DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/25/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,724,471. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following.
Instant Application (18/897,041)
U.S. Patent No. 11,724,471
1. A method for manufacturing a photoabsorbing contact lens, the method comprising:
(a) providing a mold assembly comprised of a base curve and a front curve, the base curve and the front curve defining and enclosing a cavity therebetween, the cavity containing a reactive mixture, wherein the reactive mixture comprises at least one polymerizable monomer, a photoinitiator which absorbs at an activating wavelength, and a photoabsorbing compound which displays absorption at the activating wavelength; and (b) curing the reactive mixture to form the photoabsorbing contact lens by exposing the reactive mixture to radiation that includes the activating wavelength, wherein the radiation is directed at both the base curve and the front curve of the mold assembly, and wherein the
radiation's radiant energy at the base curve is greater than the radiation's radiant energy at the front curve.
2. The method of claim 1 wherein the radiant energy is provided by a first light source that is proximate to the base curve of the mold assembly and a second light source that is proximate to the front curve of the mold assembly.
3. The method of claim 2 wherein the first light source is a light emitting diode and the second light source is a light emitting diode.
4. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a static photoabsorbing compound.
5. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a high energy visible light absorber.
6. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a photochromic compound.
7. The method of claim 1 wherein the base curve and front curves of the mold assembly are comprised of
polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, hydrogenated styrene butadiene block copolymers, cyclic olefin polymers, and combinations thereof.
1. A method for manufacturing a photoabsorbing contact lens, the method comprising:
(a) providing a mold assembly comprised of a base curve and a front curve, the base curve and the front curve defining and enclosing a cavity therebetween, the cavity containing a reactive mixture, wherein the reactive mixture comprises at least one polymerizable monomer, a photoinitiator which absorbs at an activating wavelength, and a photoabsorbing compound which displays absorption at the activating wavelength; and (b) curing the reactive mixture to form the photoabsorbing contact lens by exposing the reactive mixture to radiation that includes the activating wavelength, wherein the radiation is directed at both the base curve and the front curve of the mold assembly, and wherein the
radiation has an intensity at the base curve that is less than 350 percent greater than the radiation's intensity at the front curve.
3. The method of claim 1 wherein the radiation is provided by a first light source that is proximate to the base curve of the mold assembly and a second light source that is proximate to the front curve of the mold assembly.
4. The method of claim 3 wherein the first light source is a light emitting diode and the second light source is a light emitting diode.
5. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a static photoabsorbing compound.
6. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a high energy visible light absorber.
7. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a photochromic compound.
8. The method of claim 1 wherein the base curve and front curve of the mold assembly are comprised of at least one or polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, hydrogenated styrene butadiene block copolymers, cyclic olefin polymers, or combinations thereof.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,641. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following.
Instant Application (18/897,041)
U.S. Patent No. 12,128,641
1. A method for manufacturing a photoabsorbing contact lens, the method comprising:
(a) providing a mold assembly comprised of a base curve and a front curve, the base curve and the front curve defining and enclosing a cavity therebetween, the cavity containing a reactive mixture, wherein the reactive mixture comprises at least one polymerizable monomer, a photoinitiator which absorbs at an activating wavelength, and a photoabsorbing compound which displays absorption at the activating wavelength; and
(b) curing the reactive mixture to form the photoabsorbing contact lens by exposing the reactive mixture to radiation that includes the activating wavelength, wherein the radiation is directed at both the base curve and the front curve of the mold assembly, and wherein the radiation's radiant energy at the base curve is greater than the radiation's radiant energy at the front curve.
2. The method of claim 1 wherein the radiant energy is provided by a first light source that is proximate to the base curve of the mold assembly and a second light source that is proximate to the front curve of the mold assembly.
3. The method of claim 2 wherein the first light source is a light emitting diode and the second light source is a light emitting diode.
4. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a static photoabsorbing compound.
5. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a high energy visible light absorber.
6. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a photochromic compound.
7. The method of claim 1 wherein the base curve and front curves of the mold assembly are comprised of polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, hydrogenated styrene butadiene block copolymers, cyclic olefin polymers, and combinations thereof.
8. The method of claim 1 wherein the radiant energy is controlled by the radiation's intensity, the radiation's wavelength, or combinations thereof.
9. The method of claim 8 wherein the radiant energy is controlled by the radiation's intensity.
10. The method of claim 9 wherein the intensity at the base curve is greater than the intensity at the front curve.
11. The method of claim 1 wherein the intensity at the base curve is less than 350 percent greater than the intensity at the front curve.
12. The method of claim 8 wherein the radiant energy is controlled by the radiation's wavelength.
13. The method of claim 12 wherein the wavelength at the base curve is shorter than the wavelength at the front curve.
14. The method of claim 1 wherein the wavelength at the base curve is at least about 10 nanometers shorter than the wavelength at the front curve.
