DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 09/26/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 6, the limitation “a shaft” in line 1 is unclear as to which shaft is being referred to. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret “a shaft” as the shaft of the pulley.
For claim 10, the limitation “an elastic member having a first end affixed to an attachment point that is forward of the fired position” in line 7 is unclear. It is not clear as to how the first end of the elastic member can be fixed to the forward of the fired position as the limitation “forward of the fired position” is related to the position of the carriage, and does not provide an attachment point.
Also, in claim 10, the limitation "the first carriage" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For claim 15, the limitation “an elastic member having a first end affixed to an attachment point that is forward of the fired position” in line 7 is unclear. It is not clear as to how the first end of the elastic member can be fixed to the forward of the fired position as the limitation “forward of the fired position” is related to the position of the carriage, and does not provide an attachment point.
Claims 7, 11-14, 16-20 rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12161105. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they commonly recite an elongated barrel; a carriage; a snare; an elastic member affixed to the carriage and configured to bias the carriage toward the fired position, wherein the elastic member is in tension when the carriage is in the cocked position; and a trigger assembly configured to retain the carriage in the cocked position against the tension of the elastic member, wherein actuation of a trigger of the trigger assembly causes release of the carriage and permits the carriage to travel along the barrel toward the first end to the fired position as the tension in the elastic member is released.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramsey (US 3949514 A as cited in IDS) in view of Prior (US 9719749 B1 as cited in IDS) and DeMers (US 9974297 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Ramsey teaches an animal snare (10) comprising:
an elongated barrel (12 and 13 and 15) having a first end (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2) and a second end (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2);
a carriage (48 and 50) slidably engaged in an inner surface (fig. 2) of the barrel (figs. 2-3 and Col. 2, lines 43-47) and configured to travel along at least a portion of the barrel between a cocked position (fig. 2 and Col. 3, lines 11-19) and a fired position (fig. 3 and Col. 3, lines 11-19);
a snare (please see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2) extending out the first end of the barrel (fig. 2);
an elastic member (66) affixed to the carriage (figs. 2-3) and configured to bias the carriage toward the fired position (Col. 3, lines 11-14 and fig. 3), wherein the elastic member is in compression when the carriage is in the cocked position (fig. 2, and Col. 3, lines 15-19); and
a trigger assembly (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2) configured to retain the carriage in the cocked position against the compression of the elastic member (fig. 2 and Col. 3, lines 15-19), wherein actuation of a trigger (55) of the trigger assembly causes release of the carriage (Col. 3, lines 22-28) and permits the carriage to travel along the barrel toward the second end to the fired position as the compression in the elastic member is released automatically tightening the snare (figs. 2-3 and Col. 3, lines 15-28).
However, Ramsey is silent about said carriage slidably engaged on an outer surface of the barrel; wherein the elastic member is in tension; and the carriage to travel along the barrel toward the first end.
Prior teaches said carriage (120) slidably engaged on an outer surface (30) of the barrel (20; fig. 1-2 and 6 depict 120 to be slidably engaged on the outer surface of the barrel and Col. 4, lines 49-52 Col. 5, lines 18-21); and the carriage to travel along the barrel toward the first end (Col. 11, lines 59-61 and Col. 12, lines 2-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carriage of Ramsey to be slidably engaged on an outer surface of the barrel, and the carriage to travel along the barrel toward the first end as taught by Prior in order to easily cock the carriage and rapidly accelerate the carriage during the firing position (Col. 4, lines 49-52 Col. 5, lines 18-21, Col. 11, lines 59-61 and Col. 12, lines 2-7 of Prior).
DeMers teaches wherein the elastic member (42) is in tension (Col. 9, lines 17-19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute wherein the elastic member is in compression of Ramsey to be wherein the elastic member is in tension as taught by DeMers since both configurations will allow for the carriage to move from a cocked position to a fired position based on the force of the elastic member, since a simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 1, and Ramsey further teaches wherein the elastic member (66) has a second end (end near threaded portion 45 of the barrel) affixed to the barrel (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 2, and Ramsey further teaches wherein the elastic member is removably affixed to the carriage (figs. 2-3 and Col. 3, lines 8-14 as the elastic member is not permanently attached and so is removably affixed to the carriage).
In the event that applicant disagrees with examiner’s interpretation wherein the elastic member is removably affixed to the carriage, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elastic member of Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers to be removably affixed to the carriage in order to make the device separable and easier to clean, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 10, Ramsey teaches an animal snare comprising:
a barrel (12 and 13 and 15);
a carriage (48 and 50) slidably connected to the barrel (fig. 2) and configured to travel along at least a portion of the barrel between a forward cocked position (fig. 2) and a rearward fired position (fig. 3);
a snare (please see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2);
a cord (11 inside the barrel, please see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2) connecting between the carriage and the snare (please see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2);
an elastic member (66) having a first end affixed to an attachment point that is rearward of the fired position (fig. 3 as the first end of the elastic member affixed to an attachment point that is forward of the fired position) and a second end (end near 48 in fig. 2) affixed to the first carriage (48 and 50), wherein the elastic member is in compression when the first carriage is in the cocked position (fig. 2 and Col. 3, lines 15-19) such that the elastic member urges the carriage towards the fired position (Col. 3, lines 11-14 and fig. 3); and
a trigger (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2) assembly including a trigger (55) and a holding member (54) configured to engage with the carriage when the carriage is in the cocked position and to retain the carriage in the cocked position against the compression of the elastic member (figs. 2-3 and Col. 3, lines 15-28), wherein actuation of the trigger releases the holding member from the carriage such the elastic member urges the carriage towards the fired position and the snare is tightened automatically (figs. 2-3 and Col. 3, lines 15-28).
