating film uniform (see page 4, lines 4-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 (with assumption #2) are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-10 (with assumption #1 and assumption #2) would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claims 6-10 (with assumption #2), Matsumoto et al and CN’167 teaching pre-heating the workpiece before the substrate is dipped and after the insulating layer applied, but lacks heating mechanism located inside the fluidization tank. GB’181 teaches a heating mechanism located inside the tank, but lacks teaching preheating the workpiece. Actually, GB’181 teaches a number of serious disadvantages with preheating the workpiece prior to application of coating within a fluidized bed (see page 1, lines 17-86). There is no reason to combine the fluidized bed of GB’181 with CN’167 or Matsumoto et al since GB’181 negates the use of preheating. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest, a coating device, comprising, among others (see claim 1) a fluidization tank, a clamp and a first heating mechanism, wherein the first heating mechanism is located outside the fluidization tank for heating the battery case before it is dipped in the dip-coating powder, and the first heating mechanism is located inside the fluidization tank for heating the battery case after it is dipped in the dip-coating powder.
With respect to claims 9-10 (assumption #1), although GB’181 teaches a post-heating device (post-heating oven) and a first heating mechanism with induction coil enclosed in a first cavity (see claims 6-7 rejections above), a plasticizing tank, a second heating mechanism having electromagnetic induction coil arranged in the plasticizing tank; the clamp used to place the battery case in the plasticizing tank, and a second heating mechanism having an induction coil enclosed in a second cavity are not taught in GB’181. Braden (US 3,875,898) teaches (see Figs 1-2) a fluidized bed apparatus having a reservoir (30), a support rack (12), a pre-heating oven (22) and a post-heating oven (26), but the heating mechanism arranged in the plasticizing tank and a second induction coil enclosed in a second cavity are not taught in Braden. As discussed above, GB’181 does not teach the second heating mechanism with a second electromagnetic induction coil, wherein the second electromagnetic induction coil encloses a second cavity for accommodating the battery case. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest, a coating device, comprising, among others (see claim 1) a fluidization tank, a clamp and a first heating mechanism, a second heating mechanism, the second heating mechanism is a second electromagnetic induction coil, wherein the second electromagnetic induction coil encloses a second cavity for accommodating the battery case (regarding claim 9); or the second heating mechanism is a second electromagnetic induction coil, wherein the second electromagnetic induction coil encloses a second cavity for accommodating the battery case (as to claim 10).
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/