15. A photoabsorbing contact lens prepared by the method of claim 1.
16. The photoabsorbing contact lens of claim 15, the lens having
a root mean squared optical path wavefront deviation from lens design target with spherical and cylindrical power as well as coma removed as measured using a 6.5 millimeter aperture that has been reduced as compared to an otherwise identical lens made under conditions of equal radiant energy at the base and front curves.
17. The lens of claim 16 wherein
the root mean squared optical path wavefront deviation from lens design target with spherical and cylindrical power as well as coma removed as measured using a 6.5 millimeter aperture has been reduced by at least 3% as compared to an otherwise identical lens made under conditions of equal radiant energy at the base and front curves.
18. The lens of claim 16 wherein the root mean squared optical path wavefront deviation from lens design target with spherical and cylindrical power as well as coma removed as measured using a 6.5 millimeter aperture has been reduced by at least 0.0020 microns as compared to an otherwise identical lens made under conditions of equal radiant energy at the base and front curves.
1. A method for manufacturing a photoabsorbing contact lens, the method comprising:
(a) providing a mold assembly comprised of a base curve and a front curve, the base curve and the front curve defining and enclosing a cavity therebetween, the cavity containing a reactive mixture, wherein the reactive mixture comprises at least one polymerizable monomer, a photoinitiator which absorbs at an activating wavelength, and a photoabsorbing compound which displays absorption at the activating wavelength; and
(b) curing the reactive mixture to form the photoabsorbing contact lens by exposing the reactive mixture to radiation that includes the activating wavelength, wherein the radiation is directed at both the base curve and the front curve of the mold assembly, and wherein the radiation's radiant energy at the base curve is greater than the radiation's radiant energy at the front curve,
wherein the photoabsorbing contact lens has a root mean squared optical path wavefront deviation from lens design target with spherical and cylindrical power as well as coma removed as measured using a 6.5 millimeter aperture that has been reduced as compared to an otherwise identical lens made under conditions of equal radiant energy at the base and front curves.
2. The method of claim 1 wherein the radiant energy is provided by a first light source that is proximate to the base curve of the mold assembly and a second light source that is proximate to the front curve of the mold assembly.
3. The method of claim 2 wherein the first light source is a light emitting diode and the second light source is a light emitting diode.
4. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a static photoabsorbing compound.
5. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a high energy visible light absorber.
6. The method of claim 1 wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a photochromic compound.
7. The method of claim 1 wherein the base curve and front curves of the mold assembly are comprised of polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, hydrogenated styrene butadiene block copolymers, cyclic olefin polymers, and combinations thereof.
8. The method of claim 1 wherein the radiant energy is controlled by the radiation's intensity, the radiation's wavelength, or combinations thereof.
9. The method of claim 8 wherein the radiant energy is controlled by the radiation's intensity.
10. The method of claim 9 wherein the intensity at the base curve is greater than the intensity at the front curve.
11. The method of claim 1 wherein the intensity at the base curve is less than 350 percent greater than the intensity at the front curve.
12. The method of claim 8 wherein the radiant energy is controlled by the radiation's wavelength.
13. The method of claim 12 wherein the wavelength at the base curve is shorter than the wavelength at the front curve.
14. The method of claim 1 wherein the wavelength at the base curve is at least about 10 nanometers shorter than the wavelength at the front curve.
15. A photoabsorbing contact lens prepared by the method of claim 1.
16. The lens of claim 15 wherein
the root mean squared optical path wavefront deviation from lens design target with spherical and cylindrical power as well as coma removed as measured using a 6.5 millimeter aperture has been reduced by at least 3% as compared to an otherwise identical lens made under conditions of equal radiant energy at the base and front curves.
16. The lens of claim 15 wherein
the root mean squared optical path wavefront deviation from lens design target with spherical and cylindrical power as well as coma removed as measured using a 6.5 millimeter aperture has been reduced by at least 3% as compared to an otherwise identical lens made under conditions of equal radiant energy at the base and front curves.
17. The lens of claim 15 wherein the root mean squared optical path wavefront deviation from lens design target with spherical and cylindrical power as well as coma removed as measured using a 6.5 millimeter aperture has been reduced by at least 0.0020 microns as compared to an otherwise identical lens made under conditions of equal radiant energy at the base and front curves.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alvarez-Carrigan et al. (US 2011/0248415, of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses
a method for manufacturing a photoabsorbing contact lens (abstract, paragraphs 0022, 0026, i.e. including a photochromic dye), the method comprising:
providing a mold assembly comprised of a base curve and a front curve,
the base curve and the front curve defining and enclosing a cavity therebetween (fig 2B); the cavity containing a reactive mixture (abstract, paragraphs 0040-0041); wherein the reactive mixture comprises at least one polymerizable monomer (paragraph 0034); a photoinitiator which absorbs at an activating wavelength (abstract); and a photoabsorbing compound which displays absorption at the activating wavelength (abstract, paragraphs 0022, 0026);
curing the reactive mixture to form the photoabsorbing contact lens by exposing the reactive mixture to radiation that includes the activating wavelength (paragraphs 0033-0034, 0050- 0052); wherein the radiation directed at both the base curve and the front curve of the mold assembly (fig 6, paragraphs 0050-0052); and wherein the radiation's radiant energy at the base curve is greater than the radiation's radiant energy at the front curve
(paragraph 0052 disclosing that while one embodiment may have equal intensities from both light sources, another embodiment can have the light source intensity of the front curve side at 1 mW/cm2 with the light source intensity at the base curve side of 2 mW/cm2 i.e. “radiation intensity at the base curve side being greater than the radiation intensity at the front curve side’).