However, Ramsey is silent about a rearward cocked position and a forward fired position; and the elastic member is in tension.
Prior teaches a rearward cocked position (Col. 11, lines 59-61) and a forward fired position (Col. 12, lines 2-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify animal snare of Ramsey to have a rearward cocked position and a forward fired position as taught by Prior in order to easily cock the carriage and rapidly accelerate the carriage during the firing position (Col. 4, lines 49-52 Col. 5, lines 18-21, Col. 11, lines 59-61 and Col. 12, lines 2-7 of Prior).
DeMers teaches wherein the elastic member (42) is in tension (Col. 9, lines 17-19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute wherein the elastic member is in compression of Ramsey to be wherein the elastic member is in tension as taught by DeMers since both configurations will allow for the carriage to move from a cocked position to a fired position based on the force of the elastic member, since a simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Regarding claim 11, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 10, and Ramsey further teaches wherein the attachment point is affixed to the barrel (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 10, but is silent about further comprising a shaft, wherein the cord is disposed around the shaft.
DeMers teaches comprising a shaft (shaft of 47), wherein the cord (44) is disposed around the shaft (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a shaft, wherein the cord is disposed around the shaft as taught by DeMers into the animal snare of Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers in order to provide a back and forth movement that is required to trigger the device (Col. 4, lines 1-7 of DeMers).
Regarding claim 13, Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 10, but is silent about further comprising a pulley, wherein the cord is disposed around the pulley.
DeMers teaches a pulley (47), wherein the cord (44) is disposed around the pulley (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a pulley, wherein the cord is disposed around the pulley as taught by DeMers into the animal snare of Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers in order to provide a back and forth movement that is required to trigger the device (Col. 4, lines 1-7 of DeMers).
Regarding claim 15, Ramsey teaches an animal snare comprising:
a barrel (12 and 13 and 15);
a carriage (48 and 50) slidably connected to the barrel (fig. 2) and configured to travel along at least a portion of the barrel between a forward cocked position (fig. 2) and a rearward fired position (fig. 3);
a snare (please see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2) operably coupled to the carriage such the movement of the carriage towards the fired position tightens the snare (figs. 2-3 and Col. 3, lines 15-28);
an elastic member (66) having a first end affixed to an attachment point that is rearward of the fired position (fig. 3 as the first end of the elastic member affixed to an attachment point that is forward of the fired position) and a second end (end near 48 in fig. 2) affixed to the carriage (figs. 2-3); and
a handle assembly (70 and see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2) coupled to a rearward end of the barrel (figs. 2-3) and including:
a holding member (54) engageable with the carriage (figs. 2-3) and configured to hold the carriage in the cocked position against compression of the elastic member (figs. 2-3 and Col. 3, lines 15-28), and a trigger (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2) operably coupled to the holding member (figs. 2-3) such that actuation of the trigger releases the holding member from the carriage and the elastic member urges the carriage towards the fired position to tighten the snare automatically (figs. 2-3 and Col. 3, lines 15-28).
However, Ramsey is silent about a rearward cocked position and a forward fired position; and tension of the elastic member.
Prior teaches a rearward cocked position (Col. 11, lines 59-61) and a forward fired position (Col. 12, lines 2-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify animal snare of Ramsey to have a rearward cocked position and a forward fired position as taught by Prior in order to easily cock the carriage and rapidly accelerate the carriage during the firing position (Col. 4, lines 49-52 Col. 5, lines 18-21, Col. 11, lines 59-61 and Col. 12, lines 2-7 of Prior).
DeMers teaches tension (Col. 9, lines 17-19) of the elastic member (42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute wherein the elastic member is in compression of Ramsey to be in tension as taught by DeMers since both configurations will allow for the carriage to move from a cocked position to a fired position based on the force of the elastic member, since a simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Regarding claim 16, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 15, and Ramsey further teaches further comprising a cord (11 inside the barrel, please see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2) connecting between the carriage and the snare (please see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 16, and Ramsey further teaches wherein the cord extends through the handle assembly (figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 18, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 17, but is silent wherein the handle assembly includes a shaft and the cord loops around the shaft.
Prior teaches the handle assembly (140) includes a shaft (shaft of 44 and 47) and the cord (54a-b) loops around the shaft (figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a shaft and the cord loops around the shaft as taught by Prior into the handle assembly of Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers in order to provide a reciprocating movement of the carriage (Col. 6, lines 56-60 of Prior).