Regarding Claim 2, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the radiant energy is provided by a first light source that is proximate to the base curve of the mold assembly and a second light source that is proximate to the front curve of the mold assembly (figure 6, paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 6, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the photoabsorbing compound as a photochromic compound (abstract, paragraphs 0022, 0026).
Regarding Claim 7, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the base curve and front curves of the mold assembly are comprised of polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, hydrogenated styrene butadiene block copolymers, cyclic olefin polymers, and combinations thereof (paragraph 0034 such as the disclosed polypropylene).
Regarding Claim 8, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the radiant energy is controlled by the radiation's intensity (paragraph 0052, radiation intensity is increased), the radiation's wavelength (paragraph 0006, radiation (i.e., radiant energy) is absorbed at specific wavelengths) or combinations thereof.
Regarding Claim 9, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the radiant energy is controlled by the radiation's intensity (paragraph 0052, radiation intensity is increased).
Regarding Claim 10, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the intensity at the base curve is greater than the intensity at the front curve (paragraph 0052 disclosing a 100% difference in intensity).
Regarding Claim 11, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the intensity at the base curve is less than 350 percent greater than the intensity at the front curve (paragraph 0052 disclosing a 100% difference in intensity).
Regarding Claim 12, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the radiant energy is controlled by the radiation's wavelength (paragraph 0006, radiation (i.e., radiant energy) is absorbed at specific wavelengths).
Regarding Claim 15, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein a photoabsorbing contact lens prepared by the method of claim 1 (Paragraphs 0006 and 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvarez-Carrigan et al. (US 2011/0248415, of record).
Regarding Claim 3, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above but the main embodiment does not further disclose wherein the first light source is a light emitting diode and the second light source is a light emitting diode.
However, Alvarez-Carrigan (other embodiments) teaches the first light source is a light emitting diode and the second light source is a light emitting diode (Paragraph 0043, lines 19-24), for the purpose of not needing to use filters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the method of Alvarez-Carrigan (main embodiment) with the first light source is a light emitting diode and the second light source is a light emitting diode of Alvarez-Carrigan (other embodiments), for the purpose of not needing to use filters.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvarez-Carrigan et al. (US 2011/0248415, of record) in view of Duis et al. (US 2011/0249234, of record).
Regarding Claim 4, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above but does not specifically disclose wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a static photoabsorbing compound.
However, Duis, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a static photoabsorbing compound (Paragraphs 0021-0024, dyes which block UV light), for the purpose of minimizing damage from sunlight to the eyes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the method of Alvarez-Carrigan (main embodiment) with the photoabsorbing compound is a static photoabsorbing compound, of Duis, for the purpose of minimizing damage from sunlight to the eyes.
Regarding Claim 5, Alvarez-Carrigan discloses as is set forth above but does not specifically disclose wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a high energy visible light absorber.
However, Duis, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a high energy visible light absorber (Paragraphs 0021-0024, dyes which block UV light), for the purpose of minimizing damage from sunlight to the eyes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the method of Alvarez-Carrigan (main embodiment) with the wherein the photoabsorbing compound is a high energy visible light absorber, of Duis, for the purpose of minimizing damage from sunlight to the eyes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 14, and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 13, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a method including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations wherein the wavelength at the base curve is shorter than the wavelength at the front curve.
Specifically, with respect to claim 14, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a method including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations wherein the wavelength at the base curve is at least about 10 nanometers shorter than the wavelength at the front curve.
Specifically, with respect to claim 16, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a method including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations wherein the lens having a root mean squared optical path wavefront deviation from lens design target with spherical and cylindrical power as well as coma removed as measured using a 6.5 millimeter aperture that has been reduced as compared to an otherwise identical lens made under conditions of equal radiant energy at the base and front curves.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lindacher et al. (US 2006/0192310), Widman et al. (US 2010/0047380), Widman et al. (US 2013/0075577), Widman et al. (US 2012/0187590), and Widman et al. (US 2014/0049745) are cited to show similar methods of forming lenses.
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872