Regarding claim 19, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 17, and Ramsey further teaches wherein the holding member extends out of the handle assembly (figs. 2-3 as 54 extends out of the handle assembly) to be received in the barrel (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2 as the holding member is received in barrel 13 ), and wherein the barrel defines a hole (62) configured to receive a pin (61) of the holding member (figs. 2-3).
Claims 4-7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Phelps (GB 2436276 A as cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 4, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 1, and Ramsey further teaches further comprising a cord (11 inside the barrel, please see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2) having a first end coupled to the carriage (fig. 2).
However, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers is silent about a second end coupled to the snare.
Phelps teaches a second end (end of 48 in fig. 3) coupled to the snare (14/18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cord of Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers to include a second end coupled to the snare as taught by Phelps in order to efficiently tighten the snare (see machine translation: “As such, the operating element 48 can draw the connector 46 along the bore of the spring housing 40, against the force of the spring 44, towards the tail end 50. The slidable end 36 of the flexible elongate loop element 14 is thus also drawn along the bore of the spring housing 40 as the connector 46 moves.” of Phelps).
Regarding claim 5, Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers and Phelps teaches the animal snare of claim 4, but is silent about further comprising a pulley, wherein the cord is disposed around the pulley.
DeMers teaches a pulley (47), wherein the cord (44) is disposed around the pulley (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a pulley, wherein the cord is disposed around the pulley as taught by DeMers into the animal snare of Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers and Phelps in order to provide a back and forth movement that is required to trigger the device (Col. 4, lines 1-7 of DeMers).
Regarding claim 6, Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers and Phelps teaches the animal snare of claim 4, but is silent about further comprising a shaft, wherein the cord is disposed around the shaft.
DeMers teaches comprising a shaft (shaft of 47), wherein the cord (44) is disposed around the shaft (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a shaft, wherein the cord is disposed around the shaft as taught by DeMers into the animal snare of Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers and Phelps in order to provide a back and forth movement that is required to trigger the device (Col. 4, lines 1-7 of DeMers).
Regarding claim 7, Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers and Phelps teaches the animal snare of claim 6, and Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers and Phelps further teaches further comprising a handle (70 and see examiner’s illustration of fig. 2 of Ramsey) attached to the second end of the barrel (figs. 1-2 of Ramsey), wherein the trigger assembly and the shaft are supported by the handle (figs. 1-3 of Ramsey and fig. 3 of DeMers).
Regarding claim 14, Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 10, and Ramsey further teaches wherein the cord has a first end affixed to the carriage (fig. 2).
However, Ramsey as modified by Prior, DeMers is silent about further comprising a second carriage affixed to at least one end of the snare, and a second end affixed to the second carriage.
Phelps teaches a second carriage (46) affixed to at least one end of the snare (14/18), and a second end (end of 48 in fig. 3) affixed to the second carriage (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second carriage affixed to at least one end of the snare, and a second end affixed to the second carriage as taught by Phelps into the animal snare of Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers in order to efficiently tighten the snare (see machine translation: “As such, the operating element 48 can draw the connector 46 along the bore of the spring housing 40, against the force of the spring 44, towards the tail end 50. The slidable end 36 of the flexible elongate loop element 14 is thus also drawn along the bore of the spring housing 40 as the connector 46 moves.” of Phelps).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of and Ewing (US 0235675 A as cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 8, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 1, and Ramsey further teaches wherein the barrel includes a first barrel (13) and a second barrel (12 and 15) coupled to the first barrel (figs. 1-3), wherein the snare extends out of the second barrel (figs. 1-3).
However, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers is silent about the second barrel is curved.
Ewing teaches the second barrel is curved (A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second barrel of Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers to be curved as taught by Ewing in order to have the end of the second barrel be at an angle to facilitate wringing (left column; lines 20-23 of Ewing).
Regarding claim 20, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 15, and Ramsey further teaches further comprising a second barrel (12 and 15) coupled to a forward end of the barrel (figs. 2-3), wherein the snare extends out of the second barrel (figs. 1-3).
However, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers is silent about the second barrel is curved.
Ewing teaches the second barrel is curved (A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second barrel of Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers to be curved as taught by Ewing in order to have the end of the second barrel be at an angle to facilitate wringing (left column; lines 20-23 of Ewing).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of and Schmidt (US 5595166 A as cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 9, Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers teaches the animal snare of claim 1, but is silent about further comprising a spear gun assembly including a spear barrel.
Schmidt teaches a spear gun assembly (20) including a spear barrel (40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a spear gun assembly including a spear barrel as taught by Schmidt into the animal snare of Ramsey as modified by Prior and DeMers in order to allow the user to use the spear at a fixed length (Col. 7, lines 55-65 of Schmidt).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GEORGE (US 1540640 A) teaches an animal snare.
Dahlman (US 4827662 A) teaches an elastic member under tension.
/SAHAR ALMATRAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3643 /DARREN W ARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647